Exhibit 99.1
News release via Canada NewsWire, Calgary 403-269-7605

     Attention Business Editors:
     Claude Resources Intercepts 0.75 oz/ton over 25.9 feet (25.77 g/t over
     7.90 m) at Madsen Deep

     <<
     "Extends High Grade 8 Zone Mineralization 300 feet down Plunge"

     TSX - CRJ
     NYSE Amex - CGR
     >>

     SASKATOON, April 21 /CNW/ - Claude Resources Inc. (TSX-CRJ; NYSE
Amex-CGR) today reported new drill results from its 8 Zone underground drill
program at the Madsen Project, Red Lake, Ontario. Drilling continues to
intercept high grade gold mineralization down plunge of the 8 Zone as well as
confirming the development of a sub-parallel Footwall target. The four holes
completed to date suggest that the 8 Zone structure may be improving with
depth as demonstrated by the two deepest intercepts to date returning 0.97
oz/ton over 8.17 feet and 0.75 oz/ton over 25.92 feet.

     <<
     Hole ID          From       Au      Length       Au     Length      VG
                       (m)    (oz/ton)    (ft)      (g/t)      (m)      Noted
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------
     MUG-08-01       883.00     3.71      2.46     127.12     0.75        X
     (FW Target)     971.80     0.12      4.70       4.03     1.42
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------
     MUG-09-02b      891.25     0.63      1.48      21.52     0.45        X
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------
     MUG-09-03       915.40     0.97      8.17      33.39     2.49        X
     (incl)                     1.70      4.10      58.18     1.25        X
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------
     MUG-09-04       909.55     0.75     25.92      25.77     7.90        X
     (incl)                     4.14      3.12     141.80     0.95        X
     -------------------------------------------------------------------------
     >>

     Claude launched Phase 1 of the underground program, from the 10th level
in December 2008, targeting the 8 Zone system with a planned program of 12,000
meters of drilling. The program is designed to test the plunge and strike
extensions of the 8 Zone as well as conceptual targets along the 8 Zone shear
system. The assays reported today confirm the high grade mineralization 300
feet down plunge of historic mine infrastructure and suggests the potential
for the development of parallel lenses. The system remains open down-plunge
and along strike.
     "Our continued success in intercepting high grade gold mineralization
associated with abundant visible gold in Phase I of the underground program
supports our belief in the potential of the 8 Zone system and the Madsen
property," stated Brian Skanderbeg, Vice-President Exploration, Claude
Resources Inc.
     The 8 Zone consists of visible gold-bearing quartz veins and
silica-flooded, biotite-talc altered basalts proximal to a major ultramafic
contact. In addition, current drilling of the footwall environment suggests
the development of at least one sub-parallell structure hosting gold
mineralization. This footwall structure has been intercepted by three drill
holes (assays outstanding for MUG-09-02b and MUG-09-03) and is characterized
by fine disseminated arsenopyrite and quartz-carbonate veining within
chlorite-biotite-actinolite altered basalt.
     The 10,000 acre, Madsen project is 100% owned by Claude Resources Inc and
encompasses four past-producing mines. This advanced exploration property
contains extensive infrastructure including a 500 tonne per day mill with
expansion capacity, a permitted tailings management facility and a five
compartment 4,000 foot operating shaft. Total recorded historic production for
the Madsen Mine is 2.4 million ounces at an average recovered grade of 0.283
oz/ton.
     A Madsen property location map, schematic cross section, 8 Zone
longitudinal section showing current and historic drilling as well as core
photographs are available on Claude's website www.clauderesources.com.
     Brian Skanderbeg, P.Geo. and M.Sc., Claude's Vice-President Exploration,
is the Qualified Person who has reviewed and approved this news release. Drill
core was halved and samples averaging 1.0 to 1.5 meters were submitted to
Accurassay Laboratories in Thunder Bay, Ontario, an ISO approved facility.
Rigorous quality assurance and quality control procedures have been
implemented including the use of blanks, standards and duplicates (1 in 20
samples). Core samples were analyzed by a 30 gram gold fire assay with an
atomic absorption, conventional gravimetric and/or screen fire techniques.
Intercepts are reported as drilled widths and interpreted to vary between 70%
to 85% of true widths. Composites were calculated using a 3 g/tonne cut-off
and may include internal dilution.

     Claude Resources Inc. is a public company based in Saskatoon,
Saskatchewan, whose shares trade on the Toronto Stock Exchange (TSX-CRJ) and
the NYSE Amex (NYSE Amex-CGR). Claude is a gold exploration and mining
company. The Company also owns producing oil and natural gas assets. The
Company's entire asset base is located in Canada. Since 1991, Claude has
produced approximately 840,000 ounces of gold from its Seabee mining operation
in northeastern Saskatchewan. The Company also owns 100% of the 10,000 acre
Madsen property in the prolific Red Lake gold camp of northwestern Ontario.

     CAUTION REGARDING FORWARD-LOOKING INFORMATION

     This Press Release may contain statements which constitute
'forward-looking', including statements regarding the plans, intentions,
beliefs and current expectations of the Company, its directors, or its
officers with respect to the future business activities and operating
performance of the Company. The words "may", "would", "could", "will",
"intend", "plan", "anticipate", "believe", "estimate", "expect" and similar
expressions, as they relate to the Company, or its management, are intended to
identify such forward-looking statements. Investors are cautioned that any
such forward-looking statements are not guarantees of future business
activities or performance and involve risks and uncertainties, and that the
Company's future business activities may differ materially from those in the
forward-looking statements as a result of various factors. Such risks,
uncertainties and factors are described in the periodic filings with the
Canadian securities regulatory authorities, including the Company's Annual
Information Form and quarterly and annual Management's Discussion & Analysis,
which may be viewed on SEDAR at www.sedar.com. Should one or more of these
risks or uncertainties materialize, or should assumptions underlying the
forward-looking statements prove incorrect, actual results may vary materially
from those described herein as intended, planned, anticipated, believed,
estimated or expected. Although the Company has attempted to identify
important risks, uncertainties and factors which could cause actual results to
differ materially, there may be others that cause results not be as
anticipated, estimated or intended. The Company does not intend, and does not
assume any obligation, to update these forward-looking statements.

     %SEDAR: 00000498E          %CIK: 0001173924

     /For further information: Brian Skanderbeg, Vice President Exploration,
Claude Resources Inc., Phone: (306) 668-7505; or Neil McMillan, President &
CEO, Claude Resources Inc., Phone: (306) 668-7505, Email:
clauderesources(at)clauderesources.com, Website: www.clauderesources.com/
     (CRJ. CGR)

CO:  CLAUDE RESOURCES INC.

CNW 08:00e 21-APR-09