Exhibit 99.1

Syniverse Stockholders Approve Merger Agreement with The Carlyle Group

TAMPA, Fla. – Jan. 12, 2011 – Syniverse Holdings, Inc. (NYSE:SVR), a leading provider of technology and business solutions for the global telecommunications industry, today announced that its stockholders have voted to approve the proposed merger with an affiliate of The Carlyle Group, a global alternative asset manager, at a special meeting of stockholders held today. Under terms of the merger agreement announced October 28, 2010, investment funds affiliated with Carlyle will acquire all of the outstanding common shares of Syniverse for $31.00 per share in cash. The transaction is subject to certain remaining customary closing conditions and is expected to close this week.

Approximately 99.9% of the shares voting at today’s special meeting of stockholders voted in favor of the adoption of the merger, which represented approximately 70.4% of Syniverse’s total outstanding shares of common stock as of the December 10, 2010 record date voting in favor. A quorum of 70.4% of Syniverse’s total outstanding shares of common stock as of the December 10, 2010 record date voted at the meeting.

About Syniverse

Syniverse Technologies (NYSE:SVR) makes mobile work for more than 800 mobile operators, cable and Internet providers, and enterprises in over 160 countries. With unmatched expertise and more than 20 years simplifying the complexities of roaming, messaging and networking, Syniverse serves as the force at the center of the mobile communications universe, keeping people connected today and forging new connections for tomorrow. Nobody knows mobile like Syniverse. For more information, visit www.syniverse.com, follow Syniverse on Twitter or find Syniverse on Facebook.

Forward-Looking Statements

We have made forward-looking statements within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended, and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended (the “Exchange Act”), in this report. The words “believes,” “anticipates,” “plans,” “expects,” “intends,” “estimates,” “seeks,” “may” and similar expressions are intended to identify forward-looking statements. These forward-looking statements involve known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors that could cause our actual results, performance and achievements, to differ materially from any future results, performance or achievements expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements. Certain factors that could cause actual events not to occur as expressed in the forward-looking statement include among others: the occurrence of any event, change or other circumstances that could give rise to the termination of the merger agreement; the outcome of any legal proceedings that have been, or will be, instituted against the Company related to the merger agreement; the inability to complete the merger due to the failure to satisfy other conditions to completion of the merger, including the receipt of all regulatory approvals related to the merger; the failure to obtain the necessary financing arrangements set forth in the debt and equity commitment letters

delivered pursuant to the merger agreement; risks that the proposed transaction disrupts current plans and operations and the potential difficulties in employee retention as a result of the merger; the impact of the substantial indebtedness to be incurred to finance the consummation of the merger; the effects of local and national economic, credit and capital market conditions on the economy in general, and other risks and uncertainties described herein, as well as those risks and uncertainties discussed from time to time in our other reports and other public filings with the Securities and Exchange Commission (the “SEC”).

Although we presently believe that the plans, expectations and results expressed in or suggested by the forward-looking statements are reasonable, all forward-looking statements are inherently subjective, uncertain and subject to change, as they involve substantial risks and uncertainties beyond our control. New factors emerge from time to time, and it is not possible for us to predict the nature, or assess the potential impact, of each new factor on our business. Given these uncertainties, we caution you not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements. We undertake no obligation to update or revise any of our forward-looking statements for events or circumstances that arise after the statement is made, except as otherwise may be required by law. This list of risks and uncertainties, however, is only a summary of some of the most important factors and is not intended to be exhaustive. Additional information regarding risk factors that may affect us is included under the caption “Risk Factors” in our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2009 and subsequently filed quarterly reports on Form 10-Q.

For more information:

Jim Huseby

Syniverse Investor Relations

+1 813.637.5000

Bobby Eagle

Syniverse Public Relations

+1 813.637.5050

bobby.eagle@syniverse.com