Exhibit 99.1

Natural Resource Partners L.P. 601 Jefferson St., Suite 3600, Houston, TX 77002

NEWS RELEASE

Natural Resource Partners L.P.

Announces Private Offering of

Senior Notes

HOUSTON, September 6, 2013 – Natural Resource Partners L.P. (NYSE:NRP) announced today that that it intends to offer, subject to market and other conditions, $300 million aggregate principal amount of senior notes due 2021 in a private placement to eligible purchasers. NRP intends to use the net proceeds from the offering to repay amounts outstanding under its revolving credit facility and to repay a portion of the $200 million term loan entered into in connection with the OCI Wyoming acquisition.

The notes will not be registered under the Securities Act of 1933, as amended (the “Securities Act”), or the securities laws of any state and may not be offered or sold in the United States absent registration or an applicable exemption from the registration requirements under the Securities Act and applicable state securities laws or blue sky laws and foreign securities laws.

The notes will be offered only to qualified institutional buyers under Rule 144A under the Securities Act and to persons outside the United States under Regulation S under the Securities Act.

This press release is being issued pursuant to Rule 135c under the Securities Act and shall not constitute an offer to sell, or the solicitation of an offer to buy, any securities, nor shall there be any sale of these securities in any state in which such offer, solicitation or sale would be unlawful prior to registration or qualification under the securities laws of any such state.

Natural Resource Partners L.P. is a master limited partnership headquartered in Houston, TX, with its operations headquarters in Huntington, WV. NRP is principally engaged in the business of owning and managing mineral reserve properties. NRP primarily owns coal, aggregate and oil and gas reserves across the United States that generate royalty income for the partnership.

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Forward-Looking Statements

This press release may include “forward-looking statements” as defined by the Securities and Exchange Commission. All statements, other than statements of historical facts, included in this press release that address activities, events or developments that the partnership expects, believes or anticipates will or may occur in the future are forward-looking statements. These statements are based on certain assumptions made by the partnership based on its experience and perception of historical trends, current conditions, expected future developments and other factors it believes are appropriate in the circumstances. Such statements are subject to a number of assumptions, risks and uncertainties, many of which are beyond the control of the partnership. Natural Resource Partners L.P. has no obligation to publicly update or revise any forward-looking statement, whether as a result of new information, future events or otherwise.

For additional information, please contact Kathy H. Roberts at 713-751-7555 or kroberts@nrplp.com.

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