Exhibit 99.1

NEWS

For Release     Immediate
Contacts        (News Media) Tony Zehnder, Corporate Communications 312.396.7086
                (Investors) Scott Galovic, Investor Relations 317.817.3228


                      Conseco provides update to investors

Carmel, Ind. September 18, 2008 - During an investor conference call today that had been scheduled since September 8, CEO Jim Prieur of Conseco, Inc. (NYSE:
CNO) said that:

     o Business fundamentals at the company have not changed since its announcement of second quarter earnings.

     o The company continues to have adequate liquidity in its insurance companies and at the holding company, with strong capital levels at the insurance companies and a positive cash flow at the holding company.

     o The company is in compliance with all covenants of its bank facility and expects to continue to be in compliance in the future.

     o    The company sees no need to raise additional external capital.

During the call today, Conseco also indicated that it expects earnings before interest and taxes (EBIT) for the third quarter of 2008 to be in the range of $75 million to $90 million. (1)

Conseco, Inc.'s insurance companies help protect working American families and seniors from financial adversity: Medicare supplement, long-term care, cancer, heart/stroke and accident policies protect people against major unplanned expenses; annuities and life insurance products help people plan for their financial futures. For more information, visit Conseco's web site at www.conseco.com.





(1) Management believes that an analysis of earnings or loss before net realized investment gains (losses), corporate interest and taxes ("EBIT," a non-GAAP financial measure) provides a clearer comparison of the operating results of the company quarter-over-quarter because it excludes: (i) corporate interest expense; and (ii) net realized investment gains (losses) that are unrelated to the company's underlying fundamentals.



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                                                                    Conseco (2)
                                                             September 18, 2008


Cautionary Statement Regarding Forward-Looking Statements. Our statements, trend analyses and other information contained in these materials relative to markets for Conseco's products and trends in Conseco's operations or financial results, as well as other statements, contain forward-looking statements within the meaning of the federal securities laws and the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Forward-looking statements typically are identified by the use of terms such as "anticipate," "believe," "plan," "estimate," "expect," "project," "intend," "may," "will," "would," "contemplate," "possible," "attempt," "seek," "should," "could," "goal," "target," "on track," "comfortable with," "optimistic" and similar words, although some forward-looking statements are expressed differently. You should consider statements that contain these words carefully because they describe our expectations, plans, strategies and goals and our beliefs concerning future business conditions, our results of operations, financial position, and our business outlook or they state other "forward-looking" information based on currently available information. Assumptions and other important factors that could cause our actual results to differ materially from those anticipated in our forward-looking statements include, among other things: (i) general economic, market and political conditions, including the performance and fluctuations of the financial markets which may affect our ability to raise capital or refinance our existing indebtedness; (ii) our ability to obtain adequate and timely rate increases on our supplemental health products including our long-term care business; (iii) mortality, morbidity, the increased cost and usage of health care services, persistency, the adequacy of our previous reserve estimates and other factors which may affect the profitability of our insurance products; (iv) changes in our assumptions related to the cost of policies produced or the value of policies inforce at the Effective Date; (v) the recoverability of our deferred tax asset and the effect of potential tax rate changes on its value; (vi) changes in accounting principles and the interpretation thereof; (vii) our ability to achieve anticipated expense reductions and levels of operational efficiencies including improvements in claims adjudication and continued automation and rationalization of operating systems; (viii) performance and valuation of our investments, including the impact of realized losses (including other-than-temporary impairment charges); (ix) our ability to identify products and markets in which we can compete effectively against competitors with greater market share, higher ratings, greater financial resources and stronger brand recognition; (x) the ultimate outcome of lawsuits filed against us and other legal and regulatory proceedings to which we are subject; (xi) our ability to remediate the material weakness in internal controls over the actuarial reporting process that we identified at year-end 2006 and to maintain effective controls over financial reporting; (xii) our ability to continue to recruit and retain productive agents and distribution partners and customer response to new products, distribution channels and marketing initiatives; (xiii) our ability to achieve eventual upgrades of the financial strength ratings of Conseco and our insurance company subsidiaries as well as the potential impact of rating downgrades on our business; (xiv) the risk factors or uncertainties listed from time to time in our filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission; (xv) our ability to continue to satisfy the financial ratio and balance requirements and other covenants of our debt agreements; (xvi) regulatory changes or actions, including those relating to regulation of the financial affairs of our insurance companies, such as the payment of dividends to us, regulation of financial services affecting (among other things) bank sales and underwriting of insurance products, regulation of the sale, underwriting and pricing of products, and health care regulation affecting health insurance products; (xvii) changes in the Federal income tax laws and regulations which may affect or eliminate the relative tax advantages of some of our products; and (xviii) the receipt of regulatory approval and consummation of the plan to transfer Conseco Senior Health Insurance Company to an independent trust. Other factors and assumptions not identified above are also relevant to the forward-looking statements, and if they prove incorrect, could also cause actual results to differ materially from those projected. All written or oral forward-looking statements attributable to us are expressly qualified in their entirety by the foregoing cautionary statement. Our forward-looking statements speak only as of the date made. We assume no obligation to update or to publicly announce the results of any revisions to any of the forward-looking statements to reflect actual results, future events or developments, changes in assumptions or changes in other factors affecting the forward-looking statements.

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