EXHIBIT 99.1
NEWS RELEASE

Contact:	Douglas Kessler	Tripp Sullivan
	COO and Head of Acquisitions	Corporate Communications, Inc.
	(972) 490-9600	(615) 254-3376
ASHFORD HOSPITALITY TO SELL HYATT MONTREAL
FOR $58.3 MILLION
DALLAS — (May 16, 2008) — Ashford Hospitality Trust, Inc. (NYSE: AHT) today announced that it has agreed to sell the Hyatt Regency Montreal in Montreal, Quebec to Pandox for $58.5 million CDN ($58.3 million U.S. based on yesterday’s conversion rate). The transaction, which is under firm contract, is expected to close by the end of the second quarter of 2008, subject to customary closing conditions. The purchase price in U.S. dollars equates to approximately $96,363 per key, a 3.6% trailing 12-month NOI cap rate, and a 17.2x trailing 12-month EBITDA multiple. The Hyatt Montreal is the only hotel owned by Ashford outside the United States.
Through 2008, the Company has sold or put under firm contract $217.4 million as part of its capital recycling strategy.
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Ashford Hospitality Trust is a self-administered real estate investment trust focused on investing in the hospitality industry across all segments and at all levels of the capital structure, including direct hotel investments, first mortgages, mezzanine loans and sale-leaseback transactions. Additional information can be found on the Company’s web site at www.ahtreit.com.
Pandox is one of the leading players in the hotel property market in Europe. The portfolio consists of 45 hotels with a total of around 10,800 rooms located in Sweden, Denmark, Germany, Belgium, the Bahamas, the UK, Switzerland and Canada. Pandox hotels operate under well known brands such as Hilton, InterContinental, Crowne Plaza, Radisson SAS, Holiday Inn, Scandic, Elite, Clarion, Quality, First, Hyatt and independent distribution channels.
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14185 Dallas Parkway, Suite 1100, Dallas, TX 75254 Phone: (972) 490-9600

AHT to Sell Hyatt Montreal

May 16, 2008
Certain statements and assumptions in this press release contain or are based upon “forward-looking” information and are being made pursuant to the safe harbor provisions of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements are subject to risks and uncertainties. When we use the words “will likely result,” “may,” “anticipate,” “estimate,” “should,” “expect,” “believe,” “intend,” or similar expressions, we intend to identify forward-looking statements. Such forward-looking statements include, but are not limited to, the timing for closing, the impact of the transaction on our business and future financial condition, our business and investment strategy, our understanding of our competition and current market trends and opportunities and projected capital expenditures. Such statements are subject to numerous assumptions and uncertainties, many of which are outside Ashford’s control.
These forward-looking statements are subject to known and unknown risks and uncertainties, which could cause actual results to differ materially from those anticipated, including, without limitation: general volatility of the capital markets and the market price of our common stock; changes in our business or investment strategy; availability, terms and deployment of capital; availability of qualified personnel; changes in our industry and the market in which we operate, interest rates or the general economy; and the degree and nature of our competition. These and other risk factors are more fully discussed in Ashford’s filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission. EBITDA is defined as net income before interest, taxes, depreciation and amortization. EBITDA yield is defined as trailing twelve month EBITDA divided by the purchase price. A capitalization rate is determined by dividing the property’s annual net operating income by the purchase price. Net operating income (NOI) is the property’s funds from operations minus a capital expense reserve of either 4% or 5% of gross revenues. Funds from operations (“FFO”), as defined by the White Paper on FFO approved by the Board of Governors of the National Association of Real Estate Investment Trusts (“NAREIT”) in April 2002, represents net income (loss) computed in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles (“GAAP”), excluding gains (or losses) from sales or properties and extraordinary items as defined by GAAP, plus depreciation and amortization of real estate assets, and net of adjustments for the portion of these items related to unconsolidated entities and joint ventures.
The forward-looking statements included in this press release are only made as of the date of this press release. Investors should not place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements. We are not obligated to publicly update or revise any forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new information, future events or circumstances, changes in expectations or otherwise.
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