NEWS RELEASE Release Date: May 26, 2005 after 4:00pm EST

KNBT BANCORP, INC. ANNOUNCES
NORTHEAST PENNSYLVANIA FINANCIAL CORP.
MERGER CONSIDERATION ALLOCATION RESULTS
________________________

Lehigh Valley, PA (May 26, 2005) — KNBT Bancorp, Inc. (NASDAQ/NMS — “KNBT”) announced today the allocation of KNBT common stock and cash to be paid to the stockholders of Northeast Pennsylvania Financial Corp. (“NEPF”), which was merged into KNBT following the close of business on May 19, 2005.

Each share of NEPF common stock was converted into the right to receive either $23.00 in cash or 1.6328 shares of KNBT common stock for each NEPF share. As previously disclosed in the merger agreement and election materials mailed to NEPF stockholders, the form of the merger consideration ultimately paid to NEPF stockholders is subject to adjustment in accordance with the terms of the merger agreement to ensure that 50% of the outstanding shares of NEPF will be converted into the right to receive cash and 50% will be converted into the right to receive KNBT stock. NEPF stockholders who submitted elections by the May 19, 2005 election deadline will receive the form of consideration elected without adjustment. In order to comply with the proration provisions of the merger agreement, non-electing stockholders will receive cash in the amount of $23.00 per share for approximately 72.8% of their shares and 1.6328 shares of KNBT common stock for each of their remaining shares of NEPF common stock.

About KNBT Bancorp, Inc.
KNBT Bancorp, Inc., with total assets of more than $3.0 billion, is the parent bank holding company for Keystone Nazareth Bank & Trust Company. Keystone Nazareth Bank & Trust Company is a Pennsylvania chartered savings bank headquartered in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania with 58 branch offices in Lehigh, Northampton, Carbon, Monroe, Luzerne, Schuylkill and Columbia Counties, Pennsylvania.

Website: www.knbt.com

Contacts:
Scott V. Fainor, President and Chief Executive Officer, KNBT Bancorp, Inc. and Keystone Nazareth Bank & Trust Company, 610-861-5000

Eugene T. Sobol, Senior Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer and Chief Operating Officer, KNBT Bancorp, Inc. and Keystone Nazareth Bank & Trust Company, 610-861-5000

The information contained in this press release may contain forward-looking statements (as defined in the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 and the regulations thereunder) which are not historical facts or as to KNBT Bancorp, Inc. (“KNBT” or “Holding Company”) management’s intentions, plans, beliefs, expectations or opinions or with respect to the operation of the Caruso Benefits Group, Inc. (“Caruso”) and the acquisition of Northeast Pennsylvania Financial Corp. (“NEPF”). These statements include, but are not limited to, financial projections and estimates and their underlying assumptions; statements regarding plans, objectives and expectations with respect to future operations, products and services; and statements regarding future performance. Such statements are subject to certain risks and uncertainties, many of which are difficult to predict and generally beyond the control of KNBT and its management, that could cause actual results to differ materially from those expressed in, or implied or projected by, the forward-looking information and statements. The following factors, among others, could cause actual results to differ materially from the anticipated results or other expectations expressed in the forward-looking statements: (1) economic and competitive conditions which could affect the volume of loan originations, deposit flows and real estate values; (2) the levels of non-interest income and expense and the amount of loan losses; (3) estimated cost savings from the acquisition of NEPF cannot be fully realized within the expected time frame; (4) revenues following the acquisitions of Caruso and NEPF are lower than expected; (5) competitive pressure among depository institutions increases significantly; (6) costs or difficulties related to the integration of the businesses of KNBT, NEPF and Caruso are greater than expected; (7) changes in the interest rate environment may reduce interest margins; (8) general economic conditions, either nationally or in the markets in which KNBT is or will be doing business, are less favorable than expected; or (9) legislation or changes in regulatory requirements adversely affect the business in which KNBT would be engaged as well as other factors discussed in the documents filed by KNBT with the Securities and Exchange Commission (“SEC”) from time to time. Copies of these documents may be obtained from KNBT upon request and without charge (except for the exhibits thereto) or can be accessed at the website maintained by the SEC at http://www.sec.gov. KNBT undertakes no obligation to update these forward-looking statements to reflect events or circumstances that occur after the date on which such statements were made.

###