Exhibit 99.1

CPSI Announces Second Quarter 2014 Results

Company Announces Regular Quarterly Cash Dividend of $0.57 Per Share

MOBILE, Ala.--(BUSINESS WIRE)--July 31, 2014--Computer Programs and Systems, Inc. (NASDAQ: CPSI):

Highlights:

  Revenues of $53.1 million;
  12-month backlog of $170.6 million;
  Earnings per diluted share of $0.81;
  Cash provided by operations of $1.3 million; and
  Quarterly dividend of $0.57 per share.

Computer Programs and Systems, Inc. (NASDAQ: CPSI), a leading provider of healthcare information solutions, today announced results for the second quarter and six months ended June 30, 2014.

The Company also announced that its Board of Directors has declared a regular quarterly cash dividend of $0.57 (fifty-seven cents) per share, payable on August 29, 2014, to stockholders of record as of the close of business on August 14, 2014.

Total revenues for the second quarter ended June 30, 2014, were $53.1 million, compared with total revenues of $53.3 million for the prior-year second quarter. Net income for the quarter ended June 30, 2014, increased 7.3% to $9.1 million, or $0.81 per diluted share, compared with $8.5 million, or $0.77 per diluted share, for the quarter ended June 30, 2013. Cash provided by operations remained unchanged from the prior year second quarter at $1.3 million. Cash collections for the second quarter ended June 30, 2014, were $51.5 million, compared with cash collections of $46.1 million for the prior-year second quarter.

Total revenues for the six months ended June 30, 2014, were $105.1 million, compared with total revenues of $102.8 million for the prior-year period. Net income for the six months ended June 30, 2014, increased 9.0% to $16.8 million, or $1.50 per diluted share, compared with $15.4 million, or $1.39 per diluted share, for the six months ended June 30, 2013. Cash provided by operations for the first half of 2014 was $14.5 million, compared with $6.8 million for the prior-year period. Cash collections for the first half of 2014 were $101.5 million, compared with cash collections of $89.2 million for the prior-year period.

CPSI’s 12-month backlog as of June 30, 2014, was $170.6 million, consisting of $49.7 million in non-recurring system purchases and $120.9 million in recurring payments for support, Business Management Services and SAAS contracts. The backlog total excludes amounts related to systems installed during 2012 under contracts for which a portion of the consideration was to be received and revenue recognized in subsequent periods upon hospitals successfully achieving meaningful use designation. Although the related system installations were substantially completed during 2012 and no additional such contracts have been offered since 2012, the total remaining accumulated unrecognized revenue related to such contracts as of June 30, 2014, was approximately $1.6 million.

CPSI will hold a live webcast to discuss second quarter 2014 results on August 1, 2014, at 9:00 a.m. Eastern time. A 30-day online replay will be available approximately one hour following the conclusion of the live webcast. To listen to the live webcast or access the replay, visit the Company’s website, www.cpsi.com.

About Computer Programs and Systems, Inc.

CPSI is a leading provider of electronic health records systems for more than 650 community, rural and critical access hospitals and their 12,000 providers. Founded in 1979, the Company is dedicated to meeting the ever-changing needs of health IT, while optimizing the quality of care for communities in 46 states and the District of Columbia. CPSI provides a complete information and patient care system from business office to bedside combined with comprehensive implementation, training and ongoing support from our staff of approximately 1,400 healthcare and business professionals. CPSI’s wholly owned subsidiary, TruBridge, LLC, focuses exclusively on providing business office, consulting and managed IT services to rural and community healthcare organizations, regardless of their IT vendor. To join the conversation with CPSI, connect with us on Facebook, Twitter (@cpsiehr) and on the CPSI blog. For more information, visit www.cpsi.com or www.trubridge.net.

This press release contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the “safe harbor” provisions of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements can be identified generally by the use of forward-looking terminology and words such as “expects,” “anticipates,” “estimates,” “believes,” “predicts,” “intends,” “plans,” “potential,” “may,” “continue,” “should,” “will” and words of comparable meaning. Without limiting the generality of the preceding statement, all statements in this press release relating to estimated and projected earnings, margins, costs, expenditures, cash flows, growth rates and future financial results are forward-looking statements. We caution investors that any such forward-looking statements are only predictions and are not guarantees of future performance. Certain risks, uncertainties and other factors may cause actual results to differ materially from those projected in the forward-looking statements. Such factors may include: overall business and economic conditions affecting the healthcare industry; government regulation of the healthcare and health insurance industries; government regulation of our products and customers, including changes in healthcare policy affecting Medicare and Medicaid reimbursement rates and qualifying technological standards; the potential effects of the federal healthcare reform legislation enacted in 2010, and implementing regulations, on the businesses of our hospital customers; the funding uncertainties associated with and potential expenditures required by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009 in connection with the adoption of electronic health records; saturation of our target market and hospital consolidations; changes in customer purchasing priorities, capital expenditures and demand for information technology systems; competition with companies that have greater financial, technical and marketing resources than we have; failure to develop new technology and products in response to market demands; fluctuations in quarterly financial performance due to, among other factors, timing of customer installations; failure of our products to function properly resulting in claims for medical losses; changes in accounting principles generally accepted in the United States; breaches of security and viruses in our systems resulting in customer claims against us and harm to our reputation; potential intellectual property claims against us; general economic conditions, including changes in the financial and credit markets that may affect the availability and cost of credit to us or our customers; interruptions in our power supply and/or telecommunications capabilities and other risk factors described from time to time in our public releases and reports filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission, including, but not limited to, our most recent Annual Report on Form 10-K. We also caution investors that the forward-looking information described herein represents our outlook only as of this date, and we undertake no obligation to update or revise any forward-looking statements to reflect events or developments after the date of this press release.

COMPUTER PROGRAMS AND SYSTEMS, INC.
Unaudited Condensed Consolidated Statements of Income
(in thousands, except per share data)

	Three Months Ended June 30,		Six Months Ended June 30,
	2014	2013	2014	2013
Sales revenues:
System sales	$20,663	$22,377	$41,117	$43,099
Support and maintenance	18,454	17,738	36,699	35,415
Business management, consulting and managed IT services	13,936	13,146	27,332	24,296
Total sales revenues	53,053	53,261	105,148	102,810

Cost of sales:
System sales	11,293	13,084	22,486	26,334
Support and maintenance	7,127	7,160	14,501	14,413
Business management, consulting and managed IT services	9,455	7,541	18,547	14,467
Total cost of sales	27,875	27,785	55,534	55,214
Gross profit	25,178	25,476	49,614	47,596

Operating expenses:
Sales and marketing	3,634	4,135	7,598	7,711
General and administrative	7,475	8,193	15,960	16,628
Total operating expenses	11,109	12,328	23,558	24,339

Operating income	14,069	13,148	26,056	23,257
Other income	67	137	26	273
Income before taxes	14,136	13,285	26,082	23,530
Provision for income taxes	5,030	4,799	9,261	8,101
Net income	9,106	8,486	16,821	15,429
Less: Net income attributable to participating securities (unvested restricted stock)	(144)	(60)	(253)	(120)
Net income attributable to common stockholders	$8,962	$8,426	$16,568	$15,309

Basic and diluted earnings per share	$0.81	$0.77	$1.50	$1.39

Weighted average shares outstanding used in basic per common share computations	11,022	11,001	11,014	10,992
Add: Dilutive potential common shares	––	––	––	––
Weighted average shares outstanding used in diluted per common share computations	11,022	11,001	11,014	10,992

COMPUTER PROGRAMS AND SYSTEMS, INC.
Condensed Consolidated Balance Sheets
(in thousands, except per share data)

	June 30, 2014	Dec. 31, 2013
	(Unaudited)
ASSETS
Current assets:
Cash and cash equivalents	$13,294	$11,729
Investments	10,715	10,703
Accounts receivable, net of allowance for doubtful accounts of $1,425 and $1,125, respectively	24,869	20,076
Financing receivables, current portion, net	23,979	25,387
Inventories	1,410	1,589
Deferred tax assets	2,688	2,366
Prepaid expenses and other	1,811	901
Total current assets	78,766	72,751

Financing receivables, net of current portion	413	551
Property and equipment, net	17,623	19,232
Total assets	$96,802	$92,534

LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS’ EQUITY
Current liabilities:
Accounts payable	$3,012	$3,214
Deferred revenue	8,934	9,581
Accrued vacation	4,093	3,695
Income taxes payable	415	797
Other accrued liabilities	3,987	4,164
Total current liabilities	20,441	21,451

Deferred tax liabilities	1,349	2,001

Stockholders’ equity:
Common stock, par value $0.001 per share, 30,000 shares authorized, 11,209 and 11,159 shares issued and outstanding	11	11
Additional paid-in capital	36,480	34,644
Accumulated other comprehensive income	36	11
Retained earnings	38,485	34,416
Total stockholders’ equity	75,012	69,082
Total liabilities and stockholders’ equity	$96,802	$92,534

COMPUTER PROGRAMS AND SYSTEMS, INC.
Unaudited Other Supplemental Information
(In thousands)

The following table summarizes cash flow and free cash flow for the Company:

	Three Months Ended June 30,		Six Months Ended June 30,
	2014	2013	2014	2013
Cash Flow Information
Net cash provided by operating activities	$1,316	$1,254	$14,473	$6,776
Net cash used in investing activities	(229)	(783)	(235)	(2,781)
Net cash used in financing activities	(6,342)	(5,692)	(12,673)	(11,324)

Free Cash Flow
Net cash provided by operating activities	$1,316	$1,254	$14,473	$6,776
Less: Purchases of capital assets	(177)	(759)	(256)	(2,747)
Free cash flow	$1,139	$495	$14,217	$4,029

Free cash flow is a non-GAAP financial measure which CPSI defines as net cash provided by operating activities less purchases of capital assets. The most directly comparable GAAP financial measure is net cash provided by operating activities. The Company believes free cash flow is a useful measure of performance and uses this measure as an indication of the financial resources of the Company and its ability to generate cash.

CONTACT:
Computer Programs and Systems, Inc.
Boyd Douglas, 251-639-8100
President and Chief Executive Officer