Creating a Future with Creating a Future with Cleaner Coal Cleaner Coal Investor Presentation September 2010 NASDAQ:ADES Exhibit 99.1

Please note that this presentation contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of
Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, which provides a "safe harbor" for such
statements in certain circumstances.  The forward-looking statements include, but will not
necessarily be limited to, statements or expectations regarding future contracts; amount and
timing of future tax credits, revenues and operating income; timelines for our projects and
anticipated regulations and legislation; future supply and demand; and timing of the Norit
arbitration.  These statements are based on current expectations, estimates, projections,
beliefs and assumptions of our management.  Such statements involve significant risks and
uncertainties.  Actual events or results could differ materially from those discussed in the
forward-looking statements as a result of various factors, including but not limited to, changes
in laws and regulations, government funding, prices, economic conditions and market demand;
timing of new and pending regulations and any legal challenges to them; impact of competition
and legal proceedings; availability, cost of and demand for alternative energy sources and
other technologies; technical, start-up and operational difficulties; inability to commercialize our
technologies on favorable terms; risks related to ADA-CS such as changes in the costs and
timing of commercial operations at the AC plant, failure to raise additional financing or satisfy
terms of existing agreements, actions of our joint venture partner and inability to sign or close
acceptable coal supply and off-take agreements in a timely manner; failure of CCS’ leased
facilities to continue to produce coal which qualifies for IRS Section 45 tax credits; termination
of the leases for such facilities; decreases in the production of RC by the lessee of such
facilities; our inability to come to terms with DOE or industry partners concerning the CO2
capture technology project; availability of raw materials and equipment for our businesses; loss
of key personnel; and other factors discussed in greater detail in our filings with the Securities
and Exchange Commission (SEC).  You are cautioned not to place undue reliance on our
forward-looking statements and to consult filings we make with the SEC for additional risks and
uncertainties that may apply to our business and the ownership of our securities.  Our forward-
looking statements are presented as of the date made, and we disclaim any duty to update
such statements unless required by law to do so.

Clean Coal Technology
Coal is an abundant, cheap, and secure fuel
that provides over 50% of electricity in the US
1,100+ coal-fired utility boilers in the U.S.
ADA provides the technology to burn it cleaner
Senior staff are industry recognized experts
– 30-year track record of developing and then
commercializing technologies
EPA currently developing new regulations on
emissions from coal creating significant new
markets for control technologies

2010 Investment Highlights
Developing solid sorbent capture technology for greenhouse gas CO2
Currently working under $3.2 MM DOE and utility funded program
Negotiating a $14 MM contract awarded by DOE to scale-up technology
CO
2
Capture
Emission
Control
Clean Coal Solutions (“CCS”) entered into leasing agreements for two facilities with
an unaffiliated third party; both facilities are operating and producing Refined Coal
(“RC”)
o Revenues will begin in the third quarter and ramp up over the next quarter to
a level of approximately $12 MM per year for the next 9 years
o At full capacity, the two facilities are expected to generate $6 MM+
($0.80+/share) per year in net operating income for 9 years
o Additional other income of $2.2 MM ($0.29 per share) expected from JV
Partner NexGen over next 24 months ending mid-2012
New and expected MACT regulations driving further market growth
ADA Carbon Solutions (“ADA-CS”) constructed and is now operating energy-
efficient AC manufacturing facility in LA
$12 MM ($1.60/share) judgment awarded to ADA in lawsuit with Calgon Carbon
New mercury control technology licensed to Arch Coal
o $2 MM upfront licensing fee to be recognized over 18-months ending
12/31/11
o License includes potential for royalties up to $1/ton of coal and chemical
sales for treating Arch’s PRB coals (>100 MM tons per year)
Refined Coal
(Clean Coal Solutions)

ADA-ES Corporate Structure Notes: (1) CCS financials are consolidated in ADA (2) ACS financials are reflected as a minority equity interest -5-

Refined Coal Product ADA-ES’ opportunity through joint venture with an affiliate of NexGen Resources Corporation -6-

Section 45 Refined Coal Tax Credit
Clean Coal’s patented Refined Coal technology,
CyClean, is designed to enhance combustion of PRB
coals in cyclone boilers
Two systems operating at two power plants in the
Midwest qualifying for Section 45 tax credits
– $6.20 ton/coal (escalates annually) for ten years
– Both systems leased to 3  party financial institution to
convert tax credits to revenues
Revenues commenced in 3 Quarter of 2010
– Systems started up in July at reduced capacity
– Expected to be operating at design capacity by year end
– ADA will consolidate JV revenues expected to be >$12
MM per  year for the next nine years
At full-capacity, net operating income of over $6 MM+
($0.80+/share) per year is expected
Additional other income of $2.2 MM ($0.29/share)
expected from JV partner NexGen over next 24 months
ending mid-2012

rd
rd

-8- Emission Control

AC Market Drivers:
Regulations for Mercury Control
Arizona
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Illinois
Maine
Maryland
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Montana
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New York
Oregon
Utah
Virginia
Washington
Wisconsin
19 U.S. States                United States
Plants with consent decrees or voluntary
controls limiting mercury emissions

Green states with existing rules create $200 - 300 MM AC market

ADA Commercial ACI Systems > 20 GW ADA Commercial ACI Systems > 20 GW Plant burns PRB coal or lignite Plant burns bituminous coal -10-

Pending and Enacted Federal Laws
that Will Increase Our Markets
****U.S. EPA MACT for Cement -
Issued 08/09/10
– Could require ACI systems & AC on up to 90 cement kilns in
the U.S.
– ADA currently in negotiations with several cement companies
U.S. EPA MACT for Coal-Fired Utility Boilers
– Will cover all 187 Hazardous Air Pollutants (“HAPs”)
– Should result in 90% to 95% limit for mercury
– Final regulations expected November 2011; 3 years to implement
U.S. EPA Industrial Boiler MACT
– Will cover over 600 boilers, smaller units
– Draft published April 29 ; to be finalized by December 2010
– Could increase market for ACI systems by several hundred; sales of
AC by 50 to 100 MM pounds per year
U.S. Legislation
– 3-P Bill could be added to Climate bill by Sen. Carper (D-DE) which
includes 90% Hg
Canadian-wide mercury standard has been passed
th

Market for ACI Equipment Expected
from a Federal MACT Standard
0
50
100
150
200
250
300
350
2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
State Rules and New Plants
MACT High Estimate
MACT Low Estimate

AC Production Supply / Demand -13-

ADA-CS New AC Production -14-

Low-Cost Producer
Plant sited in the middle of lignite reserves
– Provides access to a long term supply of low-cost feedstock
material
Minimal transportation costs for lignite
Plant design with four furnaces in a single production line
minimizes labor requirements
Modern, state-of-the-art equipment reduces maintenance
costs
Production designed for large volume customers,
minimizes material handling and labor
Energy efficient design with extensive energy recovery
– Generates 19 MWs, 6 MW for internal use, 13 MWs to be sold on
grid as revenue source

Control of Greenhouse Emissions: Carbon Dioxide -16-

ADA-ES CO 2 Capture Technology -17-

Lawsuits -18-

Financial Highlights -19-

A Leader in Clean Coal Technology © Copyright 2010 ADA-ES, Inc. All rights reserved. NASDAQ:ADES