Exhibit 99.1

NEWS RELEASE

COMDISCO ANNOUNCES PREPAYMENT OF REMAINING AMOUNTS DUE FROM THE SALE OF ITS GERMAN LEASING SUBSIDIARY

Rosemont, IL - April 13, 2004—Comdisco Holding Company, Inc. (OTC: CDCO) announced today the discounted prepayment by Comprendium Investments S. A. of the remaining payments due from the sale of Comdisco’s German leasing subsidiary. Comdisco received 30.5 million euros in lieu of four payments of 9.5 million euros each, scheduled for payment in April 2004, April 2005, May 2006 and December 2006. The scheduled payments would have been subject to reduction if certain customers exercised contractual termination provisions. The prepaid amount has been converted into $36.7 million and repatriated to the U.S. Comdisco expects to take a charge of approximately $2 million in its second fiscal quarter to reflect the difference between the prepaid amount and the carrying value of the four scheduled payments.

About Comdisco
Comdisco emerged from chapter 11 bankruptcy proceedings on August 12, 2002. The purpose of reorganized Comdisco is to sell, collect or otherwise reduce to money in an orderly manner the remaining assets of the corporation. Pursuant to Comdisco’s plan of reorganization and restrictions contained in its certificate of incorporation, Comdisco is specifically prohibited from engaging in any business activities inconsistent with its limited business purpose. Accordingly, within the next few years, it is anticipated that Comdisco will have reduced all of its assets to cash and made distributions of all available cash to holders of its common stock and contingent distribution rights in the manner and priorities set forth in the Plan. At that point, the company will cease operations and no further distributions will be made.

Safe Harbor
The foregoing contains forward-looking statements regarding Comdisco. They reflect the company’s current views with respect to current events and financial performance, are subject to many risks, uncertainties and factors relating to the company’s operations and business environment which may cause the actual results of the company to be materially different from any future results, express or implied by such forward-looking statements. The company intends that such forward-looking statements be subject to the Safe Harbor created by Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933 and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934. The words and phrases “expect,” “estimate,” and “anticipate” and similar expressions identify forward-looking statements. Certain factors that could cause actual results to differ materially from these forward-looking statements are listed from time to time in the company’s SEC reports, including, but not limited to, the report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended September 30, 2003 and the report on Form 10-Q for the quarter ended December 31, 2003. Comdisco disclaims any intention or obligation to update or revise any forward-looking statements whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise.

Contacts: Comdisco: Mary Moster 847-518-5147 mcmoster@comdisco.com