Exhibit 99.1

News release via Canada NewsWire, Calgary 403-269-7605

    Attention Business Editors:
    Advantage Files Its Annual Information Form

    (TSX: AVN.UN, NYSE: AAV)

    CALGARY, March 17 /CNW/ - Advantage Energy Income Fund ("Advantage" or
the "Fund") today filed its Annual Information Form which includes the Fund's
reserve data and other oil and gas information for the year ended December 31,
2005 as mandated by National Instrument 51-101 Standards of Disclosure for Oil
and Gas Activities of the Canadian Securities Administrators. Copies of the
Fund's Annual Information Form may be obtained on our website at
www.advantageincome.com or at www.sedar.com.

    Forward-Looking Information

    The information in this release contains certain forward-looking
statements. These statements relate to future events or our future
performance. All statements other than statements of historical fact may be
forward-looking statements. Forward-looking statements are often, but not
always, identified by the use of words such as "seek", "anticipate", "plan",
"continue", "estimate", "expect", "may", "will", "project", "predict",
"potential", "targeting", "intend", "could", "might", "should", "believe",
"would" and similar expressions. These statements involve substantial known
and unknown risks and uncertainties, certain of which are beyond Advantage's
control, including: the impact of general economic conditions; industry
conditions; changes in laws and regulations including the adoption of new
environmental laws and regulations and changes in how they are interpreted and
enforced; fluctuations in commodity prices and foreign exchange and interest
rates; stock market volatility and market valuations; volatility in market
prices for oil and natural gas; liabilities inherent in oil and natural gas
operations; uncertainties associated with estimating oil and natural gas
reserves; competition for, among other things, capital, acquisitions, of
reserves, undeveloped lands and skilled personnel; incorrect assessments of
the value of acquisitions; changes in income tax laws or changes in tax laws
and incentive programs relating to the oil and gas industry and income trusts;
geological, technical, drilling and processing problems and other difficulties
in producing petroleum reserves; and obtaining required approvals of
regulatory authorities. Advantage's actual results, performance or achievement
could differ materially from those expressed in, or implied by, such forward-
looking statements and, accordingly, no assurances can be given that any of
the events anticipated by the forward-looking statements will transpire or
occur or, if any of them do, what benefits that Advantage will derive from
them. Except as required by law, Advantage undertakes no obligation to
publicly update or revise any forward-looking statements.

    %CIK: 0001259995

    /For further information: Investor Relations, Toll free: 1-866-393-0393;
Advantage Energy Income Fund, 3100, 150 - 6th Avenue SW, Calgary, Alberta, T2P
3Y7, Phone: (403) 261-8810, Fax: (403) 262-0723, Web Site:
www.advantageincome.com, E-mail: advantage(at)advantageincome.com/
    (AVN.UN. AAV)

CO:  Advantage Energy Income Fund

CNW 14:52e 17-MAR-06