Exhibit 99.1

Execution Version

$500,000,000.00

BANC OF CALIFORNIA, INC.

COMMON STOCK

$.01 PAR VALUE PER SHARE

SALES AGENCY AGREEMENT

August 4, 2016

Sandler O’Neill & Partners, L.P.

1251 Avenue of the Americas

New York, New York 10020

Ladies and Gentlemen:

Banc of California, Inc., a Maryland corporation (the “Company”), proposes, subject to the terms and conditions stated herein, to sell from time to time to or through Sandler O’Neill & Partners, L.P., as sales agent (the “Agent” or “you”), shares of voting common stock, $.01 par value per share (“Common Stock”) of the Company, having an aggregate gross sales price not to exceed $500,000,000.00 (the “Shares”) on the terms set forth in this agreement (this “Agreement”). The Company agrees that whenever it determines to sell the Common Stock directly to the Agent, as principal or otherwise other than as set forth in Section 2 hereof, it will enter into a separate agreement, which will include customary terms and conditions consistent with the representations, warranties and provisions in this Agreement and which will be agreed upon by the parties thereto (each, a “Terms Agreement”).

The Company has filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission (the “Commission”) a registration statement on Form S-3 (File No. 333-212886), as amended, covering the registration of the sale of certain securities, including the Shares, under the Securities Act of 1933, as amended (the “1933 Act”), from time to time in accordance with Rule 415 of the rules and regulations of the Commission under the 1933 Act (the “1933 Act Regulations”). Such registration statement was automatically effective under the 1933 Act, and the Company has filed such post-effective amendments thereto as may be required prior to the execution of this Agreement and each such post-effective amendment is effective under the 1933 Act. Promptly after execution and delivery of this Agreement, the Company will prepare and file a prospectus supplement in accordance with the provisions of Rule 430B of the 1933 Act Regulations (“Rule 430B”) and paragraph (b) of Rule 424 of the 1933 Act Regulations (“Rule 424(b)”). Any information included in such prospectus supplement that was omitted from such registration statement at the time it became effective but that is deemed to be part of and included in such registration statement pursuant to Rule 430B is referred to herein as “Rule 430B Information.” Each base prospectus and prospectus supplement used in connection with the offering of the Shares that omitted Rule 430B Information is referred to herein collectively as a “preliminary prospectus.” Such registration statement, at any given time, including any amendments thereto to such time, the exhibits and any schedules thereto at such time, the documents incorporated by reference therein at such time and the documents otherwise deemed to be a part thereof or included therein by the 1933 Act Regulations, is referred to herein as the

“Registration Statement;” provided, however, that the term “Registration Statement” without reference to a time means such registration statement as of the time of the first contract of sale for the Shares, which time shall be considered the “new effective date” of such registration statement with respect to the Agent and the Shares (within the meaning of Rule 430B(f)(2)); provided, further, that any registration statement filed pursuant to Rule 462(b) of the 1933 Act Regulations is referred to herein as the “Rule 462(b) Registration Statement,” and after such filing the term “Registration Statement” shall include the Rule 462(b) Registration Statement. The final base prospectus and the prospectus supplement, dated the date hereof, including the documents incorporated by reference therein, are referred to herein collectively as the “Prospectus.” For purposes of this Agreement, all references to the Registration Statement, any preliminary prospectus, the Prospectus or any amendment or supplement to any of the foregoing shall be deemed to include any copy filed with the Commission pursuant to its Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis and Retrieval system (“EDGAR”).

All references in this Agreement to financial statements and schedules and other information which is “contained,” “included” or “stated” in the Registration Statement, any preliminary prospectus, the Prospectus or the General Disclosure Package (as defined herein) (or other references of like import) shall be deemed to include all such financial statements and schedules and other information which is incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement, any preliminary prospectus, the Prospectus or the General Disclosure Package, as the case may be, prior to the execution of this Agreement; and all references in this Agreement to amendments or supplements to the Registration Statement, any preliminary prospectus, the Prospectus or the General Disclosure Package shall be deemed to include the filing of any document under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended (the “1934 Act”), which is incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement, such preliminary prospectus, the Prospectus or the General Disclosure Package, as the case may be, after the execution of this Agreement.

1. Representations and Warranties.

(a) Representations and Warranties by the Company. The Company represents and warrants to the Agent as of the date hereof, each Applicable Time (as defined in this Section 1(a)), each Delivery Date (as defined in Section 2(i) below) and each Representation Date (as defined in Section 5(p) below), and agrees with Agent that:

(i) Compliance with Registration Requirements. The Company is permitted to use the Registration Statement on Form S-3 (No. 333-212886) to register and sell the Shares. The Registration Statement, including any Rule 462(b) Registration Statement, and any post-effective amendment thereto has become effective under the 1933 Act and no stop order suspending the effectiveness of the Registration Statement, including any Rule 462(b) Registration Statement, or any post-effective amendment thereto has been issued under the 1933 Act and no proceedings for that purpose have been instituted or are pending or, to the knowledge of the Company, are contemplated by the Commission, and the Company has complied with any requests on the part of the Commission for additional information with respect to the Registration Statement.

At the respective times the Registration Statement, including any Rule 462(b) Registration Statement, and any post-effective amendments thereto became effective, at each deemed effective date with respect to the Agent and the Shares pursuant to Rule 430B(f)(2), and at each Applicable Time, each Delivery Date and each Representation Date, the Registration Statement, including any Rule 462(b) Registration Statement, and any amendments thereto complied, complies and will comply, as the case may be, in all material respects with the requirements of the 1933 Act and the 1933 Act Regulations, and neither the Registration Statement, including any Rule 462(b) Registration Statement, nor any amendment thereto contained, contains or will contain, as the case may be, an untrue statement of a material fact or omitted, omits or will omit, as the case may be, to state a material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein not misleading. Neither the Prospectus nor any amendment or supplement thereto, at the respective dates of the Prospectus or such amendment or supplement were issued, or at each Applicable Time, each Delivery Date and each Representation Date, included, includes or will include, as the case may be, an untrue statement of a material fact or omitted, omits or will omit, as the case may be, to state a material fact necessary in order to make the statements therein, in light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading.

As of each Applicable Time, each Issuer-Represented Free Writing Prospectus (as defined below) identified on Schedule II hereto, any other information conveyed to purchasers of the Shares at or prior to the Applicable Time, as set forth on Schedule II hereto, and the Statutory Prospectus (as defined below), all considered together (collectively, the “General Disclosure Package”), did not include an untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state any material fact necessary in order to make the statements therein, in the light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading

Each preliminary prospectus, the Statutory Prospectus and the Prospectus complied when filed with the Commission in all material respects with the 1933 Act Regulations, and each such document furnished to the Agent for use in connection with the offering of Shares was identical to the electronically transmitted copies thereof filed with the Commission pursuant to EDGAR, except to the extent permitted by Regulation S-T.

The representations and warranties in this subsection shall not apply to statements in or omissions from the Registration Statement or the Prospectus or the General Disclosure Package or any amendment or supplement thereto made in reliance upon and in conformity with written information furnished to the Company by the Agent expressly for use in the Registration Statement or the Prospectus or any amendment or supplement thereto. For purposes of this paragraph, the only information so furnished shall be the information in the first sentence of the third paragraph under the heading Plan of Distribution contained in the Prospectus (collectively, the “Agent Information”).

As used in this subsection and elsewhere in this Agreement:

“Applicable Time” means, with respect to any Shares, the time of sale of such Shares pursuant to this Agreement or any relevant Terms Agreement as contemplated under Rule 159 under the Act.

“Issuer-Represented Free Writing Prospectus” means any “issuer free writing prospectus,” as defined in Rule 433 of the 1933 Act Regulations (“Rule 433”), relating to the Shares that (i) is required to be filed with the Commission by the Company, (ii) is a “road show that is a written communication” within the meaning of Rule 433(d)(8)(i), whether or not required to be filed with the Commission, or (iii) is exempt from filing with the Commission pursuant to Rule 433(d)(5)(i) because it contains a description of the Shares or of the offering that does not reflect the final terms, in each case in the form filed or required to be filed with the Commission or, if not required to be filed, in the form retained in the Company’s records pursuant to Rule 433(g).

“Issuer-Represented General Use Free Writing Prospectus” means any Issuer Represented Free Writing Prospectus that is intended for general distribution to prospective investors, as evidenced by its being specified in Schedule II to this Agreement.

“Statutory Prospectus” at any given time, means the base prospectus that is included in the Registration Statement and the preliminary prospectus supplement relating to the Shares immediately prior to that time, including the documents incorporated by reference therein at such time. For purposes of this definition, information contained in a form of prospectus that is deemed retroactively to be a part of the Registration Statement pursuant to Rule 430B shall be considered to be included in the Statutory Prospectus only at the actual time that such form of prospectus is filed with the Commission pursuant to Rule 424(b).

Each Issuer-Represented Free Writing Prospectus, at its issue date and at all subsequent times through the completion of the public offer and sale contemplated hereby or until any earlier date that the Company notified or notifies the Agent, did not, does not and will not include any information that conflicted, conflicts or will conflict with the information contained in the Registration Statement, any preliminary prospectus, the Statutory Prospectus or the Prospectus, including any document incorporated by reference therein and any preliminary or other prospectus deemed to be a part thereof that has not been superseded or modified.

(A) At the date of the original effectiveness of the Registration Statement, (B) at the earliest time after the original effectiveness of the Registration Statement that the Company or another offering participant made a bona fide offer (within the meaning of Rule 164(h)(2) of the 1933 Act Regulations) of the Shares, (C) at the execution of this Agreement (with such time of execution being used as the determination date for purpose of this clause (C)) and (D) at each Representation Date, the Company was not and is not an “ineligible issuer,” as defined in Rule 405 of the 1933 Act Regulations (“Rule 405”), without taking into account any determination of the Commission pursuant to Rule 405 that it is not necessary that the Company be considered an ineligible issuer.

(ii) Incorporated Documents. The documents incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus, at the time they were or hereafter are filed with the Commission, complied and will comply in all material respects with the requirements of the 1934 Act and the rules and regulations of the

Commission thereunder (the “1934 Act Regulations”), and, when read together with the other information in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package or the Prospectus, as the case may be, at the time the Registration Statement, including any Rule 462(b) Registration Statement, or any amendment thereto became effective, each Applicable Time, each Delivery Date and each Representation Date, did not, do not and will not, as the case may be, include an untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state a material fact necessary in order to make the statements therein, in light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading.

(iii) Independent Accountants. The accountants who certified the financial statements included in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus are independent public accountants as required by the 1933 Act and the 1933 Act Regulations and, to the Company’s knowledge, are not and have not been in violation of the auditor independence requirements of the Sarbanes Oxley Act of 2002 and the related rules and regulations of the Commission (the “Sarbanes-Oxley Act”) in respect of the entity whose financial statements it audited.

(iv) Financial Statements. The financial statements included or incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus, together with the related schedules and notes, present fairly, in all material respects, the financial condition, results of operations and cash flows of the Company and its consolidated subsidiaries, at the dates indicated and their respective statements of operations, stockholders’ equity and cash flows for the periods specified. Such financial statements have been prepared in compliance with the requirements of the 1933 Act and the 1934 Act and in conformity with accounting principles generally accepted in the United States of America (“GAAP”) applied on a consistent basis throughout the periods involved. Any selected financial data and the summary financial information included or incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus present fairly, in all material respects, the information shown therein and have been compiled on a basis consistent with that of the audited financial statements included or incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus. No other financial statements or schedules are required under the 1933 Act, the 1933 Act Regulations, the 1934 Act or the 1934 Act Regulations to be included or incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package or the Prospectus. To the extent applicable, all disclosures contained in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package or the Prospectus regarding “non-GAAP financial measures” (as such term is defined by the rules and regulations of the Commission) comply with Regulation G of the 1934 Act, the 1934 Act Regulations and Item 10 of Regulation S-K under the 1933 Act, as applicable, in all material respects. The interactive data in eXtensible Business Reporting Language incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus fairly presents the required information in all material respects and has been prepared in accordance with the Commission’s rules and guidelines applicable thereto.

(v) Certain Data and Forward-Looking Statements. All statistical or market-related data included or incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus are based on or derived from sources that the Company reasonably believes to be reliable and accurate, and the Company has obtained the written consent to the use of such data from such sources to the extent required. Each “forward-

looking statement” (within the meaning of Section 27A of the 1933 Act or Section 21E of the 1934 Act) contained or incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus has been made or reaffirmed with a reasonable basis and in good faith.

(vi) No Material Adverse Change in Business. Since the respective dates as of which information is given in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus, except as otherwise stated therein, (A) there has been no material adverse change in the financial condition, earnings, or business affairs of the Company and its subsidiaries considered as one enterprise, whether or not arising in the ordinary course of business (a “Material Adverse Effect”), (B) there have been no liabilities or obligations incurred, direct or contingent, nor transactions entered into by the Company or any of its subsidiaries, other than those in the ordinary course of business, which are material with respect to the Company and its subsidiaries considered as one enterprise, and (C) except for regular quarterly dividends on the common stock and preferred stock of the Company in amounts per share that are consistent with past practice, there has been no dividend or distribution of any kind declared, paid or made by the Company on any class of its capital stock.

(vii) Internal Accounting Controls. Each of the Company and its subsidiaries maintains a system of internal accounting controls sufficient to provide reasonable assurance that (A) transactions are executed in accordance with the management’s general or specific authorizations, (B) transactions are recorded as necessary to permit preparation of financial statements in conformity with GAAP and to maintain asset accountability, (C) access to assets is permitted only in accordance with the management’s general or specific authorization and (D) the recorded accountability for assets is compared with the existing assets at reasonable intervals and appropriate action is taken with respect to any differences. Since the date of the Company’s latest audited financial statements incorporated by reference in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus, there has been no change in the Company’s internal control over financial reporting that has materially affected, or is reasonably likely to materially affect, the Company’s internal control over financial reporting.

(viii) Disclosure Controls. The Company has established and maintains disclosure controls and procedures (as such term is defined in Rule 13a-15(e) and 15d-15(e) under the 1934 Act). Such disclosure controls and procedures (A) are designed to ensure that material information relating to the Company, including its consolidated subsidiaries, is made known to the Company’s Chief Executive Officer and its Chief Financial Officer by others within those entities and (B) are effective to perform the functions for which they were established. The Company’s auditors and the Audit Committee of the Board of Directors have not been advised that there is (1) any fraud, whether or not material, that involves management or other employees who have a role in the Company’s internal controls or (2) any material weaknesses in internal controls, except as described in the Company’s Annual Report on Form 10-K filed on March 16, 2015, each of which has been remediated. Since the date of the most recent evaluation of such disclosure controls and procedures, there have been no significant changes in internal controls or in other factors that could significantly affect internal controls, including any corrective actions with regard to material weaknesses. The principal executive officer (or the equivalent) and principal financial officer (or the equivalent) of the Company have made all certifications required by the Sarbanes-Oxley Act, and the statements made in each

such certification are accurate; the Company, its subsidiaries and to the Company’s knowledge, its directors and officers, are each in compliance in all material respects with the applicable provisions of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act.

(ix) Regulatory Matters. The Company, Banc of California, National Association (the “Bank”) and, to the knowledge of the Company, the Company’s other subsidiaries, are in compliance in all material respects with all laws administered by and regulations of any Governmental Entity (as defined herein) applicable to it or to them (including, without limitation, all regulations and orders of, or agreements with, the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation, the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System and the Office of Foreign Assets Control, the Equal Credit Opportunity Act, the Fair Housing Act, the Community Reinvestment Act, the Home Mortgage Disclosure Act, all other applicable fair lending laws or other laws relating to discrimination and the Bank Secrecy Act and Title III of the U.S.A. Patriot Act), the failure to comply with which would have a Material Adverse Effect. Except as disclosed in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus, neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries is subject or is party to, or has received any notice or advice that any of them may become subject or party to any investigation with respect to, any corrective, suspension or cease-and-desist order, agreement, consent agreement, memorandum of understanding or other regulatory enforcement action, proceeding or order with or by, or is a party to any commitment letter or similar undertaking to, or is subject to any directive by, or has been a recipient of any supervisory letter from, or has adopted any board resolutions at the request of, any Regulatory Agency (as defined below) that currently relates to or restricts in any material respect the conduct of their business or that in any manner relates to their capital adequacy, credit policies or management in any material respects (each, a “Regulatory Agreement”), nor has the Company or any of its subsidiaries been advised by any Regulatory Agency that it is considering issuing or requesting any such Regulatory Agreement. There is no unresolved violation, criticism or exception by any Regulatory Agency with respect to any report or statement relating to any examinations of the Company or any of its subsidiaries which, in the reasonable judgment of the Company, is expected to result in a Material Adverse Effect. As used herein, the term “Regulatory Agency” means any federal or state agency charged with the supervision or regulation of depositary institutions or holding companies of depositary institutions, or engaged in the insurance of depositary institution deposits, or any court, administrative agency or commission or other Governmental Entity, authority or instrumentality having supervisory or regulatory authority with respect to the Company or any of its subsidiaries.

(x) Regulatory Compliance. The deposit accounts of the Bank are insured up to the applicable limits by the Deposit Insurance Fund of the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (the “FDIC”) to the fullest extent permitted by law and the rules and regulations of the FDIC, and no proceeding for the revocation or termination of such insurance has been instituted or is pending or, to the knowledge of the Company, is threatened or contemplated.

(xi) Good Standing of the Company. The Company has been duly organized and is validly existing as a corporation in good standing under the laws of the State of Maryland and has corporate power and authority to own, lease and operate its properties and to conduct its business as described in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package

and the Prospectus and to enter into and perform its obligations under this Agreement. The Company is duly qualified as a foreign corporation to transact business and is in good standing in each other jurisdiction in which such qualification is required, whether by reason of the ownership or leasing of property or the conduct of business, except where the failure so to qualify or to be in good standing would not result in a Material Adverse Effect. The Company is duly registered as a financial holding company under the Bank Holding Company Act of 1956, as amended.

(xii) Good Standing of Subsidiaries. The Bank is the only “significant subsidiary” of the Company (as such term is defined in Rule 1-02 of Regulation S-X) (a “Significant Subsidiary”) and has corporate power and authority to own, lease and operate its properties and to conduct its business as described in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus and is duly qualified as a foreign corporation to transact business and is in good standing in each jurisdiction in which such qualification is required, whether by reason of the ownership or leasing of property or the conduct of business, except where the failure so to qualify or to be in good standing would not result in a Material Adverse Effect. The Bank is a national bank chartered under the laws of the United States and its charter is in full force and effect. Except as otherwise disclosed in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus, all of the issued and outstanding shares of capital stock of the Bank have been duly authorized and validly issued, are fully paid and non-assessable and are owned by the Company, directly or through subsidiaries, free and clear of any security interest, mortgage, pledge, lien, encumbrance, claim or equity, and none of the outstanding shares of capital stock of the Bank were issued in violation of any preemptive or similar rights of any security holder of the Bank.

(xiii) Authorization of Agreement. This Agreement has been duly authorized, executed and delivered by the Company. When duly executed by the Agent, this Agreement will constitute a valid and legally binding agreement of the Company, enforceable against the Company in accordance with its terms, except as may be limited by bankruptcy, insolvency (including, without limitation, all laws relating to fraudulent transfers), reorganization, moratorium or similar laws affecting enforcement of creditors’ rights generally or by general principles of equity (regardless of whether enforcement is considered in a proceeding in equity or at law), and subject to 12 U.S.C. § 1818(b)(6)(D) (or any successor statute) and similar bank regulatory powers and to the application of principles of public policy, and except as rights to indemnity or contribution, including but not limited to, indemnification provisions set forth in Section 8 of this Agreement, may be limited by federal or state securities law and the public policy underlying such laws.

(xiv) Authorization of the Shares. The Shares to be issued and sold as contemplated by this Agreement have been duly authorized by the Company and when issued and delivered and paid for on each Delivery Date in accordance with the terms of this Agreement, will be validly issued, will be issued in compliance with federal and state securities laws.

(xv) Description of the Shares. The Shares will conform in all material respects to the respective statements relating thereto contained in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus.

(xvi) Absence of Defaults and Non-contravention. Neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries is in violation of its charter or bylaws or in default in the performance or observance of any obligation, agreement, covenant or condition contained in any contract, indenture, mortgage, deed of trust, loan or credit agreement, note, lease or other agreement or instrument to which the Company or any of its subsidiaries is a party or by which it or any of them may be bound, or to which any of the property or assets of the Company or any subsidiary is subject, except for such violations or defaults that would not result in a Material Adverse Effect. No event of default under that certain (i) indenture, dated as of May 21, 2014, between the Company and U.S. Bank National Association, as trustee, as supplemented by a supplemental indenture entered into by the Company and the trustee on May 21, 2014 or (ii) indenture dated as of April 23, 2012, between the Company and U.S. Bank National Association, as trustee, as supplemented by a supplemental indenture entered into by the Company and the trustee on April 6, 2015, or default with notice and/or lapse of time that would constitute an event of default in respect of the Company’s 5.25% Senior Notes due April 15, 2025 has occurred and is continuing. The execution, delivery and performance of this Agreement, the issue and sale of the Shares by the Company and the performance by the Company of all of its obligations under this Agreement and the consummation of the transactions contemplated herein and in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus (including the use of the proceeds from the sale of the Shares as described therein) and compliance by the Company with its obligations hereunder have been duly authorized by all necessary corporate action and do not and will not, whether with or without the giving of notice or passage of time or both, conflict with or constitute a breach of, or default or Repayment Event (as defined below) under, or result in the creation or imposition of any lien, charge or encumbrance upon any property or assets of the Company or any of its subsidiaries pursuant to, (i) any indenture, mortgage, deed of trust, loan agreement, note, lease or other agreement or instrument to which the Company or any of its subsidiaries is a party or by which the Company or any of its subsidiaries is bound or to which any of the property or assets of the Company or any of its subsidiaries is subject, (ii) the provisions of the charter, bylaws or other organizational documents of the Company or any of its subsidiaries or (iii) any statute or any order, rule or regulation of any U.S. federal, state or local or international court, government or governmental or regulatory body or agency (each, a “Governmental Entity”) having jurisdiction over the Company or any of its subsidiaries or any of their property, assets or operations except, with respect to clauses (i) and (iii), for those conflicts, breaches, defaults, Repayment Events, liens, charges or encumbrances that would not, singly or in the aggregate, result in a Material Adverse Effect. As used herein, a “Repayment Event” means any event or condition which gives the holder of any note, debenture or other evidence of indebtedness (or any person acting on such holder’s behalf) the right to require the repurchase, redemption or repayment of all or a portion of such indebtedness by the Company or any of its subsidiaries.

(xvii) Accuracy of Exhibits. There are no contracts or documents which are required to be described in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus or the documents incorporated by reference therein or to be filed as exhibits thereto which have not been so described and filed as required.

(xviii) Absence of Labor Dispute. No labor dispute with the employees of the Company or any of its subsidiaries exists or, to the knowledge of the Company, is imminent, and the Company is not aware of any existing or imminent labor disturbance by the employees of

any of the principal suppliers, manufacturers, customers or contractors of the Company or any of its subsidiaries, which, in either case, would result in a Material Adverse Effect.

(xix) Absence of Proceedings. There is no action, suit, proceeding, inquiry or investigation before or brought by any court or Governmental Entity, domestic or foreign, now pending, or, to the knowledge of the Company, threatened, against or affecting the Company or any of its subsidiaries, which (A) is required to be disclosed in the Registration Statement (other than as disclosed therein), (B) might result in a Material Adverse Effect or (C) might materially and adversely affect the assets or operations of the Company or any of its subsidiaries or the consummation of the transactions contemplated in this Agreement or the performance by the Company of its obligations hereunder. The aggregate of all pending legal or governmental proceedings to which the Company or any of its subsidiaries is a party or of which any of their respective assets or operations is the subject which are not described in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus, including ordinary routine litigation incidental to the business, would not result in a Material Adverse Effect.

(xx) Possession of Intellectual Property. The Company and its subsidiaries own or possess, or can acquire on reasonable terms, adequate patents, patent licenses, trademarks, service marks and trade names necessary to carry on their businesses as presently conducted and the Company and its subsidiaries have not received any notice of infringement of or conflict with asserted rights of others with respect to any patents, patent licenses, trademarks, service marks or trade names that, in the aggregate, if the subject of an unfavorable decision, ruling or finding, would have a Material Adverse Effect. Neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries has infringed or is infringing on the intellectual property of a third party, and, except as are described in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus, neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries has received notice of a claim by a third party to the contrary, except where such infringement would not, singly or in the aggregate, result in a Material Adverse Effect.

(xxi) Possession of Licenses and Permits. The Company and its subsidiaries possess such permits, licenses, approvals, consents and other authorizations (collectively, “Governmental Licenses”) issued by the appropriate federal, state, local or foreign regulatory agencies or bodies necessary to conduct the business now operated by them, except where the failure so to possess would not, singly or in the aggregate, result in a Material Adverse Effect. The Company and its subsidiaries are in compliance with the terms and conditions of all such Governmental Licenses, except where the failure to so comply would not, singly or in the aggregate, result in a Material Adverse Effect. All of the Governmental Licenses are valid and in full force and effect, except where the invalidity of such Governmental Licenses or the failure of such Governmental Licenses to be in full force and effect would not, singly or in the aggregate, result in a Material Adverse Effect. Neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries has received any notice of proceedings relating to the revocation or modification of any such Governmental Licenses which, singly or in the aggregate, if the subject of an unfavorable decision, ruling or finding, would result in a Material Adverse Effect.

(xxii) Title to Property. The Company and its subsidiaries have good and marketable title to all real property owned by the Company and its subsidiaries and good title to all other properties owned by them, in each case, free and clear of all mortgages, pledges, liens,

security interests, claims, restrictions or encumbrances of any kind except such as (A) are described in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus or (B) would not have a Material Adverse Effect. All of the leases and subleases material to the business of the Company and its subsidiaries, considered as one enterprise, and under which the Company or any of its subsidiaries holds properties described in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus, are in full force and effect, and neither the Company nor any subsidiary has any notice of any material claim of any sort that has been asserted by anyone adverse to the rights of the Company or any subsidiary under any such lease or sublease or affecting or questioning the rights of the Company or such subsidiary to the continued possession of the leased or subleased premises under any such lease or sublease and that, in any such case, would have a Material Adverse Effect.

(xxiii) Absence of Manipulation. Neither the Company nor any affiliate of the Company has taken, nor will the Company or any affiliate take, directly or indirectly, any action which is designed to or which has constituted or which would be expected to cause or result in the unlawful stabilization or manipulation of the price of any security of the Company to facilitate the sale or resale of the Shares.

(xxiv) Absence of Further Requirements. No filing with, or consent, approval, authorization, order, license, registration, qualification or decree of or with any Governmental Entity is necessary or required in connection with the due authorization, execution and delivery of this Agreement or for the offering, issuance, sale or delivery of the Shares, the performance by the Company of its obligations hereunder or the consummation by the Company of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement, except the registration of the Shares under the 1933 Act, which has been effected (or, with respect to any Rule 462 Registration Statement, will be effected in accordance with Rule 462(b) under the 1933 Act) or as may be required under the (i) rules and regulations of the New York Stock Exchange (the “NYSE”) or other securities exchange on which the Common Stock is then listed and the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority, Inc. (“FINRA”), or (ii) securities or Blue Sky laws of the various states and other jurisdictions in connection with the purchase and distribution of the Shares by the Agent.

(xxv) Investment Company Act. The Company is not required, and upon the issuance and sale of the Shares as herein contemplated and the application of the Net Proceeds (as defined herein) therefrom as described in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus will not be required, to register as an “investment company” under the Investment Company Act of 1940, as amended.

(xxvi) Environmental Laws. The Company and its subsidiaries are (i) in compliance with any and all applicable foreign, federal, state and local laws and regulations relating to the protection of human health and safety, the environment or hazardous or toxic substances or wastes, pollutants or contaminants (“Environmental Laws”), (ii) have received and are in compliance with all permits, licenses or other approvals required of them under applicable Environmental Laws to conduct their respective businesses and (iii) have not received notice of any actual or potential liability for the investigation or remediation of any disposal or release of hazardous or toxic substances or wastes, pollutants or contaminants, except where such non-compliance with Environmental Laws, failure to receive required permits, licenses or other approvals, or liability would not have a Material Adverse Effect.

(xxvii) NYSE. Shares of Common Stock outstanding as of the date hereof are listed for quotation on the NYSE, and the Company has not received any notice from the NYSE regarding the delisting of such shares from the NYSE. The Company intends to file with the NYSE an Application for Listing Additional Shares with respect to the Shares required by the rules of the NYSE.

(xxviii) FINRA. In accordance with the FINRA Rule 5110(b)(7)(C)(i), the Shares have been offered pursuant to the standards for such Form S-3 in effect prior to October 21, 1992.

(xxix) Contracts. Except for that certain Common Stock Purchase Agreement, dated as of August 3, 2016, by and between the Company and Banc of California Capital and Liquidity Enhancement Employee Compensation Trust (the “Compensation Trust Purchase Agreement”), there are no contracts, agreements or understandings between the Company and any person granting such person the right to require the Company to file a registration statement under the 1933 Act with respect to any securities of the Company or to require the Company to include such securities with the Shares registered pursuant to the Registration Statement. Neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries has sent or received any communication regarding termination of, or intent not to renew, any of the contracts or agreements referred to or described in the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus, or referred to or described in, or filed as an exhibit to, the Registration Statement, and no such termination or non-renewal has been threatened by the Company or any of its subsidiaries or, to the Company’s knowledge, any other party to any such contract or agreement.

(xxx) Insurance. The Company and each of its subsidiaries are insured by insurers of recognized financial responsibility against such losses and risks and in such amounts as are prudent and customary in the business in which they are engaged; neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries has been refused any insurance coverage sought or applied for; and neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries has any reason to believe that it will not be able to renew its existing insurance coverage as and when such coverage expires or to obtain similar coverage from similar insurers as may be necessary to continue its business at a cost that would not have a Material Adverse Effect.

(xxxi) Capitalization. The authorized and outstanding capitalization of the Company is as set forth in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus, subject, in each case, to the issuance of shares of common stock upon exercise of stock options, stock appreciation rights and warrants, upon settlement of prepaid stock purchase contracts relating to the Company’s 8.00% tangible equity units and upon settlement of restricted stock units, disclosed as outstanding in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus, the issuance of the Shares, the issuance of shares of common stock pursuant to the Compensation Trust Purchase Agreement, the issuance of shares of common stock pursuant to that certain Agreement and Plan of Merger, dated as of October 25, 2013 (the “CS Financial Merger Agreement”), by and among the Company, the Bank, CS Financial, Inc., the Sellers (as defined therein) and the Sellers’ Representative (as defined therein), the issuance of shares of common stock pursuant to the Company’s Dividend Reinvestment Plan and the grant of options, restricted stock and other equity-based incentive awards under existing stock plans described in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the

Prospectus. The authorized capital stock of the Company conforms and will conform in all material respects as to legal matters to the description thereof contained in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus. The shares of Common Stock outstanding prior to the issuance of the Shares have been, except as would not be material to the Company and its subsidiaries taken as a whole, duly authorized, are validly issued, fully paid and non-assessable, have been issued in compliance with applicable securities laws and were not issued in violation of any preemptive or similar rights.

(xxxii) Dividends. No subsidiary of the Company is subject to any material direct or indirect prohibition on paying any dividends to the Company, on making any other distribution on such subsidiary’s capital stock, on repaying to the Company any loans or advances to such subsidiary from the Company or on transferring any of such subsidiary’s property or assets to the Company or any other subsidiary of the Company, except as described in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus.

(xxxiii) Taxes. All tax returns required to be filed by the Company or any of its subsidiaries have been timely filed, and all taxes and other assessments of a similar nature (whether imposed directly or through withholding) including any interest, additions to tax or penalties applicable thereto due or claimed to be due from such entities have been timely paid, other than those being contested in good faith and for which adequate reserves have been provided or which if not paid, would not individually or in the aggregate, result in a Material Adverse Effect.

(xxxiv) Foreign Corrupt Practices Act. Neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries nor, to the knowledge of the Company, any director, officer, agent, employee or affiliate of the Company or any of its subsidiaries, is aware of or has taken any action, directly or indirectly, that would result in a violation by such persons of the Foreign Corrupt Practices Act of 1977, as amended, and the rules and regulations thereunder, and the Company and its subsidiaries have instituted and maintain policies and procedures designed to ensure continued compliance therewith.

(xxxv) Derivative Financial Instruments. Any and all material swaps, caps, floors, futures, forward contracts, option agreements (other than stock options issued to the Company’s employees, directors, agents or consultants) and other derivative financial instruments, contracts or arrangements, whether entered into for the account of the Company or one of its subsidiaries or for the account of a customer of the Company or one of its subsidiaries, were entered into in the ordinary course of business and in accordance with applicable laws, rules, regulations and policies of all applicable regulatory agencies and with counterparties believed by the Company to be financially responsible at the time. The Company and each of its subsidiaries have duly performed in all material respects all of their obligations thereunder to the extent that such obligations to perform have accrued, and there are no breaches, violations or defaults or allegations or assertions of such by any party thereunder which would, singly or in the aggregate, reasonably be expected to result in a Material Adverse Effect.

(xxxvi) ERISA. Each of the Company, the Company’s subsidiaries and their respective “ERISA Affiliates” (as defined below) are in compliance in all material respects with all applicable provisions of the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, as

amended, including the regulations and published interpretations thereunder (collectively, “ERISA”). No “reportable event” (as defined in ERISA) has occurred with respect to any “employee benefit plan” (as defined in ERISA) for which the Company, any of the Company’s subsidiaries or their respective ERISA Affiliates would have any liability. None of the Company, the Company’s subsidiaries or their respective ERISA Affiliates have incurred, or expect to incur, material liability under (i) Title IV of ERISA with respect to termination of, or withdrawal from, any “employee benefit plan” or (ii) Sections 412, 4971, 4975 or 4980B of the United States Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended, and the regulations and published interpretations thereunder (collectively, the “Code”). Each “employee benefit plan” for which the Company, any of the Company’s subsidiaries or any of their respective ERISA Affiliates would have any liability that is intended to be qualified under Section 401(a) of the Code is so qualified in all material respects and, to the Company’s knowledge, nothing has occurred, whether by action or by failure to act, which would cause the loss of such qualification. “ERISA Affiliate” means, with respect to the Company or any of its subsidiaries, any member of any group of organizations described in Sections 414(b), (c), (m) or (o) of the Code or Section 4001(b) of ERISA of which the Company or such subsidiary is a member.

(xxxvii) Certain Transactions. Neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries has participated in any reportable transaction, as defined in Treasury Regulation Section 1.6011-(4)(b)(1).

(xxxviii) Unlawful Payments. None of the Company, any of the Company’s subsidiaries or, to the knowledge of the Company, any affiliate of the Company or any of its subsidiaries has: (A) used any corporate funds for any unlawful contribution, gift, entertainment or other unlawful expense relating to political activity; (B) made any direct or indirect unlawful payment to any foreign or domestic government official or employee from corporate funds; or (C) made any bribe, rebate, payoff, influence payment, kickback or other unlawful payment.

(xxxix) Relationships. No relationship, direct or indirect, exists between or among the Company or any of its subsidiaries, on the one hand, and the directors, officers, shareholders, customers or suppliers of the Company or any of its subsidiaries, on the other hand, that is required by the 1933 Act or the regulations thereof to be described in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus and that is not so described.

(xl) Pending Procedures and Examinations. The Registration Statement is not the subject of a pending proceeding or examination under Section 8(d) or 8(e) of the 1933 Act, and the Company is not the subject of a pending proceeding under Section 8A of the 1933 Act in connection with the offering of the Shares.

(xli) No Unauthorized Dissemination of Materials. Neither the Company nor any of the Company’s subsidiaries or other affiliates has distributed or prior to the completion of the distribution of the Shares, will distribute any prospectus (as such term is defined in the 1933 Act and the 1933 Act Regulations) in connection with the offering and sale of the Shares other than the Registration Statement, any preliminary prospectus, the General Disclosure Package, the Prospectus or other materials, if any, permitted by the 1933 Act or by the 1933 Act Regulations and approved by the Agent in accordance with Section 5(k) hereof.

(xlii) Transactions. Except as disclosed in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus and except for the CS Financial Merger Agreement, neither the Company nor any of its subsidiaries is a party to a letter of intent, accepted term sheet or similar instrument or any binding agreement that contemplates an acquisition, disposition, transfer or sale of the assets (as a going concern) or capital stock of the Company or of any subsidiary or business unit or any similar business combination transaction which would be material to the Company and its subsidiaries taken as a whole.

(xliii) Broker Fees. Other than as contemplated by this Agreement, there is no broker, finder or other party that is entitled to receive from the Company or any of the Company’s subsidiaries any brokerage or finder’s fee or commission as a result of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement.

(xliv) Prior Issuances. Except as described in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus, the Company has not sold, issued or distributed any shares of Common Stock during the six-month period preceding the date hereof, including any sales pursuant to Rule 144A under, or Regulation D or S of, the 1933 Act, other than shares issued pursuant to employee benefit plans, qualified stock option plans or other employee compensation plans; pursuant to employee inducement grants pursuant to NYSE Rule 303A.08; pursuant to outstanding options, rights or warrants; pursuant to the Company’s Dividend Reinvestment Plan; or pursuant to the CS Financial Merger Agreement or the Compensation Trust Purchase Agreement.

(xlv) Compliance with Money Laundering Laws. The operations of the Company and its subsidiaries are and have been during the past three years conducted in compliance in all material respects with applicable financial recordkeeping and reporting requirements, including those of the Currency and Foreign Transactions Reporting Act of 1970, as amended, the applicable money laundering statutes of all jurisdictions where the Company or any of its subsidiaries conduct business, the rules and regulations thereunder and any related or similar rules, regulations or guidelines, issued, administered or enforced by any governmental or regulatory agency (collectively, the “Anti-Money Laundering Laws”) and no action, suit or proceeding by or before any court or governmental or regulatory agency, authority or body or any arbitrator involving the Company or any of its subsidiaries with respect to the Anti-Money Laundering Laws is pending or, to the knowledge of the Company, threatened.

(b) Officer’s Certificates. Any certificate signed by any officer of the Company delivered to the Agent or to counsel for the Agent shall be deemed a representation and warranty by the Company to the Agent as to the matters covered thereby on the date of such certificate.

2. Sale and Delivery.

(a) The Shares. On the basis of the representations and warranties herein contained and subject to the terms and conditions herein set forth, upon the Agent’s acceptance of the terms of a Placement Notice or such other instructions provided by the Company to the Agent pursuant to Section 2(b) or upon receipt by the Agent of an Acceptance (as defined in Section 2(c) below), as the case may be, and unless the sale of the Placement Shares (as defined

in Section 2(b) below) as described therein has been declined, suspended or otherwise terminated in accordance with the terms of this Agreement, the Company agrees to issue and sell through the Agent, as sales agent, and the Agent agrees, subject to the limitations and provisions in this Section 2 or as may otherwise be agreed to between the parties from time to time, to use its commercially reasonable efforts consistent with its normal trading and sales practices to sell as sales agent for the Company, the Shares. Sales of the Shares, if any, through the Agent acting as sales agent will be made by means of ordinary brokers’ transactions or otherwise at market prices prevailing at the time of sale, at prices related to prevailing market prices or at negotiated prices.

(b) The Shares are to be sold on a daily basis or otherwise as shall be agreed to by the Company and the Agent on any day that is a trading day for the NYSE (other than a day on which the NYSE is scheduled to close prior to its regular weekday closing time) (each, a “Trading Day”), and the Company has instructed the Agent to make such sales. Prior to the commencement of any offering of Shares, when the Company wishes to issue and sell the Shares hereunder, it will notify the Agent at least one “business day,” as defined in Rule 100 of Regulation M (a “Regulation M Business Day”), prior to the Trading Day on which sales are desired to commence by e-mail notice (or other method mutually agreed to in writing by the parties) containing the parameters in accordance with which it desires the Shares to be sold, which shall at a minimum include the number of Shares desired to be issued (the “Placement Shares”) and any minimum price below which sales may not be made, a form of which containing such minimum sales parameters necessary is attached hereto as Annex I (a “Placement Notice”). The Placement Notice shall originate from any of the individuals from the Company set forth on Schedule I (with a copy to each of the other individuals from the Company listed on such schedule), and shall be addressed to each of the individuals from the Agent set forth on Schedule I, as such Schedule I may be amended from time to time. On any Trading Day that the Company wishes to issue and sell the Shares hereunder (each, a “Placement”), the Company may instruct the Agent by telephone (confirmed promptly by telecopy or e-mail, which confirmation will be promptly acknowledged by the Agent), or such other method mutually agreed to in writing by the parties, as to the maximum number of Shares to be sold by the Agent on such day and the minimum price per Share at which such Shares may be sold.

(c) If the Agent wishes to accept such proposed terms included in the Placement Notice (which it may decline to do for any reason in its sole discretion) or, following discussion with the Company, wishes to accept amended terms, the Agent will, prior to 4:30 p.m. (New York City Time) on the business day following the business day on which such Placement Notice is delivered to the Agent, issue to the Company a notice by e-mail (or other method mutually agreed to in writing by the parties) addressed to all of the individuals from the Company and Agent set forth on Schedule I setting forth the terms that the Agent is willing to accept. Where the terms provided in the Placement Notice are amended as provided for in the immediately preceding sentence, such terms will not be binding on the Company or the Agent until the Company delivers to the Agent an acceptance by e-mail (or other method mutually agreed to in writing by the parties) of all of the terms of such Placement Notice, as amended (the “Acceptance”), which e-mail shall be addressed to all of the individuals from the Company and the Agent set forth on Schedule I. The Placement Notice (as amended by the corresponding Acceptance, if applicable) shall be effective upon receipt by the Company of the Agent’s acceptance of the terms of the Placement Notice or upon receipt by the Agent of the Company’s

Acceptance, as the case may be, unless and until (i) the entire amount of the Placement Shares has been sold, (ii) in accordance with the notice requirements set forth in the second sentence of this paragraph, the Company terminates the Placement Notice, (iii) the Company issues a subsequent Placement Notice with parameters superseding those on the earlier dated Placement Notice, (iv) this Agreement has been terminated under the provisions of Section 11 or (v) either party shall have suspended the sale of the Placement Shares in accordance with the terms of this Agreement. It is expressly acknowledged and agreed that neither the Company nor the Agent will have any obligation whatsoever with respect to a Placement or any Placement Shares unless and until the Company delivers a Placement Notice to the Agent and either (i) the Agent accepts the terms of such Placement Notice or (ii) where the terms of such Placement Notice are amended, the Company accepts such amended terms by means of an Acceptance pursuant to the terms set forth above, and then only upon the terms specified in the Placement Notice (as amended by the corresponding Acceptance, if applicable) and herein. In the event of a conflict between the terms of this Agreement and the terms of a Placement Notice (as amended by the corresponding Acceptance, if applicable), the terms of the Placement Notice (as amended by the corresponding Acceptance, if applicable) will control.

(d) Notwithstanding the foregoing, the Company shall not authorize the issuance and sale of, and the Agent shall not be obligated to use its commercially reasonable efforts to sell, any Shares (i) at a price lower than the minimum price therefor authorized from time to time, or (ii) in a number in excess of the aggregate number of shares or gross sale price of Shares (1) authorized from time to time to be issued and sold under this Agreement, in each case, by the Company’s board of directors (the “Board”) or a duly authorized committee or subcommittee thereof (the “Designated Subcommittee”), and notified to the Agent in writing, or (2) available for sale under the Prospectus and the currently effective Registration Statement. In addition, the Company or the Agent may, upon notice to the other party hereto by telephone (confirmed promptly by e-mail to those individuals specified on Schedule I), suspend or terminate the offering of the Shares for any reason and at any time; provided, however, that such suspension or termination shall not affect or impair the parties’ respective obligations with respect to the Shares sold hereunder or which an investor has agreed to purchase but which have not been delivered by the Company and paid for by such investor as contemplated hereby prior to the giving of such notice.

(e) Under no circumstances shall the aggregate gross sale price or number of Shares sold pursuant to this Agreement exceed the aggregate gross sale price or number of Shares, as the case may be, of the Common Stock (i) set forth in the preamble paragraph of this Agreement, (ii) available for sale under the Prospectus and the then currently effective Registration Statement or (iii) authorized from time to time to be issued and sold under this Agreement by the Board or the Designated Subcommittee and notified to the Agent in writing. In addition, under no circumstances shall any Shares be sold at a price lower than the minimum price therefor authorized from time to time by the Board or the Designated Subcommittee and notified to the Agent in writing. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary contained herein (other than the following sentence), the parties hereto agree that compliance with the limitations set forth in this Section 2(e) regarding the aggregate offering price of the Shares issued and sold under this Agreement shall be the sole responsibility of the Company, and the Agent shall have no obligation in connection with such compliance. The Agent covenants and agrees not to make any sales of the Shares on behalf of the Company other than as permitted by this Agreement.

(f) Subject to the terms of the Placement Notice (as amended by the corresponding Acceptance, if applicable) or such other instructions provided by the Company to the Agent pursuant to Section 2(b), the Agent may sell Placement Shares by any method permitted by law deemed to be an “at the market” offering as defined in Rule 415 of the Act, including without limitation sales made directly on the NYSE, on any other existing trading market for the Common Stock or to or through a market maker. Subject to the terms of the Placement Notice (as amended by the corresponding Acceptance, if applicable) or such other instruction provided by the Company to the Agent pursuant to Section 2(b), the Agent may also sell Placement Shares by any other method permitted by law, including but not limited to privately negotiated transactions subject to the approval of the Company. Notwithstanding anything to the contrary herein and for a period of time beginning one Regulation M Business Day prior to the time when the first sale pursuant to a Placement Notice occurs and continuing through the time such Placement Notice is in effect, the Agent agrees that in no event will it or any of its affiliates engage in any market making, stabilization or other market or trading activity with regard to the Shares if such activity would be prohibited under Regulation M or other anti-manipulation rules under the Act or the 1934 Act.

(g) The compensation payable to the Agent for sales of Shares shall be equal to 1.0% of the gross sales price of the Shares; provided, however, that such rate of compensation shall not apply when the Agent acts pursuant to a Terms Agreement, provided further, that in no event shall the compensation payable to the Agent exceed 1.0% of the gross sales price of the Shares. The remaining proceeds, after further deduction for any transaction fees, transfer taxes or other similar fees, taxes or charges imposed by any federal, state, local or other governmental, regulatory or self-regulatory organization in respect of such sales, shall constitute the net proceeds to the Company for such Shares (the “Net Proceeds”). The Agent shall notify the Company as promptly as practicable if any deduction described in the preceding sentence will be required.

(h) The Agent shall provide written confirmation (which may be by e-mail) to the Company following the close of trading on the NYSE each day on which Shares are sold under this Agreement setting forth the number of Shares sold on such day, the gross sales prices of the Shares, the Net Proceeds to the Company and the compensation payable by the Company to the Agent under this Agreement with respect to such sales.

(i) Settlement for sales of Shares will occur on the third business day that is also a Trading Day following the trade date on which such sales are made, unless another date shall be agreed to by the Company and the Agent (each such day, a “Delivery Date”). On each Delivery Date, the Shares sold through the Agent for settlement on such date shall be delivered by the Company to the Agent against payment of the Net Proceeds from the sale of such Shares. Settlement for all Shares shall be effected by book-entry delivery of Shares to the Agent’s account at The Depository Trust Company (“DTC”), pursuant to a blanket issuer letter of representations, dated April 19, 2012, between the Company and DTC, against payment by the Agent of the Net Proceeds from the sale of such Shares in same day funds delivered to an account designated by the Company. If the Company or its transfer agent (if applicable) shall default on its obligation to deliver Shares on any Delivery Date, the Company shall (A) indemnify and hold the Agent harmless against any loss, claim or damage arising from or as a result of such default by the Company and (B) pay the Agent any commission to which it

would otherwise be entitled absent such default. If the Agent breaches this Agreement by failing to deliver the applicable Net Proceeds on any Delivery Date for Shares delivered by the Company and paid for by investors, the Agent will pay the Company interest based on the effective overnight federal funds rate until such Net Proceeds, together with such interest, have been fully paid.

(j) The Company agrees that any offer to sell, any solicitation of an offer to buy, or any sales of the Shares or any other equity security of the Company shall only be effected to or through the Agent during the period beginning one Regulation M Business Day prior to the time when the first sale pursuant to a Placement Notice occurs and continuing through the time such Placement Notice is in effect; provided, however, that the foregoing limitation shall not apply to (i) the exercise of any option, stock appreciation right, warrant, other right, or the settlement of any prepaid stock purchase contracts relating to the Company’s 8.00% tangible equity units or restricted stock units, or any conversion or exercise privilege set forth in the instrument governing such security or any other security of the Company, (ii) the issuance of shares of common stock pursuant to the Compensation Trust Purchase Agreement, the CS Financial Merger Agreement or the Company’s Dividend Reinvestment or (iii) sales or issuances solely to employees, directors or security holders of the Company or its subsidiaries or to a trustee or other person acquiring such securities for the accounts of such persons.

(k) The Company consents to the Agent’s purchase and sale of the Common Stock for the Agent’s own account, to the extent permitted under the 1933 Act and the 1934 Act, at the same time as sales of the Shares occur pursuant to this Agreement or pursuant to a Terms Agreement, provided, that (i) no such purchase or sales shall take place while a Placement Notice is in effect (except to the extent the Agent may engage in sales of Placement Shares purchased or deemed purchased from the Company as a “riskless principal” or in a similar capacity) and (ii) the Company shall not be deemed to have authorized or consented to any such purchases or sales by the Agent.

(l) The Company acknowledges and agrees that (i) there can be no assurance that the Agent will be successful in selling Shares, (ii) the Agent will incur no liability or obligation to the Company or any other person or entity if it does not sell Shares for any reason other than a failure by the Agent to use its commercially reasonable efforts consistent with its normal trading and sales practices to sell such Shares as required under this Section 2, subject to the limitations and provisions in this Section 2 or as may otherwise be agreed to between the parties from time to time and (iii) the Agent shall be under no obligation to purchase Shares on a principal basis pursuant to this Agreement, except as otherwise agreed by the Agent and the Company in a Terms Agreement.

(m) At each Applicable Time, each Delivery Date and each Representation Date, the Company shall be deemed to have affirmed each representation, warranty, covenant and other agreement contained in this Agreement.

3. Alternative Arrangements.

(a) If the Company wishes to issue and sell the Shares other than as set forth in Section 2 of this Agreement (an “Alternative Placement”), it will notify the Agent of the

proposed terms of such Alternative Placement. If the Agent, acting as principal or agent, wishes to accept such proposed terms (which it may decline to do for any reason in its sole discretion) or, following discussions with the Company wishes to accept amended terms, the Agent and the Company will enter into a Terms Agreement, setting forth the terms of such Alternative Placement.

(b) The terms set forth in a Terms Agreement will not be binding on the Company or the Agent unless and until the Company and the Agent have each executed such Terms Agreement accepting all of the terms of such Terms Agreement. In the event of a conflict between the terms of this Agreement and the terms of a Terms Agreement, the terms of such Terms Agreement will control.

4. (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Agreement, (i) the Company shall not offer or sell, or request the offer or sale of, any Shares, (ii) the Company, by notice to the Agent given by telephone (confirmed promptly by e-mail), shall cancel any instructions then in effect for the offer or sale of Shares, and (iii) the Agent shall not be obligated to offer or sell any Shares, (x) unless otherwise agreed to in writing by the parties hereto (which agreement may be contained in a Placement Notice or in such other instructions provided by the Company to the Agent pursuant to Section 2(b)), during any period in which the Company’s insider trading policy, as it exists on the date of this Agreement, would prohibit the purchases or sales of the Company’s Common Stock by its officers or directors, (y) at any time or during any period that the Company is in possession of material non-public information or (z) except as provided in Section 4(b) below, at any time from and including the date (each, an “Announcement Date”) on which the Company shall issue a press release containing, or shall otherwise publicly announce, its revenues, earnings or other operating results (each, an “Earnings Announcement”) through and including the time that is twenty-four (24) hours after the time that the Company files (a “Filing Time”) a Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q or an Annual Report on Form 10-K that includes consolidated financial statements as of and for the same period or periods, as the case may be, covered by such Earnings Announcement. For purposes of this Section 4(a) and Section 4(b) below, references to “twenty-four (24) hours” shall exclude any hours in a day that is not a business day.

(b) If the Company wishes to offer or sell Shares on any date during the period from and including the Earnings Announcement through and including the time that is twenty-four (24) hours after the corresponding Filing Time, the Company shall (i) prepare and deliver to the Agent (with a copy to counsel to the Agent) a Current Report on Form 8-K which shall include substantially the same financial and related information as was set forth in the relevant Earnings Announcement (other than any earnings projections or similar forward-looking data) (each, an “Earnings 8-K”), in form and substance reasonably satisfactory to the Agent, and obtain the consent of the Agent to the “filing” thereof (as opposed to merely furnishing thereof under Item 2.02) (such consent not to be unreasonably withheld or delayed), (ii) provide the Agent with the officers’ certificate and accountants’ letter called for by Sections 5(p) and (r), respectively, and (iii) file such Earnings 8-K with the Commission. If the Company fully satisfies the requirements of clauses (i) through (iii) of this Section 4(b), then the provisions of clause (z) of Section 4(a) shall not be applicable for the period from and after the time at which the foregoing conditions shall have been satisfied (or, if later, the time that is twenty-four (24) hours after the time that the relevant Earnings Announcement was first publicly released) through and

including the time that is twenty-four (24) hours after the Filing Time of the relevant Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q or Annual Report on Form 10-K, as the case may be. For purposes of clarity, the parties hereto agree that (A) the delivery of any officers’ certificate or accountants’ letter pursuant to this Section 4(b) shall not relieve the Company from any of its obligations under this Agreement with respect to the related Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q or Annual Report on Form 10-K, as the case may be, including, without limitation, the obligation to deliver officers’ certificates, accountants’ letters and legal opinions and related letters as provided in Section 7 hereof, (B) this Section 4(b) shall in no way affect the provisions of clause (x) or (y) of Section 4(a), which shall have independent application and (C) the provisions of this Section 4(b) shall in no way affect the Company’s ability to file, subject to compliance with other applicable provisions of this Agreement, Current Reports on Form 8-K relating to earnings or other matters.

5. Covenants of the Company. The Company covenants with the Agent as follows:

(a) Compliance with Securities Regulations and Commission Requests. The Company, subject to Section 5(b), will comply with the requirements of Rule 430B, if applicable, and will notify the Agent immediately, and confirm the notice in writing, (i) when any post-effective amendment to the Registration Statement shall become effective, or any supplement to the Prospectus or any amended Prospectus shall have been filed, (ii) of the receipt of any comments from the Commission, (iii) of any request by the Commission for any amendment to the Registration Statement or any amendment or supplement to the General Disclosure Package or the Prospectus or any document incorporated by reference therein or for additional information, and (iv) of the issuance by the Commission of any stop order suspending the effectiveness of the Registration Statement or of any order by any Governmental Entity preventing or suspending the use of any preliminary prospectus, the Statutory Prospectus or the Prospectus, or of the suspension of the qualification of the Shares for offering or sale in any jurisdiction, or of the initiation or threatening of any proceedings for any of such purposes. The Company will promptly effect the filings necessary pursuant to Rule 424(b) (without reliance on Rule 424(b)(8)) and will take such steps as it deems necessary to ascertain promptly whether the form of prospectus transmitted for filing under Rule 424(b) was received for filing by the Commission and, in the event that it was not, it will promptly file such prospectus. The Company will make every reasonable effort to prevent the issuance of any stop order and, if any stop order is issued, to obtain the lifting thereof at the earliest possible moment.

(b) Filing of Amendments. The Company will give the Agent notice of its intention to file or prepare any amendment to the Registration Statement (including any filing under Rule 462(b)) or any amendment or supplement to the General Disclosure Package or the Prospectus or any new registration statement relating to the Shares, whether pursuant to the 1933 Act, the 1934 Act or otherwise, will furnish the Agent with copies of any such documents a reasonable amount of time prior to such proposed filing or use, as the case may be, and will not file or use any such document to which the Agent or counsel for the Agent shall object.

(c) Delivery of Registration Statements. The Company has furnished or will deliver to the Agent and counsel for the Agent, without charge, copies of the signed Registration Statement as originally filed and of each amendment thereto (including exhibits filed therewith or incorporated by reference therein and documents incorporated by reference therein) and

copies of all signed consents and certificates of experts, and will also deliver to the Agent, without charge, a conformed copy of the Registration Statement as originally filed and of each amendment thereto (without exhibits) for the Agent. The copies of the Registration Statement and each amendment thereto furnished to the Agent will be identical to the electronically transmitted copies thereof filed with the Commission pursuant to EDGAR, except to the extent permitted by Regulation S-T.

(d) Delivery of Prospectuses. The Company has delivered to the Agent, without charge, as many copies of each preliminary prospectus and the Statutory Prospectus as the Agent reasonably requested, and the Company hereby consents to the use of such copies for purposes permitted by the 1933 Act. The Company will furnish to the Agent, without charge, during the period when the Prospectus is required to be delivered under the 1933 Act, such number of copies of the Prospectus (as amended or supplemented) as the Agent may reasonably request. The preliminary prospectus, the Statutory Prospectus, the Prospectus and any amendments or supplements thereto furnished to the Agent will be identical to the electronically transmitted copies thereof filed with the Commission pursuant to EDGAR, except to the extent permitted by Regulation S-T.

(e) Continued Compliance with Securities Laws. The Company will comply with the 1933 Act, the 1933 Act Regulations, the 1934 Act and the 1934 Act Regulations so as to permit the completion of the distribution of the Shares as contemplated in this Agreement and in the Prospectus. If, at any time when a prospectus is required by the 1933 Act to be delivered in connection with sales of the Shares, any event or development occurs as a result of which the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package or the Prospectus would include any untrue statement of a material fact or omit to state any material fact necessary to make the statements therein (in the case of the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus, in light of the circumstances under which they were made) not misleading, or if it shall be necessary to amend the Registration Statement or amend or supplement the Statutory Prospectus or the Prospectus to comply with the 1933 Act or the 1933 Act Regulations or to file a new registration statement relating to the Shares, the Company promptly will (1) notify Agent of any such event or development, (2) prepare and file with the Commission, subject to Section 5(b) hereof, such amendment, supplement or new registration statement which will correct such untrue statement or omission, effect such compliance or satisfy such filing requirement, (3) use its best efforts to have any such amendment to the Registration Statement or new registration statement declared effective as soon as possible (if not an automatic shelf registration statement) and (4) supply any amended or supplemented General Disclosure Package or Prospectus to the Agent in such quantities as they may reasonably request. If at any time following the issuance of an Issuer-Represented Free Writing Prospectus there occurred or occurs an event or development as a result of which such Issuer-Represented Free Writing Prospectus conflicted or would conflict with the information contained in the Registration Statement (or any other registration statement relating to the Shares), any preliminary prospectus, the Statutory Prospectus or the Prospectus or included, includes or would include an untrue statement of a material fact or omitted, omits or would omit to state a material fact necessary in order to make the statements therein, in the light of the circumstances prevailing at that subsequent time, not misleading, the Company will promptly notify the Agent and will promptly amend or supplement, at its own expense, such Issuer-Represented Free Writing Prospectus to eliminate or correct such conflict, untrue

statement or omission. The Agent’s delivery of any such amendment or supplement shall not constitute a waiver of any of the conditions of Section 7 hereof.

(f) Blue Sky Qualifications. The Company will use its best efforts, in cooperation with the Agent, to qualify the Shares for offering and sale under the applicable securities laws of such states and other jurisdictions as the Agent may designate and to maintain such qualifications in effect for a period of not less than one year from the later of the effective date of the Registration Statement and any Rule 462(b) Registration Statement; provided, however, that the Company shall not be obligated to file any general consent to service of process or to qualify as a foreign corporation or as a dealer in securities in any jurisdiction in which it is not so qualified or so subject itself to taxation in respect of doing business in any jurisdiction in which it is not otherwise so subject. The Company will also supply the Agent with such information as is necessary for the determination of the legality of the Shares for investment under the laws of such jurisdictions as the Shares may request.

(g) Rule 158. The Company will timely file such reports pursuant to the 1934 Act as are necessary in order to make generally available to its security holders as soon as practicable an earnings statement for the purposes of, and to provide the benefits contemplated by, the last paragraph of Section 11(a) of the 1933 Act.

(h) Use of Proceeds. The Company will use the Net Proceeds received by it from the sale of the Shares in the manner specified in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus.

(i) DTC. The Company shall use its best efforts to permit the Shares to be eligible for clearance, settlement and trading in book-entry-only form through the facilities of DTC.

(j) [Reserved.]

(k) Issuer-Free Writing Prospectus. The Company represents and agrees that, unless it obtains the prior written consent of the Agent, and the Agent represents and agrees that, unless it obtains the prior written consent of the Company, it has not made and will not make any offer relating to the Shares that would constitute an “issuer free writing prospectus,” as defined in Rule 433, or that would otherwise constitute a “free writing prospectus,” as defined in Rule 405, required to be filed with the Commission other than the Issuer-Represented Free Writing Prospectuses, if any, identified on Schedule II. Each of the Issuer-Represented Free Writing Prospectuses, if any, identified on Schedule II hereto and free writing prospectuses consented to by the Company and the Agent is referred to herein as an “Issuer-Permitted Free Writing Prospectus.” The Company represents that it has treated or agrees that it will treat each Issuer-Permitted Free Writing Prospectus as an “issuer free writing prospectus,” as defined in Rule 433, and has complied and will comply with the requirements of Rule 433 applicable to any Issuer-Permitted Free Writing Prospectus, including timely filing with the Commission where required, legending and record keeping. Notwithstanding the foregoing, the Company consents to the use by the Agent of a free writing prospectus that contains only (a)(i) information describing the preliminary terms of the Shares or their offering, (ii) information meeting the requirements of Rule 134 of the 1933 Act Regulations or (iii) information that describes the final terms of the

Shares or their offering and that is included in a final term sheet or (b) other customary information that is neither “issuer information,” as defined in Rule 433, nor otherwise an Issuer-Represented Free Writing Prospectus.

(l) Reporting Requirements. The Company, until the completion of the distribution of the Shares, will file all documents required to be filed with the Commission pursuant to the 1934 Act within the time periods required by the 1934 Act and the 1934 Act Regulations.

(m) NYSE. The Company will file a notification with the NYSE or other securities exchange on which the Common Stock is then listed concerning the issuance of the Shares no later than ten calendar days after a Delivery Date.

(n) Transfer Agent. The Company shall maintain a registrar and transfer agent for the Common Stock.

(o) Due Diligence. The Company will reasonably cooperate on a timely basis with any reasonable due diligence request from, or review conducted by, the Agent or its counsel from time to time in connection with the transactions contemplated hereby, including, without limitation, and upon reasonable notice, providing information and making available documents and appropriate corporate officers, during regular business hours and at the Company’s principal offices and/or by telephone, as the Agent or its counsel may reasonably request (each such process, a “Due Diligence Process”).

(p) Upon commencement of the offering of Shares under this Agreement, promptly after each (i) date the Registration Statement or the Prospectus shall be amended or supplemented (other than (1) by an amendment or supplement providing solely for the determination of the terms of the Shares, (2) in connection with the filing of any report or other document under Section 13, 14 or 15(d) of the 1934 Act or (3) by a prospectus supplement relating to the offering of other securities (including, without limitation, other shares of Common Stock)) (each such date, a “Registration Statement Amendment Date”), (ii) date on which the Company shall file (x) an Annual Report on Form 10-K, Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q or Earnings 8-K or (y) an amendment to any such document (each such date, a “Company Periodic Report Date”) and (iii) reasonable request by the Agent; provided, that such request follows a Due Diligence Process (each date of any such request, a “Supplemental Request Date”) (each of the date of the commencement of the offering of Shares under this Agreement, each Registration Statement Amendment Date, each Company Periodic Report Date and each Supplemental Request Date is hereinafter referred to as a “Representation Date”), the Company will furnish or cause to be furnished to the Agent (with a copy to counsel to the Agent) a certificate dated such Representation Date (or, in the case of an amendment or supplement to the Registration Statement or the Prospectus (including, without limitation, by the filing of an Annual Report on Form 10-K, Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q or Earnings 8-K or any amendment thereto), the date of the effectiveness of such amendment to the Registration Statement or the date of filing with the Commission of such supplement or any such Form 10-K, Form 10-Q, Earnings 8-K or amendment thereto, as the case may be), in a form reasonably satisfactory to the Agent, to the effect that the statements contained in the certificate referred to in Section 7(d) of this Agreement which was last furnished to the Agent are true and correct as of the date of such certificate as

though made at and as of the date of such certificate (except that such statements shall be deemed to relate to the Registration Statement, the Prospectus and the General Disclosure Package as amended and supplemented to the date of such certificate) or, in lieu of such certificate, a certificate of the same tenor as the certificate referred to in Section 7(d), but modified as necessary to relate to the Registration Statement, the Prospectus and the General Disclosure Package as amended and supplemented to the date of such certificate. As used in this paragraph, to the extent there shall be an Applicable Time on or following the applicable Representation Date, “promptly” shall be deemed to be on or prior to such Applicable Time.

(q) Upon commencement of the offering of Shares under this Agreement, and promptly after each other Representation Date, the Company will furnish or cause to be furnished to the Agent (with a copy to counsel to the Agent), unless the Agent otherwise agrees in writing, the written opinions and letters of counsel to the Company, dated such Representation Date (or, in the case of an amendment or supplement to the Registration Statement or the Prospectus (including, without limitation, by the filing of an Annual Report on Form 10-K or Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q or any amendment thereto), the date of the effectiveness of such amendment to the Registration Statement or the date of filing with the Commission of such supplement or any such Form 10-K, Form 10-Q or amendment thereto, as the case may be), each in a form and substance reasonably satisfactory to the Agent and its counsel, of the same tenor as the opinions and letters referred to in Section 7(b) of this Agreement, but modified as necessary to relate to the Registration Statement, the Prospectus and the General Disclosure Package as amended and supplemented to the date of such opinion and letter or, in lieu of such opinion and letter, counsel last furnishing any such opinion and letter to the Agent shall furnish the Agent with a letter substantially to the effect that the Agent may rely on such counsel’s last opinion and letter to the same extent as though each were dated the date of such letter authorizing reliance (except that statements in such last opinion and letter shall be deemed to relate to the Registration Statement, the Prospectus and the General Disclosure Package as amended and supplemented to the date of such letter authorizing reliance). As used in this paragraph, to the extent there shall be an Applicable Time on or following the applicable Representation Date, “promptly” shall be deemed to be on or prior to such Applicable Time. Solely for the purposes of this paragraph, the term “Representation Date” shall not include the date of filing of any Earnings 8-K or any amendment thereto.

(r) Upon commencement of the offering of Shares under this Agreement, and promptly after each other Representation Date, the Company will cause KPMG LLP, or other independent accountants reasonably satisfactory to the Agent, to furnish to the Agent (with a copy to counsel to the Agent), unless the Agent otherwise agrees in writing, a letter, dated such Representation Date (or, in the case of an amendment or supplement to the Registration Statement or the Prospectus (including, without limitation, by the filing of an Annual Report on Form 10-K, Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q, Earnings 8-K or any amendment thereto), the date of the effectiveness of such amendment to the Registration Statement or the date of filing with the Commission of such supplement or any such Form 10-K, Form 10-Q, Earnings 8-K or any amendment thereto, as the case may be), in form reasonably satisfactory to the Agent and its counsel, of the same tenor as the letter referred to in Section 7(e) hereof, but modified as necessary to relate to the Registration Statement, the Prospectus and the General Disclosure Package as amended and supplemented to the date of such letter. As used in this paragraph, to

the extent there shall be an Applicable Time on or following the applicable Representation Date, “promptly” shall be deemed to be on or prior to such Applicable Time.

(s) During the pendency of any Placement Notice (as amended by the corresponding Acceptance, if applicable) given hereunder, the Company shall provide the Agent notice no less than one Regulation M Business Day before it or any of its subsidiaries or any person acting on their behalf, directly or indirectly, offers to sell, contracts to sell, sells, grants any option to sell or otherwise disposes of any Common Stock (other than Placement Shares offered pursuant to the provisions of this Agreement) or securities convertible into or exchangeable for Common Stock, warrants or any rights to purchase or acquire Common Stock; provided, that no such restriction shall apply in connection with (1) the issuance, grant or sale of such securities, options to purchase such securities, restricted stock and other equity-based incentive awards described in the Prospectus, or Common Stock issuable upon the exercise or settlement of warrants, prepaid stock purchase contracts relating to the Company’s 8.00% tangible equity units, options, stock appreciation rights, restricted stock units or other equity awards pursuant to any stock option, stock bonus or other stock or compensatory plan or arrangement described in the Prospectus, (2) the issuance of shares of common stock pursuant to the Compensation Trust Purchase Agreement, the CS Financial Merger Agreement or the Company’s Dividend Reinvestment Plan, or (3) the issuance or sale of Common Stock pursuant to any other dividend reinvestment plan that the Company may adopt from time to time, provided the implementation of such other dividend reinvestment plan is disclosed to the Agent in advance.

6. Placement Expenses.

(a) Expenses. The Company will pay all expenses incident to the performance of its obligations under this Agreement, including (i) the preparation, printing and filing of the Registration Statement (including financial statements and exhibits) as originally filed and of each amendment thereto, (ii) the preparation, printing and delivery to the Agent of this Agreement and such other documents as may be reasonably required in connection with the offering, purchase, sale, issuance or delivery of the Shares, (iii) the preparation, issuance and delivery of the certificates, if any, for the Shares to the Agent, (iv) the fees and disbursements of the Company’s counsel, accountants and other advisors, (v) the qualification of the Shares under securities laws in accordance with the provisions of Section 5(f) hereof, (vi) the printing and delivery to the Agent of copies of each preliminary prospectus, the Statutory Prospectus, any Issuer-Permitted Free Writing Prospectus and of the Prospectus and any amendments or supplements thereto, (vii) the fees and expenses of any transfer agent, registrar or depositary for the Shares, (viii) the costs and expenses of the Company relating to investor presentations on any “road show” undertaken in connection with the marketing of the Shares, including, without limitation, expenses associated with the production of road show slides and graphics, fees and expenses of any consultants engaged by the Company in connection with the road show presentations, travel and lodging expenses of the representatives and officers of the Company and any such consultants, and the cost of aircraft and other transportation chartered in connection with the road show (it being understood that the cost of such travel and lodging, including the cost of aircraft and other transportation, of the Agent shall be the responsibility of the Agent), (ix) the out-of-pocket expenses incurred by the Agent in connection with the transaction contemplated hereby (regardless of whether the sale of the Shares in consummated) in an amount

not to exceed $100,000, such out-of-pocket expenses to include, without limitation, disbursements, fees and expenses of the Agent’s counsel, and marketing, syndication and travel expenses (such amount payable upon execution of this Agreement); and all such out-of-pocket expenses incurred by the Agent in connection with each Representation Date or Placement, in each case in an amount not to exceed an additional $15,000 per such Representation Date or Placement, (x) any fees payable in respect of listing the Shares on the NYSE or other securities exchange on which the Common Stock is then listed, and (xi) the fees and expenses incurred in connection with having the Shares eligible for clearance, settlement and trading through the facilities of DTC.

(b) Termination of Agreement. If this Agreement is terminated by the Agent in accordance with the provisions of Section 11(a)(i) hereof, the Company shall reimburse the Agent for all of its out-of-pocket expenses.

7. Conditions of the Agent’s Obligations. The obligations of the Agent hereunder shall be subject to the accuracy, when made and on each Representation Date, of the representations and warranties of the Company contained in Section 1 hereof or in certificates of any officer of the Company or any of its subsidiaries delivered pursuant to the provisions hereof as though made on such date, and to the performance by the Company of its covenants and other obligations hereunder, and to the following further conditions:

(a) Effectiveness of Registration Statement. (i) The Registration Statement, including any Rule 462(b) Registration Statement, has become effective and at each Delivery Date, no stop order suspending the effectiveness of the Registration Statement shall have been issued under the 1933 Act or proceedings therefor initiated or threatened by the Commission, and any request on the part of the Commission for additional information shall have been complied with to the reasonable satisfaction of counsel to the Agent, (ii) each of the preliminary prospectus, the Statutory Prospectus and the Prospectus shall have been filed with the Commission in the manner and within the time period required by Rule 424(b) (without reliance on Rule 424(b)(8)) (or a post-effective amendment providing such information shall have been filed and declared effective in accordance with the requirements of Rule 430B), and no order preventing or suspending the use of any preliminary prospectus, the Statutory Prospectus or the Prospectus shall have been issued by the Commission or any other Governmental Entity, (iii) any material required to be filed by the Company pursuant to Rule 433(d) under the 1933 Act shall have been filed with the Commission within the applicable time periods prescribed in such filings by Rule 433 and (iv) there shall not have come to the Agent’s attention any facts that would cause the Agent to believe that the General Disclosure Package or the Prospectus, at the time it was, or was required to be, delivered or made available to purchasers of the Shares, included an untrue statement of a material fact or omitted to state a material fact necessary in order to make the statements therein, in light of the circumstances existing at the time, not misleading.

(b) Opinion of Counsel for the Company. On each date specified in Section 5(q), the Agent shall have received the opinions, dated as of such date, from each of Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz and Silver Freedman, Taff & Tiernan LLP, counsel for the Company, and John C. Grosvenor, Executive Vice President and General Counsel of the Company, in form and substance satisfactory to counsel for the Agent, to the effect set forth in Exhibit A-1 and Exhibit

A-2, Exhibit B and Exhibit C hereto, respectively. Such counsel may also state that, insofar as such opinion involves factual matters, they have relied, to the extent they deem proper, upon certificates of officers of the Company and its subsidiaries and certificates of public officials.

(c) Opinion of Counsel for the Agent. On each date specified in Section 5(q), the Agent shall have received the opinion, dated as of such date, of Hogan Lovells US LLP, counsel for the Agent, with respect to the validity of the Shares, the Registration Statement, the Prospectus and other related matters as the Agent may reasonably require. In giving such opinion such counsel may rely, as to all matters governed by the laws of jurisdictions other than the law of the State of New York, the federal law of the United States and the General Corporation Law of the State of Maryland, upon the opinions of counsel satisfactory to the Agent. Such counsel may also state that, insofar as such opinion involves factual matters, they have relied, to the extent they deem proper, upon certificates of officers of the Company and its subsidiaries and certificates of public officials.

(d) Officers’ Certificates. On each Representation Date, there shall not have been, since the date hereof or since the respective dates as of which information is given in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package or the Prospectus, any material adverse change in the financial condition, earnings, or business affairs of the Company and its subsidiaries considered as one enterprise, whether or not arising in the ordinary course of business, and the Agent shall have received a certificate of the Chief Executive Officer, President or an Executive Vice President of the Company and of the chief financial officer or chief accounting officer of the Company, dated as of each Representation Date, to the effect that (i) there has been no such material adverse change, (ii) the representations and warranties in Section 1(a) hereof are true and correct with the same force and effect as though expressly made at and as of such Representation Date, (iii) the Company has complied with all agreements and satisfied all conditions on its part to be performed or satisfied at or prior to such Representation Date, and (iv) no stop order suspending the effectiveness of the Registration Statement or order preventing the use of any preliminary prospectus, the Statutory Prospectus or the Prospectus has been issued and no proceedings for that purpose have been instituted or are pending or, to their knowledge, contemplated by the Commission or other Governmental Entity.

(e) Accountant’s Comfort Letter. On each date specified in Section 5(r), the Agent shall have received from KPMG LLP a letter dated such date, in form and substance satisfactory to the Agent, containing statements and information of the type ordinarily included in accountants’ “comfort letters” to sales agents with respect to the financial statements and certain financial information of the Company contained in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure Package and the Prospectus.

(f) DTC. At each Delivery Date, the Shares shall be eligible for clearance, settlement and trading in book-entry-only form through the facilities of DTC.

(g) Listing. The Shares shall have been registered pursuant to Section 12(b) of the 1934 Act and the Company shall have applied to list the Shares on the NYSE or other securities exchange on which the Common Stock is then listed, and the Company shall have taken no action designed to, or likely to have the effect of, terminating the registration of the Shares under the 1934 Act or terminating the application to list the Shares on the NYSE or other

securities exchange on which the Common Stock is then listed, and the Company shall have not received any notification that the Commission or the NYSE or other securities exchange on which the Common Stock is then listed is contemplating terminating such registration or listing application, as applicable.

(h) Delivery of General Disclosure Package and Prospectus. The Company shall have furnished to the Agent the General Disclosure Package prior to the Applicable Time and the Prospectus on the New York business day next succeeding the date of this Agreement.

(i) Additional Documents. On each Representation Date, counsel for the Agent shall have been furnished with such documents, certificates and opinions as they may reasonably require for the purpose of enabling them to pass upon the issuance and sale of the Shares as herein contemplated, or in order to evidence the accuracy of any of the representations or warranties, or the fulfillment of any of the conditions, herein contained, and all proceedings taken by the Company in connection with the issuance and sale of the Shares as herein contemplated shall be satisfactory in form and substance to the Agent and counsel for the Agent.

(j) The Company shall have furnished or caused to be furnished to the Agent a Placement Notice or such other instructions provided pursuant to Section 2(b).

(k) The Company and the Agent hereby agree that the date of commencement of sales under this Agreement shall be the date the Company and the Agent mutually agree (which may be later than the date of this Agreement).

8. Indemnification.

(a) Indemnification of Agent. The Company agrees to indemnify and hold harmless the Agent, its partners, officers and directors, its affiliates, as such term is defined in Rule 405 under the 1933 Act (each, an “Affiliate”), its selling agents and each person, if any, who controls the Agent within the meaning of Section 15 of the 1933 Act or Section 20 of the 1934 Act as follows:

(i) against any and all loss, liability, claim, damage and expense whatsoever, as incurred, arising out of any untrue statement or alleged untrue statement of a material fact contained in the Registration Statement (or any amendment thereto), including the Rule 430B Information, if any, or the omission or alleged omission therefrom of a material fact required to be stated therein or necessary to make the statements therein not misleading or arising out of any untrue statement or alleged untrue statement of a material fact contained in any preliminary prospectus, the Statutory Prospectus, any Issuer-Represented Free Writing Prospectus, the General Disclosure Package, the Prospectus or any roadshow that does not constitute an Issuer-Represented Free Writing Prospectus (or any amendment or supplement thereto), or the omission or alleged omission therefrom of a material fact necessary in order to make the statements therein, in the light of the circumstances under which they were made, not misleading;

(ii) against any and all loss, liability, claim, damage and expense whatsoever, as incurred, to the extent of the aggregate amount paid in settlement of any litigation, or any investigation or proceeding by any Governmental Entity, commenced or

threatened, or of any claim whatsoever, in each case based upon any such untrue statement or omission, or any such alleged untrue statement or omission; provided that (subject to Section 8(d) below) any such settlement is effected with the written consent of the Company; and

(iii) against any and all expense whatsoever, as incurred (including the fees and disbursements of counsel chosen by the Agent), reasonably incurred in investigating, preparing or defending against any litigation, or any investigation or proceeding by any Governmental Entity, commenced or threatened, or any claim whatsoever, in each case based upon any such untrue statement or omission, or any such alleged untrue statement or omission, to the extent that any such expense is not paid under (i) or (ii) above;

provided, however, that this indemnity agreement shall not apply to any loss, liability, claim, damage or expense to the extent arising out of any untrue statement or omission or alleged untrue statement or omission made in the Registration Statement (or any amendment thereto), including the Rule 430B Information, if any, or any preliminary prospectus, the Statutory Prospectus, any Issuer-Represented Free Writing Prospectus, the General Disclosure Package or the Prospectus (or any amendment or supplement thereto) in reliance upon and in conformity with the Agent Information.

(b) Indemnification of Company, Directors and Officers. The Agent agrees to indemnify and hold harmless the Company, its directors, each of its officers who signed the Registration Statement, and each person, if any, who controls the Company within the meaning of Section 15 of the 1933 Act or Section 20 of the 1934 Act against any and all loss, liability, claim, damage and expense described in the indemnity contained in subsection (a) of this Section, as incurred, but only with respect to untrue statements or omissions, or alleged untrue statements or omissions, made in the Registration Statement (or any amendment thereto), including the Rule 430B Information, if any, or in any preliminary prospectus, the Statutory Prospectus, any Issuer-Represented Free Writing Prospectus, the General Disclosure Package or the Prospectus (or any amendment or supplement thereto) in reliance upon and in conformity with the Agent Information.

(c) Actions against Parties; Notification. Each indemnified party shall give notice as promptly as reasonably practicable to each indemnifying party of any action commenced against it in respect of which indemnity may be sought hereunder, but failure to so notify an indemnifying party shall not relieve such indemnifying party from any liability hereunder to the extent it is not materially prejudiced as a result thereof and in any event shall not relieve it from any liability which it may have otherwise than on account of this indemnity agreement. In the case of parties indemnified pursuant to Section 8(a) above, counsel to the indemnified parties shall be selected by the Agent, and, in the case of parties indemnified pursuant to Section 8(b) above, counsel to the indemnified parties shall be selected by the Company. An indemnifying party may participate at its own expense in the defense of any such action; provided, however, that counsel to the indemnifying party shall not (except with the consent of the indemnified party) also be counsel to the indemnified party. In no event shall the indemnifying parties be liable for fees and expenses of more than one counsel (in addition to any local counsel) separate from their own counsel for all indemnified parties in connection with any one action or separate but similar or related actions in the same jurisdiction arising out of the

same general allegations or circumstances. No indemnifying party shall, without the prior written consent of the indemnified parties, settle or compromise or consent to the entry of any judgment with respect to any litigation, or any investigation or proceeding by any Governmental Entity, commenced or threatened, or any claim whatsoever in respect of which indemnification or contribution could be sought under this Section 8 or Section 9 hereof (whether or not the indemnified parties are actual or potential parties thereto), unless such settlement, compromise or consent (i) includes an unconditional release of each indemnified party from all liability arising out of such litigation, investigation, proceeding or claim and (ii) does not include a statement as to or an admission of fault, culpability or a failure to act by or on behalf of any indemnified party.

(d) Settlement without Consent if Failure to Reimburse. If at any time an indemnified party shall have requested an indemnifying party to reimburse the indemnified party for fees and expenses of counsel, such indemnifying party agrees that it shall be liable for any settlement of the nature contemplated by Section 8(a)(ii) effected without its written consent if (i) such settlement is entered into more than 45 days after receipt by such indemnifying party of the aforesaid request, (ii) such indemnifying party shall have received notice of the terms of such settlement at least 30 days prior to such settlement being entered into and (iii) such indemnifying party shall not have reimbursed such indemnified party in accordance with such request prior to the date of such settlement.

9. Contribution. If the indemnification provided for in Section 8 hereof is for any reason unavailable to or insufficient to hold harmless an indemnified party in respect of any losses, liabilities, claims, damages or expenses referred to therein, then each indemnifying party shall contribute to the aggregate amount of such losses, liabilities, claims, damages and expenses incurred by such indemnified party, as incurred, (i) in such proportion as is appropriate to reflect the relative benefits received by the Company, on the one hand, and the Agent, on the other hand, from the offering of the Shares pursuant to this Agreement or (ii) if the allocation provided by clause (i) is not permitted by applicable law, in such proportion as is appropriate to reflect not only the relative benefits referred to in clause (i) above but also the relative fault of the Company, on the one hand, and the Agent, on the other hand, in connection with the statements or omissions which resulted in such losses, liabilities, claims, damages or expenses, as well as any other relevant equitable considerations.

The relative benefits received by the Company, on the one hand, and the Agent, on the other hand, in connection with the offering of the Shares pursuant to this Agreement shall be deemed to be in the same respective proportions as the total net proceeds from the offering of the Shares pursuant to this Agreement (before deducting expenses) received by the Company and the total commissions received by the Agent, in each case as set forth on the cover of the Prospectus, bear to the aggregate initial public offering price of the Shares as set forth on the cover of the Prospectus.

The relative fault of the Company, on the one hand, and the Agent, on the other hand, shall be determined by reference to, among other things, whether any such untrue or alleged untrue statement of a material fact or omission or alleged omission to state a material fact relates to information supplied by the Company or by the Agent and the parties’ relative intent,

knowledge, access to information and opportunity to correct or prevent such statement or omission.

The Company and the Agent agree that it would not be just and equitable if contribution pursuant to this Section 9 were determined by pro rata allocation or by any other method of allocation which does not take account of the equitable considerations referred to above in this Section 9. The aggregate amount of losses, liabilities, claims, damages and expenses incurred by an indemnified party and referred to above in this Section 9 shall be deemed to include any legal or other expenses reasonably incurred by such indemnified party in investigating, preparing or defending against any litigation, or any investigation or proceeding by any Governmental Entity, commenced or threatened, or any claim whatsoever based upon any such untrue or alleged untrue statement or omission or alleged omission.

Notwithstanding the provisions of this Section 9, the Agent shall not be required to contribute any amount in excess of the amount by which the total price at which the Shares were offered to investors exceeds the amount of any damages which the Agent has otherwise been required to pay by reason of any such untrue or alleged untrue statement or omission or alleged omission.

No person guilty of fraudulent misrepresentation (within the meaning of Section 11(f) of the 1933 Act) shall be entitled to contribution from any person who was not guilty of such fraudulent misrepresentation.

For purposes of this Section 9, each person, if any, who controls the Agent within the meaning of Section 15 of the 1933 Act or Section 20 of the 1934 Act and the Agent’s partners, directors, officers, Affiliates and selling agents shall have the same rights to contribution as the Agent, and each director of the Company, each officer of the Company who signed the Registration Statement, and each person, if any, who controls the Company within the meaning of Section 15 of the 1933 Act or Section 20 of the 1934 Act shall have the same rights to contribution as the Company. The remedies provided for in Sections 8 and 9 are not exclusive and shall not limit any rights or remedies with may otherwise be available to any indemnified party at law or in equity.

10. Representations, Warranties and Agreements to Survive. All indemnities, rights of contribution, representations, warranties and other agreements contained in this Agreement or in certificates of officers of the Company or any of its subsidiaries submitted pursuant hereto shall remain operative and in full force and effect regardless of (a) any investigation made by or on behalf of the Agent, its Affiliates or agents or any person controlling the Agent or by or on behalf of the Company, its officers or directors or any person controlling the Company, and (b) delivery of and payment for the Shares.

11. Termination of Agreement.

(a) Termination; General. The Company may terminate this Agreement upon five days’ notice to the Agent, at any time in its sole discretion. The Agent may terminate this Agreement, by notice to the Company, at any time, (i) if there has been, since the respective dates as of which information is given in the Registration Statement, the General Disclosure

Package or the Prospectus, any material adverse change in the financial condition, earnings, or business affairs of the Company and its subsidiaries considered as one enterprise, whether or not arising in the ordinary course of business; (ii) if there has occurred any material adverse change in the financial markets in the United States or the international financial markets, any outbreak of hostilities or escalation thereof or other calamity or crisis or any change or development involving a prospective change in national or international political, financial or economic conditions, in each case the effect of which is such as to make it, in the judgment of the Agent, impracticable or inadvisable to market the Shares or to enforce contracts for the sale of the Shares; (iii) if trading in any securities of the Company has been suspended or materially limited by the Commission or the NYSE or any other securities exchange on which the Common Stock is then listed, or if trading generally on the NYSE or in the NASDAQ Stock Market has been suspended or materially limited, or minimum or maximum prices for trading have been fixed, or maximum ranges for prices have been required, by any of said exchanges or by such system or by order of the Commission, the Financial Industry Regulatory Authority, Inc. or any other Governmental Entity; (iv) a material disruption has occurred in commercial banking or securities or clearance, settlement or trading services in the United States; or (v) if a banking moratorium has been declared by Federal, New York, Maryland or California authorities. With respect to any pending sale of Shares through the Agent, the obligations of the Company, including in respect of compensation of the Agent, shall remain in full force and effect notwithstanding any such termination.

(b) Liabilities. If this Agreement is terminated pursuant to this Section, such termination shall be without liability of any party to any other party except as provided in Section 6 hereof, and provided further that Sections 1, 8, 9, 10, 12, 13 14, 15, 16 and 19 shall survive such termination and remain in full force and effect.

12. Notices. All statements, requests, notices and agreements hereunder shall be in writing and shall be deemed to have been duly given if mailed or transmitted by any standard form of telecommunication. Notices to the Agent shall be directed to 1251 Avenue of the Americas, 6th Floor, New York, New York 10020, Attention: General Counsel and with a copy, which shall not constitute notice, to Hogan Lovells US LLP, 555 Thirteenth Street, N.W., Washington, D.C. 20004, attention of Daniel Keating, Esq.; and notices to the Company shall be directed to it at its principal executive offices located at 18500 Von Karman Avenue, Suite 1100, Irvine, California 92612, attention of Chief Executive Officer, with a copy, which shall not constitute notice, to Wachtell, Lipton, Rosen & Katz, 51 West 52nd Street, New York, New York 10019-6150, attention of Matthew M. Guest, Esq.

In accordance with the requirements of the USA Patriot Act (Title III of Pub. L. 107-56 (signed into law October 26, 2001)), the Agent is required to obtain, verify and record information that identifies its clients, including the Company, which information may include the name and address of its clients, as well as other information that will allow the Agent to properly identify its clients.

13. Parties. This Agreement shall each inure to the benefit of and be binding upon the Agent and the Company and their respective successors. Nothing expressed or mentioned in this Agreement is intended or shall be construed to give any person, firm or corporation, other than the Agent and the Company and their respective successors and the Affiliates, agents, partners,

officers and directors and controlling persons referred to in Sections 8 and 9 and their heirs and legal representatives, any legal or equitable right, remedy or claim under or in respect of this Agreement or any provision herein contained. This Agreement and all conditions and provisions hereof are intended to be for the sole and exclusive benefit of the Agent and the Company and their respective successors, and said controlling persons and partners, officers and directors and their heirs and legal representatives, and for the benefit of no other person, firm or corporation. No purchaser of Shares from the Agent shall be deemed to be a successor by reason merely of such purchase.

14. No Fiduciaries. The Company acknowledges and agrees that (a) the purchase and sale of the Shares pursuant to this Agreement, including the price paid by the Agent to the Company for the Shares, is an arm’s length commercial transaction between the Company, on the one hand, and the Agent, on the other hand, (b) in connection with the offering contemplated hereby and the process leading to such transaction, the Agent is and has been acting solely as a principal and is not the agent or fiduciary of the Company, any of the Company’s subsidiaries, any stockholders, creditors or employees of the Company or any of its subsidiaries or any other third party, (c) the Agent has not assumed or will not assume an advisory or fiduciary responsibility in favor of the Company or any of its subsidiaries with respect to the offering contemplated hereby or the process leading thereto (irrespective of whether the Agent has advised or is currently advising the Company or any of its subsidiaries on other matters), and the Agent does not have any obligation to the Company or any of its subsidiaries with respect to the offering contemplated hereby except the obligations expressly set forth in this Agreement, (d) the Agent and its affiliates may be engaged in a broad range of transactions that involve interests that differ from those of the Company and its subsidiaries and (e) the Agent has not provided any legal, accounting, regulatory or tax advice with respect to the offering contemplated hereby and the Company has consulted its own legal, accounting, regulatory and tax advisors to the extent it deemed appropriate.

15. GOVERNING LAW. THIS AGREEMENT AND ANY CLAIM, CONTROVERSY OR DISPUTE ARISING UNDER OR RELATED TO THIS AGREEMENT SHALL BE GOVERNED BY AND CONSTRUED IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE LAWS OF THE STATE OF NEW YORK.

16. Jurisdiction; Waiver of Jury Trial; Venue. The Company and the Agent hereby expressly and irrevocably (a) submits to the non-exclusive jurisdiction of the federal and state courts sitting in the Borough of Manhattan in the City of New York in any suit or proceeding arising out of or relating to this Agreement or the transactions contemplated hereby, and (b) waives (i) its right to a trial by jury in any legal action or proceeding relating to this Agreement, the transactions contemplated hereby or any course of conduct, course of dealing, statements (whether verbal or written) or actions of the Agent and for any counterclaim related to any of the foregoing and (ii) any objection which it may have or hereafter may have to the laying of venue of any such litigation brought in any such court referred to above and any claim that any such litigation has been brought in an inconvenient forum.

17. TIME. TIME SHALL BE OF THE ESSENCE OF THIS AGREEMENT. EXCEPT AS OTHERWISE SET FORTH HEREIN, SPECIFIED TIMES OF DAY REFER TO NEW YORK CITY TIME.

18. Counterparts. This Agreement may be executed in any number of counterparts, each of which shall be deemed to be an original, but all such counterparts shall together constitute one and the same Agreement.

19. Effect of Headings. The Section headings herein are for convenience only and shall not affect the construction hereof. If the foregoing is in accordance with your understanding of our agreement, please sign and return to the Company a counterpart hereof, whereupon this instrument, along with all counterparts, will become a valid and legally binding agreement between the Agent and the Company in accordance with its terms.

[Signature Page Follows]

If the foregoing is in accordance with your understanding, please sign and return to us four counterparts hereof, and upon the acceptance hereof by you, this letter and such acceptance hereof shall constitute a valid and legally binding agreement between the Agent and the Company.

Very truly yours,

BANC OF CALIFORNIA, INC.

By:	/s/ Steven A. Sugarman

Name:	Steven A. Sugarman

Title:	Chief Executive Officer

Accepted as of the date hereof:

SANDLER O’NEILL & PARTNERS, L.P.

By:	Sandler O’Neill & Partners Corp., the sole general partner

By:	/s/ Robert A. Kleinert

Name:	Robert A. Kleinert

Title:	An Officer of the Corporation

SCHEDULE II

Issuer-Represented General Use Free Writing Prospectus

None.

S-II