WELLS REAL ESTATE FUND XIV LP (CIK 1206401)
Form 10-Q
period 2009-03-31
filed 2009-05-13

UNITED STATES

SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION

Washington, D.C. 20549

FORM 10-Q

(Mark One)

x	QUARTERLY REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(D) OF THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

For the quarterly period ended March 31, 2009

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

Indicate by check mark whether the registrant has submitted electronically and posted on its corporate Web site, if any, every Interactive Data File required to be submitted and posted pursuant to Rule 405 of Regulation S-T (§232.405 of this chapter) during the preceding 12 months (or for such shorter period that the registrant was required to submit and post such files). [Not yet applicable to registrant.]    Yes  ¨    No  ¨

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

Any such forward-looking statements are subject to unknown risks, uncertainties, and other factors and are based on a number of assumptions involving judgments with respect to, among other things, future economic, competitive, and market conditions, all of which are difficult or impossible to predict accurately. To the extent that our assumptions differ from actual results, our ability to meet such forward-looking statements, including our ability to generate positive cash flow from operations, provide distributions to partners, and maintain the value of our real estate properties, may be significantly hindered. See Item 1A. in the Partnership’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2008 for a discussion of some of the risks and uncertainties, although not all risks and uncertainties, which could cause actual results to differ materially from those presented in our forward-looking statements.

WELLS REAL ESTATE FUND XIV, L.P.

PART I.	FINANCIAL INFORMATION

ITEM 1.	FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

The information furnished in the Partnership’s accompanying balance sheets and statements of operations, partners’ capital, and cash flows reflects all adjustments that are, in management’s opinion, necessary for a fair and consistent presentation of the aforementioned financial statements.

The accompanying financial statements should be read in conjunction with the notes to the Partnership’s financial statements and Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations included in both this report on Form 10-Q and in the Partnership’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2008. The Partnership’s results of operations for the three months ended March 31, 2009 are not necessarily indicative of the operating results expected for the full year.

WELLS REAL ESTATE FUND XIV, L.P.

BALANCE SHEETS

ASSETS

	(Unaudited) March 31, 2009	December 31, 2008
REAL ESTATE, AT COST:
Land	$2,470,930	$2,470,930
Building and improvements, less accumulated depreciation of $885,844 and $826,607 as of March 31, 2009 and December 31, 2008, respectively	8,591,439	8,650,676
Intangible lease assets, less accumulated amortization of $1,216,717 and $1,135,579 as of March 31, 2009 and December 31, 2008, respectively	454,379	535,517

Total real estate assets	11,516,748	11,657,123

Investment in joint venture	4,667,311	4,752,021
Cash and cash equivalents	1,300,388	848,232
Tenant receivables	196,015	188,276
Due from joint venture	145,751	168,426
Other assets	2,384	37,175
Intangible lease origination costs, less accumulated amortization of $2,101,092 and $1,962,698 as of March 31, 2009 and December 31, 2008, respectively	678,283	816,677

Total assets	$18,506,880	$18,467,930

LIABILITIES AND PARTNERS’ CAPITAL
LIABILITIES:
Accounts payable, accrued expenses, and refundable security deposits	$75,138	$81,754
Deferred income	33,807	0
Due to affiliates	16,501	14,750

Total liabilities	125,446	96,504

PARTNERS’ CAPITAL:
Limited partners:
Cash Preferred – 2,648,615 units issued and outstanding	18,380,692	18,370,784
Tax Preferred – 825,508 units issued and outstanding	0	0
General partners	742	642

Total partners’ capital	18,381,434	18,371,426

Total liabilities and partners’ capital	$18,506,880	$18,467,930

See accompanying notes.

WELLS REAL ESTATE FUND XIV, L.P.

STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS

	(Unaudited) Three Months Ended March 31,
	2009	2008
REVENUES:
Rental income	$288,549	$288,549
Tenant reimbursements	153,315	197,699
Interest and other income	6	2,752

Total revenues	441,870	489,000
EXPENSES:
Property operating costs	141,388	181,016
Management and leasing fees	19,303	20,781
Depreciation	59,237	59,271
Amortization	217,975	217,975
General and administrative	55,000	61,862

Total expenses	492,903	540,905

EQUITY IN INCOME OF JOINT VENTURE	61,041	72,151

NET INCOME	$10,008	$20,246

NET INCOME (LOSS) ALLOCATED TO:
CASH PREFERRED LIMITED PARTNERS	$9,908	$374,932

TAX PREFERRED LIMITED PARTNERS	$0	$(354,686)

GENERAL PARTNERS	$100	$0

NET INCOME (LOSS) PER WEIGHTED-AVERAGE LIMITED PARTNER UNIT:
CASH PREFERRED	$0.00	$ 0.14

TAX PREFERRED	$0.00	$(0.43)

WEIGHTED-AVERAGE LIMITED PARTNER UNITS OUTSTANDING:
CASH PREFERRED	2,648,615	2,647,615

TAX PREFERRED	825,508	826,508

See accompanying notes.

WELLS REAL ESTATE FUND XIV, L.P.

STATEMENTS OF PARTNERS’ CAPITAL

FOR THE YEAR ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2008

AND THE THREE MONTHS ENDED MARCH 31, 2009 (UNAUDITED)

	Limited Partners				General Partners	Total Partners’ Capital
	Cash Preferred		Tax Preferred
	Units	Amount	Units	Amount
BALANCE, December 31, 2007	2,647,615	$17,548,501	826,508	$1,310,305	$0	$18,858,806

Tax preferred conversion elections	1,000	1,156	(1,000)	(1,156)	0	0
Net income (loss)	0	1,420,183	0	(1,309,149)	642	111,676
Distributions of operating cash flow ($0.23 per weighted-average Cash Preferred Unit)	0	(599,056)	0	0	0	(599,056)

BALANCE, December 31, 2008	2,648,615	18,370,784	825,508	0	642	18,371,426

Net income	0	9,908	0	0	100	10,008

BALANCE, March 31, 2009	2,648,615	$18,380,692	825,508	$0	$742	$18,381,434

See accompanying notes.

WELLS REAL ESTATE FUND XIV, L.P.

STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS

	(Unaudited) Three Months Ended March 31,
	2009	2008
CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES:
Net income	$10,008	$20,246
Operating distributions received from joint venture	168,426	175,626
Adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash provided by operating activities:
Depreciation	59,237	59,271
Amortization	219,532	219,532
Equity in income of joint venture	(61,041)	(72,151)
Changes in assets and liabilities:
Increase in tenant receivables	(7,739)	(53,490)
Decrease (increase) in other assets	34,791	(4,693)
(Decrease) increase in accounts payable and accrued expenses	(6,616)	14,778
Increase in deferred income	33,807	27,484
Increase in due to affiliates	1,751	8,173

Net cash provided by operating activities	452,156	394,776

CASH FLOWS FROM FINANCING ACTIVITIES:
Operating distributions paid to limited partners	0	(412,613)

NET INCREASE (DECREASE) IN CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS	452,156	(17,837)

CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS, beginning of period	848,232	482,904

CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS, end of period	$1,300,388	$465,067

SUPPLEMENTAL DISCLOSURE OF NONCASH INVESTING AND FINANCING ACTIVITIES:
Partnership distributions payable	$0	$390,652

See accompanying notes.

WELLS REAL ESTATE FUND XIV, L.P.

CONDENSED NOTES TO FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

MARCH 31, 2009 (unaudited)

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

1. 150 Apollo Drive A three-story office building located in Chelmsford, Massachusetts

2. 3675 Kennesaw Building A one-story distribution warehouse building located in Kennesaw, Georgia

During the periods presented, the Partnership owned interests in the following joint venture (the “Joint Venture”) and property:

Joint Venture	Joint Venture Partners	Properties
Fund XIII and Fund XIV Associates (“Fund XIII-XIV Associates” or the “Joint Venture”)	• Wells Real Estate Fund XIII, L.P. • Wells Real Estate Fund XIV, L.P.	Siemens – Orlando Building Two single-story office buildings located in Orlando, Florida

Wells Real Estate Fund XIII, L.P. is affiliated with the Partnership through common general partners. Each of the properties described above was acquired on an all-cash basis. For further information regarding the Joint Venture and foregoing properties, refer to the Partnership’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2008.

2.	SUMMARY OF SIGNIFICANT ACCOUNTING POLICIES

Basis of Presentation

The financial statements of the Partnership have been prepared in accordance with the rules and regulations of the Securities and Exchange Commission (“SEC”), including the instructions to Form 10-Q and Article 10 of Regulation S-X, and in accordance with such rules and regulations, do not include all of the information and footnotes required by U.S. generally accepted accounting principles (“GAAP”) for complete financial statements. In the opinion of the General Partners, the statements for the unaudited interim periods presented include all adjustments that are of a normal and recurring nature and necessary to fairly and consistently present the results for these periods. Results for interim periods are not necessarily indicative of full-year results. For further information, refer to the financial statements and footnotes included in the Partnership’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2008.

Investment in Joint Venture

The Partnership has evaluated the Joint Venture and concluded that it is not a variable interest entity. The Partnership does not have control over the operations of the Joint Venture; however, it does exercise significant influence. Approval by the Partnership as well as the other joint venture partner is required for any major decision or any action that would materially affect the Joint Venture or its real property investments. Accordingly, the Partnership accounts for its investment in the Joint Venture using the equity method of accounting, whereby the original investment is recorded at cost and subsequently adjusted for contributions, distributions, and net income (loss) attributable to the Partnership. Pursuant to the terms of the joint venture agreement, all income (loss) and distributions are allocated to the joint venture partners in accordance with their respective ownership interests. Distributions of net cash from operations, if available, are generally distributed to the joint venture partners on a quarterly basis.

Evaluating the Recoverability of Real Estate Assets

The Partnership continually monitors events and changes in circumstances that could indicate that the carrying amounts of the real estate assets owned through the Partnership’s investment in the Joint Ventures may not be recoverable. When indicators of potential impairment are present which suggest that the carrying amounts of real estate assets may not be recoverable, management assesses the recoverability of the real estate assets by determining whether the respective carrying values will be recovered through the estimated undiscounted future operating cash flows expected from the use of the assets and their eventual disposition for assets held for use, or with the estimated fair values, less costs to sell, for assets held for sale. In the event that the expected undiscounted future cash flows for assets held for use, or the estimated fair value, less costs to sell, for assets held for sale do not exceed the respective asset carrying value, management adjusts the real estate assets to the respective estimated fair values, pursuant to the provisions of Statement of Financial Accounting Standards (“SFAS”) No. 144, Accounting for the Impairment or Disposal of Long-Lived Assets (“SFAS No. 144”), and recognizes an impairment loss. Estimated fair values are calculated based on the following information, in order of preference, dependent upon availability: (i) recently quoted market prices, (ii) market prices for comparable properties, or (iii) the present value of future cash flows, including estimated salvage value.

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

Distribution of Net Sale Proceeds

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

Recent Accounting Pronouncement

In September 2006, the FASB issued SFAS No. 157, Fair Value Measurements (“SFAS No. 157”), which defines fair value, establishes a framework for measuring fair value, and expands disclosures required for fair value measurements under GAAP, including amending SFAS No. 144. SFAS No. 157 emphasizes that fair value is a market-based measurement, as opposed to an entity-specific measurement. In February 2008, the FASB issued Staff Position No. SFAS 157-2, Effective Date of FASB Statement No. 157 (“FSP 157-2”). FSP 157-2 delayed the effective date of SFAS No. 157 for all nonrecurring nonfinancial assets and liabilities until fiscal years beginning after November 15, 2008. Accordingly, FSP 157-2 was effective for the Partnership for the fiscal year beginning January 1, 2009. FSP 157-2 has not had a material impact on the Partnership’s financial statements to date.

3.	INVESTMENT IN JOINT VENTURE

Summary of Financial Information

The following information summarizes the operations of the Joint Venture for the three months ended March 31, 2009 and 2008, respectively:

	Total Revenues		Income From Continuing Operations		Income From Discontinued Operations		Net Income
	Three Months Ended March 31,		Three Months Ended March 31,		Three Months Ended March 31,		Three Months Ended March 31,
	2009	2008	2009	2008	2009	2008	2009	2008
Fund XIII-XIV Associates	$390,472	$392,178	$115,829	$136,512	$0	$397	$115,829	$136,909

The Partnership allocates its share of net income, net loss, and gain on sale generated by the properties owned by the Joint Venture to its Cash Preferred and Tax Preferred limited partners pursuant to the partnership agreement provisions outlined in Note 2. The components of income from discontinued operations recognized by the Joint Venture are provided below:

	Three Months Ended March 31, 2009			Three Months Ended March 31, 2008
	Operating Income	Gain on Sale	Total	Operating Income	Gain on Sale	Total
Fund XIII-XIV Associates	$0	$0	$0	$397	$0	$397

Due from Joint Venture

As presented in the accompanying balance sheets, due from joint venture as of March 31, 2009 and December 31, 2008 represents operating cash flow generated by the Joint Venture for the three months ended March 31, 2009 and December 31, 2008, respectively, which is attributable to the Partnership.

4.	RELATED-PARTY TRANSACTIONS

Management and Leasing Fees

The Partnership has entered into a property management, leasing, and asset management agreement with Wells Management Company, Inc. (“Wells Management”), an affiliate of the General Partners. In accordance with the property management, leasing, and asset management agreement, Wells Management receives compensation for the management and leasing of the Partnership’s properties owned directly or through the Joint Venture, equal to the lesser of (a) 4.5% of the gross revenues collected monthly; plus, a separate competitive fee for the one-time initial lease-up of newly constructed properties generally paid in conjunction with the receipt of the first month’s rent, or (b) fees that would be paid to a comparable outside firm, which is assessed periodically based on market studies. In the case of commercial properties leased on a long-term net-lease basis (ten or more years), the maximum property management fee from such leases shall be 1% of the gross revenues generally paid over the life of the leases, except for a one-time initial leasing fee of 3% of the gross revenues on each lease payable over the first five full years of the original lease term. Management and leasing fees are paid by the Joint Venture for the properties owned through the Joint Venture and, accordingly, are included in equity in income of joint venture in the accompanying statements of operations. Management and leasing fees are paid by the Partnership for the properties owned directly. The Partnership’s share of management, leasing and asset management fees and lease acquisition costs from properties owned directly and through the Joint Venture and payable to Wells Management is $16,926 and $15,743 for the three months ended March 31, 2009 and 2008, respectively.

Administrative Reimbursements

Wells Capital, one of our General Partners, and Wells Management perform certain administrative services for the Partnership, relating to accounting, property management, and other partnership administration, and incur the related expenses. Such expenses are allocated among other entities affiliated with the General Partners based on time spent on each fund by individual administrative personnel. In the opinion of the General Partners, this allocation is a reasonable estimation of such expenses. The Partnership incurred administrative expenses of $24,386 and $24,470 payable to Wells Capital and Wells Management for the three months ended March 31, 2009 and 2008, respectively. In addition, Wells Capital and Wells Management pay for certain operating expenses of the Partnership (“bill-backs”) directly and invoice the Partnership for the reimbursement thereof on a quarterly basis.

Due to Affiliates

As of March 31, 2009 and December 31, 2008, due to affiliates was comprised of the following items:

	March 31, 2008	December 31, 2008
Administrative reimbursements and bill-backs due to Wells Capital and/or Wells Management	$12,774	$9,648
Management, leasing, and asset management fees due to Wells Management	3,727	5,102

	$16,501	$14,750

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

Wells Capital and Wells Management are both owned and controlled by WREF. The operations of Wells Capital and Wells Management represent substantially all of the business of WREF. Accordingly, the Partnership focuses on the financial condition of WREF when assessing the financial condition of Wells Capital and Wells Management. In the event that WREF were to become unable to meet its obligations as they become due, the Partnership might be required to find alternative service providers.

Future net income generated by WREF will be largely dependent upon the amount of fees earned by Wells Capital and Wells Management based on, among other things, the level of investor proceeds raised from the sale of common stock for certain WREF-sponsored programs and the volume of future acquisitions and dispositions of real estate assets by WREF-sponsored programs, as well as anticipated dividend income earned from its holdings of common stock of Piedmont REIT, which was acquired in connection with the Piedmont REIT internalization transaction (see Assertion of Legal Action Against Related-Parties below). In addition, WREF guarantees debt of another WREF-sponsored product which was in the amount of approximately $49.4 million as of April 30, 2009. The General Partners believe that WREF generates adequate cash flow from operations and has adequate liquidity available in the form of cash on hand and other investments necessary to meet its current and future obligations as they become due.

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

On March 12, 2007, a stockholder of Piedmont REIT, filed a putative class action and derivative complaint, presently styled In re Wells Real Estate Investment Trust, Inc. Securities Litigation, in the United States District Court for the District of Maryland against, among others, Piedmont REIT; Leo F. Wells, III and Wells Capital, the Partnership’s General Partners; Wells Management, the Partnership’s property manager; certain affiliates of WREF; the directors of Piedmont REIT; and certain individuals who formerly served as officers or directors of Piedmont REIT prior to the closing of the internalization transaction on April 16, 2007. The complaint alleges, among other things, violations of the federal proxy rules and breaches of fiduciary duty arising from the Piedmont REIT internalization transaction and the related proxy statement filed with the SEC on February 26, 2007, as amended. The complaint seeks, among other things, unspecified monetary damages and nullification of the Piedmont REIT internalization transaction. On April 9, 2007, the District Court denied the plaintiff’s motion for an order enjoining the internalization transaction. On April 17, 2007, the Court granted the defendants’ motion to transfer venue to the United States District Court for the Northern District of Georgia, and the case was docketed in the Northern District of Georgia on April 24, 2007. On June 7, 2007, the Court granted a motion to designate the class lead plaintiff and class co-lead counsel. On June 27, 2007, the plaintiff filed an amended complaint, which attempts to assert class action claims on behalf of those persons who received and were entitled to vote on the Piedmont REIT proxy statement filed with the SEC on February 26, 2007, and derivative claims on behalf of Piedmont REIT. On July 9, 2007, the Court denied the plaintiff’s motion for expedited discovery related to an anticipated motion for a preliminary injunction. On August 13, 2007, the defendants filed a motion to dismiss the amended complaint. On March 31, 2008, the Court granted in part the defendants’ motion to dismiss the amended complaint. The Court dismissed five of the seven counts of the amended complaint in their entirety. The Court dismissed the remaining two counts with the exception of allegations regarding the failure to disclose in the Piedmont REIT proxy statement details of certain expressions of interest in acquiring Piedmont REIT. On April 21, 2008, the plaintiff filed a second amended complaint, which alleges violations of the federal proxy rules based upon allegations that the proxy statement to obtain approval for the Piedmont REIT internalization transaction omitted details of certain expressions of interest in acquiring Piedmont REIT. The second amended complaint seeks, among other things, unspecified monetary damages, to nullify and rescind the

internalization transaction, and to cancel and rescind any stock issued to the defendants as consideration for the internalization transaction. On May 12, 2008, the defendants answered and raised certain defenses to the second amended complaint. On June 23, 2008, the plaintiff filed a motion for class certification. The defendants responded to the plaintiff’s motion for class certification on January 16, 2009. The plaintiff filed its reply in support of its motions for class certification on February 19, 2009. The motion for class certification is currently pending before the court. The parties are presently engaged in discovery. On April 13, 2009, the plaintiff moved for leave to amend the second amended complaint to add additional defendants. The time for the defendants to respond to the motion for leave to amend the complaint has not yet expired. Mr. Wells, Wells Capital, and Wells Management intend to vigorously defend this action. Any financial loss incurred by Wells Capital, Wells Management, or their affiliates could hinder their ability to successfully manage the Partnership’s operations and portfolio of investments.

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

Certain lease agreements include provisions that, at the option of the tenant, may obligate the Partnership to expend capital to expand an existing property or provide other expenditures for the benefit of the tenant. Through November 30, 2009, one of the tenants at the Siemens – Orlando Building, Etour and Travel, Inc. (“Etour”), has the right to request tenant improvements of up to approximately $79,000, which would be required to be funded by Fund XIII-XIV Associates. As of March 31, 2009, Fund XIII-XIV Associates has funded Etour’s first reimbursement request of approximately $30,000 of the aforementioned obligation to reimburse tenant improvements.

ITEM 2.	MANAGEMENT’S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF FINANCIAL CONDITION AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONS

The following discussion and analysis should be read in conjunction with the accompanying financial statements and notes thereto. See also “Cautionary Note Regarding Forward-Looking Statements” preceding Part I, as well as the notes to our financial statements and Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations provided in our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2008.

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

The first quarter 2009 operating distributions to limited partners were reserved. We anticipate that operating distributions will continue to be reserved in the near-term as a result of our intention to fund our pro rata share of anticipated re-leasing costs, tenant improvement reimbursement obligations and capital improvements at the Siemens – Orlando Building and 150 Apollo Drive, as the existing leases expire at these properties.

Property Summary

As we continue to operate in the holding phase, we will continue to focus on re-leasing vacant space and space that may become vacant upon the expiration of our current leases. In doing so, we will seek to maximize returns to our limited partners by attempting to negotiate long-term leases at market rental rates while attempting to minimize down time, re-leasing expenditures, ongoing property level costs and portfolio costs. Later as we move into the positioning-for-sale and disposition-and-liquidation phases, our attention will shift to locating suitable buyers and negotiating purchase-sale contracts that will attempt to maximize the total return to our limited partners, and minimize contingencies and our post-closing involvement with buyers. As of April 30, 2009, the Partnership owned interests in three properties.

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

Short-Term Liquidity

During the three months ended March 31, 2009, we generated net cash flows from operating activities, including distributions received from the Joint Venture, of approximately $452,000. Such operating cash flows are generally representative of rental revenues and tenant reimbursements, less property operating expenses, management fees, general administrative expenses, and capital expenditures. Consistent with the fourth quarter of 2008, we continued to withhold the net operating cash flows generated in the first quarter of 2009 to fund our pro rata share of anticipated re-leasing costs, tenant improvement reimbursement obligations and capital improvements at the Siemens – Orlando Building and 150 Apollo Drive, as the existing leases expire at these properties. The extent of future operating distributions paid to limited partners will be largely dependent upon the amount of cash generated by properties owned directly by the Partnership or through the Joint Venture, our expectations of future cash flows and determination of near-term cash needs to fund our share of tenant re-leasing costs, and other capital improvements for properties owned directly by the Partnership or through the Joint Venture. We anticipate that operating distributions from the Joint Venture may decline in the near term as a result of funding our pro rata share of anticipated re-leasing costs at the Siemens – Orlando Building.

At this time, we expect to continue to generate cash flows from operations, including distributions from the Joint Venture, sufficient to cover our anticipated future expenses. We believe that the cash on hand and operating distributions due from the Joint Venture will be sufficient to cover our working capital needs, including liabilities of approximately $125,000, as of March 31, 2009. During the remainder of 2009, we anticipate that we will be able to fund our proportionate share of capital expenditures noted above using future operating cash flows and net sale proceeds.

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

As of March 31, 2009, we have received, used, distributed, and held net sale proceeds allocated to the Partnership from the sale of properties as presented below:

Property Sold	Net Sale Proceeds	Partnership’s Approximate Ownership %	Net Sale Proceeds Allocated to the Partnership	Use of Net Sale Proceeds		Net Sale Proceeds Distributed to Partners as of March 31, 2009	Undistributed Net Sale Proceeds as of March 31, 2009
				Amount	Purpose

7500 Setzler Parkway (sold in 2007)	$8,723,080	52.7%	$4,597,063	$0	–	$4,597,063	$0

Randstad – Atlanta Building (sold in 2007)	$8,992,600	52.7%	4,739,100	0	–	4,692,937	46,163

Total			$9,336,163	$0		$9,290,000	$46,163

Upon evaluating the anticipated capital needs of the properties in which we currently own an interest, our General Partners have determined to reserve the remaining net sale proceeds to fund our pro rata share of anticipated re-leasing costs, tenant improvement reimbursement obligations and capital improvements at the Siemens – Orlando Building and 150 Apollo Drive, as the existing leases expire at these properties

Results of Operations

Comparison of the three months ended March 31, 2009 versus the three months ended March 31, 2008

Rental income, management and leasing fees, depreciation expense, and amortization expense remained relatively constant for the three months ended March 31, 2009 and March 31, 2008. Given the current stability of the properties we own directly, we anticipate that rental income, management and leasing fees, depreciation expense, and amortization expense will remain at similar levels in the near term.

Tenant reimbursements at the properties we own directly were $153,315 and $197,699 for the three months ended March 31, 2009 and 2008, respectively. Property operating costs at the properties we own directly were $141,388 and $181,016 for the three months ended March 31, 2009 and 2008, respectively. The decreases are primarily due to a decrease in reimbursable repairs and maintenance costs and property taxes levied at 150 Apollo Drive. Given the current stability of the properties we own directly, we expect tenant reimbursements and property operating costs to remain at similar levels in the near term.

Interest and other income was $6 and $2,752 for the three months ended March 31, 2009 and 2008, respectively. The decrease is primarily a result of a decrease in the average daily yield. Future levels of interest income will be largely dependent upon the level of net sale proceeds held based on the timing of future property dispositions and net sale proceeds distributions to the limited partners.

General and administrative expenses were $55,000 and $61,862 for the three months ended March 31, 2009 and 2008, respectively. The decrease is primarily due to a decrease in administrative services and printing costs. We anticipate that changes in the future levels of our general and administrative expenses will vary primarily dependent upon future changes in our reporting and regulatory requirements.

Equity in income of Joint Venture was $61,041 and $72,151 for the three months ended March 31, 2009 and 2008, respectively. The decrease is primarily due to increases in operating costs and management fees at the Siemens – Orlando Building. We anticipate equity in income of Joint Venture to remain at similar levels in the near term; however, if the majority tenant of the Siemens – Orlando Building does not extend its current lease (which is currently scheduled to expire in September 2009) and we are unable to secure a replacement tenant in a timely manner, equity in income of Joint Venture would be lower.

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

We continually monitor events and changes in circumstances that could indicate that the carrying amounts of the real estate assets and related intangible assets in which we have an ownership interest, either directly or through investments in the Joint Venture, may not be recoverable. When indicators of potential impairment are present which suggest that the carrying amounts of real estate assets and related intangible assets may not be recoverable, we assess the recoverability of the real estate assets and related intangible assets by determining whether the respective carrying values will be recovered through the estimated undiscounted future operating cash flows expected from the use of the assets and their eventual disposition for assets held for use, or with the estimated fair values, less costs to sell, for assets held for sale. In the event that such expected undiscounted future cash flows for assets held for use, or the estimated fair values less costs to sell, for assets held for sale, do not exceed the respective assets’ carrying values, we adjust the real estate assets and related intangible assets to the respective estimated fair values, pursuant to the provisions of SFAS No. 144, and recognize an impairment loss. Estimated fair values are calculated based on the following information in order of preference, dependent upon availability: (i) recently quoted market prices, (ii) market prices for comparable properties, or (iii) the present value of future cash flows, including estimated salvage value. We have determined that there has been no impairment in the carrying value of any of our real estate assets held as of March 31, 2009.

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

During the three months ended March 31, 2009 and 2008, the Partnership recognized the following amortization of intangible lease assets:

	Intangible Lease Assets		Intangible Lease Origination Costs
	Above-Market In-Place Lease Asset	Absorption Period Costs
For the three months ended March 31:
2009	$1,557	$79,581	$138,394

2008	$1,557	$79,581	$138,394

As of March 31, 2009 and December 31, 2008, the Partnership had the following gross intangible in-place lease assets:

	Intangible Lease Assets		Intangible Lease Origination Costs
	Above-Market In-Place Lease Asset	Absorption Period Costs
March 31, 2009	$42,045	$1,629,051	$2,779,375

December 31, 2008	$42,045	$1,629,051	$2,779,375

The remaining net intangible asset balances will be amortized as follows:

	Intangible Lease Assets		Intangible Lease Origination Costs
	Above-Market In-Place Lease Asset	Absorption Period Costs
For the year ending December 31:
2009	$4,672	$238,744	$415,183
2010	6,229	129,364	205,478
2011	6,229	34,883	31,430
2012	5,190	29,068	26,192
Thereafter	0	0	0

	$22,320	$432,059	$678,283

Weighted-Average Amortization Period	4 years	1 year	1 year

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

Commitments and Contingencies

Certain lease agreements include provisions that, at the option of the tenant, may obligate the Partnership to expend capital to expand an existing property or provide other expenditures for the benefit of the tenant. Through November 30, 2009, one of the tenants at the Siemens – Orlando Building, Etour, has the right to request tenant improvements of up to approximately $79,000, which would be required to be funded by Fund XIII-XIV Associates. As of March 31, 2009, Fund XIII-XIV Associates has funded Etour’s first reimbursement request of approximately $30,000 of the aforementioned obligation to reimburse tenant improvements.

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

There were no changes in our internal control over financial reporting during the quarter ended March 31, 2009 that have materially affected, or are reasonably likely to materially affect, our internal control over financial reporting.

PART II.	OTHER INFORMATION

ITEM 1.	LEGAL PROCEEDINGS

We are from time to time a party to legal proceedings, which arise in the ordinary course of our business. We are not currently involved in any litigation the outcome of which would, in management’s judgment based on information currently available, have a material adverse effect on our results of operations or financial condition, nor is management aware of any such litigation threatened against us during the quarter ended March 31, 2009, requiring disclosure under Item 103 of Regulation S-K. For a description of pending litigation involving certain related parties, see “Assertion of Legal Action Against Related-Parties” in Note 4 to our financial statements included in this report.

ITEM 1A.	RISK FACTORS

There have been no material changes from the risk factors previously disclosed in our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2008.

ITEM 2.	UNREGISTERED SALES OF EQUITY SECURITIES AND USE OF PROCEEDS

(a)	We did not sell any equity securities that were not registered under the Securities Act of 1933 during the quarter ended March 31, 2009.

(b)	Not applicable.

(c)	We did not redeem any securities during the quarter ended March 31, 2009.

ITEM 3.	DEFAULTS UPON SENIOR SECURITIES

(a)	We were not subject to any indebtedness and, therefore, did not default with respect to any indebtedness during the quarter ended March 31, 2009.

(b)	Not applicable.

ITEM 4.	SUBMISSION OF MATTERS TO A VOTE OF SECURITY HOLDERS

No matters were submitted to a vote of our limited partners during the quarter ended March 31, 2009.

ITEM 5.	OTHER INFORMATION

(a)	During the quarter ended March 31, 2009, there was no information required to be disclosed in a report on Form 8-K which was not disclosed in a report on Form 8-K.

(b)	Not applicable.

ITEM 6.	EXHIBITS

The Exhibits to this report are set forth on Exhibit Index to First Quarter Form 10-Q attached hereto.

SIGNATURES

Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the Registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned thereunto duly authorized.

WELLS REAL ESTATE FUND XIV, L.P. (Registrant)

	By:	WELLS CAPITAL, INC. (Corporate General Partner)

May 13, 2009	/s/ LEO F. WELLS, III
Leo F. Wells, III President, Principal Executive Officer, and Sole Director of Wells Capital, Inc.

May 13, 2009	/s/ DOUGLAS P. WILLIAMS
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