News Release	AMEX, TSX Symbol: NG

NovaGold Comments on its Cash Investments

August 22, 2007 - Vancouver, British Columbia - NovaGold Resources Inc. (AMEX, TSX: NG) has no exposure to any asset-backed commercial paper (ABCP) investments. NovaGold currently has approximately C$120 million in cash and marketable securities. The cash and equivalents are held as short-term deposits, banker’s acceptance notes and non-asset-backed commercial paper, all with the two highest possible investment ratings.

About NovaGold

NovaGold is a gold and copper company engaged in the exploration and development of mineral properties in Alaska and Western Canada. The Company is rapidly moving to production at its 100%-owned Nome Operations in Alaska, which includes Rock Creek, Big Hurrah and Nome Gold. NovaGold recently announced its 50/50 partnership with Teck Cominco to build the Galore Creek copper-gold mine in northwestern British Columbia. NovaGold owns 70% of the Donlin Creek gold project in Alaska, one of the world’s largest gold deposits, in a joint venture with Barrick Gold (30%). Also in Alaska, NovaGold is earning a 51% interest as manager of the high-grade Ambler copper-zinc-silver-gold project in partnership with Rio Tinto. NovaGold has one of the largest reserve and resource bases of any exploration or development-stage precious metals company. NovaGold trades on the TSX and AMEX under the symbol NG. More information is available online at www.novagold.net or by e-mail at info@novagold.net.

Cautionary Note Regarding Forward-Looking Statements

This press release includes certain “forward-looking statements” within the meaning of the United States Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Forward-looking statements involve various risks and uncertainties. There can be no assurance that such statements will prove to be accurate, and actual results and future events could differ materially from those anticipated in such statements. Important factors that could cause actual results to differ materially from NovaGold’s expectations include fluctuations in gold, copper and other commodity prices and currency exchange rates; uncertainty of estimates of capital and operating costs, production estimates and estimated economic return; uncertainties involved in disputes and litigation; the need to obtain additional financing to develop properties and uncertainty as to the availability and terms of future financings; the possibility of adverse developments in the financial markets generally; the possibility of delay in permitting, exploration, development or construction programs and uncertainties as to permit and approval requirements and meeting project milestones; and other risks and uncertainties disclosed under the heading “Caution Regarding Forward-Looking Statements” and elsewhere in NovaGold’s Annual Information Form for the year ended November 30, 2006, filed with the Canadian securities regulatory authorities, in NovaGold’s annual report on Form 40-F filed with the United States Securities and Exchange Commission and in other information released by NovaGold and filed with the appropriate regulatory agencies.

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Contacts

Don MacDonald, CA
Senior Vice President & CFO

Greg Johnson
Vice President, Corporate Communications and Strategic Development

Rhylin Bailie
Manager, Corporate & Investor Relations

604-669-6227 or 1-866-669-6227