Exhibit 99.1

CONTACTS

EpiCept Corporation: 777 Old Saw Mill River Road Tarrytown, NY 10591 Robert W. Cook (914) 606-3500 rcook@epicept.com	Investors: Lippert/Heilshorn & Associates Kim Sutton Golodetz (212) 838-3777 kgolodetz@lhai.com or Bruce Voss (310) 691-7100 bvoss@lhai.com

Media: Feinstein Kean Healthcare Greg Kelley (617) 577-8110 gregory.kelley@fkhealth.com

EPICEPT ANNOUNCES DEBT REPAYMENT

TARRYTOWN, N.Y. (February 23, 2009) – EpiCept Corporation (Nasdaq and OMX Nordic Exchange: EPCT) announced today that it has repaid the outstanding principal balance, together with all remaining fees, of its $10 million senior secured debt facility with Hercules Technology Growth Corporation. The Company has no further obligations under this agreement.

About EpiCept Corporation

EpiCept is focused on unmet needs in the treatment of pain and cancer. The Company's broad portfolio of pharmaceutical product candidates includes Ceplene(R), a cytokine immunomodulator that recently received marketing authorization in Europe for the remission maintenance of AML patients, and several pain therapies in clinical development. Two oncology drug candidates currently in clinical development that were discovered using in-house technology have also been shown to act as vascular disruption agents in a variety of solid tumors.

Forward-Looking Statements

This news release and any oral statements made with respect to the information contained in this news release, contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Such forward-looking statements include statements which express plans, anticipation, intent, contingency, goals, targets, future development and are otherwise not statements of historical fact. These statements are based on our current expectations and are subject to risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results or developments to be materially different from historical results or from any future results expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements. Factors that may cause actual results or developments to differ materially include: the risks associated with the adequacy of our existing cash resources and our ability to continue as a going concern, the risks associated with our ability to continue to meet our obligations under our existing debt agreements, the risk that our securities may be delisted by The Nasdaq Capital Market or the OMX Nordic Exchange and that any appeal of the delisting determination may not be successful, the risk that Ceplene(R) will not receive regulatory approval or marketing authorization in the U.S. or Canada, the risk that Ceplene(R) will not be launched in Europe in the first half of 2009 or achieve significant commercial success, the risk that we are unable to find a suitable marketing partner for Ceplene(R) on attractive terms, a timely basis or at all, the risk that any required post-approval clinical study will not be successful, the risk that we will not be able to maintain its final regulatory approval or marketing authorization, the risk that Myriad's development of Azixa(TM) will not be successful, the risk that Azixa(TM) will not receive regulatory approval or achieve significant commercial success, the risk that we will not receive any significant payments under our agreement with Myriad, the risk that the development of our other apoptosis product candidates will not be successful, the risk that we will not be able to find a buyer for our ASAP technology, the risk that clinical trials for NP-1 or EPC-2407 will not be successful, the risk that NP-1 or EPC-2407 will not receive regulatory approval or achieve significant commercial success, the risk that we will not be able to find a partner to help conduct the Phase III trials for NP-1 on attractive terms or a timely basis at all, the risk that our other product candidates that appeared promising in early research and clinical trials do not demonstrate safety and/or efficacy in larger-scale or later stage clinical trials, the risk that we will not obtain approval to market any of our other product candidates, the risks associated with our dependence upon key personnel, the risks associated with reliance on collaborative partners and others for further clinical trials, development, manufacturing and commercialization of our product candidates; the cost, delays and uncertainties associated with our scientific research, product development, clinical trials and regulatory approval process; our history of operating losses since our inception; the highly competitive nature of our business; risks associated with litigation; and risks associated with our ability to protect our intellectual property. These factors and other material risks are more fully discussed in our periodic reports, including its reports on Forms 8-K, 10-Q and 10-K and other filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. You are urged to carefully review and consider the disclosures found in our filings, which are available at www.sec.gov or at www.epicept.com. You are cautioned not to place undue reliance on any forward-looking statements, any of which could turn out to be wrong due to inaccurate assumptions, unknown risks or uncertainties or other risk factors.

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EPCT-GEN

*Azixa is a registered trademark of Myriad Genetics, Inc.