Creating a Future with Creating a Future with Cleaner Coal Cleaner Coal ADA Opportunities Enhanced by Mercury and Air Toxics Standard March 16, 2011 NASDAQ:ADES Exhibit 99.1

Disclaimer -2-

ADA Opportunities Created by
the Mercury and Air Toxics Rule
ADA’s Primary Market are 1,100+ coal-fired utility boilers in the U.S.  that
provide 50% of electricity in the U.S.
EPA’s Mercury and Air Toxics Standards proposal (“ Air Toxics Rule”) requires
reduction of Hazardous Air Pollutants (HAPs) from new and existing electricity
generating units (EGU)
– Rule scheduled to be final November 2011
– Plants required to be in compliance in 36 months
ADA provides low-cost control technology for three of the 5 HAPs covered
– Mercury:  91% reduction from mercury in coal
• Activated Carbon Injection (ACI) Equipment
• Activated Carbon through JV ADA Carbon Solutions
• Refined Coal through JV Clean Coal Solutions
• Enhanced Coal, licensed for production to Arch Coal
– Dioxins and Furans
• ACI and AC
– Acid gases, HCl and SO
2
• Alkali Injection Equipment

-4- ACI System for Mercury Activated Carbon Injection Technology for Mercury Reduction at Power Plants Emission Control Equipment (NO x , SO 2 , Particulate)

ADA Commercial ACI Systems > 20 GW ADA Commercial ACI Systems > 20 GW Plant burns PRB coal or lignite Plant burns bituminous coal

Air Toxics Rule Expected to Create
$500-800 Million ACI Equipment Market

Expect ACI orders from electricity power generators beginning in 2011
Establishing resources and capabilities to maintain 30% market share
0
50
100
150
200
250
300
2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016
Pre-Toxics Rule Regulations
Toxics Rule High Estimate
Toxics Rule Low Estimate

Air Toxics Rule Expected to Create $1Billion/Yr Market for AC -7-

ADA Activated Carbon (AC) Production -8-

Refined Coal Reduces Mercury
Clean Coal Solutions:  JV with NexGen Resources Corp.
CyClean – patented technology enhances combustion of PRB
coals in cyclone boilers and reduces mercury
Two systems installed & operating at two power plants
Refined Coal contributed ~$10 Million in revenues to ADA-ES
in Q3 & Q4’10 (first full half year of operation)
Two existing units expected to produce ~$1.00/share annual
pre-tax operating income for ADA for the next nine years
(based on 7.5 mm shares)

Refined Coal Growth Opportunity
New Air Toxics Rule creating additional demand for RC.  Opportunity to
triple revenues & operating income if equipment installed in 2011
–
Top ten prospects provide potential for over 30 mm tons per year of Refined
Coal @ $6.20+ per ton
Currently fabricating 6 additional RC facilities
–
Each unit will be capable of producing 1-5 million tons per year
–
Scheduled for completion in May and June
–
Schedule allows for fabrication of a total of 16 systems before year-end

Refined Coal Growth Opportunity
CURRENT PROJECTIONS
(based on 2 existing facilities @ 6 million tons)
POTENTIAL OPPORTUNITY
(based on 20 million tons)
$ in millions              Estimated revenues                Estimated
operating income

Mercury Control:
License to Arch Coal
Designed to enable Arch’s Powder River Basin (PRB)
coals to burn with lower emissions of mercury and
other metals
Royalty agreement – payments to ADA of up to
$1.00/ton based on premium of Enhanced Coal sales
Air Toxics Rule could create a market for >100 mm
tons of Enhanced PRB coal per year
Full-scale tests showing promising results

Control of Acid Gases
HCl, SO
2
, SO
3
Air Toxics Rule identifies HCI and SO
2
as surrogates for
acid gases
ADA provides alkali injection equipment as a low-cost
option to wet scrubbers to address these gases
Equipment costs $2-3 Million for average size plants
Systems are also effective for capture of SO
3
–
Reduces corrosion
–
Increases the effectiveness of ACI for mercury control

ADA Alkali Injection System

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