EXHIBIT 99.1

                        Cosi Reports Third Quarter Sales

Deerfield, Ill., Oct. 18, 2005 -- Cosi, Inc. (Nasdaq: COSI), the premium, convenience restaurant company, today reported that restaurant revenues for the third quarter ended October 3, 2005 were $30.8 million, compared to revenues of $28.2 million in the third quarter ended September 27, 2004. Comparable restaurant sales in the third quarter of 2005, as measured for restaurants in operation for more than 15 months, increased approximately 7.8% over the third quarter of 2004. Cosi has achieved comparable restaurant sales growth for 16 consecutive quarters.

Third quarter 2005 comparable restaurant sales growth consisted of a 2.3% increase in transaction count compared to the 2004 third quarter, and a 5.5% increase in the average check as a result of both a 3.7% increase in pricing and a 1.8% favorable shift in the sales mix.

Cosi stated that its third quarter comparable sales growth is in line with its previously-stated target of 7% - 9% comparable stores sales growth for the full year 2005 compared with 2004.

At the end of the 2005 third quarter, Cosi operated 93 Company-owned restaurants, compared to 85 Company-owned restaurants at the end of the 2004 third quarter. During the third quarter, one new Company-owned restaurant was opened and two newly re-modeled Company-owned restaurants were re-opened, all with Cosi's new generation restaurant design. Currently, there are six restaurants that employ the new generation format, which is proving that its enhanced service format in a tasteful contemporary environment creates operational excellence and high customer appeal.

Kevin Armstrong, Cosi's President and Chief Executive Officer, stated, "Cosi's third quarter comparable sales performance continues to demonstrate the strength and acceptance of our distinctive and innovative sandwiches, salads and pizzas, as well as our ability to capitalize on the increasing consumer demand for premium convenience dining."

Third Quarter 2005 Teleconference and Webcast Information

Members of Cosi's senior management team will host a teleconference and webcast at 8:30 a.m. ET on Thursday, November 10th to discuss the Company's third quarter 2005 financial results.

To participate in the teleconference, investors and analysts are invited to call 888-396-2384 in the U.S., or 617-847-8711 outside of the U.S., and reference participant code 30476491. The conference call will also be webcast simultaneously by accessing http://www.getcosi.com/about_company.htm .

A replay will be available following the call until 12:00 AM ET on November 18, 2005. To access the replay, call 888-286-8010 in the U.S., or 617-801-6888
outside of the U.S., and reference the code 18423101.

About Cosi, Inc.

Cosi (http://www.getcosi.com ) is the premium, convenience restaurant that offers breakfast, lunch, afternoon coffee, dinner and dessert menus full of creative, fresh, flavorful foods and beverages. Cosi has developed featured foods that are built around a secret, generations-old recipe for crackly crust flatbread. This artisan bread is freshly baked in front of customers throughout the day in open flame stone hearth ovens prominently located in each of the restaurants.

The Cosi menu features, Cosi sandwiches, freshly tossed salads, Cosi Melts, soups, Cosi bagels, pizzas, S'mores and other desserts, and a wide range of coffee beverages. Cosi restaurants are designed to be welcoming and comfortable with an eclectic environment. Cosi's sights, sounds, and spaces create a tasteful, relaxed place that always provides a fresh and new dining experience.

The Cosi vision is to become America's favorite premium, convenience restaurant by providing customers authentic, innovative, savory food while remaining an affordable luxury.

Cosi currently has 93 Company-owned and two franchise restaurants in seventeen states, including Massachusetts, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Virginia, Maryland, Illinois, Ohio, Michigan, Wisconsin, Florida, Georgia, Tennessee, Washington, California, Kentucky, and the District of Columbia.

"SAFE HARBOR" STATEMENT UNDER THE PRIVATE SECURITIES LITIGATION REFORM ACT OF 1995. This press release contains statements that constitute forward- looking statements under the federal securities laws. Forward-looking statements are statements about future events and expectations and not statements of historical fact. The words "believe," "may," "will," "should," "anticipate," "estimate," "expect," "intend," "objective," "seek," "plan," "strive," or similar words, or negatives of these words, identify forward- looking statements. We qualify any forward-looking statements entirely by these cautionary factors. Forward-looking statements are based on management's beliefs, assumptions and expectations of our future economic performance, taking into account the information currently available to management. Forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties that may cause our actual results, performance or financial condition to differ materially from the expectations of future results, performance or financial condition we express or imply in any forward-looking statements. Factors that could contribute to these differences include, but are not limited to: the cost of our principal food products and supply and delivery shortages or interruptions; labor shortages or increased labor costs; changes in consumer preferences and demographic trends; expansion into new markets; our ability to locate suitable restaurant sites in new and existing markets and negotiate acceptable lease terms; competition in our markets, both in our business and in locating suitable restaurant sites; our operation and execution in new and existing markets; our ability to recruit, train and retain qualified corporate and restaurant personnel and management; cost effective and timely planning, design and build-out of restaurants; our ability to attract and retain qualified franchisees; the availability and cost of additional financing, both to fund our existing operations and to open new restaurants; the rate of our internal growth and our ability to generate increased revenue from our existing restaurants; our ability to generate positive cash flow from existing and new restaurants; the reliability of our customer and market studies; fluctuations in our quarterly results due to seasonality; increased government regulation and our ability to secure required governmental approvals and permits; our ability to create customer awareness of our restaurants in new markets; market saturation due to new restaurant openings; inadequate protection of our intellectual property; adverse weather conditions which impact customer traffic at our restaurants and adverse economic conditions. Further information regarding factors that could affect our results and the statements made herein are included in our filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

Media Contact:                                        Investor Contact:
Jon Morgan or Adam Weiner                             William Koziel
Kekst and Company                                     Cosi, Inc.
(212) 521-4800                                        (847) 597-8803