© MediciNova, Inc. 2010 Accelerating the global development and commercialization of innovative pharmaceuticals Exhibit 99.1

© MediciNova, Inc. 2010
Statements in this presentation that are not historical in nature constitute forward-looking statements within the meaning
of the safe harbor provisions of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements
include statements regarding MediciNova’s clinical trials supporting the safety and efficacy of its product candidates and
the potential novelty of such product candidates as treatments for disease, plans and objectives for clinical trials and
product development, strategies, future performance, expectations, assumptions, financial condition, liquidity and capital
resources. These forward-looking statements may be preceded by, followed by or otherwise include the words "believes,"
"expects," "anticipates," "intends," "estimates," "projects," "can," "could," "may," “will,” "would," or similar expressions.
Actual results or events may differ materially from those expressed or implied in any forward-looking statements due to
various factors, including the risks and uncertainties inherent in clinical trials and product development and
commercialization, such as the uncertainty in results of clinical trials for product candidates, the uncertainty of whether
the results of clinical trials will be predictive of results in later stages of product development, the risk of delays or failure
to obtain or maintain regulatory approval, the risk of failure of the third parties upon whom MediciNova relies to conduct
its clinical trials and manufacture its product candidates to perform as expected, the risk of increased cost and delays due
to delays in the commencement, enrollment, completion or analysis of clinical trials or significant issues regarding the
adequacy of clinical trial designs or the execution of clinical trials and the timing, cost and design of future clinical trials
and research activities; the timing of expected filings with the FDA; MediciNova’s failure to execute strategic plans or
strategies successfully; MediciNova’s collaborations with third parties; MediciNova’s ability to realize the anticipated
strategic and financial benefits from its acquisition of Avigen, Inc., to integrate the two ibudilast development programs
and to pursue discussions with potential partners to secure a strategic collaboration to advance the clinical development
of the combined development program; the availability of funds to complete product development plans and MediciNova’s
ability to raise sufficient capital when needed, or at all; intellectual property or contract rights; and the other risks and
uncertainties described in MediciNova’s filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission, including MediciNova’s
annual report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2008 and its subsequent periodic reports on Forms 10-Q, 10-
K and 8-K. You are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the
date March 17, 2010. MediciNova disclaims any intent or obligation to revise or update these forward-looking statements.
Forward-Looking Statements
Forward-Looking Statements

© MediciNova, Inc. 2010 3
MediciNova Overview:
•
Founded in September 2000
•
Headquartered in San Diego, CA
•
Additional office in Tokyo, Japan
•
Dual-listing on NasdaqGM
as MNOV
and Osaka Securities Exchange as 4875
•
$100.1 million Market Cap (NasdaqGM) as of 3/16/2010
Development Company Focused on Differentiated Product Candidates
•
Unique access to differentiated, potentially high-value assets primarily from Japanese
alliances (Kyorin, Kissei, Mitsubishi Tanabe Pharma, Meiji)
New Approaches to Treat Serious Medical Conditions:
•
MN-221: Intravenous (IV) acute asthma and COPD candidate
•
Potential $1 billion+ combined market opportunity worldwide*
•
MN-166: oral multiple sclerosis candidate; additional enabled neurological conditions
•
In 2008, over $8 billion in worldwide MS therapeutic sales**
Corporate Overview:
Corporate Overview:
MediciNova, Inc.
MediciNova, Inc.
**Source: Individual annual reports of leading MS companies, 2008
*Source: Internal MediciNova projections

© MediciNova, Inc. 2010 4
Definition:
•
Acute Asthma Exacerbations: Long-lasting and
severe asthma episodes that are not responsive to
initial bronchodilator or corticosteroid therapies
•
COPD Exacerbations: Sustained worsening of the
patient's condition, from the stable state and beyond
normal day-to-day variations, that is acute in onset
Market Opportunity:
•
Potential $1 billion+ combined market opportunity
worldwide* (acute asthma & COPD exacerbations)
Current Standard of Care (SOC):
•
Beta agonists - Inhaled
•
Anticholinergics - Inhaled
•
Corticosteroids - IV or oral
**Source: National Center for Health
Statistics / CDC, WHO website, “Core
Health indicators”
MN-221 for Exacerbations of
MN-221 for Exacerbations of
Acute Asthma and COPD
Acute Asthma and COPD
COPD
Discharged
Hospitalized
72%
28%
~1.9 million
Asthma
52%
48%
~1.5 million
Hospitalization Rates Amongst
Asthma and COPD Patients**
*Source: Internal MediciNova projections

© MediciNova, Inc. 2010
5
Acute Asthma Treatment Flow in
Acute Asthma Treatment Flow in
Emergency Departments in the U.S.
Emergency Departments in the U.S.
1,900,000
1,900,000
Patients receive
standard of care in
Emergency Department
Positive
Response
~51%
Continue therapy until
patient is discharged
Annual number of
patients with acute
exacerbations of asthma
Non- Responders
~49%
Continue therapy
for several hours
Patient improves
and is discharged
Patient is
hospitalized
No Response
965,000
935,000
935,000
410,000
525,000
525,000
Source:  Weber, Silverman et al,
American Journal of Medicine, 2002,
Volume 113; pp 371
*Patients who could
potentially benefit from
addition of MN-221

© MediciNova, Inc. 2010
MN-221: A novel, highly selective
ß
2
- adrenergic receptor agonist
Three potential advantages over current therapy:
1. Improved Efficacy
•
Route of Administration (IV v. Inhalation)
2. Improved Safety
•
Higher selectivity for ß
2
receptor than ß
1
•
42.4 fold ß
2
selectivity (IC
50
-ß
1
/ IC
50
-ß
2
)
•
Partial agonist for ß
1
receptor
3. Reduced Health Care Expenses
6
MN-221: A New Approach to Treating
MN-221: A New Approach to Treating
Exacerbations of Acute Asthma & COPD
Exacerbations of Acute Asthma & COPD

© MediciNova, Inc. 2010
MN-221 Clinical Trials
MN-221 Clinical Trials
7
Completed
Completed
Ongoing
Ongoing
Study
Study
CL-004 CL-005 CL-006 CL-010 CL-007
Indication
Indication
Mild-to-moderate
Asthmatics
Moderate-to-
Severe
Asthmatics
Acute
Exacerbations
of Asthma
Moderate-to-
Severe
COPD patients
Acute
Exacerbations
of Asthma
FEV
FEV
1 1
(Entry Criteria)
(Entry Criteria)
FEV
1
60%
75% FEV
1
40%
FEV
1
55%
80% FEV
1
30%
FEV
1
50%
Number of
Number of
Patients
Patients
23 17 29 48 200
Number of
Number of
Sites
Sites
4 4 8 6 ~35
Doses Tested
Doses Tested
Compared to
Compared to
Placebo
Placebo
5.25, 15, 52.5,
150, 240, 450,
900 µg
over 15 min
1080 µg over
2-hr;
1,125 µg over
1-hr
240, 450 µg
over 15 min;
1080 µg over
2-hr
300, 600, 1200
µg over  1-hr
1200 µg over
1-hr
Note: CL-004, CL-005, CL-010 located in clinical sites.  CL-006, CL-007 located in emergency departments.

© MediciNova, Inc. 2010 MN-221-CL-004: MN-221-CL-004: Mean Change in FEV Mean Change in FEV 1 1 8 p < 0.05 p < 0.001 p < 0.05 p < 0.001

© MediciNova, Inc. 2010
MN-221-CL-005:
MN-221-CL-005:
Mean Change in FEV
Mean Change in FEV
1
1
9
Baseline:
64.6%
Baseline:
69.4%
1 Hour:
82.0%
2 Hours:
81.5%
Baseline:
68.6%
Baseline:
68.6%
1 Hour:
70.5%
2 Hours:
71.2%

© MediciNova, Inc. 2010 MN-221-CL-006 MN-221-CL-006 Mean Change in FEV Mean Change in FEV 1 1 10 Mean change in FEV 1 from baseline was 5.27% higher in the MN-221 dose groups versus the placebo group

© MediciNova, Inc. 2010
MN-221-CL-006:
MN-221-CL-006:
Hospitalization Rate by Treatment Group
Hospitalization Rate by Treatment Group
11
MN-221 reduced the hospitalization rate by 45%
Note: SOC means standard of care.

© MediciNova, Inc. 2010 12
What did we learn from the MN-221-CL-006 clinical trial?
•
There were no safety concerns with adding MN-221 to
the standard of care.
•
There was a reduction in the hospitalization rate
among patients treated with MN-221.
•
Overall, improvement in FEV
1
was greater for patients
receiving MN-221 than placebo.
•
A dose of 1,200 µg
of MN-221 administered over one
hour was selected for the MN-221-CL-007 clinical trial.
MN-221-CL-006:
MN-221-CL-006:
What have we learned?
What have we learned?

© MediciNova, Inc. 2010
•
Randomized, placebo-controlled, double-blind, multi-center Phase II clinical trial
•
200 patients with severe, acute exacerbations of asthma (FEV
1
50% predicted)
at ~35 Emergency Department sites in US, Canada, Australia, and New Zealand
•
Dose Groups (~100 patients/group):
• 1,200 µg MN-221 over 1 hour (600 µg in 15 minutes; 600 µg in 45 minutes)
• Placebo
•
Patients will receive Standard of Care (SOC) treatment in addition to adjunctive
treatment with MN-221 or placebo
•
Primary efficacy endpoint will be improvement in FEV
1
(% predicted) at 5 hours
• The study is designed to have 80% power to detect a treatment difference of
5 percentage points in
FEV1
(% predicted) when comparing MN-221 + SOC to
Placebo + SOC at a two sided a-level of 0.05.
•
Anticipated completion in 2H, 2010*
MN-221-CL-007:
MN-221-CL-007:
Study Design
Study Design
13
Note: Development plans / timelines for MN-221 clinical trials are subject to change
*Anticipated completion date based on current projections

© MediciNova, Inc. 2010 MN-221-CL-010: MN-221-CL-010: Mean Change in FEV Mean Change in FEV 1 1 14 Baseline: 46.7% Baseline: 47.9% Baseline: 46.6% Baseline: 50.31% p = 0.020 p = 0.0025

© MediciNova, Inc. 2010 15
MN-166 for Multiple Sclerosis (MS):
• Oral administration
• Multiple mechanisms of action, both neuroprotective and anti-inflammatory
• MN-166 targets primarily chronic aspects of MS
• Benign safety profile
Mechanisms of Action:
Potentially Neuroprotective
•
Inhibits nitric oxide and reactive oxygen species production
•
Stimulates release of neuronal growth factors
•
Reduces demyelination
Anti-inflammatory
•
Inhibits PDE’s and MIF, leukotriene release, proinflammatory cytokines (TNFa, IL-1b, MCP, IL-6)
•
Can increase IL-10 release
Current Standard of Care:
• Beta interferons (Rebif
®
, Avonex
®
, Betaseron/Betaferon
®
), Copaxone
®
, Tysabri
®
• Primary focus is on acute treatment of MS symptoms (i.e., relapse rate)
MN-166 for the Treatment of
MN-166 for the Treatment of
Multiple Sclerosis
Multiple Sclerosis

© MediciNova, Inc. 2010
Placebo-controlled, Randomized, Double-blind Phase II Study:
• Year 1 - Placebo, 30 mg/day, 60mg/day
• Year 2 - 30 mg/day, 60mg/day
• 297 patients (~100 patients/group) @ 25 sites in Serbia, Ukraine, Belarus,
Bulgaria and Romania
Key Inclusion Criteria:
• Males or females aged 18 to 55 years, with relapsing remitting (RR) and/or
secondary progressive (SP) Multiple Sclerosis with continued relapses;
• One MRI scan taken two weeks prior to treatment start using a standardized MRI
protocol with at least one Gd-enhancing lesion;
• An Expanded Disability Status Scale (EDSS) score of 5.5 or less at the screening
and baseline visits.
Safety Profile:
• 89% (264 of 297) of subjects completed the first 12 months of the study
• 82.5% (245 of 297) of subjects completed the full 24 months of the study
• Adverse effects reported more frequently in MN-166-treated than placebo-treated
subjects:  GI effects & depression
Completed Clinical Study:
Completed Clinical Study:
MN-166-CL-001
MN-166-CL-001
16

© MediciNova, Inc. 2010 17
P-Value:  0.04
P-Value:  0.035
MN-166-CL-001 Study Results
MN-166-CL-001 Study Results
P-Value:
0.026
P-Value:  0.004
P-Value:  0.09
P-Value:  0.08
Note:  P-values listed on this slide compare placebo group to 60mg/day group of MN-166
Indicative of Potential Neuroprotective Effect:
•
Reduced brain volume loss
•
Reduced conversion of acute lesions to persistent black holes
•
Sustained disability progression was significantly less likely (~50%)
Acute Clinical Benefit:
•
Prolong time to relapse (by 127 days.)
•
Annualized relapse rate
Protocol-Defined Primary Endpoint (Surrogate Endpoint):
•
No significant reduction in the cumulative number of active (gadolinium-enhancing (T1)
and non-enhancing new/enlarging (T2)) lesions on cranial MRI scans over 12 months of
treatment was observed
•
Positive trends were observed in volume of
gadolinium-enhancing (T1) lesions

© MediciNova, Inc. 2010
18
MN-166-CL-001:
MN-166-CL-001:
Efficacy Review (One Year)
Efficacy Review (One Year)
Endpoints Indicative of Neuroprotective Effect (Chronic aspects of MS):
Endpoints Relating to Acute Clinical Benefit:

© MediciNova, Inc. 2010 19
Value to MediciNova
•
AV411 is now part of MediciNova’s MN-166 program; both are ibudilast
•
API and drug product supply
•
4 completed Phase I and Ib/IIa clinical trials
•
Open IND for ibudilast (Analgesia, Addiction)
•
Clinical & preclinical support for MN-166 program; dosing up to 100 mg/day
•
2 method of use patents issued in 2009; multiple filings in progress
•
Analog compounds behind ibudilast
•
First-generation development candidate:  AV1013 – composition of matter patent issued
•
Second-generation dual target leads
Opioid Withdrawal & Neuropathic Pain Indications
•
Ibudilast is a good glial
cell attenuator in vitro and in the central nervous system (CNS) in vivo.
•
Glial cell activation contributes to reward and withdrawal aspects of opioids and the
development and maintenance of neuropathic pain.
•
This may represent a new pharmocotherapy approach for drug addiction and neuropathic pain.
Additional Value from Avigen
Additional Value from Avigen
Deal
Deal

© MediciNova, Inc. 2010
20
MN-166: Ongoing clinical trial
•
Study Objective: Assess MN-166 safety/tolerability/PK and preliminary efficacy for opiate
withdrawal in heroin-dependent subjects
•
Ongoing clinical trial run jointly by the New York State Psychiatric Institute and Columbia
University in NYC (Investigator IND study; MediciNova is not the sponsor)
•
Trial to enroll ~30 patients (10 completers/cohort)
•
Anticipated completion in mid-2010*
MN-166: Opioid
MN-166: Opioid
Withdrawal
Withdrawal
Trial Design/Endpoints
Week 1 2 3
Treatment
Morphine (30 mg QID)
and Placebo BID
Morphine (30 mg QID)
and Placebo BID
or 20 mg BID of Ibudilast
or 40 mg BID of Ibudilast
Placebo BID
or 20 mg BID of Ibudilast
or 40 mg BID of Ibudilast
Endpoints
Safety, Tolerability, PK Safety, Tolerability, PK Withdrawal scores,
Safety, Tolerability, PK
Note: QID refers to taking the medication four times per day; BID refers to taking the medication twice a day
*Anticipated completion date based on current projections

© MediciNova, Inc. 2010 21 Commercially-Attractive Commercially-Attractive Diversified Portfolio Diversified Portfolio COPD COPD Asthma Asthma MS MS CNS Disorders CNS Disorders

© MediciNova, Inc. 2010 22
Leadership
Years
Experience
Background
Yuichi Iwaki, MD, PhD Yuichi Iwaki, MD, PhD
CEO & President
34 Professor at USC, formerly Professor at
University of Pittsburgh; Advisor to JAFCO,
Tanabe
Shintaro Asako, CPA Shintaro Asako, CPA
Chief Financial Officer
12 KPMG USA (Audit), Arthur Andersen USA
Kirk Johnson, Ph.D. Kirk Johnson, Ph.D.
Chief Scientific Officer
20 Avigen, Genesoft Pharmaceuticals, Chiron
Corporation
Masatsune Okajima, CMA Masatsune Okajima, CMA
VP, Head of Japanese Office
18 Daiwa Securities SMBC,
Sumitomo Capital Securities, Sumitomo Bank
Management Team with
Management Team with
Global Experience
Global Experience
Alan Dunton, MD, PhD Alan Dunton, MD, PhD
Clinical Development
Consultant & Board Member
27 CEO of Panacos & Metaphore; President of
the Janssen Research Foundation, a J&J
company

© MediciNova, Inc. 2010 23
Upcoming Near-Term Business Milestones:
1. Secure a global partnership for MN-166
2. Secure a regional partnership (ex-US/Japan rights) for MN-221
Upcoming Clinical Milestones:
1. MN-221-CL-007 Phase II Study for Acute Exacerbations of Asthma
•
Anticipated completion 2H, 2010*
2. MN-166 Study for Opioid Withdrawal
•
Anticipated completion in mid-2010*
Completed Milestones:
1. Completed Avigen merger December 18, 2009
2. Announced Positive MN-221-CL-010 Phase Ib Study Results in
Moderate-to-Severe COPD Patients on March 17, 2010
Investment Highlights
Investment Highlights
*Anticipated completion dates based on current projections