Exhibit 99.1

For Immediate Release

Novadaq to Present at September Investor Healthcare Events

Toronto, Ontario — August 23, 2012 – Novadaq® Technologies Inc. (“Novadaq” or the “Company”) (NASDAQ: NVDQ, TSX: NDQ,), a developer of clinically-relevant fluorescence imaging solutions for use in surgical procedures, today announced that Dr. Arun Menawat, the company’s President and Chief Executive Officer, will present Novadaq’s corporate overview at three investor healthcare events in September.

Stifel Nicolaus Healthcare Conference 2012: Novadaq is scheduled to present on September 6th at 9:10 am Eastern Time at the Four Seasons in Boston.

ThinkEquity Ninth Annual Growth Conference: Novadaq is scheduled to present on September 12th at 4:00 pm Eastern Time at the Le Parker Meridien in New York.

Lazard Capital Markets Corporate Access Day: Novadaq is scheduled to participate in this event on September 18th at the Westin Waterfront in Boston.

Webcasts of the Stifel Nicolaus and ThinkEquity conference presentations can be accessed live on the company’s website at http://www.novadaq.com under the “Events” tab in the “Investors” section, and will be archived for 90 days.

About Novadaq Technologies Inc.

Enabling surgeons with clinically-relevant, innovative fluorescence imaging solutions to enhance the lives of patients and their surgeons, while reducing health care costs, is Novadaq’s global mission. SPY fluorescence imaging technology provides surgeons with real-time visualization, leading to improved outcomes and reduced costs without exposing the patient to radiation. More than 50 peer-reviewed publications demonstrate that the use of SPY during complex surgery, leads to fewer post-operative complications and lower hospital costs.

The SPY Imaging System is United States Food and Drug Administration (“FDA”) 510(k) cleared for use for use in seven surgical specialties. The endoscopic version of SPY called PINPOINT®, combines the capabilities of SPY Imaging with high definition (“HD”) visible light visualization offered by conventional endoscopes. Our unique business model of partnering with market-leading companies to drive adoption of our fluorescence imaging technology, while building our own commercial infrastructure is the cornerstone of our corporate strategy for growth.

Forward Looking Statements

Certain statements included in this press release may be considered forward-looking. Such statements involve known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors that may cause actual results, performance or achievements to be materially different from those implied by such statements, and therefore these statements should not be read as guarantees of future performance or results. All forward-looking statements are based on Novadaq’s current beliefs as well as assumptions made by and information currently available to Novadaq and relate to, among other things, the Company’s strategy, strategic goals, research and development activities, research and clinical testing outcomes, taxes, capital expenditures, future operations, future financial position, future revenues/results, projected costs, prospects and plans and objectives of management.

Readers are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date of this press release. Due to risks and uncertainties, including the risks and uncertainties identified by Novadaq in its public securities filings available at www.sedar.com, actual events may differ materially from current expectations. Novadaq disclaims any intention or obligation to update or revise any forward-looking statements, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise.

Contact:

Investor and Media Relations

David C. Martin

Vice President, Corporate Development and Investor Relations

Novadaq Technologies Inc.

905-629-3822 ext: 218

dmartin@novadaq.com