Exhibit 99.1

News release via Canada NewsWire, Toronto 416-863-9350

    Attention Business Editors:
    Data on PreMD's New PREVU(x) Tape POC Format to be Presented at American
    Association for Clinical Chemistry Meeting

    TORONTO, April 2 /CNW/ - Predictive medicine company PreMD Inc. (TSX:
PMD; Amex: PME) today announced that a scientific abstract describing a new
format of its PREVU(x) technology has been accepted for a presentation at the
upcoming American Association for Clinical Chemistry (AACC) Annual Meeting
which will take place July 15 to July 19, 2007 in San Diego.
    The abstract titled "A fast, non-invasive method for measurement of
cholesterol in skin samples" evaluates PREVU(x) Tape POC's performance
characteristics. PREVU(x) Tape POC is the third product in the PREVU(x) line of
skin cholesterol tests. It was created specifically for point-of-contact or
point-of-sale opportunities.
    "We are excited by the potential of PREVU(x) Tape POC. This new format
could make a safe, quick, accurate and non-invasive way to measure cholesterol
readily available in additional point-of-contact settings," said Dr. Brent
Norton, President and Chief Executive Officer of PreMD. "While we initially
designed PREVU(x) for use at the point-of-care or as a laboratory processed
test, this new format may have utility beyond healthcare. We have been working
with a potential partner to assess PREVU(x) for skin testing in the cosmetics
market and look forward to exploring this and other market opportunities."
    The AACC is an international scientific/medical society of clinical
laboratory professionals, physicians, research scientists and others involved
with clinical laboratory medicine, science and related disciplines. The AACC
provides leadership in advancing the practice and profession of clinical
laboratory medicine and its role in improving health care. Its members develop
and perform tests conducted in hospital laboratories, clinics, medical centers
and other health care settings.

    About PREVU(x) Tape POC Skin Cholesterol Test

    PREVU(x) non-invasively measures the amount of cholesterol that has
accumulated in the skin tissues, as opposed to blood. There is no fasting or
other patient preparation required for the test. Clinical studies have shown
that as cholesterol accumulates on artery walls it also accumulates in other
tissues, including the skin. High levels of skin cholesterol are correlated
with higher incidence of coronary artery disease (CAD).

    About PreMD

    PreMD Inc. is a leader in predictive medicine, dedicated to developing
rapid, non-invasive tests for the early detection of life-threatening
diseases. PreMD's cardiovascular products are branded as PREVU(x) Skin
Cholesterol Test. The company's cancer tests include ColorectAlert(TM),
LungAlert(TM) and a breast cancer test. PreMD's head office is located in
Toronto, Ontario and its research and product development facility is at
McMaster University in Hamilton, Ontario. For further information, please
visit www.premdinc.com.

    This press release contains forward-looking statements. These statements
involve known and unknown risks and uncertainties, which could cause the
Company's actual results to differ materially from those in the
forward-looking statements. Such risks and uncertainties include, among
others, the successful development or marketing of the Company's products, the
competitiveness of the Company's products if successfully commercialized, the
lack of operating profit and availability of funds and resources to pursue R&D
projects, the successful and timely completion of clinical studies, product
liability, reliance on third-party manufacturers, the ability of the Company
to take advantage of business opportunities, uncertainties related to the
regulatory process, and general changes in economic conditions.
    In addition, while the Company routinely obtains patents for its products
and technology, the protection offered by the Company's patents and patent
applications may be challenged, invalidated or circumvented by our competitors
and there can be no guarantee of our ability to obtain or maintain patent
protection for our products or product candidates.
    Investors should consult the Company's quarterly and annual filings with
the Canadian and U.S. securities commissions for additional information on
risks and uncertainties relating to the forward-looking statements. Investors
are cautioned not to rely on these forward-looking statements. PreMD is
providing this information as of the date of this press release and does not
undertake any obligation to update any forward-looking statements contained in
this press release as a result of new information, future events or otherwise.

    (x)Trademark

    %SEDAR: 00007927E          %CIK: 0001179083

    /For further information: Brent Norton, President and CEO, Tel: (416)
222-3449 ext. 22, Email: bnorton(at)premdinc.com; Ron Hosking, Chief Financial
Officer, Tel: (416) 222-3449 ext. 24, Email: rhosking(at)premdinc.com/
    (PMD. PME)

CO:  PreMD Inc.

CNW 09:30e 02-APR-07