Contacts

EpiCept Corporation:	Investors:
777 Old Saw Mill River Road	Lippert/Heilshorn & Associates
Tarrytown, NY 10591	Kim Sutton Golodetz
Robert W. Cook	(212) 838-3777
(914) 606-3500	kgolodetz@lhai.com
rcook@epicept.com
or
Bruce Voss
(310) 691-7100
bvoss@lhai.com
Media:
Feinstein Kean Healthcare Greg Kelley (617) 577-8110 gregory.kelley@fkhealth.com

EpiCept To Raise $4.6 Million In Registered Direct Offering

TARRYTOWN, N.Y. (March 28, 2011) – EpiCept Corporation (Nasdaq and OMX Stockholm Exchange: EPCT) announced today that it has entered into a definitive agreement with an institutional investor for the purchase of approximately 7.1 million shares of its common stock at $0.65 per share, and five and one half year warrants to purchase up to approximately 5.3 million shares of common stock at an exercise price of $0.72 per share that are not exercisable for six months following the closing date of the offering. EpiCept will receive approximately $4.3 million in net proceeds from the offering. The offering is expected to close on or about March 31, 2011, subject to customary closing conditions.

Rodman & Renshaw, LLC, a subsidiary of Rodman & Renshaw Capital Group, Inc. (Nasdaq: RODM) acted as the exclusive placement agent for the offering.

Net proceeds from the offering will be used to meet working capital needs and for general corporate purposes. The Company is continuing its efforts to execute its previously announced financing plan.

The proposed public offering is being made pursuant to an effective registration statement, and may be made only by means of a prospectus and prospectus supplement. A copy of the prospectus supplement relating to the common stock and warrants can be obtained from Rodman & Renshaw LLC, 1251 Avenue of the Americas, 20th Floor, New York, NY 10020, or by calling 212-356-0549 or e-mailing info@rodm.com. An electronic copy of the prospectus supplement will also be available on the website of the Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”) at http://www.sec.gov. This press release is neither an offer to sell, nor a solicitation of an offer to buy, nor shall there be any sale of, these securities in any state in which such offer, solicitation or sale would be unlawful prior to registration or qualification under the securities laws of any such state.

About EpiCept Corporation

EpiCept is focused on the development and commercialization of pharmaceutical products for the treatment of cancer and pain. The Company’s lead product is Ceplene®, approved in the European Union and several other countries for the remission maintenance and prevention of relapse in adult patients with Acute Myeloid Leukemia (AML) in first remission. In the United States, a pivotal trial is scheduled to commence in 2011. The Company has two other oncology drug candidates currently in clinical development that were discovered using in-house technology and have been shown to act as vascular disruption agents in a variety of solid tumors. The Company’s pain portfolio includes EpiCept™ NP-1, a prescription topical analgesic cream in late-stage clinical development designed to provide effective long-term relief of pain associated with peripheral neuropathies.

Forward-Looking Statements

This news release and any oral statements made with respect to the information contained in this news release contain forward-looking statements within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Such forward-looking statements include statements that express plans, anticipation, intent, contingency, goals, targets, future development and are otherwise not statements of historical fact. These statements are based on our current expectations and are subject to risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results or developments to be materially different from historical results or from any future results expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements. Factors that may cause actual results or developments to differ materially include: the risk that the financing will not successfully close, the risks associated with the adequacy of our existing cash resources and our ability to continue as a going concern, the risks associated with our ability to continue to meet our obligations under our existing debt agreements, the risk that Ceplene® will not receive regulatory approval or marketing authorization in the United States, the risk that Ceplene® will not achieve significant commercial success, the risk that any required post-approval clinical study for Ceplene® will not be successful, the risk that we will not be able to maintain our final regulatory approval or marketing authorization for Ceplene®, the risk that future financing will not successfully close or that the proceeds thereof will be materially less than anticipated, the risk that Azixa™ will not receive regulatory approval or achieve significant commercial success, the risk that we will not receive any significant payments under our agreement with Myrexis, the risk that the development of our other apoptosis product candidates will not be successful, the risk that clinical trials for EpiCept™ NP-1 or crolibulinTM will not be successful, the risk that EpiCept™ NP-1 or crolibulinTM will not receive regulatory approval or achieve significant commercial success, the risk that we will not be able to find a partner to help conduct the Phase III trials for EpiCept™ NP-1 on attractive terms, a timely basis or at all, the risk that our other product candidates that appeared promising in early research and clinical trials do not demonstrate safety and/or efficacy in larger-scale or later stage clinical trials, the risk that we will not obtain approval to market any of our product candidates, the risk that our securities may be delisted from Nasdaq; the risks associated with dependence upon key personnel, the risks associated with reliance on collaborative partners and others for further clinical trials, development, manufacturing and commercialization of our product candidates; the cost, delays and uncertainties associated with our scientific research, product development, clinical trials and regulatory approval process; our history of operating losses since our inception; the highly competitive nature of our business; risks associated with litigation; and risks associated with our ability to protect our intellectual property. These factors and other material risks are more fully discussed in our periodic reports, including our reports on Forms 8-K, 10-Q and 10-K and other filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. You are urged to carefully review and consider the disclosures found in our filings which are available at www.sec.gov or at www.epicept.com. You are cautioned not to place undue reliance on any forward-looking statements, any of which could turn out to be wrong due to inaccurate assumptions, unknown risks or uncertainties or other risk factors.

*Azixa is a registered trademark of Myrexis, Inc.

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