News Release
AMEX, TSX Symbol: NG

NovaGold Not to Proceed With Offering

March 7, 2008 - Vancouver, British Columbia - Further to yesterday’s press release, NovaGold (TSX:NG)(AMEX:NG) has decided not to proceed with its previously announced financing due to pricing conditions.The syndicate for this offering is being led by Scotia Capital and includes Cormark Securities.

About NovaGold

NovaGold is a gold and copper company engaged in the exploration and development of mineral properties in Alaska and Western Canada. Production is scheduled for 2008 at the 100%-owned Nome Operations in Alaska, which includes the Rock Creek, Big Hurrah and Nome Gold deposits. NovaGold owns 50% of the Donlin Creek gold project in Alaska, one of the world’s largest gold deposits, with Barrick Gold (50%). The Company also owns 50% of the Galore Creek copper-gold-silver project in British Columbia with Teck Cominco (50%). Also in Alaska, NovaGold is earning a 51% interest as manager of the high-grade Ambler copper-zinc-silver-gold project in partnership with Rio Tinto. NovaGold has one of the largest resource bases of any exploration or development-stage precious metals company. NovaGold trades on the TSX and AMEX under the symbol NG.

Cautionary Note Regarding Forward-Looking Statements

Statements in this press release announcing the proposed offering and the anticipated use of proceeds are forward-looking statements within the meaning of the United States Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Forward-looking statements are statements that are not historical facts and that are subject to a variety of risks and uncertainties which could cause actual events or results to differ materially from those reflected in the forward-looking statements, including the need to negotiate an underwriting agreement with the managing underwriters and to satisfy the conditions set forth therein; the need to satisfy regulatory and legal requirements with respect to the proposed offering; risks related to the exploration stage of the Company’s projects; market fluctuations in prices for securities of exploration-stage companies; uncertainties about the availability of additional financing; uncertainties related to fluctuations in gold prices; the possibility that NovaGold may change its plans with respect to one or more properties; and other risks and uncertainties described in the Company’s preliminary prospectus supplement, base shelf prospectus and registration statement on Form F-10 filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission and/or the Canadian securities regulators. Although we believe the expectations reflected in our forward-looking statements are reasonable, results may vary, and we cannot guarantee future results, levels of activity, performance or achievements.

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Contacts

Don MacDonald
Senior Vice President and CFO

Greg Johnson
Vice President, Corporate Communications and Strategic Development

604-669-6227 or 1-866-669-6227