Exhibit 99.1

News release via Canada NewsWire, Calgary 403-269-7605

     Attention Business Editors:
     OPTI Canada Announces Appointment of Advisors

     TSX: OPC

     CALGARY, Nov. 14 /CNW/ - OPTI Canada Inc. (OPTI) announced today that the
company has appointed TD Securities Inc. (TD Securities) to assist in its
previously announced review of funding options for its continuing cash
requirements in 2009. The review will include an assessment of a range of
funding options including asset sales, new debt, and/or new equity.
     Continued uncertainty in capital markets is constraining access to new
debt and equity for many companies. There can be no assurances that any
transaction will occur or, if one is undertaken, its terms or timing. OPTI
does not expect to update its progress with respect to the review of options
until the Board of Directors authorizes any transaction or if required by
disclosure requirements.
     At November 11, 2008 we have approximately $324 million of cash on hand
(excluding the company's interest reserve accounts). These resources are
expected to be sufficient through start-up of the Long Lake Upgrader (the
Upgrader) and into early to mid-2009. Upon the commencement of operations of
the Upgrader, we expect to generate positive operating cash flows. Total cash
flow from the Long Lake Project (the Project) in the fourth quarter of 2008
and early 2009 will be impacted by many factors including, but not limited to,
the final cost of the Project, timing of commencement of operations, the rate
of ramp-up of the Long Lake SAGD operation and the Upgrader during the
start-up phase, as well as oil and natural gas prices.
     "We have a world class asset in the process of starting up," said Sid
Dykstra President and CEO of OPTI Canada. "The Upgrader is expected to be
producing cash flows in the near future but looking ahead to our 2009 cash
flow needs and considering the current financing environment we want to be
proactive in generating additional liquidity to fund our future capital
programs."

     ABOUT OPTI

     OPTI Canada Inc. is a Calgary, Alberta-based company focused on
developing the fourth and next major integrated oil sands project in Canada,
the Long Lake Project, in a 50/50 joint venture with Nexen Inc. The first
phase of the Project consists of 72,000 barrels per day of SAGD (steam
assisted gravity drainage) oil production integrated with an OPTI-operated
upgrading facility, using OPTI's proprietary OrCrude(TM) process and
commercially available hydrocracking and gasification. Through gasification,
this configuration substantially reduces the exposure to and the need to
purchase natural gas. The Project is expected to produce 58,500 bbl/d of
products, primarily 39 degree API Premium Sweet Crude with low sulphur
content, making it a highly desirable refinery feedstock. OPTI's common shares
trade on the Toronto Stock Exchange under the symbol OPC.

     FORWARD LOOKING STATEMENTS

     Certain statements contained herein are forward-looking statements,
including statements relating to: OPTI's operations; anticipated financial
performance; business prospects, expansion plans and strategies; OPTI's plans
and expectations concerning the use and performance of the OrCrude(TM) process
and other related technologies; the cost, development and operation of the
Long Lake Project and OPTI's relationship with Nexen Inc. Forward-looking
information typically contains statements with words such as "anticipate,"
"estimate," "expect," "potential," "could" or similar words suggesting future
outcomes. Readers are cautioned not to place undue reliance on forward-looking
information because it is possible that expectations, predictions, forecasts,
projections and other forms of forward-looking information will not be
achieved by OPTI. By its nature, forward-looking information involves numerous
assumptions, inherent risks and uncertainties. A change in any one of these
factors could cause actual events or results to differ materially from those
projected in the forward-looking information. Although OPTI believes that the
expectations reflected in such forward-looking statements are reasonable, OPTI
can give no assurance that such expectations will prove to be correct.
Forward-looking statements are based on current expectations, estimates and
projections that involve a number of risks and uncertainties which could cause
actual results to differ materially from those anticipated by OPTI and
described in the forward-looking statements or information. The
forward-looking statements are based on a number of assumptions which may
prove to be incorrect. In addition to other assumptions identified herein, we
have made assumptions regarding, among other things: market costs and other
variables affecting operating costs of the Project; the ability of the Long
Lake joint venture partners to obtain equipment, services and supplies,
including labour, in a timely and cost-effective manner; the availability and
costs of financing; oil prices and market price for the PSC(TM) output of the
OrCrude(TM) Upgrader; foreign currency exchange rates and hedging risks;
government regulations and royalty regimes; the degree of risk that
governmental approvals may be delayed or withheld; other risks and
uncertainties described elsewhere in this document or in OPTI's other filings
with Canadian securities authorities.
     Readers should be aware that the list of factors, risks and uncertainties
set forth above are not exhaustive. Readers should refer to OPTI's current
Annual Information Form, which is available at www.sedar.com, for a detailed
discussion of these factors, risks and uncertainties. The forward-looking
statements or information contained in this news release are made as of the
date hereof and OPTI undertakes no obligation to update publicly or revise any
forward-looking statements or information, whether as a result of new
information, future events or otherwise, unless so required by applicable laws
or regulatory policies.

     %CIK: 0001177446

     /For further information: David Halford, Chief Financial Officer, (403)
218-4710; Alison Trollope, Investor Relations Manager, (403) 218-4705; OPTI
Canada Inc., Suite 2100, 555 - 4th Ave. S.W., Calgary, Alberta, Canada, T2P
3E7/
     (OPC.)

CO:  OPTI Canada Inc.

CNW 22:00e 14-NOV-08