EXHIBIT 99.1
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                               PURCHASE AGREEMENT

                                      among

                        PHILADELPHIA SUBURBAN CORPORATION

                                       and

                           BIRMINGHAM UTILITIES, INC.

                                       and

                          BIRMINGHAM H2O SERVICES INC.



                            Dated as of May 19, 2003











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                                TABLE OF CONTENTS

ARTICLE I     PURCHASE AND SALE OF SHARES AND INTEGRATED ASSETS...............2
     Section 1.1    Sale and Transfer of Shares and Integrated Assets.........2
     Section 1.2    The Purchase Price........................................3
     Section 1.3    Purchase Price Adjustment.................................3

ARTICLE II    THE CLOSING.....................................................5
     Section 2.1    Closing...................................................5
     Section 2.2    Closing Transactions......................................5

ARTICLE III   REPRESENTATIONS AND WARRANTIES OF THE SELLER....................6
     Section 3.1    Organization and Qualification............................6
     Section 3.2    Subsidiaries..............................................8
     Section 3.3    Ownership and Possession of Shares; Capitalization;
                    Ownership and Possession of Integrated Assets.............8
     Section 3.4    Authority; Non-Contravention; Statutory Approvals;
                    Compliance................................................9
     Section 3.5    Financial Statements......................................11
     Section 3.6    Absence of Certain Changes or Events......................12
     Section 3.7    Litigation................................................12
     Section 3.8    Tax Matters...............................................12
     Section 3.9    Employee Benefits; ERISA..................................13
     Section 3.10   Labor and Employee Relations..............................15
     Section 3.11   Environmental Matters.....................................15
     Section 3.12   No Breaches or Defaults...................................18
     Section 3.13   Insurance.................................................19
     Section 3.14   Brokers or Finders........................................19
     Section 3.15   Intellectual Property.....................................19
     Section 3.16   Change in Business Relationships..........................20
     Section 3.17   Title to Property; Tangible Assets........................20
     Section 3.18   Other Obligations.........................................20
     Section 3.19   Water Quality.............................................21
     Section 3.20   Limitation on Representations and Warranties..............21

ARTICLE IV    INDEMNIFICATION.................................................21
     Section 4.1    Indemnification Obligations...............................21
     Section 4.2    Certain Definitions.......................................21
     Section 4.3    Limitations on Indemnification............................23
     Section 4.4    Defense of Claims.........................................25
     Section 4.5    Tax Indemnity.............................................27
     Section 4.6    Certain Indemnification in Respect of Environmental Law...29

ARTICLE V     REPRESENTATIONS AND WARRANTIES OF THE BUYER.....................31
     Section 5.1    Organization and Qualification............................31
     Section 5.2    Authority; Non-Contravention; Statutory Approvals;
                    Compliance................................................31
     Section 5.3    Litigation................................................33
     Section 5.4    Investigation by the Buyer; the Seller's Liability........33
     Section 5.5    Acquisition of Shares; Ability to Evaluate and Bear Risk..34
     Section 5.6    Financing.................................................34

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     Section 5.7    Brokers or Finders........................................34

ARTICLE VI    CONDUCT OF BUSINESS PENDING THE CLOSING.........................34
     Section 6.1    Covenants of the Seller...................................34
     Section 6.2    Covenants of the Buyer....................................37

ARTICLE VII   ADDITIONAL AGREEMENTS...........................................38
     Section 7.1    Access to Company Information and Cooperation.............38
     Section 7.2    Regulatory Approvals......................................39
     Section 7.3    Consents..................................................39
     Section 7.4    Directors' and Officers' Indemnification..................39
     Section 7.5    Public Announcements......................................40
     Section 7.6    Workforce Matters.........................................40
     Section 7.7    Employee Benefit Plans....................................41
     Section 7.8    Tax Treatment.............................................42
     Section 7.9    Allocation of Consideration...............................42
     Section 7.10   Tax Returns...............................................43
     Section 7.11   Transfer Taxes............................................43
     Section 7.12   Financial Information.....................................44
     Section 7.13   Transition Services.......................................44
     Section 7.14   Update of the Seller Disclosure Schedule..................44
     Section 7.15   Governmental Taking.......................................45
     Section 7.16   General and Automobile Liability Insurance................45
     Section 7.17   Further Assurances........................................46
     Section 7.18   Exclusivity...............................................46
     Section 7.19   Surety Bonds..............................................46

ARTICLE VIII  CONDITIONS......................................................46
     Section 8.1    Conditions to Each Party's Obligation to Effect the
                    Closing...................................................46
     Section 8.2    Conditions to Obligation of the Buyer to Effect the
                    Closing...................................................47
     Section 8.3    Conditions to Obligation of the Seller to Effect the
                    Closing...................................................48

ARTICLE IX    TERMINATION.....................................................49
     Section 9.1    Termination...............................................49
     Section 9.2    Effect of Termination.....................................50

ARTICLE X     GENERAL PROVISIONS..............................................50
     Section 10.1   Survival of Obligations...................................50
     Section 10.2   Amendment and Modification................................50
     Section 10.3   Extension; Waiver.........................................50
     Section 10.4   Expenses..................................................51
     Section 10.5   Notices...................................................51
     Section 10.6   Entire Agreement; No Third Party Beneficiaries............52
     Section 10.7   Severability..............................................53
     Section 10.8   Governing Law.............................................53
     Section 10.9   Venue.....................................................53
     Section 10.10  Waiver of Jury Trial and Certain Damages..................53
     Section 10.11  Assignment................................................53
     Section 10.12  Interpretation............................................54
     Section 10.13  No Specific Enforcement...................................54
     Section 10.14  Counterparts; Effect......................................54

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          INDEX OF PRINCIPAL TERMS

Term                                                                        Page

Adjustment Schedule...........................................................42
Affected Employees............................................................40
Affiliate.....................................................................13
Agreement......................................................................1
Allocation Dispute Notice.....................................................42
AquaSource Purchase Agreement..................................................9
Assignment Agreement...........................................................2
Assignment and Assumption Agreement............................................5
Audit.........................................................................29
Bill of Sale...................................................................5
Birmingham.....................................................................1
Birmingham SEC Reports........................................................33
Budget........................................................................35
Business Employees............................................................13
Buyer..........................................................................1
Buyer Disclosure Schedule.....................................................31
Buyer Indemnifiable Loss......................................................21
Buyer Indemnitee..............................................................21
Buyer Material Adverse Effect.................................................31
Buyer Required Consents.......................................................32
Buyer Required Statutory Approvals............................................32
Buyer Transition Services.....................................................44
Cambridge......................................................................1
Cambridge Shares...............................................................1
CERCLA........................................................................17
CERCLIS.......................................................................17
Closing........................................................................5
Closing Date...................................................................5
CN Regulated Assets............................................................2
CN Unregulated Assets..........................................................2
CN Unregulated Assets Purchase Price...........................................3
COBRA.........................................................................41
Code..........................................................................13
Company........................................................................7
Company Financial Statements..................................................11
Company Indemnified Parties...................................................39
Company Indemnified Party.....................................................39
Company Material Adverse Effect................................................7
Company Plans.................................................................13
Condemnation Proceeding.......................................................45
Confidentiality Agreements....................................................38
Connecticut Operations.........................................................2

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Term                                                                        Page

Connecticut Operations Purchase Price..........................................3
Contracts.....................................................................19
Control.......................................................................14
December 31, 2001 Balance Sheets..............................................11
Direct Claim..................................................................27
Dykeer.........................................................................1
Dykeer Shares..................................................................1
ECRWC..........................................................................1
ECRWC Shares...................................................................1
Encumbrances...................................................................5
Environmental Laws............................................................17
Environmental Whitepaper......................................................15
ERISA.........................................................................13
ERISA Affiliate...............................................................13
Estimated Purchase Price Adjustment............................................4
Excepted Liabilities..........................................................22
Exchange Act..................................................................11
Final Order...................................................................47
Final Purchase Price Closing Statement.........................................4
First Party Environmental Claim...............................................30
GAAP..........................................................................11
Governmental Authority........................................................10
H2O............................................................................1
Hazardous Substances..........................................................18
Indemnifiable Loss............................................................22
Indemnified Liabilities.......................................................22
Indemnity Basket..............................................................23
Indemnity Cap.................................................................23
Indemnity Period..............................................................21
Initial Termination Date......................................................49
Integrated Assets..............................................................2
Integrated Liabilities.........................................................2
Intellectual Property Rights..................................................19
June 30, 2002 Balance Sheets..................................................11
Kingsvale......................................................................1
Kingsvale Shares...............................................................1
knowledge......................................................................7
New York Operations............................................................2
New York Operations Purchase Price.............................................3
NPL...........................................................................17
Operations.....................................................................1
Parties........................................................................1
Party..........................................................................1
Permitted Encumbrances.........................................................5

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Term                                                                        Page

Person.........................................................................7
Pre-Closing Environmental Liability...........................................30
Pre-Closing Violation or Contamination........................................29
Pre-Existing Actions..........................................................30
Pre-Existing Release..........................................................30
Pre-Existing Violation........................................................30
Properties....................................................................30
PSC............................................................................1
PSC SEC Reports...............................................................11
Purchase Price.................................................................3
Purchase Price Deficiency......................................................5
Purchase Price Excess..........................................................5
Rate Base......................................................................4
Rate Base Adjustment...........................................................4
Release.......................................................................18
Representatives...............................................................33
SEC...........................................................................11
Section 7.7(b) Agreement......................................................42
Securities Act.................................................................5
Seller......................................................................1, 7
Seller Disclosure Schedule.....................................................6
Seller Indemnifiable Loss.....................................................21
Seller Indemnitee.............................................................21
Seller Required Consents......................................................10
Seller Required Statutory Approvals...........................................10
Seller Transition Services....................................................44
Shares.........................................................................2
Straddle Period...............................................................28
Subsidiary.....................................................................8
Tax...........................................................................13
Tax Claim.....................................................................28
Tax Return....................................................................13
Third Party Claim.............................................................25
Utility........................................................................1
Violation.....................................................................10
Waccabuc.......................................................................1
Waccabuc Shares................................................................1
WARN Act......................................................................40
Wild Oaks......................................................................1
Wild Oaks Shares...............................................................1
Working Capital Adjustment.....................................................3



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                               PURCHASE AGREEMENT


     This Purchase Agreement, dated as of May 19, 2003 (this "Agreement"), is entered into among Philadelphia Suburban Corporation, a Pennsylvania corporation ("PSC" or "Seller"), Birmingham Utilities, Inc., a Connecticut corporation ("Birmingham"), and Birmingham H2O Services Inc., a Connecticut corporation ("H2O") (Birmingham and H2O are collectively referred to as the "Buyer") (Seller, Birmingham and H2O are each a "Party", and collectively, the "Parties").

     WHEREAS, the Seller shall own, directly or indirectly, effective as of the Closing Date (as defined in Section 2.1), all of the issued and outstanding shares of common stock (the "Dykeer Shares") of Dykeer Water Company, Inc., a New York corporation ("Dykeer"); and

     WHEREAS, the Seller shall own, directly or indirectly, effective as of the Closing Date, all of the issued and outstanding shares of common stock (the "Cambridge Shares") of Cambridge Water Works, Inc., a New York corporation ("Cambridge"); and

     WHEREAS, the Seller shall own, directly or indirectly, effective as of the Closing Date, all of the issued and outstanding shares of common stock (the "Kingsvale Shares") of Kingsvale Water Company, Inc., a New York corporation ("Kingsvale"); and

     WHEREAS, the Seller shall own, directly or indirectly, effective as of the Closing Date, all of the issued and outstanding shares of common stock (the "Waccabuc Shares") of Waccabuc Water Works, Inc., a New York corporation ("Waccabuc"); and

     WHEREAS, the Seller shall own, directly or indirectly, effective as of the Closing Date, all of the issued and outstanding shares of common stock (the "Wild Oaks Shares") of Wild Oaks Water Company, Inc., a New York corporation ("Wild Oaks"); and

     WHEREAS, the Seller shall own, directly or indirectly, effective as of the Closing Date, all of the issued and outstanding shares of common stock (the "ECRWC Shares") of the Eastern Connecticut Regional Water Company, Inc., a Connecticut corporation ("ECRWC"); and

     WHEREAS, the Seller shall own, directly or indirectly, effective as of the Closing Date, all of the issued and outstanding shares of common stock of AquaSource Utility, Inc., a Texas corporation ("Utility "), and Utility shall own, effective as of the Closing Date, those assets specifically listed on
Section 1.1 of the Seller Disclosure Schedule (as defined in Section 3.1); and

     WHEREAS, the Seller shall own, directly or indirectly, effective as of the Closing Date, all of the issued and outstanding shares of common stock of AquaSource Operations, Inc., a Delaware corporation ("Operations"), and Operations shall own, effective as of the Closing Date, those assets specifically listed on Section 1.1 of the Seller Disclosure Schedule; and

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     WHEREAS, the assets listed on Section 1.1 of the Seller Disclosure Schedule
consist of the following two (2) types of assets: (1) assets that do not support regulated business operations of the Company (as defined in Section 3.1(c)) or that are not subject to regulation by a public utility authority in the State of Connecticut (the "CN Unregulated Assets"); and (2) assets that do support regulated business operations of the Company or that are subject to regulation
by a public utility authority in the State of Connecticut (the "CN Regulated Assets"). The CN Unregulated Assets and the CN Regulated Assets (as well as the three FCC licenses listed on Section 1.1 of the Seller Disclosure Schedule)
shall be herein collectively referred to as the "Integrated Assets" ; and

     WHEREAS, the ECRWC Shares, the CN Unregulated Assets, and the CN Regulated Assets shall be collectively referred to as the "Connecticut Operations"; and

     WHEREAS, the Dykeer Shares, Cambridge Shares, Kingsvale Shares, Waccabuc Shares, and Wild Oaks Shares shall be collectively referred to as the "New York Operations"; and

     WHEREAS, each of the Boards of Directors of the Buyer and PSC has approved (and PSC shall cause Utility and Operations to approve), and deems it advisable and in the best interests of its respective shareholders to consummate, the acquisition of the Connecticut Operations and the New York Operations which acquisition is to be effected by (i) the purchase by Birmingham of the Dykeer Shares, Cambridge Shares, Kingsvale Shares, Waccabuc Shares, Wild Oaks Shares, and ECRWC Shares (collectively, the "Shares") and the CN Regulated Assets from the Seller or Utility, and (ii) the purchase by H20 of the CN Unregulated Assets from Operations and Utility, upon the terms and subject to the conditions set forth herein; and

     NOW, THEREFORE, in consideration of the premises and the representations, warranties, covenants and agreements contained herein, the Parties hereto, intending to be legally bound hereby, agree as follows:

                                   ARTICLE I
                PURCHASE AND SALE OF SHARES AND INTEGRATED ASSETS

     Section 1.1 Sale and Transfer of Shares and Integrated Assets.


          (a) Subject to the terms and conditions of this Agreement, on the Closing Date (as defined in Section 2.1), the Seller agrees to sell, convey, assign, transfer and deliver, or cause Utility and Operations to sell, convey, assign, transfer and deliver, to the Buyer, and the Buyer agrees to purchase and accept (i) from the Seller or Utility, all of the Seller's or Utility's rights, title and interest in and to the Shares and (ii) from Operations and Utility, all of Operations' and Utility's rights, title and interest in and to the Integrated Assets.

          (b) The "Integrated Liabilities" shall mean (i) all of the performance obligations of Operations and Utility which relate to the Integrated Assets, and
(ii) all of the liabilities, direct or indirect, known or unknown, absolute or contingent, which relate to the Integrated Assets and which arise on or after the Closing Date (as defined in Section 2.1).

     Section 1.2 The Purchase Price. Subject to the terms and conditions of this Agreement, on the Closing Date, in consideration of the aforesaid sale, conveyance, assignment, transfer and delivery to the Buyer of the Shares and the Integrated Assets, the Buyer shall pay to the Seller the following:

          (a) For the New York Operations, (i) the amount listed on the Line 1 Subtotal of Exhibit 1.2(a), plus or minus (ii) the Working Capital Adjustment as provided for in Section 1.3(a), plus (iii) the Rate Base Adjustment as provided for in Section 1.3(b)(i), plus (iv) the assumption by the Buyer of $756,200 in third-party debt owed by the New York Operations as specifically set forth in
Section 1.2 of the Seller Disclosure Schedule (collectively, the "New York Operations Purchase Price"). The calculation of the New York Operations Purchase Price is outlined on Exhibit 1.2(a).

          (b) For the Connecticut Operations (excluding the CN Unregulated Assets), (i) the amount listed on the Line 1 Subtotal of Exhibit 1.2(b), plus or minus (ii) the Working Capital Adjustment as provided for in Section 1.3(a), plus (iii) the Rate Base Adjustment as provided for in Section 1.3(b)(ii) (collectively, the "Connecticut Operations Purchase Price"). The calculation of the Connecticut Operations Purchase Price is outlined on Exhibit 1.2(b).

          (c) For the CN Unregulated Assets, Five Hundred Thousand Dollars ($500,000) (the "CN Unregulated Assets Purchase Price").

          (d) The amounts specified in clauses (a) through (c) above shall be collectively referred to as the "Purchase Price".

          (e) The Purchase Price payments applicable to clauses (a) and (b) above shall be paid to PSC by Birmingham, and the Purchase Price payment applicable to clause (c) above shall be paid to PSC by H2O.

     Section 1.3 Purchase Price Adjustment.

          (a) Working Capital Adjustment. The New York Operations Purchase Price and the Connecticut Operations Purchase Price shall be adjusted, on a dollar-for-dollar basis, positive or negative, as the case may be, equal to the net amount of (i) the aggregate amount of the current liabilities (incurred in the ordinary course of business consistent with past practice) of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks and ECRWC, respectively, including, but not limited to, accounts payable owed by the Company to any unaffiliated third party as of the Closing Date, excluding any accrued Taxes that are to be paid by the Seller pursuant to this Agreement, and (ii) the aggregate amount of current assets (incurred in the ordinary course of business consistent with past practice) of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks and ECRWC, respectively, including, but not limited to, accounts receivable (net of all reserves therefor reflected in the Company Financial Statements consistent with past practice) owed by any unaffiliated third party as of the Closing Date (such net amount, the "Working Capital Adjustment"). The Working Capital Adjustment shall, in no event, increase the Purchase Price by more than $300,000 for the New York Operations and $300,000 for the Connecticut Operations.

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          (b) Rate Base Adjustment. (i) The New York Operations Purchase Price
shall be adjusted, on a dollar-for-dollar basis, positive or negative, as the case may be, equal to the increase in the Rate Base (as defined below) for the New York Operations from December 31, 2002 to the Closing Date. (ii) The Connecticut Operations Purchase Price shall be adjusted, on a dollar-for-dollar basis, positive or negative, as the case may be, equal to the increase in the Rate Base for the Connecticut Operations from December 31, 2002 to the Closing Date. The net amount of Section 1.3(b)(i) and Section 1.3(b)(ii) shall be collectively referred to as the "Rate Base Adjustment". The Rate Base Adjustment shall, in no event, increase the Purchase Price by more than $150,000 for the New York Operations and $450,000 for the Connecticut Operations. For purposes of calculating the Rate Base Adjustment for the Connecticut Operations, the Rate Base for the Connecticut Operations shall not include the Rate Base of the Durham and Middlefield systems in Connecticut.

          (c) As used in this Agreement, the term "Rate Base" shall mean gross utility plant in service plus, other property plant and equipment, plus construction work in progress, minus accumulated depreciation, minus contributions in aid of construction and minus customer advances for construction.

          (d) The Working Capital Adjustment and the Rate Base Adjustment shall be collectively referred to as the Purchase Price Adjustment. At least seven (7) calendar days prior to the Closing Date, the Seller shall prepare and deliver to the Buyer in good faith its estimate of the Purchase Price Adjustment, if any (the "Estimated Purchase Price Adjustment") showing the individual and cumulative effect of all adjustments contemplated by this Section 1.3 for the Buyer's review and comment.

          (e) At the Closing, the Purchase Price shall be adjusted to reflect the Purchase Price Adjustment, subject to further adjustment post-Closing as contemplated herein. Within forty (40) calendar days following the Closing Date, the Seller shall prepare and deliver to the Buyer in good faith a final closing statement setting forth the Purchase Price Adjustment in accordance with this
Section 1.3 (the "Final Purchase Price Closing Statement").

          (f) Within thirty (30) calendar days following the Buyer's receipt of the Final Purchase Price Closing Statement, the Buyer may object in good faith to the Purchase Price Adjustment in writing. In the event of any such objection, the Buyer and the Seller shall attempt to resolve their differences by negotiation. If such Parties are unable to do so within thirty (30) calendar days following the Seller's receipt of the Buyer's objection, the Seller and the Buyer shall appoint a nationally recognized accounting firm mutually acceptable to each of the Seller and the Buyer, which shall, at the Seller's and the Buyer's joint expense, review the Final Purchase Price Closing Statement and determine the Purchase Price Adjustment, if any, within thirty (30) calendar days of such appointment. The Seller and the Buyer agree to cooperate with such accounting firm and provide it with such information as it reasonably requests to enable it to make such determination. The finding of such accounting firm shall be binding on the Parties hereto.


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          (g) Upon determination by agreement of the Seller and the Buyer or by
binding determination of said accounting firm of the Purchase Price Adjustment,
(i) if the Purchase Price Adjustment exceeds the Estimated Purchase Price Adjustment (such excess amount, the "Purchase Price Deficiency"), the Seller shall pay to the Buyer the Purchase Price Deficiency, or (ii) if the Estimated Purchase Price Adjustment exceeds the Purchase Price Adjustment (such excess amount, the "Purchase Price Excess"), the Buyer shall pay to the Seller the Purchase Price Excess. Any portion of any Purchase Price Deficiency or Purchase Price Excess owed hereunder shall be paid to the Party or Parties owed the same by the Party or Parties owing the same by wire transfer in immediately available funds to an account designated by the Party or Parties owed the same no later than five (5) business days following the determination by agreement of the Seller and the Buyer or by binding determination of said accounting firm of the Purchase Price Adjustment, and such payment shall be accompanied by an additional payment of interest, calculated with a 4% annual interest rate from the Closing Date to the date of payment under this Section 1.3.

                                   ARTICLE II
                                   THE CLOSING

     Section 2.1 Closing. The consummation of the sale and transfer of the Shares and the Integrated Assets as contemplated by Section 1.1 (the "Closing") shall take place at the Philadelphia, Pennsylvania office of Piper Rudnick LLP at 10:00 a.m., local time, on the fifth (5th) business day immediately following the date on which the last of the conditions set forth in Article VIII hereof is fulfilled or waived in writing, or at such other time, date and place as the Seller and the Buyer shall mutually agree in writing (the "Closing Date").

     Section 2.2 Closing Transactions. (a) At the Closing:

               (i) The Seller shall deliver, or cause Utility to deliver, to the Buyer (i) free and clear of any liens, claims, security interests and other encumbrances of any nature whatsoever (collectively, "Encumbrances"), except for those Encumbrances arising under the Securities Act of 1933, as amended (the "Securities Act") or any applicable state securities laws and those Encumbrances created by this Agreement or the Buyer (collectively, "Permitted Encumbrances"), certificates representing the Shares, each such certificate to be duly and validly endorsed in favor of the Buyer or accompanied by a separate stock power duly and validly executed by the Seller and otherwise sufficient to vest in the Buyer good title to the Shares.

               (ii) The Seller shall cause Operations and Utility to deliver to the Buyer: (A) one or more bills of sale duly executed by Operations, and Utility, as applicable, in the form attached hereto as Exhibit 2.2(a)(ii)(A) (each a "Bill of Sale") selling, assigning, conveying, transferring and delivering to the Buyer, free and clear of any Encumbrances (except for Permitted Encumbrances), the Integrated Assets, and (B) an assignment and assumption agreement, in the form attached hereto as Exhibit 2.2(a)(ii)(B) (the "Assignment and Assumption Agreement"), duly executed by Operations.

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               (iii) The Seller shall or shall cause Operations and Utility to
          deliver to the Buyer such other documents as are required to be delivered by the Seller, Operations and/or Utility to the Buyer pursuant hereto.

          (b) The Buyer shall deliver, or cause to be delivered to the Seller:
(i) the Connecticut Operations Purchase Price, by wire transfer in immediately available funds to an account designated by the Seller prior to Closing, (ii) the New York Operations Purchase Price, by wire transfer in immediately available funds to an account designated by the Seller prior to Closing, (iii) the CN Unregulated Assets Purchase Price, by wire transfer in immediately available funds to an account designated by the Seller prior to Closing, (iv) Assignment and Assumption Agreements, duly executed by the Buyer or H20, as applicable, assuming and agreeing to discharge when due, without recourse to Operations, Utility, or the Seller, in accordance with the respective terms and subject to the respective conditions thereof, all of the Integrated Liabilities, and (v) such other documents as are required to be delivered by the Buyer to the Seller, Operations, or Utility pursuant hereto.

          (c) Timing of the Closing Concerning the New York Operations and the Connecticut Operations. The Parties agree that they may consummate on different dates the acquisition of: (i) the New York Operations, and (ii) the Connecticut Operations. Such acquisition or acquisitions shall be consummated as soon as the applicable Seller Required Statutory Approvals (as defined in Section 3.4(c)) and the Buyer Required Statutory Approvals (as defined in Section 5.2(c)) have been obtained in the applicable state and the other conditions to consummation of the transaction as set forth in this Agreement have been satisfied; provided, however, that the Closing under (i) above shall not take place until on or after the Closing under (ii) above, and provided further, that, in the event that the Closing of the transactions contemplated under (ii) occurs but the Closing of the transactions contemplated under (i) is unable to be concluded due to the inability of the Parties to satisfy the conditions to consummation of such transactions as set forth in this Agreement, provided, however, that such inability does not result from an uncured, material breach of this Agreement by any such Party, including, but not limited to, Section 8.1(b), then the Parties agree that the Buyer shall have no further obligation to consummate the transaction contemplated under (i) above and this Agreement, as it relates to the purchase and sale of the New York Operations, shall be null and void and of no further force and effect.

                                  ARTICLE III
                  REPRESENTATIONS AND WARRANTIES OF THE SELLER

     PSC represents and warrants to the Buyer as follows:

     Section 3.1 Organization and Qualification.


          (a) Except as set forth in Section 3.1(a) of the schedule delivered by PSC to the Buyer on the date hereof and attached to this Agreement (the "Seller Disclosure Schedule"): (i) PSC is a corporation duly organized, validly existing and in good standing under the laws of Pennsylvania, (ii) each of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, Utility, and Operations is a corporation duly organized, validly existing and in good standing under the laws of its jurisdiction of incorporation, (iii) each of Dykeer, Cambridge,


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Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ERWC, Utility, and Operations has all requisite
power and authority to own, lease and operate its assets and properties to the extent owned, leased and operated and to carry on its business as it is now being conducted and is duly qualified to do business in each jurisdiction in which the nature of its business or the ownership or leasing of its assets and properties makes such qualification necessary other than in such jurisdictions where the failure to be in good standing or be so qualified is not reasonably likely to have a Company Material Adverse Effect (as defined below), and (iv) each of PSC, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, Utility, and Operations has received from its respective state or county regulatory authority the requisite authorization to own utility assets or stock and to provide water or wastewater utility service in the area in which such corporation is currently providing water or wastewater utility service, except for such failures to have such authorizations as are not reasonably likely, individually or in the aggregate, to have a Company Material Adverse Effect.

          (b) As used in this Agreement, the term "Company Material Adverse Effect" shall mean any material adverse effect on the business, assets, financial condition or results of operations of the Company (as defined below), taken as a whole, totaling in each instance $200,000 for all purposes hereunder except for Sections 3.11 and 3.19, and $100,000 for purposes of Sections 3.11 and 3.19; provided, however, that for all purposes hereunder the term "Company Material Adverse Effect" shall not include (i) any such effect resulting from any change in law, rule, or regulation of any Governmental Authority (as defined in Section 3.4(c)) that applies generally to similarly situated Persons (as defined below), or (ii) effects relating to or resulting from general changes in the industries in which the Company operates its assets or conducts its businesses.

          (c) As used in this Agreement the term "Company" shall mean, collectively, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, and, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations and Utility.

          (d) As used in this Agreement the term "knowledge" when referring to the knowledge of the Seller shall mean the knowledge of an officer of PSC.

          (e) As used in this Agreement the term "Person" shall mean any natural person, corporation, general or limited partnership, limited liability company, joint venture, trust, association or entity of any kind.

          (f) For the purposes of this Article III, the term "Seller" shall include, with respect to the Integrated Assets and Integrated Liabilities, the Seller, Operations, Utility, and any Subsidiary that owns all of the outstanding shares of Operations or Utility. In addition, for purposes of this Article III, all references to the Seller shall be read as if qualified by the phrase "(in respect of the Company)" unless the Seller is specifically referred to as "PSC".

     Section 3.2 Subsidiaries. As of the date hereof, none of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or Operations has any Subsidiaries. As used in this Agreement, the term "Subsidiary" of a Person shall mean any corporation or other entity (including partnerships and other business associations) of which at least a majority of the voting power represented by the outstanding capital stock or other voting securities or interests having voting power under ordinary circumstances to elect directors or similar members of the governing body of such corporation or entity (or, if there are no such voting interests, 50% or more of the equity interests in such corporation or entity) shall at the time be held, directly or indirectly, by such Person.

     Section 3.3 Ownership and Possession of Shares; Capitalization; Ownership and Possession of Integrated Assets.

          (a) As of the date hereof, (i) the authorized capital stock of Dykeer consists of 200 shares of common stock, (ii) 100 shares of such common stock are issued and outstanding, and (iii) all such issued and outstanding shares of common stock are validly issued, fully paid and nonassessable.

          (b) As of the date hereof, (i) the authorized capital stock of Cambridge consists of 400 shares of common stock, (ii) 400 shares of such common stock are issued and outstanding, and (iii) all such issued and outstanding shares of common stock are validly issued, fully paid and nonassessable.

          (c) As of the date hereof, (i) the authorized capital stock of Kingsvale consists of 1,500 shares of common stock, (ii) 1,000 shares of such common stock are issued and outstanding, and (iii) all such issued and outstanding shares of such common stock are validly issued, fully paid and nonassessable.

          (d) As of the date hereof, (i) the authorized capital stock of Waccabuc consists of 200 shares of common stock, (ii) 200 shares of such common stock are issued and outstanding, and (iii) all such issued and outstanding shares of such common stock are validly issued, fully paid and nonassessable.

          (e) As of the date hereof, (i) the authorized capital stock of Wild Oaks consists of 200 shares of common stock, (ii) .7672 shares of such common stock are issued and outstanding, and (iii) all such issued and outstanding shares of such common stock are validly issued, fully paid and nonassessable.

          (f) As of the date hereof, (i) the authorized capital stock of ECRWC consists of 5,000 shares of common stock, (ii) 200 shares of such common stock are issued and outstanding, and (iii) all such issued and outstanding shares of such common stock are validly issued, fully paid and nonassessable.

          (g) (i) Prior to the Closing, all of the Shares will be owned, directly or indirectly, by PSC free and clear of any Encumbrances, except for Permitted Encumbrances. Except as set forth in Section 3.3(g) of the Seller Disclosure Schedule, there are no options, warrants, calls, rights, commitments or agreements of any character to which PSC, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC is a party or by which it is bound obligating PSC, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC to issue, deliver or sell, or cause to be issued, delivered or sold, additional shares of capital stock of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks or ECRWC, or obligating PSC, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC to grant, extend or enter into any such option, warrant, call, right, commitment or agreement. The Shares will constitute all of the shares of the capital stock of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, and ECRWC that will be owned prior to the Closing by PSC, directly or indirectly, or will be acquired prior to the Closing by PSC, directly or indirectly, pursuant to that certain Purchase Agreement by and among AquaSource, Inc., DQE, Inc., PSC, and Aqua Acquisition Corporation, dated as of July 29, 2002, as amended, (the "AquaSource Purchase Agreement"). (ii) Prior to the Closing, all of the Integrated Assets will be owned, directly or indirectly, by Operations and Utility free and clear of any Encumbrances, except for Permitted Encumbrances. The Integrated Assets constitute all of the Integrated Assets relating to the Company and its operations that are owned by Operations and Utility or were acquired, directly or indirectly, by PSC pursuant to the AquaSource Purchase Agreement. (iii) PSC represents and warrants that, prior to the Closing, it will have the power, authority and requisite Control (as defined in Section 3.9(a)) to direct that all of the Shares and Integrated Assets be transferred to the Buyer pursuant and subject to the terms and conditions contained in this Agreement.

          (h) As of the date hereof, the authorized capital stock and the number of issued and outstanding shares of capital stock for each of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks and ECRWC is listed on Section 3.3(h) of the Seller Disclosure Schedule.

     Section 3.4 Authority; Non-Contravention; Statutory Approvals; Compliance.


          (a) Authority. PSC has all requisite corporate power and authority to
(i) enter into this Agreement and (ii) subject to the receipt of the applicable Seller Required Statutory Approvals (as defined in Section 3.4(c)) and the applicable Seller Required Consents (as defined in Section 3.4(b)), to consummate the transactions contemplated hereby. The execution and delivery of this Agreement and the consummation by PSC of the transactions contemplated hereby have been, and with respect to Operations and Utility as of the Closing Date will be, duly authorized by all necessary corporate action on the part of PSC, Utility and Operations, respectively. No vote of, or consent by, the holders of any class or series of stock issued by PSC, any Subsidiary of PSC, Utility or Operations that has not already been obtained is necessary to authorize the execution and delivery by PSC of this Agreement or the consummation by it, Operations, and Utility of the transactions contemplated hereby. This Agreement has been duly executed and delivered by PSC and, assuming the due authorization, execution and delivery hereof by the Buyer, constitutes the valid and binding obligation of PSC enforceable against it in accordance with its terms, subject to bankruptcy, insolvency, fraudulent transfer, reorganization, moratorium and similar laws of general applicability relating to or affecting creditors' rights and to general equity principles.

          (b) Non-Contravention. Except as set forth in Section 3.4(b)(i) of the Seller Disclosure Schedule, the execution and delivery of this Agreement by PSC does not, and the consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby will not, violate or result in a material breach of any provision of, constitute a material default (with or without notice or lapse of time or both) under, result in the termination or modification of, accelerate the performance required by, result in a right of termination, cancellation or acceleration of any obligation or the loss of a material benefit under, or result in the creation of any material Encumbrance, except for Permitted Encumbrances, upon any of the properties or assets of the Company or the Seller (any such violation, breach, default, right of termination, modification, cancellation or acceleration, loss or creation, is referred to herein as a "Violation" with respect to PSC and the Company and such term when used in Article V has a correlative meaning with respect to the Buyer) pursuant to any provisions of (i) the articles of incorporation, by-laws or similar governing documents of PSC, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, Utility, or Operations, (ii) subject to obtaining the Seller Required Statutory Approvals (as defined in Section 3.4(c)), any statute, law, ordinance, rule, regulation, judgment, decree, order, injunction, writ, permit or license of any Governmental Authority applicable to PSC, or Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, Utility, or Operations or any of their respective properties or assets, or (iii) subject to obtaining the third-party consents set forth in Section 3.4(b)(iii) of the Seller Disclosure Schedule (the "Seller Required Consents"), any note, bond, mortgage, indenture, deed of trust, license, franchise, permit, concession, contract, lease or other instrument, obligation or agreement of any kind to which any of PSC, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, Utility, or Operations is a party or by which they or any of their respective properties or assets may be bound or affected, except in the case of clause (ii) or (iii) for any such Violation which is not reasonably likely to have a Company Material Adverse Effect.

          (c) Statutory Approvals. Except as described in Section 3.4(c) of the Seller Disclosure Schedule (the "Seller Required Statutory Approvals"), no declaration, filing or registration with, or notice to or authorization, consent or approval of, any court, federal, state, local or foreign governmental or regulatory body (including a national securities exchange or other self-regulatory body) or authority (each, a "Governmental Authority") is necessary for the execution and delivery of this Agreement by PSC or the consummation by PSC of the transactions contemplated hereby, except those which the failure to obtain is not reasonably likely to result in a Company Material Adverse Effect (it being understood that references in this Agreement to "obtaining" such Seller Required Statutory Approvals shall mean (i) making such declarations, filings or registrations; (ii) giving such notices; (iii) obtaining such authorizations, consents or approvals; (iv) having such waiting periods expire as are necessary to avoid a violation of law; and (v) having any applicable appeals period expire without any appeal being filed, or if such an appeal is filed, such appeal is fully and finally dismissed without the opportunity for further appeal).

          (d) Compliance. (i) Except as set forth in Section 3.4(d)(i), Section 3.7, Section 3.10 or Section 3.11 of the Seller Disclosure Schedule, neither the Seller, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, nor, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, is in violation of, is currently being charged with any violation of, or to the knowledge of the Seller, is under investigation with respect to any violation of, any law, statute, order, rule, regulation, ordinance, tariff, rate or judgment of any Governmental Authority, except for possible violations which are not reasonably likely to have a Company Material Adverse Effect or to prevent, materially delay or materially impair the ability of the Seller or PSC to consummate the transactions contemplated by this Agreement. (ii) Except as set forth in Section 3.4(d)(ii) or Section 3.12 of the Seller Disclosure Schedule or as disclosed in the PSC SEC Reports (as defined below) filed prior to the date hereof, the Seller, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, and, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations and Utility, have all permits, licenses, franchises and other governmental authorizations, consents and approvals necessary to conduct their businesses as presently conducted except those that the absence of which are not reasonably likely to have a Company Material Adverse Effect or to prevent, materially delay or materially impair the ability of the Seller or PSC to consummate the transactions contemplated by this Agreement. (iii) Except as set forth in Section 3.4(d)(iii) of the Seller Disclosure Schedule, neither PSC, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, Utility, nor Operations is in breach or violation of any term or provision of their respective articles of incorporation or by-laws. (iv) As used in this Agreement, the term "PSC SEC Reports" shall mean each report, schedule, registration statement and definitive proxy statement filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission (the "SEC") by PSC since December 31, 1999, pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Act, or the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended (the "Exchange Act").

     Section 3.5 Financial Statements. True and complete copies of the Company Financial Statements (as defined below) are set forth in Section 3.5 of the Seller Disclosure Schedule. The Company Financial Statements have been prepared from, are in accordance with, and accurately reflect the books and records of the Company, comply in all material respects with applicable accounting requirements, have been prepared in accordance with United States generally accepted accounting principles ("GAAP") applied on a consistent basis during the period involved (except as may be stated in the notes thereto) and are true and correct in all material respects and fairly present the consolidated financial position and the consolidated results of operations and cash flows (and changes in financial position, if any) of the Company as of the time and for the period referred to therein. As of the dates of the statements of assets, liabilities and stockholders' equity included in the Company Financial Statements, the Company has no liabilities or obligations of any nature whatsoever (whether known, unknown, absolute, accrued, contingent or otherwise) which are not fully reflected or reserved against in such Company Financial Statements or which were not incurred in the ordinary course consistent with past practice and this Agreement and are, therefore, not required by GAAP to be so reflected or reserved against in such Company Financial Statements. As used in this Agreement, the term "Company Financial Statements" shall mean the unaudited balance sheets of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, and ECRWC as at December 31, 2001 (the "December 31, 2001 Balance Sheets") and as at June 30, 2002 (the "June 30, 2002 Balance Sheets"), in each case together with the consolidated statements of income, shareholders' equity and cash flows for the periods then ended. The Company Financial Statements are not audited and reflect only the Company, including the related assets and liabilities, contemplated to be
transferred to the Buyer pursuant to this Agreement. No balance sheets or other financial statements, whether audited or unaudited, have been prepared, with respect to the Integrated Assets, for Operations or Utility.

     Section 3.6 Absence of Certain Changes or Events. Except as set forth in
Section 3.6 of the Seller Disclosure Schedule, since December 31, 2001, each of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, and, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations and Utility, has conducted its business only in the ordinary course of business consistent with past practice and there has not been any development or combination of developments affecting Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, of which the Seller has knowledge, that is reasonably likely to have a Company Material Adverse Effect.

     Section 3.7 Litigation. Except as set forth in Section 3.7, Section 3.8(a),
Section 3.8(b), Section 3.9(i), Section 3.10 or Section 3.11 of the Seller Disclosure Schedule, (a) there are no claims, suits, actions or proceedings before any court, governmental department, commission, agency, instrumentality or authority or any arbitrator pending or, to the knowledge of the Seller, threatened, nor are there, to the knowledge of the Seller, any investigations or reviews by any court, governmental department, commission, agency, instrumentality or authority or any arbitrator pending or threatened against, relating to or affecting the Seller, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, and (b) there are no judgments, decrees, injunctions, rules or orders of any court, governmental department, commission, agency, instrumentality or authority or any arbitrator applicable to the Seller, Dykeer, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, except, in the case of both clause (a) and clause (b), for such that are not reasonably likely to have a Company Material Adverse Effect or reasonably likely to prevent, materially delay or materially impair the ability of the Seller or PSC to consummate the transactions contemplated by this Agreement.

     Section 3.8 Tax Matters.

          (a) Except as set forth in Section 3.8(a) of the Seller Disclosure
Schedule: (i) each of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, Utility, and Operations, has timely filed (or has had filed on its behalf) with appropriate taxing authorities all Tax Returns (as defined in Section 3.8(c)) required to be filed by it on or prior to the date hereof, and such Tax Returns are correct, complete and accurate in all material respects; (ii) all Taxes (as defined in Section 3.8(c)) of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, Utility, and Operations, have been timely paid; (iii) all Tax withholding and deposit requirements imposed on or with respect to Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, Utility, and Operations (including any withholding with respect to wages or other amounts paid to employees) have been satisfied in full in all material respects; (iv) there are no liens for Taxes upon any property or assets of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, Utility, or Operations, except for liens for Taxes not yet due and payable, and for which adequate reserves to pay such Taxes have been set aside by Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, Utility, or Operations, as the case may be; (v) there are no outstanding requests, agreements, consents or waivers to extend the statutory period of limitations applicable to the assessment or collection of any Taxes or deficiencies against

Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, Utility, or Operations; (vi) neither Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, Utility, nor Operations has made the election under Section 341(f) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended (the "Code"); and (vii) neither Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, Utility, nor Operations is currently subject to an adjustment described in Section 481 of the Code.

          (b) Except as set forth in Section 3.8(b) of the Seller Disclosure
Schedule: (i) the Seller, Operations, and Utility have timely filed (or has had filed on its or their behalf) with appropriate taxing authorities all Tax Returns with respect to the Integrated Assets required to be filed by it on or prior to the date hereof, and such Tax Returns are correct, complete and accurate in all material respects; (ii) all Taxes on or in respect to the Integrated Assets have been timely paid; (iii) all Tax withholding and deposit requirements imposed on or with respect to the Integrated Assets (including any withholding with respect to wages or other amounts paid to employees) have been satisfied in full and in all material respects; (iv) there are no liens for Taxes upon any of the Integrated Assets, except for liens for Taxes not yet due and payable, and for which adequate reserves to pay such Taxes have been set aside by the Seller; and (v) there are no outstanding requests, agreements, consents or waivers to extend the statutory period of limitations applicable to the assessment or collection of any Taxes or deficiencies attributable to the Integrated Assets.

          (c) As used in this Agreement: (i) the term "Tax" includes all federal, state, local and foreign income, profits, franchise, gross receipts, environmental, customs duty, capital stock, severance, stamp, payroll, sales, employment, unemployment, disability, use, property, withholding, excise, production, value added, occupancy and other taxes, duties or assessments of any nature whatsoever, together with all interest, penalties and additions imposed with respect thereto; and (ii) the term "Tax Return" includes all returns and reports (including elections, declarations, disclosures, schedules, estimates and information returns) required to be supplied to a Tax authority relating to Taxes.

     Section 3.9 Employee Benefits; ERISA.

          (a) Company Plans. Section 3.9(a) of the Seller Disclosure Schedule contains a list of each employee benefit plan, program, agreement or arrangement (including without limitation any employee benefit plan within the meaning of
Section 3(3) of the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, as amended ("ERISA")), in each case, that is sponsored, maintained or contributed to or required to be contributed to by the Company, the Seller, or by any trade or business, whether or not incorporated (an "ERISA Affiliate"), that together with the Company or the Seller would be deemed a "single employer" within the meaning of Section 4001(a)(14) or Section 4001(b) of ERISA or Section 414 of the Code or to which the Company, the Seller, or an ERISA Affiliate is a party, for the benefit of any employee or former employee of the Seller, the Company or any Affiliate (as defined below) of the Seller or the Company whose employment is (in the case of current employees) or was (in the case of former employees) principally attributable to the businesses carried on by or in respect of the Company (such individuals, the "Business Employees," and such plans, programs, agreements or arrangements, collectively, the "Company Plans"). For purposes of this Agreement, "Affiliate" means any Person that directly or indirectly controls, is controlled by, or is under common
control with a Party. "Control" means the possession, directly or indirectly, of the power to cause the direction of the management and policies of a Party, whether through ownership of securities, by contract, or otherwise.

          (b) Deliveries. With respect to each Company Plan, PSC has heretofore delivered or made available to the Buyer true and complete copies of (i) all group medical insurance policies maintained by the Company, and (ii) if such Company Plan is funded through a trust or any third party funding vehicle, a copy of the trust or other funding agreement.

          (c) Absence of Liability. Except as set forth in Section 3.9(c) of the Seller Disclosure Schedule, no liability under Title IV of ERISA has been incurred by the Seller, the Company or any ERISA Affiliate (i) with respect to a Company Plan, or (ii) with respect to any defined benefit plan currently or previously maintained or contributed to or required to be contributed to by the Seller, the Company or any ERISA Affiliate, or (iii) with respect to any Company Plan that has not been satisfied in full, and, to the knowledge of the Seller, no condition exists that presents a material risk to the Company of incurring any such liability, other than liability for premiums due the Pension Benefit Guaranty Corporation (which premiums have been paid when due) and no Company Plan or plan of the Seller, or any ERISA Affiliate which is subject to the minimum funding requirements of Part III of Subtitle B of Title I of ERISA or of
Section 412 of the Code, has incurred any "accumulated funding deficiency" within the meaning of Section 302 of ERISA or Section 412 of the Code.

          (d) Multiemployer Plan. No Company Plan is a "multiemployer plan," as defined in Section 4001(a)(3) of ERISA or is a plan described in Section 4063(a) of ERISA. The Company and the ERISA Affiliates have never withdrawn from any plan which is a multiemployer plan or which is a plan described in Section 4063(a) of ERISA with respect to which there is any outstanding withdrawal liability.

          (e) No Violations. Except as set forth in Section 3.9(e) of the Seller Disclosure Schedule, each Company Plan has been operated and administered in all material respects in accordance with its terms and applicable law, including without limitation ERISA and the Code.

          (f) Section 401(a) Qualification. Each Company Plan intended to be "qualified" within the meaning of Section 401(a) of the Code has received or timely applied for a determination letter from the Internal Revenue Service to the effect that it is so qualified.

          (g) Post-Employment Benefits. Except as set forth in Section 3.9(g) of the Seller Disclosure Schedule, no Company Plan provides medical, surgical, hospitalization, death or similar benefits (whether or not insured) for Business Employees for periods extending beyond their respective dates of retirement or other termination of service, other than (i) coverage mandated by applicable law, (ii) death benefits under any "pension plan," or (iii) benefits the full cost of which is borne by the Business Employee (or his beneficiary).

          (h) Effect of Change of Control. Except as set forth in Section 3.9(h) of the Seller Disclosure Schedule, the consummation of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement will not, alone or together with any other event,
(i) entitle any Business Employee to severance pay, unemployment compensation or any other payment, except as expressly provided in this Agreement, or (ii) accelerate the time of payment or vesting, or increase the amount of compensation due any such Business Employee.

          (i) Claims. Except as set forth in Section 3.9(i) of the Seller Disclosure Schedule, there are no pending, or to the knowledge of the Seller threatened, material claims by or on behalf of any Company Plan, by any employee, former employee or beneficiary covered under any such Company Plan, or otherwise involving any such Company Plan (other than routine claims for benefits).

     Section 3.10 Labor and Employee Relations. As of the date hereof, except as disclosed in Section 3.10 of the Seller Disclosure Schedule, neither Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, Utility, nor Operations, is a party to any collective bargaining agreement or other labor agreement with any union or labor organization. Except as disclosed in Section 3.10 of the Seller Disclosure Schedule or except to the extent not reasonably likely to have a Company Material Adverse Effect, (i) there is no strike, lockout, slowdown or work stoppage pending or, to the knowledge of the Seller, threatened against or involving the Company, and (ii) there is no proceeding, claim, suit, action or governmental investigation pending or, to the knowledge of the Seller, threatened in respect of which any director, officer, employee or agent of the Company is or may be entitled to claim indemnification from the Seller, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, Utility, or Operations pursuant to their respective articles of incorporation, by-laws or any indemnification agreement.

     Section 3.11 Environmental Matters.

          (a) Except as set forth in Section 3.11 of the Seller Disclosure Schedule and except for those matters disclosed in that certain environmental disclosure documentation which was delivered by PSC to the Buyer on April 25, 2003 (such documentation, collectively, the "Environmental Whitepaper"):

               (i) Each of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, and, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations and Utility, is in compliance with all applicable Environmental Laws (as defined in Section 3.11(b)(i)), including, but not limited to, possessing all permits and other governmental authorizations required for their operations under applicable Environmental Laws, except for such noncompliance that is not having as of the date hereof, and would not be reasonably likely to have, a Company Material Adverse Effect. To the extent that any of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, had or has any outstanding violations of any applicable Environmental Law that is having as of the date hereof, or is reasonably likely to have a Company Material Adverse Effect, each such violation has been set forth either in the Environmental Whitepaper or in Section 3.11 of the Seller Disclosure Schedule, and each of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks,

          ECRWC, and, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations and Utility, having such violation has completed or is, as of the date hereof, in the process of addressing in accordance with any applicable deadline, all actions required by any applicable Environmental Law or appropriate Governmental Authority to correct or otherwise respond to such violation, or is otherwise implementing such actions as are appropriate and consistent with the policies and programs identified in the Environmental Whitepaper.

               (ii) (A) There is no pending or threatened written claim, lawsuit, or administrative proceeding against Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, under or pursuant to any Environmental Law, and there is no claim, lawsuit, or administrative proceeding threatened in writing against Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, under or pursuant to any Environmental Law, in any case that is reasonably likely to have a Company Material Adverse Effect; (B) neither Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, nor, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility is subject to, or is proposed by any Governmental Authority to be subject to, any administrative or judicial consent order, decree or unilateral administrative or judicial order in connection with any Environmental Laws or Release (as defined in Section 3.11(b)(iii)) or threatened Release of Hazardous Substances (as defined in Section 3.11(b)(ii)) that is having as of the date hereof, or is reasonably likely to have, a Company Material Adverse Effect; and (C) neither Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, nor, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, has received written notice from any Person, including but not limited to any Governmental Authority, alleging that Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, is in violation or potentially in violation of any applicable Environmental Law or otherwise may be liable under any applicable Environmental Law, which violation or liability is unresolved or unlikely to be resolved in the ordinary course of business and the failure to resolve such violation in the ordinary course of business is having as of the date hereof, or is reasonably likely to have, a Company Material Adverse Effect.

               (iii) With respect to the real property that was formerly or is currently owned, occupied or leased by Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, there have been no Releases of Hazardous Substances on or underneath any of such real property during the ownership, occupation or lease of such property by Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, as the case may be, (and to the Seller's knowledge, during any other period of time) in violation of any applicable Environmental Law and that is having as of the date hereof, or is reasonably likely to have, a Company Material Adverse Effect.

               (iv) Where applicable, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, holding any permit or authorization required under any applicable Environmental Laws has timely filed any renewal application or request necessary to continue performing, in accordance with such applicable Environmental Laws, the permitted or otherwise authorized activity, and no such renewal application or request is expected by the Company to be denied, except for such failures to so file or request or for such denials which are not having as of the date hereof, and are not reasonably likely to have, a Company Material Adverse Effect.

               (v) None of the real property currently owned, occupied, or leased by Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, and, to the Seller's knowledge, none of the real property formerly owned, occupied or leased by Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, is listed or is proposed for listing on the National Priorities List ("NPL") established by the federal Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Act, as amended ("CERCLA"), 42 U.S.C.ss.9601 et seq., or any state analog to the NPL maintained or created under the Environmental Laws of any state. In addition, to the Seller's knowledge, none of the real property currently or formerly owned, occupied or leased by Dykeer, Cambridge, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, is listed or is proposed for listing on the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and Liability Information System ("CERCLIS") established by CERCLA or any state analog to CERCLIS maintained or created under the Environmental Laws of any state.

               (vi) To the Seller's knowledge, there are no asbestos-containing materials in, on, or under any of the real property currently owned, occupied or leased by Dykeer, Cambridge, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, except for those materials which are appropriate to be used in, and are used in, the ordinary course of business in substantial compliance with applicable Environmental Laws, including roofing material, flooring material, transite pipe and other insulating materials.

          (b) For purposes of this Agreement:

               (i) "Environmental Laws" shall mean all federal, state and local laws, regulations, rules and ordinances relating to pollution or the protection of human health and safety or the environment, including, without limitation, laws relating to releases or threatened releases of Hazardous Substances into the environment (including, without limitation, ambient air, surface water, groundwater, land, surface and subsurface strata), in effect and applicable to the Company's operations as of the Closing Date, unless a less stringent requirement goes into effect thereafter. Such laws include the common law to the extent relating to injuries caused by the release or presence of Hazardous Substances.

               (ii) "Hazardous Substances" shall mean any chemicals, materials or substances defined as or included in the definition of "hazardous substances", "hazardous wastes", "hazardous materials", "hazardous constituents", "restricted hazardous materials", "extremely hazardous substances", "toxic substances", "contaminants", "pollutants", "toxic pollutants", or words of similar meaning and regulatory effect under any applicable Environmental Law including, without limitation, petroleum and asbestos.

               (iii) "Release" shall mean any spill, leaking, pumping, pouring, emitting, emptying, dumping, injection, deposit, disposal, discharge, dispersal, leaching, or allowing the escape of any Hazardous Substances into the environment at or from any property.

          (c) The amount of capital expenditures contained in the Budget (as defined in Section 6.1) is adequate and sufficient to resolve completely any obligations in respect of any non-compliance with Environmental Laws that is addressed in any of those consent agreements with Governmental Authorities disclosed in the Environmental Whitepaper.

          (d) None of the real property currently owned, occupied or leased by Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, and, to the Seller's knowledge, none of the real property formerly owned, occupied or leased by Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, is subject to any investigation, sampling, remediation, or other response action under CERCLA or any state statute analogous thereto.

          (e) The policies and programs described in the Environmental Whitepaper result from the exercise of the skill, diligence, prudence and foresight which would reasonably and ordinarily be expected from a Person experienced in owning or operating the sort of business Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, own or operate and do not, to the Seller's knowledge, violate any Environmental Laws.

          (f) The representations and warranties set forth in this Section 3.11 are the sole and exclusive representations and warranties relating to environmental matters made by the Seller in this Agreement.

     Section 3.12 No Breaches or Defaults. Except as disclosed on Section 3.7 or
Section 3.12 of the Seller Disclosure Schedule, neither Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, nor, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, is in breach or violation of or in default in the performance or observance of any term or provision of, and no event has occurred which, with the lapse of time or action by a third party, could result in a default by Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, under, nor, to the knowledge of the

Seller, is any third party in breach or default in any material respect under, any Contract (as defined below), except (i) in any such case, for such breaches and defaults as to which requisite waivers or consents have been or will be obtained prior to the Closing Date and (ii) for such breaches and defaults that are not reasonably likely to have a Company Material Adverse Effect. The term "Contracts" means all written notes, bonds, mortgages, indentures, deeds of trust, licenses, franchises, permits, contracts, leases or other instruments, obligations or agreements of any kind, including the Integrated Assets, to which Dykeer, Cambridge, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, Utility, or Operations is a party or by which any of the Company's properties or assets may be bound; provided, however, that for purposes of this Section 3.12, Contracts shall not include Company Plans or any agreement with any Governmental Authority regarding compliance with Environmental Laws.

     Section 3.13 Insurance. Section 3.13 of the Seller Disclosure Schedule describes the material fire and casualty, general liability, business interruption, product liability, pollution and sprinkler and water damage insurance policies maintained by PSC on behalf of the Company as well as a description of any self-insurance arrangement by or affecting the Company, including any reserves thereunder. All of such policies are in full force and effect, all premiums with respect thereto are currently paid and the Seller has not received any notice of nonrenewal, cancellation or termination with respect to any such insurance policy or denial of coverage or reservation of rights with respect to any claim arising from occurrences prior to the Closing Date involving contamination of drinking water provided by the Company or involving environmental impairment, subject to the deductible and loss limits under such policies.

     Section 3.14 Brokers or Finders. PSC has not entered into any agreement or arrangement entitling any agent, broker, investment banker, financial advisor or other firm or Person to any broker's or finder's fee or any other commission or similar fee in connection with any of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement.

     Section 3.15 Intellectual Property. Except as set forth in Section 3.15 of the Seller Disclosure Schedule, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility,
(a) owns, leases or licenses all Intellectual Property Rights (as defined below) necessary to conduct the business of the Company, except when the failure to own, lease or license would not have a Company Material Adverse Effect and (b) has the right to transfer all such Intellectual Property Rights to the Buyer. Except as set forth in Section 3.15 of the Seller Disclosure Schedule, (i) there has been no claim made against Dykeer, Cambridge, Waccabuc, Kingsvale, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, asserting the invalidity, misuse or unenforceability of any of its Intellectual Property Rights, (ii) to the knowledge of the Seller, there is no infringement or misappropriation of any of the Intellectual Property Rights, (iii) to the knowledge of the Seller, neither Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, nor, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, has infringed or misappropriated any intellectual property rights of any other entity, and (iv) Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, owns all the Intellectual Property Rights free and clear of any and all liens, claims or encumbrances, except in the case of clause (i), (ii), (iii) or (iv) for such claims, infringements, misappropriations, violations, failures to own, liens or encumbrances as are not reasonably likely to have a Company Material Adverse Effect. As used herein, "Intellectual Property Rights"
means any trademark, servicemark, registration therefor or application for registration therefor, trade name, invention, patent, patent application, trade secret, know-how, copyright, copyright registration, application for copyright registration, or any other similar type of proprietary rights, in each case owned, leased or licensed and used or held for use by the Company.

     Section 3.16 Change in Business Relationships. Except as set forth in
Section 3.16 of the Seller Disclosure Schedule, neither Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, nor, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, has knowledge of any event or circumstance that indicates that, whether on account of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement or otherwise, any customer, agent, representative or supplier of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, intends to discontinue, diminish or change its relationship with Dykeer, Cambridge, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, in any way that would be reasonably likely to have a Company Material Adverse Effect.

     Section 3.17 Title to Property; Tangible Assets. Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, and, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations and Utility, have good and marketable title to all of their properties and assets, free and clear of all liens, except liens for taxes not yet due and payable and such liens or other imperfections of title, if any, as do not materially detract from the value of or interfere with the present use of the property affected thereby or which would not have a Company Material Adverse Effect; and, to the knowledge of the Seller, all leases pursuant to which Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, lease from others material amounts of real or personal property are in good standing, valid and effective in accordance with their respective terms and there is not, to the knowledge of the Seller, under any of such leases, any existing default or event of default (or event which with notice or lapse of time, or both, would constitute a default), except when the lack of such good standing, validity and effectiveness or the existence of such default would not have a Company Material Adverse Effect.

     Section 3.18 Other Obligations.

          (a) Except as set forth in Section 3.18(a) of the Seller Disclosure Schedule, to the Seller's knowledge, neither Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, nor, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, has indemnified or agreed to indemnify any third party in connection with any transaction involving any disposition or purchase of the present or former assets of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, except for those indemnities or agreements to indemnify which have been fully performed or satisfied, have expired or are otherwise no longer in effect and binding and except for those that are not likely to have a Company Material Adverse Effect.

          (b) Except as set forth in Section 3.18(b) of the Seller Disclosure Schedule, to the Seller's knowledge, neither Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, nor, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, has agreed to or has become contractually bound to pay any earn-out, profit-sharing or similar payments, which
have not been satisfied as of the date hereof, to any third party in connection with any transaction involving any disposition or purchase of the present or former assets of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility.

     Section 3.19 Water Quality. The drinking water supplied by Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, to their customers is and has been in compliance with all applicable federal and state drinking water standards except for such failures which are not having as of the date hereof, and are not reasonably likely to have, a Company Material Adverse Effect.

     Section 3.20 Limitation on Representations and Warranties. Except for the representations and warranties contained in this Article III, neither the Seller nor any other Person or entity acting on behalf of the Seller makes any representation or warranty, express or implied, concerning the Shares, the Integrated Assets, or the business, assets, or liabilities of the Company or any other matter.

                                   ARTICLE IV
                                 INDEMNIFICATION

     Section 4.1 Indemnification Obligations.

          (a) Subject to the limitations set forth in Sections 4.3 and 4.4 hereof, the Seller shall indemnify, defend and hold harmless the Buyer, its officers, directors, employees, shareholders, agents, and their respective Affiliates (each, a "Buyer Indemnitee") from and against any and all Indemnifiable Losses (as defined below) asserted against or suffered by any Buyer Indemnitee (each, a "Buyer Indemnifiable Loss") during the Indemnity Period (as defined below) in any way relating to, resulting from or arising out of (i) any breach by the Seller of the representations, and warranties contained in Article III hereof, and (ii) the Indemnified Liabilities (as defined below).

          (b) Subject to the limitations set forth in Sections 4.3 and 4.4 hereof, the Buyer shall indemnify, defend and hold harmless the Seller, its officers, directors, employees, shareholders, agents, and their respective Affiliates (each, a "Seller Indemnitee") from and against any and all Indemnifiable Losses asserted against or suffered by any Seller Indemnitee (each, a "Seller Indemnifiable Loss") during the Indemnity Period in any way relating to, resulting from or arising out of (i) any breach by the Buyer of the representations and warranties contained in Article V hereof, and (ii) the Indemnified Liabilities.

     Section 4.2 Certain Definitions. As used in this Agreement:

          (a) the term "Indemnity Period" shall mean the period of time commencing with the Closing Date and continuing until the second (2nd) anniversary of the Closing Date; provided, however, that if, prior to the first
(1st) anniversary of the Closing Date, the Buyer identifies additional liabilities and obligations of the Company that arose prior to the Closing Date but were not disclosed on the Seller Disclosure Schedule on the Closing Date and that have an aggregate value of $100,000 or more (excluding additional liabilities and obligations that should have been disclosed on Sections 3.11 or
3.19 of the Seller Disclosure Schedule,
which additional liabilities and obligations are not subject to the $100,000 threshold), then the Indemnity Period shall continue until the third (3rd) anniversary of the Closing Date, and provided further, that, in any event, (i) the Indemnity Period shall not limit the indemnity obligations of the Parties in respect of Taxes, as set forth in Section 4.5, (ii) the Indemnity Period in respect of the representations or warranties made by the Seller in Section 3.3(g) shall continue indefinitely, (iii) the Indemnity Period in respect of the indemnity obligations of the Seller as set forth in Section 4.6 (other than in respect of breaches of any representation or warranty made in Section 3.11 or
Section 3.19) shall continue until the tenth (10th) anniversary of the Closing Date, and (iv) notwithstanding the foregoing, there shall be no such extension of the Indemnity Period unless there is a corresponding extension of the Indemnity Period for the Seller pursuant to the terms of the AquaSource Purchase Agreement;

          (b) the term "Indemnifiable Loss" shall mean any claim, demand, suit, loss, liability, damage, obligation, payment, fine, penalty, cost or expense (including, without limitation, the cost and expense of any action, suit, proceeding, assessment, judgment, settlement or compromise relating thereto and reasonable attorneys' fees and reasonable disbursements in connection therewith);

          (c) the term "Indemnified Liabilities" shall mean, in determining the Buyer Indemnifiable Losses: (i) all litigation, existing or threatened, that is set forth in Section 3.7 of the Seller Disclosure Schedule, and (ii) any liabilities or obligations of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC except for Excepted Liabilities (as defined in Section 4.2(d)), and any liabilities or obligations that relate to or arise by virtue of Operations' or Utility's ownership of the Integrated Assets except for Excepted Liabilities, in any case, whether direct or indirect, known or unknown, absolute or contingent, that relate to, resulted from, arose during or are attributable to the period of time prior to the Closing Date; provided, however, that Indemnified Liabilities shall exclude any liabilities or obligations that are disclosed in any Section of the Seller Disclosure Schedule and are expressly designated, by written agreement of the Parties, as Excepted Liabilities on such Seller Disclosure Schedule; and shall mean in determining the Seller Indemnifiable Losses: (i) any liabilities or obligations of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC and any liabilities that relate to or arise by virtue of the Buyer's ownership of the Company, the Integrated Assets or Integrated Liabilities, in any case whether direct or indirect, known or unknown, absolute or contingent, that relate to, resulted from, arose during, or are attributable to the period of time on or after the Closing Date, and (ii) any liabilities or obligations that relate to the Excepted Liabilities;

          (d) the term "Excepted Liabilities" shall mean any (i) liabilities or obligations of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC that arise out of any of the following liabilities or obligations incurred by Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC, as the case may be, prior to the Closing Date: (1) any liability or obligation of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC, that is allocable to the right of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC, as the case may be, to receive property, services or other benefits on or after the Closing Date,
(2) any liability or obligation of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC to repay the $756,200 owed to third parties as reflected on the December 31, 2002 Balance Sheet as well as any indebtedness incurred as permitted by Section 6.1, and (3) any liability or
obligation of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC, to make any expenditure under any Contract, settlement agreement or consent order, including, without limitation, those disclosed in the Environmental Whitepaper, to which Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC, is a party, pursuant to any order, rule or regulation of any Governmental Authority by which Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC, or any of their assets, is bound, as listed in the Seller Disclosure Schedule, or if not required to be listed in the Seller Disclosure Schedule, entered into in compliance with Section 6.1, and (ii) with respect to the Integrated Assets, any liabilities or obligations of Operations or Utility that arise out of any of the following liabilities or obligations incurred by the Seller prior to the Closing
Date: (1) any liability or obligation that is allocable to the right of the owner of the Integrated Assets to receive property, services or other benefits with respect to the Integrated Assets, as well as any indebtedness incurred as permitted by Section 6.1, and (2) any liability or obligation to make any expenditure in respect of any Integrated Asset under any Contract, settlement agreement or consent order relating to the Integrated Assets, pursuant to any order, rule, or regulation of any Governmental Authority relating to or by which any of the Integrated Assets is bound, as listed in the Seller Disclosure Schedule, or if not required to be listed in the Seller Disclosure Schedule, entered into in compliance with Section 6.1.

     Section 4.3 Limitations on Indemnification.

          (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Agreement to the contrary, the Parties' obligations pursuant to this Article IV are, and at all times shall be, subject to the limitations set forth in this Section 4.3. The Parties shall not be required to indemnify, defend or hold harmless any Buyer Indemnitee or Seller Indemnitee, as the case may be, until the aggregate amount of the Buyer Indemnifiable Losses or Seller Indemnifiable Losses, as the case may be, exceeds the Indemnity Basket (as defined below), following which the indemnifying Party shall indemnify, defend and hold harmless the Buyer Indemnitees or the Seller Indemnitees, as the case may be, only to the extent that the Buyer Indemnifiable Losses or the Seller Indemnifiable Losses, as the case may be, exceed the Indemnity Basket. In addition, the Seller's liability for Buyer Indemnifiable Losses and the Buyer's liability for Seller Indemnifiable Losses, in either case, as contemplated by this Article IV shall in no event exceed an aggregate amount of dollars equal to the Indemnity Cap (as defined in Section 4.3(b)).

          (b) As used in this Agreement, (i) the term "Indemnity Basket" shall mean $175,000, and (ii) the term "Indemnity Cap" shall mean $2,750,000. Notwithstanding any other provision of this Agreement to the contrary, the Seller's liability for the following Buyer Indemnifiable Losses shall not be limited by the Indemnity Cap: Buyer Indemnifiable Losses relating to (i) any litigation, existing or threatened, that is required to be set forth in Sections 3.7, 3.8(a), 3.8(b), 3.9(i) or 3.10 of the Seller Disclosure Schedule, (ii) any and all liabilities and obligations of PSC other than liabilities and obligations of PSC (in respect of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or the Integrated Assets), (iii) indemnity obligations of the Parties in respect of Taxes, as set forth in Section 4.5, (iv) indemnity obligations of the Seller in respect of Environmental Law, as set forth in
Section 4.6, and (v) any fraud committed by the Seller, or the Company (provided that the foregoing reference to the Company refers to fraud committed prior to the Closing Date). In addition, the Buyer's liability for the following Seller Indemnifiable Losses shall not be limited by the

Indemnity Cap: Seller Indemnifiable Losses relating to (i) indemnity obligations of the Parties in respect of Taxes, as set forth in Section 4.5, (ii) any breach or violation of any Environmental Law by the Buyer or the Company on or after the Closing Date, and (iii) any fraud committed by the Buyer or the Company (provided that the foregoing reference to the Company refers to fraud committed on or after the Closing Date).

          (c) For the avoidance of doubt, if at any time during the Indemnity Period, the amount of the Seller's aggregate liability for Buyer Indemnifiable Losses, taking into account all liability for Buyer Indemnifiable Losses incurred by the Seller since the Closing Date (other than those Buyer Indemnifiable Losses that are not limited by the Indemnity Cap as contemplated by Section 4.3(b)), equals the applicable Indemnity Cap, then the Seller shall have no further obligation whatsoever to indemnify, defend or hold harmless any Buyer Indemnitee in respect of any Buyer Indemnifiable Losses that are subject to the Indemnity Cap; similarly, if at any time during the Indemnity Period, the amount of the Buyer's aggregate liability for Seller Indemnifiable Losses, taking into account all liability for Seller Indemnifiable Losses incurred by the Buyer since the Closing Date (other than those Seller Indemnifiable Losses that are not limited by the Indemnity Cap as contemplated by Section 4.3(b)), equals the applicable Indemnity Cap, then the Buyer shall have no further obligation whatsoever to indemnify, defend or hold harmless any Seller Indemnitee in respect of any Seller Indemnifiable Losses that are subject to the Indemnity Cap.

          (d) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Agreement to the contrary, any Buyer Indemnitee or Seller Indemnitee shall use commercially reasonable efforts to mitigate all losses, damages and the like relating to a claim under these indemnification provisions, including availing itself of any defenses, limitations, rights of contribution, claims against third Persons and other rights at law or equity. The Buyer Indemnitee's or Seller Indemnitee's, as the case may be, commercially reasonable efforts shall include the reasonable expenditure of money to mitigate or otherwise reduce or eliminate any loss or expenses for which indemnification would otherwise be due, and the indemnifying Party shall, to the extent that Buyer Indemnifiable Losses or Seller Indemnifiable Losses, as the case may be, exceed the Indemnity Basket, reimburse the Buyer Indemnitee or Seller Indemnitee, as the case may be, for its reasonable expenditures (except for any portion of the wages, salary, benefits, overhead or other costs attributable to Buyer Indemnitee or Seller Indemnitee, as the case may be, and its officers, directors, employees and agents) in undertaking the mitigation and shall, to such extent, take such expenses into account in calculating the aggregate amount of the Seller's liability for the Buyer Indemnifiable Losses or the Buyer's liability for the Seller Indemnifiable Losses, as the case may be. Notwithstanding any other provision of this Agreement to the contrary, any Buyer Indemnifiable Loss or Seller Indemnifiable Loss shall be net of (i) the dollar amount of any insurance or other proceeds actually received by the Buyer Indemnitee or any of its Affiliates with respect to the Buyer Indemnifiable Loss or by the Seller or any of its Affiliates with respect to the Seller Indemnifiable Loss, and (ii) income tax benefits to the Buyer Indemnitee, to the extent realized by the Buyer Indemnitee, or to the Seller Indemnitee, to the extent recognized by the Seller Indemnitee. Any Person seeking indemnity hereunder shall use commercially reasonable efforts to seek coverage (including both costs of defense and indemnity) under applicable insurance policies with respect to any such Buyer Indemnifiable Loss or Seller Indemnifiable Loss, as the case may be.

          (e) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Agreement to the contrary, (i) except to the extent otherwise provided in Article IX, the rights and remedies of the Parties under this Article IV are exclusive and in lieu of any and all other rights and remedies which the Parties may have under this Agreement for monetary relief with respect to (A) any breach by the Parties of their respective representations, warranties, and covenants and (B) the Indemnified Liabilities, and (ii) no Party (nor any Buyer Indemnitee or Seller Indemnitee) shall be entitled to recover from any other Party for any liabilities, damages, obligations, payments, losses, costs, or expenses under this Agreement any amount in excess of the actual compensatory damages, court costs and reasonable attorneys' and other advisor fees suffered by such Party (or Buyer Indemnitee or Seller Indemnitee, as the case may be). Each Party waives any right to recover incidental, special, exemplary and consequential damages arising in connection with or with respect to this Agreement.

     Section 4.4 Defense of Claims.

               (a) (i) If any Buyer Indemnitee receives notice of the assertion or commencement of any claim, action or proceeding made or brought by any Person who is not a Party or an Affiliate of a Party (a "Third Party Claim") with respect to which indemnification is to be sought from the Seller, the Buyer Indemnitee shall give the Seller reasonably prompt written notice thereof, but in any event such notice shall not be given later than twenty (20) calendar days after the Buyer Indemnitee's receipt of written notice of such Third Party Claim. Such written notice shall describe the nature of the Third Party Claim in reasonable detail and shall indicate the estimated amount, if practicable, of the Buyer Indemnifiable Loss that has been or may be sustained by the Buyer Indemnitee. The Seller will have the right to participate in or, by giving written notice to the Buyer Indemnitee, to elect to assume the defense of any Third Party Claim by the Seller's own counsel, the cost for which shall be borne by the Seller to the extent that Buyer Indemnifiable Losses exceed the Indemnity Basket and shall, to such extent, be taken into account in calculating the aggregate amount of the Seller's liability for Buyer Indemnifiable Losses under the Indemnity Cap. The Buyer Indemnitee shall cooperate in good faith in such defense at the Buyer Indemnitee's own expense. If the Seller elects not to assume the defense of any Third Party Claim, the Buyer Indemnitee may compromise or settle such Third Party Claim over the objection of the Seller, which compromise or settlement shall conclusively establish the Seller's liability pursuant to this Agreement.

               (ii) If any Seller Indemnitee receives notice of the assertion or commencement of a Third Party Claim with respect to which indemnification is to be sought from the Buyer, the Seller Indemnitee shall give the Buyer reasonably prompt written notice thereof, but in any event such notice shall not be given later than twenty (20) calendar days after the Seller Indemnitee's receipt of written notice of such Third Party Claim. Such written notice shall describe the nature of the Third Party Claim in reasonable detail and shall indicate the estimated amount, if practicable, of the Seller Indemnifiable Loss that has been or may be sustained by the Seller Indemnitee. The Buyer will have the right to participate in or, by giving written notice to the Seller Indemnitee, to elect to assume the defense of any Third Party Claim by the Buyer's own counsel, the cost for which shall be borne by the Buyer to the extent that Seller

          Indemnifiable Losses exceed the Indemnity Basket and shall, to such extent, be taken into account in calculating the aggregate amount of the Buyer's liability for Seller Indemnifiable Losses under the Indemnity Cap. The Seller Indemnitee shall cooperate in good faith in such defense at the Seller Indemnitee's own expense. If the Buyer elects not to assume the defense of any Third Party Claim, the Seller Indemnitee may compromise or settle such Third Party Claim over the objection of the Buyer, which compromise or settlement shall conclusively establish the Buyer's liability pursuant to this Agreement.

               (b) (i) If, after a Buyer Indemnitee provides written notice to the Seller of any Third Party Claims, the Buyer Indemnitee receives written notice from the Seller that the Seller has elected to assume the defense of such Third Party Claim, the Seller will not be liable for any legal expenses subsequently incurred by the Buyer Indemnitee in connection with the defense thereof. Without the prior written consent of the Buyer Indemnitee, the Seller shall not enter into any settlement of any Third Party Claim that would lead to liability or create any financial or other obligation on the part of the Buyer Indemnitee for which the Buyer Indemnitee is not entitled to indemnification hereunder. If a firm offer is made to settle a Third Party Claim without leading to liability or the creation of a financial or other obligation on the part of the Buyer Indemnitee for which the Buyer Indemnitee is not entitled to indemnification hereunder and the Seller desires to accept and agree to such offer, the Seller shall give written notice to the Buyer Indemnitee to that effect. If the Buyer Indemnitee fails to consent to such firm offer within ten (10) calendar days after its receipt of such notice, the Seller shall be relieved of its obligations to defend such Third Party Claim and the Buyer Indemnitee may contest or defend such Third Party Claim. In such event, the maximum liability of the Seller as to such Third Party Claim will be the amount of such settlement offer plus reasonable costs and expenses paid or incurred by the Buyer Indemnitee up to the date of said notice, at all time subject to the additional limitations on the Seller's liability contained in this Article IV.

               (ii) If, after a Seller Indemnitee provides written notice to the Buyer of any Third Party Claims, the Seller Indemnitee receives written notice from the Buyer that the Buyer has elected to assume the defense of such Third Party Claim, the Buyer will not be liable for any legal expenses subsequently incurred by the Seller Indemnitee in connection with the defense thereof. Without the prior written consent of the Seller Indemnitee, the Buyer shall not enter into any settlement of any Third Party Claim that would lead to liability or create any financial or other obligation on the part of the Seller Indemnitee for which the Seller Indemnitee is not entitled to indemnification hereunder. If a firm offer is made to settle a Third Party Claim without leading to liability or the creation of a financial or other obligation on the part of the Seller Indemnitee for which the Seller Indemnitee is not entitled to indemnification hereunder and the Buyer desires to accept and agree to such offer, the Buyer shall give written notice to the Seller Indemnitee to that effect. If the Seller Indemnitee fails to consent to such firm offer within ten (10) calendar days after its receipt of such notice, the Buyer shall be relieved of its obligation to defend such Third Party Claim and the Seller Indemnitee may contest or defend such Third Party Claim. In such event, the maximum liability of the Buyer as to such Third Party Claim will be the amount of such settlement
          offer plus reasonable costs and expenses paid or incurred by the Seller Indemnitee up to the date of said notice, at all time subject to the additional limitations on the Buyer's liability contained in this Article IV.

               (c) (i) Any claim that does not result from a Third Party Claim (a "Direct Claim") by a Buyer Indemnitee on account of a Buyer Indemnifiable Loss shall be asserted by giving the Seller reasonably prompt written notice thereof, stating the nature of such claim in reasonable detail and indicating the estimated amount, if practicable, but in any event such notice shall not be given later than twenty (20) calendar days after the Buyer Indemnitee becomes aware of such Direct Claim, and the Seller shall have a period of thirty (30) calendar days from receipt of such notice within which to respond to such Direct Claim. If the Seller does not respond within such thirty (30) calendar day period, the Seller shall be deemed to have accepted such claim. If the Seller rejects such claim, the Buyer Indemnitee will be free to seek enforcement of its right to indemnification under this Agreement.

               (ii) Any Direct Claim by a Seller Indemnitee on account of a Seller Indemnifiable Loss shall be asserted by giving the Buyer reasonably prompt written notice thereof, stating the nature of such claim in reasonable detail and indicating the estimated amount, if practicable, but in any event such notice shall not be given later than twenty (20) calendar days after the Seller Indemnitee becomes aware of such Direct Claim, and the Buyer shall have a period of thirty (30) calendar days from receipt of such notice within which to respond to such Direct Claim. If the Buyer does not respond within such thirty (30) calendar day period, the Buyer shall be deemed to have accepted such claim. If the Buyer rejects such claim, the Seller Indemnitee will be free to seek enforcement of its right to indemnification under this Agreement.

          (d) If the amount of any Buyer Indemnifiable Loss or Seller Indemnifiable Loss, as the case may be, at any time subsequent to the making of an indemnity payment in respect thereof, is reduced by recovery, settlement or otherwise under or pursuant to any insurance coverage, or pursuant to any claim, recovery, settlement or payment by, from or against any other entity, the amount of such reduction, less any costs, expenses or premiums incurred in connection therewith (together with interest thereon from the date of payment thereof at the publicly announced prime rate then in effect of The Chase Manhattan Bank) shall promptly be repaid by the Buyer Indemnitee to the Seller or by the Seller Indemnitee to the Buyer, as the case may be.

     Section 4.5 Tax Indemnity. Notwithstanding any other provision of this Agreement to the contrary, the Seller shall indemnify, defend and hold harmless each Buyer Indemnitee, and the Buyer shall indemnify, defend and hold harmless each Seller Indemnitee from and against any and all of the liabilities of the Seller and the Buyer, respectively, as set forth below:

          (a) The Seller shall be liable for, shall pay to the appropriate Tax authorities (or shall pay to Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC, as the case may be, as a reimbursement of Taxes paid to the appropriate Tax authorities for a Straddle Period (as defined below) Tax Return), and shall indemnify and hold the Buyer and the Company harmless against, all Taxes of the Company that relate to (i) the taxable periods that end before or on the Closing Date (other than Taxes attributable to transactions not in the ordinary course of business occurring after the Closing which are effectuated or initiated by the Buyer), (ii) any taxable period that includes but does not end on the Closing Date (a "Straddle Period"), but only to the extent that such Taxes relate to the portion of such Straddle Period up to and including the Closing Date, and (iii) any liability for Taxes of the consolidated group of which the Seller is the common parent arising under Treasury Regulation section 1.1502-6 (or similar provision of state, local or foreign law). The Seller shall be entitled to all Tax refunds (including interest) attributable to the taxable periods for which it is liable; provided, that the Buyer shall elect under Treasury Regulation section 1.1502-21(b)(3)(ii) (or similar provision of state, local or foreign law) to relinquish, with respect to any net operating losses attributable to Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC, the portion of the carryback period for which any such corporation was a member of the consolidated group of which the Seller is the common parent.

          (b) The Buyer shall be liable for, shall pay to the appropriate Tax authorities, and shall indemnify and hold the Seller harmless against all Taxes of the Company that relate to (i) the taxable periods that begin after the Closing Date (including, for this purpose, any Taxes attributable to transactions not in the ordinary course of business occurring after the Closing which are effectuated or initiated by the Buyer) and (ii) the portion of any Straddle Period commencing with the first (1st) day after the Closing Date. The Buyer shall be entitled to all Tax refunds (including interest) attributable to the taxable periods for which it is liable.

          (c) The obligations of the Parties to indemnify each other pursuant to this Section 4.5 shall continue until the statutory period of limitations (taking into account any extensions or waivers thereof) for the assessment of Taxes, covered by this Section 4.5, has expired. Any payment due to an indemnified Party pursuant to this Section 4.5 shall be promptly paid by the indemnifying Party upon receipt of written notice.

          (d) No Party shall take any action the purpose and intent of which is to prejudice the defense of any claim subject to indemnification hereunder or to induce a third party to assert a claim subject to indemnification hereunder.

          (e) After the Closing, each of the Seller and the Buyer shall notify the chief tax officer of the other Party in writing (including by telecopier) within ten (10) calendar days of the receipt of any written notice of any pending or threatened Audit (as defined below) which, if determined adversely, could be grounds for indemnification under this Section 4.5 (a "Tax Claim"); provided, however, that any failure to give such notice shall not affect the rights of the Parties hereunder unless and to the extent such failure materially and adversely affects the indemnifying Party's right to participate in and defend such Tax Claim. The Seller shall have the right at its expense to participate in and control the conduct of any Tax Claim of or attributable to the Company relating to taxable periods ending on or before the Closing Date and to employ counsel of its own choice at its expense; provided, however, that the Seller shall not
settle any such Tax Claim or make or agree to any adjustment in any manner without the written consent of the Buyer, which consent shall not be unreasonably withheld, conditioned or delayed; and provided, further, that the Buyer shall have the right to participate in (but not to control) such Tax Claim. If the Seller fails to participate in any Tax Claim of the Company relating to taxable periods ending on or before the Closing Date for which notice was provided pursuant to this Section 4.5(e), the Buyer may defend and settle such Tax Claim in such manner as it may deem appropriate in its sole discretion. In such event, the Seller shall promptly reimburse the Buyer for any and all costs, fees, and expenses associated with such defense or settlement. Except as set forth above in the first sentence of this Section 4.5(e), the Buyer shall control the conduct of any Tax Claim of the Company relating to any taxable period ending after the Closing Date and may defend and settle such Tax Claim in such manner as it may deem appropriate in its sole discretion. The term "Audit" means any audit, assessment of Taxes, reassessment of Taxes, or other examination by any Governmental Authority or any judicial or administrative proceedings or appeal of such proceedings.

          (f) All indemnity payments made by the Seller to the Buyer, or by the Buyer to the Seller, pursuant to this Agreement shall, to the maximum extent permitted under the Code (or other applicable Tax law), be treated for all Tax purposes as adjustments to the consideration paid with respect to the Shares and the Integrated Assets.

     Section 4.6 Certain Indemnification in Respect of Environmental Law.

          (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Agreement, the Seller shall indemnify, defend, reimburse, and hold harmless each Buyer Indemnitee from and against any and all Indemnifiable Losses arising out of or resulting from any of the following: (i) any breach of any representation or warranty made by the Seller in Section 3.11 or Section 3.19 hereof, that is discovered within the Indemnity Period; (ii) any Third Party Claim (as defined in Section 4.4) asserted prior to the tenth (10th) anniversary of the Closing Date for any Pre-Closing Environmental Liability (as defined in Section 4.6(b)(ii)); and
(iii) any First Party Environmental Claim (as defined in Section 4.6(b)(iv)) asserted prior to the tenth (10th) anniversary of the Closing Date for any Pre-Closing Violation or Contamination (as defined in Section 4.6(b)(i)). Any and all Indemnifiable Losses arising out of or resulting from clauses (i), (ii), or (iii) above shall not be limited by the Indemnity Cap (as defined in Section 4.3(b)), but shall be subject to the Indemnity Basket (as defined in Section 4.3(b)).

          (b) As used in this Agreement:

               (i) the term "Pre-Closing Violation or Contamination" means any and all cost and liability (other than Excepted Liabilities) arising out of or related to: (A) any violation of any Environmental Laws by the Seller, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC, or any presence in the environment, Release, threat of Release or any exposure of either an individual or the environment, of or to any Hazardous Substances at or under any of the Properties (as defined in Section 4.6(b)(iii)), which, for any of the foregoing, occurred on or before or existed as of the Closing Date, and (B) any post-Closing Date liabilities arising from any such pre-Closing Date violation, presence, Release, threat of Release or exposure.

               (ii) the term "Pre-Closing Environmental Liability" means any and all cost and liability (other than Excepted Liabilities) arising out of or related to: (A) any presence in the environment, Release, threat of Release, or any exposure of either an individual or the environment, of or to any Hazardous Substances from, at, or under any of the Properties or otherwise arising in connection with the Company's current or former operations on or before the Closing Date;
          (B) the off-site transportation, storage, treatment, recycling, or Release of any Hazardous Substances generated or Released, on or before the Closing Date, by the Seller, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC, or any predecessor of such Persons; (C) any violation of any Environmental Laws by the Seller, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC at or under any of the Properties (as defined below) which, occurred on or before or existed as of the Closing Date; and (D) any post-Closing Date liabilities arising from any such pre-Closing Date violation or presence, Release, threat of Release or exposure.

               (iii) the term "Properties" means any property currently or formerly owned, occupied, or leased by the Seller, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC or their respective Affiliates.

               (iv) the term "First Party Environmental Claim" means any claim, action, or proceeding, made or brought by any Buyer Indemnitee asserting either liability or the potential for liability under any Environmental Laws.

          (c) If, after the Closing Date, the Buyer: (i) exacerbates any Release or threatened Release of Hazardous Substances disclosed by the Seller to the Buyer existing on or before the Closing Date (a "Pre-Existing Release") or (ii) exacerbates any violation by the Seller, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC of any Environmental Laws that existed as of the Closing Date (a "Pre-Existing Violation"), then the obligation of the Seller for any Buyer Indemnifiable Losses in respect of any such Pre-Existing Release or Pre-Existing Violation shall be reduced to the extent that the Buyer exacerbated such Pre-Existing Release or Pre-Existing Violation. The Buyer shall not be considered to have exacerbated a Pre-Existing Release or Pre-Existing Violation by having its employees act, in the ordinary course of business, in the same manner as the employees of the Seller, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC acted in the ordinary course of business before the Closing Date (the "Pre-Existing Actions"); provided, however, that the Buyer shall be considered to have exacerbated a Pre-Existing Release or Pre-Existing Violation by its inaction or failure to modify any Pre-Existing Actions to the extent required to comply with any applicable Environmental Laws.

          (d) Notwithstanding any other provision of this Agreement to the contrary, nothing in this Agreement is intended to restrict the Buyer from fulfilling its obligations to take appropriate actions as may be required by applicable Environmental Laws.

          (e) The right of any Buyer Indemnitee to indemnification under this
Section 4.6 shall be in addition to, and not in lieu of, any statutory rights which such Buyer Indemnitee has or may obtain under Environmental Laws.

          (f) For the avoidance of doubt, the Parties agree that the provisions of Section 4.3(c), Section 4.3(d), and all of Section 4.4 shall apply to the indemnity obligations set forth in this Section 4.6; provided, however, that for purposes of applying such provisions to this Section 4.6, (i) all references to the Indemnity Cap contained in such provisions shall be disregarded, and (ii) all references to Direct Claims shall be read to include First Party Environmental Claims.

                                   ARTICLE V
                   REPRESENTATIONS AND WARRANTIES OF THE BUYER

     The Buyer represents and warrants to the Seller as follows:

     Section 5.1 Organization and Qualification.

          (a) Except as set forth in Section 5.1 of the schedule delivered by the Buyer to the Seller on the date hereof and attached to this Agreement (the "Buyer Disclosure Schedule") the Buyer is a corporation duly organized, validly existing and in good standing under the laws of its jurisdiction of incorporation, has all requisite power and authority to own, lease and operate its assets and properties to the extent owned, leased and operated and to carry on its business as it is now being conducted and is duly qualified to do business in each jurisdiction in which the nature of its business or the ownership or leasing of its assets and properties makes such qualification necessary other than in such jurisdictions where the failure to be in good standing or be so qualified is not reasonably likely to have a Buyer Material Adverse Effect (as defined in Section 5.1(b)).

          (b) As used in this Agreement, the term "Buyer Material Adverse Effect" shall mean any material adverse effect on the business, assets, financial condition or results of operations of the Buyer, taken as a whole, totaling in each instance $100,000; provided, however, that the term "Buyer Material Adverse Effect" shall not include (i) any such effect resulting from any change in law, rule, or regulation of any Governmental Authority that applies generally to similarly situated Persons, or (ii) effects relating to or resulting from general changes in the industries in which the Buyer operates its assets or conducts its business.

     Section 5.2 Authority; Non-Contravention; Statutory Approvals; Compliance.

          (a) Authority. The Buyer has all requisite corporate power and authority (i) to enter into this Agreement and (ii) subject to the receipt of the applicable Buyer Required Statutory Approvals (as defined in Section 5.2(c)) and applicable Buyer Required Consents (as defined in Section 5.2(b)), to consummate the transactions contemplated hereby. The execution and delivery of this Agreement and the consummation by the Buyer of the transactions contemplated hereby have been duly authorized by all necessary corporate action on the part of the Buyer. No vote of, or consent by, the holders of any class or series of stock issued by the Buyer is necessary to authorize the execution and delivery by the Buyer of this Agreement or the consummation by the Buyer of the transactions contemplated hereby. This Agreement has been duly executed and delivered by the Buyer and, assuming the due authorization, execution and delivery hereof by the Seller, constitutes the valid and binding obligation of the Buyer enforceable against it in accordance with its terms, subject to bankruptcy, insolvency, fraudulent
transfer, reorganization, moratorium and similar laws of general applicability relating to or affecting creditors' rights and to general equity principles.

          (b) Non-Contravention. Except as set forth in Section 5.2(b)(i) of the Buyer Disclosure Schedule, the execution and delivery of this Agreement by the Buyer does not, and the consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby will not, result in a Violation pursuant to any provisions of (i) the articles of incorporation, by-laws or similar governing documents of the Buyer, (ii) subject to obtaining the Buyer Required Statutory Approvals, any statute, law, ordinance, rule, regulation, judgment, decree, order, injunction, writ, permit or license of any Governmental Authority applicable to the Buyer or any of its properties or assets, or (iii) subject to obtaining the third-party consents set forth in Section 5.2(b)(iii) of the Buyer Disclosure Schedule (the "Buyer Required Consents"), any note, bond, mortgage, indenture, deed of trust, license, franchise, permit, concession, contract, lease or other instrument, obligation or agreement of any kind to which the Buyer is a party or by which it or any of its properties or assets may be bound or affected, except in the case of clause (ii) or (iii) for any such Violation which is not reasonably likely to have a Buyer Material Adverse Effect.

          (c) Statutory Approvals. Except as described in Section 5.2(c) of the Buyer Disclosure Schedule (the "Buyer Required Statutory Approvals"), no declaration, filing or registration with, or notice to or authorization, consent or approval of, any Governmental Authority is necessary for the execution and delivery of this Agreement by the Buyer or the consummation by the Buyer of the transactions contemplated hereby, except those which the failure to obtain is not reasonably likely to result in a Buyer Material Adverse Effect (it being understood that references in this Agreement to "obtaining" such Buyer Required Statutory Approvals shall mean (i) making such declarations, filings or registrations; (ii) giving such notices; (iii) obtaining such authorizations, consents or approvals; (iv) having such waiting periods expire as are necessary to avoid a violation of law; and (v) having any applicable appeals period expire without any appeal being filed, or if such an appeal is filed, such appeal is fully and finally dismissed without the opportunity for further appeal).

          (d) Compliance. (i) Except as set forth in Section 5.2(d)(i) or
Section 5.3 of the Buyer Disclosure Schedule, or as disclosed in the Birmingham SEC Reports (as defined below) filed prior to the date hereof, the Buyer is not in violation of nor has been given notice of or been charged with any violation of, or to the knowledge of the Buyer is under investigation with respect to any violation of any law, statute, order, rule, regulation, ordinance, tariff, rate or judgment of any Governmental Authority, except for possible violations which are not reasonably likely to have a Buyer Material Adverse Effect or to prevent, materially delay or materially impair the Buyer's ability to consummate the transactions contemplated by this Agreement. (ii) Except as set forth in Section 5.2(d)(ii) of the Buyer Disclosure Schedule or as disclosed in the Birmingham SEC Reports filed prior to the date hereof, the Buyer has all permits, licenses, franchises and other governmental authorizations, consents and approvals necessary to conduct its business as presently conducted except those that the absence of which are not reasonably likely to have a Buyer Material Adverse Effect or to prevent, materially delay or materially impair the ability of the Buyer to consummate the transactions contemplated by this Agreement. (iii) Except as set forth in Section 5.2(d)(iii) of the Buyer Disclosure Schedule, the Buyer is not in breach or violation of or in default in the performance or observance of any term or provision of, and no event has occurred which, with lapse of time or action by a third party,
could result in a default by the Buyer under (i) its articles of incorporation or by-laws or (ii) any contract, commitment, agreement, indenture, mortgage, loan agreement, note, lease, bond, license, approval or other instrument to which it is a party or by which the Buyer is bound or to which any of its property is subject, except for possible violations, breaches or defaults which are not reasonably likely to have a Buyer Material Adverse Effect or to prevent, materially delay or materially impair the Buyer's ability to consummate the transactions contemplated by this Agreement. (iv) As used in this Agreement, the term "Birmingham SEC Reports" shall mean each report, schedule, registration statement and definitive proxy statement filed with the SEC by Birmingham, since December 31, 1999, pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Act or the Exchange Act.

     Section 5.3 Litigation. Except as set forth in Section 5.3 of the Buyer Disclosure Schedule, (a) there are no claims, suits, actions or proceedings before any court, governmental department, commission, agency, instrumentality or authority or any arbitrator, pending or, to the knowledge of the Buyer, threatened, nor are there, to the knowledge of the Buyer, any investigations or reviews by any court, governmental department, commission, agency, instrumentality or authority or any arbitrator pending or threatened against, relating to or affecting the Buyer, and (b) there are no judgments, decrees, injunctions, rules or orders of any court, governmental department, commission, agency, instrumentality or authority or any arbitrator applicable to the Buyer except, in the case of both clause (a) and clause (b), for such that are not reasonably likely to have a Buyer Material Adverse Effect or reasonably likely to prevent, materially delay or materially impair the Buyer's ability to consummate the transactions contemplated by this Agreement.

     Section 5.4 Investigation by the Buyer; the Seller's Liability. The Buyer has conducted its own independent investigation, review and analysis of the business, operations, assets, liabilities, results of operations, financial condition, software, technology and prospects of the Company, which investigation, review and analysis was done by the Buyer and, to the extent the Buyer deemed appropriate, by the officers, directors, employees, accountants, counsel, investment bankers, financial advisors and other representatives (collectively, "Representatives") of the Buyer. In entering into this Agreement, the Buyer acknowledges that it has relied solely upon the aforementioned investigation, review and analysis and not on any factual representations of the Seller or the Seller's Representatives (except the specific representations and warranties of the Seller set forth in Article III of this Agreement and the Seller Disclosure Schedule), and the Buyer:

          (a) acknowledges that none of the Seller, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC or any of their respective directors, officers, shareholders, employees, Affiliates, agents, advisors or Representatives makes or has made any representation or warranty, either express or implied, as to the accuracy or completeness of any of the information (including in materials furnished in the Seller's data room, in presentations by the Seller's management, on site visits or otherwise) provided or made available to the Buyer or its directors, officers, employees, Affiliates, advisors, agents or Representatives, and

          (b) agrees, to the fullest extent permitted by law, that none of the Seller, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC or any of their respective directors, officers, employees, shareholders, Affiliates, agents, advisors or Representatives shall have any liability or responsibility whatsoever to the Buyer or its directors, officers, employees, Affiliates, agents or Representatives on any basis (including in contract or tort, under federal or state securities laws or otherwise) based upon any information provided or made available, or statements made (including in materials furnished in the Seller's data room, in presentations by the Seller's management, on site visits or otherwise) to the Buyer or its directors, officers, employees, Affiliates, advisors, agents or Representatives (or any omissions therefrom), including in respect of the specific representations and warranties of the Seller set forth in this Agreement, except that the foregoing limitations shall not apply to (i) fraud or willful breach of this Agreement by the Seller, or
(ii) the Seller insofar as the Seller makes the specific representations and warranties set forth in Article III of this Agreement or the Seller Disclosure Schedule but always subject to the limitations and restrictions contained in Articles IV and X.

     Section 5.5 Acquisition of Shares; Ability to Evaluate and Bear Risk.

          (a) The Buyer is acquiring the Shares for investment and not with a view toward, or for sale in connection with, any distribution thereof, nor with any present intention of distributing or selling the Shares. The Buyer acknowledges that the Shares have not been registered under the Securities Act and agrees that the Shares may not be sold, transferred, offered for sale, pledged, hypothecated or otherwise disposed of without registration under the Securities Act and any applicable state securities laws, except pursuant to an exemption from such registration under the Securities Act and any applicable state securities laws.

          (b) The Buyer is able to bear the economic risk of holding the Shares for an indefinite period, and has knowledge and experience in financial and business matters such that it is capable of evaluating the risks of the investment in the Shares.

     Section 5.6 Financing. The Buyer has or will have available, prior to the Closing, sufficient cash in immediately available funds to pay the Purchase Price pursuant to Article I hereof and to consummate the transactions contemplated hereby.

     Section 5.7 Brokers or Finders. The Buyer has not entered into any agreement or arrangement entitling any agent, broker, investment banker, financial advisor or other firm or Person to any broker's or finder's fee or any other commission or similar fee in connection with any of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement.

                                   ARTICLE VI
                     CONDUCT OF BUSINESS PENDING THE CLOSING

     Section 6.1 Covenants of the Seller. The Parties acknowledge that, pursuant to the AquaSource Purchase Agreement, the Seller will acquire from AquaSource, Inc. and DQE, Inc. the Shares and the Integrated Assets. Pursuant to this Agreement, the Seller has agreed to sell to the Buyer the Shares and the Integrated Assets. The Buyer further acknowledges that, as of the date of this Agreement, the Seller does not own the Shares or the Integrated Assets and that the covenants contained in this Section 6.1 are the covenants which AquaSource, Inc. and

DQE, Inc. made to the Seller in the AquaSource Purchase Agreement. Based upon the foregoing, the Seller agrees, after the date hereof and prior to the Closing Date or earlier termination of this Agreement, that, except as set forth in
Section 6.1 of the Seller Disclosure Schedule and except as expressly contemplated in or permitted by (i) this Agreement, (ii) the budget for the Company in the form delivered to the Buyer by the Seller on May 2, 2003 (as the same may be amended from time to time, but only to the extent that any such amendments do not result, or are not reasonably likely to result, in a Company Material Adverse Effect, the "Budget"), or (iii) to the extent the Buyer shall otherwise consent in advance in writing, which decision regarding consent shall be made as soon as reasonably practical, and which consent shall not be unreasonably withheld, conditioned or delayed:

          (a) the business of the Company shall be conducted in the ordinary and usual course in substantially the same manner as heretofore conducted, in material compliance with all applicable laws, statutes, ordinances and regulations, and, to the extent consistent therewith, each of the Seller, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, and, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations and Utility shall use its respective commercially reasonable efforts to preserve its business organization intact and maintain its existing Contracts, relations and goodwill with customers, suppliers, creditors, regulators, lessors, employees and business associates;

          (b) each of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC shall not (i) amend its articles of incorporation or by-laws; (ii) split, combine or reclassify its outstanding shares of capital stock; or (iii) declare, set aside or pay any dividend payable in cash, stock or property in respect of any of its capital stock;

          (c) neither Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, nor ECRWC shall (i) issue, sell, pledge, dispose of or encumber any shares of, or securities convertible into or exchangeable or exercisable for, or options, warrants, calls, commitments or rights of any kind to acquire, any shares of its capital stock of any class or any other property or assets; (ii) transfer, lease, license, guarantee, sell, mortgage, pledge, dispose of or encumber any other property or assets or incur or modify any indebtedness or other liability; or (iii) make any commitments for, make or authorize any capital expenditures (other than (A) those contemplated by the Budget, (B) capital expenditures not in excess of $1,000,000 in the aggregate incurred in connection with the repair or replacement of facilities destroyed or damaged due to casualty or accident (to the extent not covered by insurance), (C) as required by law or by any consent agreement with a Governmental Authority by which the Seller, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC, or its or their assets, is bound, or (D) in amounts less than $500,000 individually and $1,000,000 in the aggregate in any calendar year); or (iv) make any acquisition of, or investment in, assets or stock of any other Person or entity in excess of $500,000 in the aggregate in any calendar year;

          (d) neither the Seller, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, nor ECRWC, shall terminate, establish, adopt, enter into, make any new grants or awards of stock-based compensation or other benefits under, amend or otherwise modify any Company Plan or increase the salary, wage, bonus or other compensation of any directors, officers or employees except (i) for grants or awards to directors, officers and employees under existing Company Plans in such amounts and on such terms as are consistent with past practice, (ii) in the normal and usual course of business (which shall include normal periodic performance reviews and related plans and the provision of individual Company Plans consistent with past practice for newly hired or appointed officers and employees), or (iii) for actions necessary to satisfy existing contractual obligations under Company Plans existing as of the date hereof; provided, however, that the Seller shall have satisfied its obligations with respect to the Company Plans under this provision if the Seller maintains the Company Plans in such a manner as to comply with this provision;

          (e) the Seller, on behalf of the Company, shall maintain insurance in such amounts and against such risks and losses as are consistent with the insurance heretofore maintained by Seller, on behalf of the Company;

          (f) the Seller shall promptly provide the Buyer with copies of all filings (including the PSC SEC Reports) made by the Seller, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC, with, and inform the Buyer of any communications received from, any state or federal court, administrative agency, commission or other Governmental Authority (including, but not limited to, the
SEC), in connection with this Agreement or the transactions contemplated hereby;

          (g) the Seller shall, and shall cause Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, and ECRWC, to, use all commercially reasonable efforts to promptly obtain all of the Seller Required Consents and the Seller Required Statutory Approvals. The Seller shall promptly notify the Buyer of any failure or prospective failure to obtain any such consents or approvals and shall promptly provide to the Buyer copies of all of the Seller Required Consents and the Seller Required Statutory Approvals obtained by the Seller, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, and ECRWC;

          (h) the Seller shall promptly provide the Buyer with copies of all notices of violation or proposed investigations involving the violation of any Environmental Laws by the Seller or the Company, and inform the Buyer of any communications received from, any state or federal court, administrative agency, commission or other Governmental Authority in connection with any such notice of violation or investigation;

          (i) the Seller shall promptly provide the Buyer with copies of all pleadings in any lawsuit, administrative action, equity action or other legal proceeding involving the Seller (in respect of the Company) or the Company with an amount in controversy in excess of $50,000;

          (j) the Seller shall cause the Company to not enter into any contract or obligation extending beyond December 31, 2003 except for (i) the renewal or replacement of the Contracts included in the Integrated Assets on substantially similar or other commercially reasonable terms and conditions and (ii) other contract or obligations with an annualized value or liability not in excess of $25,000 unless the Buyer shall have first been provided a copy of such contract or obligation and a reasonable opportunity to comment on such contract or obligation prior to it becoming binding on the Company;

          (k) the Seller shall not, and the Seller shall not permit any of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks or ECRWC to, willfully take any action that would or is reasonably likely to result in a material breach of any provision of this Agreement, or in any of its representations and warranties set forth in this Agreement being untrue on and as of the Closing Date, or to unduly delay the Closing;

          (l) the Seller shall cause Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC to accrue on their books any accrued and unpaid salary, bonus, vacation or other amounts due Affected Employees (as defined in Section 7.6(a)) for service up to and including the Closing, except for such salary, bonus, vacation or other amounts that are, or will be, paid by the Seller no later than thirty (30) calendar days following the Closing Date;

          (m) the Seller shall use all commercially reasonable efforts to remedy the failures of it or the Company to be duly qualified, validly existing and in good standing as disclosed in Section 3.1(a) of the Seller Disclosure Schedule; and

          (n) the Seller shall not, and the Seller shall not permit any of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, Operations or Utility to remove any of the Integrated Assets from Connecticut or New York in an amount in excess of $200,000 in the aggregate.

     Section 6.2 Covenants of the Buyer. After the date hereof and prior to the Closing Date or earlier termination of this Agreement, the Buyer agrees as follows except as expressly contemplated or permitted in this Agreement or to the extent the Seller shall otherwise consent in writing, which decision regarding consent shall be made as soon as reasonably practical, and which consent shall not be unreasonably withheld, conditioned or delayed:

          (a) The Buyer shall promptly provide the Seller with copies of all filings (including the Birmingham SEC Reports) made by the Buyer with, and inform the Seller of any communications received from, any state or federal court, administrative agency, commission or other Governmental Authority (including, but not limited to, the SEC) in connection with this Agreement and the transactions contemplated hereby;

          (b) The Buyer shall use all commercially reasonable efforts to promptly obtain all of the Buyer Required Consents and the Buyer Required Statutory Approvals. The Buyer shall promptly notify the Seller of any failure or prospective failure to obtain any such consents or approvals and shall provide to the Seller copies of all of the Buyer Required Consents and the Buyer Required Statutory Approvals obtained by the Buyer to the Seller; and

          (c) The Buyer shall not willfully take any action that would or is reasonably likely to result in a material breach of any provision of this Agreement or in any of its representations and warranties set forth in this Agreement being untrue on and as of the Closing Date or to unduly delay the Closing.

                                  ARTICLE VII
                              ADDITIONAL AGREEMENTS

     Section 7.1 Access to Company Information and Cooperation.

          (a) The Parties acknowledge that, pursuant to the AquaSource Purchase Agreement, the Seller has limited rights of access to information concerning the Company and employees of the Company. Notwithstanding the foregoing, the Seller shall use all commercially reasonable efforts, upon reasonable notice, to, or shall cause Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, Utility, and Operations to, afford to the Representatives of the Buyer reasonable access, during normal business hours throughout the period prior to the Closing Date, to all of the Seller's (in respect of the Company), Dykeer's, Cambridge's, Kingsvale's, Waccabuc's, Wild Oaks', or ECRWC's properties, books, contracts, commitments and records (including, but not limited to, Tax Returns) and, during such period, the Seller shall, and shall cause Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, and ECRWC, to, promptly furnish to the Buyer and its Representatives, (i) access to each report, schedule and other document filed or received by the Seller (in respect of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC), pursuant to the requirements of federal or state securities laws or filed with or sent to any federal or state regulatory agency or commission and (ii) access to all information concerning the Seller (in respect of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC or the Integrated Assets), and its or their respective directors and officers and such other matters as may be reasonably requested by the Buyer or its Representatives in connection with any filings, applications or approvals required or contemplated by this Agreement or for any other reason related to the transactions contemplated by this Agreement; provided, however, that (i) any such access shall be granted only in such a manner as not to unreasonably interfere with the Seller's business operations in respect of the Company or otherwise, (ii) upon being granted such access, the Buyer shall not unreasonably interfere with the Seller's business operations in respect of the Company or otherwise, (iii) in granting any such access the Seller, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, and ECRWC, shall not be required to take any action that would constitute a waiver of any legal privilege, including the attorney-client privilege, the work product privilege and the self critical investigation privilege, and (iv) in granting any such access, the Seller, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, and ECRWC shall not be required to provide the Buyer with access to any information which the Seller, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC, is under a legal or contractual obligation to withhold from disclosure. The Buyer shall hold in strict confidence all documents and information concerning the Seller or the Company furnished or made available to it in connection with the transactions contemplated by this Agreement in accordance with (i) the Confidentiality Agreement, dated December 30, 2002, entered into by and between PSC and Birmingham, (ii) the Confidentiality Agreement, dated May 22, 2002, entered into by and between Birmingham and DQE, Inc., and (iii) the Acknowledgment and Amendment, dated March 3, 2003, entered into by and between Birmingham and DQE, Inc. (the foregoing agreements are collectively referred to herein as the "Confidentiality Agreements").

          (b) Between the date hereof and the Closing Date, the Parties shall reasonably cooperate with one another so as to inform one another of the condition of the Company and the status of the transactions contemplated by this Agreement. Toward that end,
the Parties shall each appoint an officer-level employee to serve as the head of their transition team and shall use commercially reasonable efforts to hold regular meetings and/or conference calls so that the members of the Seller's and the Buyer's management and transition teams may discuss the Company and the transactions contemplated by this Agreement.

     Section 7.2 Regulatory Approvals. The Seller and the Buyer shall cooperate and use all commercially reasonable efforts to promptly prepare and file all necessary documentation, to effect all necessary applications, notices, petitions, filings and other documents, and to use all commercially reasonable efforts to obtain all necessary permits, consents, approvals and authorizations of all Governmental Authorities necessary or advisable to obtain the Seller Required Statutory Approvals and the Buyer Required Statutory Approvals; provided, however, that the Seller and the Buyer shall cooperate and use all commercially reasonable efforts to prepare and file any such applications, notices, petitions, filings and other documents within sixty (60) calendar days after the date hereof and shall thereafter cooperate to diligently prosecute all such applications, notices, petitions, filings and other documents. To the extent any such applications, notices, petitions, filings or other documents require an allocation of the Purchase Price among the assets of the Company, the Seller and the Buyer shall make any such allocation in a manner that is consistent with any allocations made pursuant to Section 7.9 hereof. The Buyer shall be precluded from including in any application for regulatory approval contingencies relating to rate treatment of acquisition premiums.

     Section 7.3 Consents. The Seller and the Buyer agree to use all commercially reasonable efforts to obtain the Seller Required Consents and the Buyer Required Consents, respectively, and to cooperate with each other in connection with the foregoing.

     Section 7.4 Directors' and Officers' Indemnification.

          (a) Indemnification. To the fullest extent permitted by law, from and after the Closing Date, all rights to indemnification existing immediately prior to the Closing in favor of the current and former employees, agents, directors or officers of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC and, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations and Utility (each, a "Company Indemnified Party" and, collectively, the "Company Indemnified Parties") with respect to their activities as such prior to or on the Closing Date, as provided in the Seller's, Dykeer's, Cambridge's, Kingsvale's, Waccabuc's, Wild Oaks', and ECRWC's, respective articles of incorporation, by-laws, other organizational documents or indemnification agreements in effect on the date of such activities or otherwise in effect on the date hereof, shall survive the Closing and shall continue in full force and effect for a period of not less than six (6) years from the Closing Date, provided that, in the event any claim or claims are asserted or made within such six (6) year period, all such rights to indemnification in respect of any claim or claims shall continue until final disposition of such claim or claims and provided further that, the Buyer's indemnity obligation for a particular claim hereunder shall be reduced in respect of any Company Indemnified Party asserting such claim to the extent of any insurance proceeds actually received by such Company Indemnified Party in respect of such claim.

          (b) Successors. In the event that after the Closing Date, the Buyer, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC, or any of their successors or assigns (i) consolidates with or merges into any other Person or entity and shall not be the
continuing or surviving corporation or entity of such consolidation or merger or
(ii) transfers all or substantially all of its properties and assets to any Person or entity, then and in either such case, proper provisions shall be made so that the successors and assigns of the Buyer, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC, as the case may be, shall assume the respective obligations of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC, as the case may be, set forth in this Section 7.4.

          (c) Benefit. The provisions of this Section 7.4 are intended to be for the benefit of, and shall be enforceable by, each Company Indemnified Party, his or her heirs and his or her representatives.

     Section 7.5 Public Announcements. The Buyer and the Seller shall consult with each other before issuing any press release with respect to this Agreement and the transactions contemplated hereby and shall not issue any such press release or make any such written public statement without the prior written consent of the other Party, which shall not be unreasonably withheld, delayed or conditioned, provided, however, that a Party may, without the prior written consent of the other Party, issue such press release or make such written public statement as the Party may determine, in good faith after consultation with counsel, is required by law or by obligations pursuant to any listing agreement with or rules of any national securities exchange, if it has used all commercially reasonable efforts to consult with the other Party.

     Section 7.6 Workforce Matters.

          (a) The Buyer will make offers of employment, effective as of the Closing, to those employees of the Seller or the Seller's Affiliates identified by mutual written agreement of the Seller and the Buyer as Affected Employees (such individuals the "Affected Employees " such that such Affected Employees do not suffer an "employment loss" under the WARN Act (as defined below) as a result of such offers. The Buyer and the Seller acknowledge that if the Buyer makes "appropriate offers" to all Affected Employees, none of such Affected Employees will suffer an "employment loss" as defined under the WARN Act. As used in this Agreement, the term "WARN Act" shall mean the Worker Adjustment and Retraining Notification Act. In connection with the hiring process for Affected Employees, the Buyer shall comply with applicable laws pertaining to labor and employment, including, without limitation, Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, the Age Discrimination in Employment Act, the Americans With Disabilities Act, the Rehabilitation Act and comparable state and local laws. If any Affected Employee is not hired by the Buyer as of the Closing or if the Buyer terminates such Affected Employee's employment as of or after the Closing other than for cause, then the Buyer shall be responsible for any and all severance costs for all such Affected Employees, including payments owing under those agreements, plans or arrangements listed in Section 3.9(a) of the Seller Disclosure Schedule; provided, however, that if any Affected Employee fails or refuses to accept an appropriate offer or voluntarily terminates his or her employment with the Buyer on or after the Closing, the Buyer shall have no liability for severance costs, including but not limited to the payments owing under the agreements, plans, or arrangements listed in Section 3.9(a) of the Seller Disclosure Schedule. As between the Seller and the Buyer, the Seller shall not be obligated to provide any severance or separation pay benefits to any Affected Employee on account of any termination of such Affected Employee's employment on or after the Closing Date. The Buyer shall not be responsible for providing any
compensation or severance benefits to any employee of the Seller or its Affiliates other than benefits payable in respect of Affected Employees in accordance with this Section 7.6(a). The Buyer shall be responsible for providing any continuation coverage required under the Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1985, as amended ("COBRA"), in respect of Affected Employees who experience a qualifying event (within the meaning of COBRA) before, or on the Closing Date. The Seller shall be responsible for any notices required to be given under, or otherwise comply with, the WARN Act or similar statutes or regulations of any jurisdiction relating to any "plant closing" or "mass layoff" or similar triggering event ordered by the Seller with respect to the Affected Employees prior to the Closing Date. The Buyer shall be responsible for any notices required to be given under, or otherwise comply with, the WARN Act or similar statutes or regulations of any jurisdiction relating to any "plant closing" or "mass layoff" or similar triggering event ordered by the Buyer with respect to the Affected Employees on and after the Closing Date. For the avoidance of doubt, for purposes here, the Parties intend for the "effective date" within the meaning of the WARN Act to refer to and mean the Closing Date. To the extent possible, the Buyer and the Seller agree to treat the Buyer as a "successor employer" and the Seller or one or more of its Affiliates as a "predecessor employer" within the meaning of Sections 3121(a)(1) and 3306(b)(1) of the Code, with respect to Affected Employees, for purposes of Taxes imposed under the United States Federal Unemployment Tax or the United States Federal Insurance Contributions Act.

          (b) The Buyer expressly agrees that without the Seller's consent, (i) from the date hereof until the first (1st) anniversary of the Closing Date, it will not directly solicit for employment or employ any employees of the Seller who are not Affected Employees, and (ii) from the Closing Date until the first
(1st) anniversary of the Closing Date, it will cause the Company not to directly solicit for employment or employ any employees of the Seller who are not Affected Employees; provided that nothing herein shall prohibit the Buyer or any of its Affiliates from placing advertisements for employment in any medium. The Seller expressly agrees that without the Buyer's consent, (i) from the date hereof until the first (1st) anniversary of the Closing Date, it will not directly solicit for employment any of the Affected Employees or employ after the Closing Date any of the Affected Employees actually hired by the Buyer, and
(ii) from the Closing Date until the first (1st) anniversary of the Closing Date, it will cause its Affiliates to not, and require in any agreement entered into for the sale of any of its operations that any purchaser of such operations will not, directly solicit for employment any of the Affected Employees or employ after the Closing Date any of the Affected Employees actually hired by the Buyer; provided that nothing herein shall prohibit the Seller or any of its Affiliates or any purchaser of the Seller's operations from placing advertisements for employment in any medium.

     Section 7.7 Employee Benefit Plans.

          (a) Continued Employment; Service Credit. Except as otherwise expressly provided herein, the Buyer shall not assume any Company Plan, nor shall there be any transfer of assets or liabilities of any Company Plan to any plan, program or arrangement maintained by the Buyer or any of its Affiliates. If any Affected Employee becomes a participant in any employee benefit plan, practice or policy of the Buyer or any of its Affiliates, such Affected Employee shall be given credit under such plan for all service prior to the Closing Date with the Company, any of its Affiliates, any ERISA Affiliate or any predecessor employer
to the extent such credit was given by the Company, any of its Affiliates, any ERISA Affiliate or any predecessor employer under a Company Plan, and all service with the Buyer or any of its Affiliates on and after the Closing Date but prior to the time such Affected Employee becomes such a participant, for purposes of determining eligibility and vesting and for purposes of severance and vacation. As of the Closing, the Company and its Affiliates shall cease to provide coverage and benefits for Affected Employees and their dependents and beneficiaries under any benefit plan maintained by the Seller or any of its respective Affiliates, except as required by applicable law.

          (b) Continuation of Agreements. Section 7.7(b) of the Seller Disclosure Schedule lists all contracts, agreements and commitments of the Seller, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC in effect as of the date hereof that apply to any Affected Employee (each, a "Section 7.7(b) Agreement"). The Buyer shall, and shall cause Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, and ECRWC, to assume and honor each Section 7.7(b) Agreement in accordance with its terms except that Buyer shall have no liability or obligation with respect to any breach or default by Seller of any Section 7.7(b) Agreement that occurred prior to or at Closing; provided, however, that this undertaking is not intended to prevent the Seller, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, or ECRWC, from enforcing a Section 7.7(b) Agreement in accordance with its terms, including, without limitation, any reserved right to amend, modify, suspend, revoke or terminate the Section 7.7(b) Agreement or portion thereof.

     Section 7.8 Tax Treatment.

          (a) Neither the Seller nor the Buyer shall make or file any election under Section 338 of the Code or any corresponding provision of state or local Tax law with respect to the purchase of the Shares.

          (b) Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, and ECRWC will each elect under Section 168(k)(2)(C)(iii) of the Code not to deduct additional first (1st) year depreciation for any water utility property placed in service during taxable years that include any period from September 11, 2001 through the Closing Date.

     Section 7.9 Allocation of Consideration.

          (a) The consideration attributable to the purchase of the Shares and the Integrated Assets shall be allocated among the Shares and the Integrated Assets as set forth in Exhibit 1.2(a) and Exhibit 1.2(b) hereto. Within thirty
(30) calendar days after the determination of the adjustments pursuant to
Article I, the Seller shall deliver to the Buyer a schedule (the "Adjustment Schedule") allocating said adjustments among the Shares and the Integrated Assets.

          (b) The Buyer may dispute any allocation set forth on the Adjustment Schedule; provided, however, that (i) the Buyer shall not dispute any of the original allocations set forth in Exhibit 1.2(a) and Exhibit 1.2(b) and (ii) the Buyer shall notify the Seller in writing (the "Allocation Dispute Notice") of each disputed item, specifying the allocation in dispute and setting forth, in reasonable detail, the basis for such dispute within thirty (30) calendar days of the Buyer's receipt of the Adjustment Schedule. The Buyer shall submit only one Allocation

Dispute Notice containing all disputed allocations. In the event of such a dispute, the Buyer and the Seller shall attempt to reconcile their differences and any resolution by them as to any disputed allocations shall be final, binding and conclusive. If the Buyer and the Seller are unable to reach a resolution with such effect within thirty (30) calendar days of the receipt by the Seller of the Allocation Dispute Notice, the Buyer and the Seller shall submit the items remaining in dispute for resolution to a nationally recognized accounting firm, mutually acceptable to both the Seller and the Buyer, which shall, within thirty (30) calendar days after submission, determine and report to the Parties upon such remaining disputed allocations, and such report shall be final, binding and conclusive on the Parties hereto. All costs and expenses of the nationally recognized accounting firm relating to the disputed allocations shall be borne equally by the Buyer and the Seller.

     Section 7.10 Tax Returns.

          (a) The Seller shall prepare and file, or cause to be prepared and filed, when due all Tax Returns that are required to be filed by or with respect to all or any portion of the Company for taxable years or periods ending on or before the Closing Date. The Buyer shall prepare and file, or cause to be prepared and filed, when due all Tax Returns that are required to be filed by or with respect to all or any portion of the Company for taxable years or periods ending after the Closing Date. Any Tax Return required to be filed by the Buyer relating to any Straddle Period shall be prepared based on past practice and submitted (with copies of any relevant schedules, work papers and other documentation then available) to the Seller for the Seller's approval not less than thirty (30) calendar days prior to the due date for the filing of such Tax Return, which approval shall not be unreasonably withheld, conditioned or delayed. The Seller and the Buyer shall make available all books and records and cooperate with each other as reasonably necessary for the preparation and filing of any Tax Returns relating to all or any portion of the Company.

          (b) There are no Tax sharing agreements or arrangements that exist between the Company and the Seller or its Affiliates.

     Section 7.11 Transfer Taxes. Notwithstanding any other provision of this Agreement to the contrary, the Buyer and the Seller shall bear equally (a) all transfer (including real property transfer and documentary transfer) Taxes and fees imposed with respect to the transactions contemplated hereby and (b) all sales, use, gains (including state and local transfer gains, but not including any income, capital gains, or any other Tax imposed on the Seller with respect to any profits or gains recognized by the Seller as a result of the transactions contemplated hereby), excise and other transfer or similar Taxes imposed with respect to the transactions contemplated hereby. The Seller shall execute and deliver to the Buyer, and the Buyer shall execute and deliver to the Seller at the Closing any certificates or other documents as the requesting Party may reasonably request in order to perfect any exemption from any such transfer, documentary, sales, use, gains, excise or other Taxes, or to otherwise comply with any applicable reporting requirements with respect to any such Taxes.

     Section 7.12 Financial Information.

          (a) After the Closing, upon reasonable written notice, the Buyer and the Seller shall furnish or cause to be furnished to each other and their respective accountants, counsel and other Representatives, during normal business hours, such information (including records pertinent to the Company) as is reasonably necessary for financial reporting and accounting matters; provided however, that all such information shall be subject to the Confidentiality Agreements.

          (b) The Buyer shall retain all of the books and records of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC and the Integrated Assets, for a period of ten (10) years after the Closing Date or such longer time as may be required by law. After the end of such period, before disposing of such books or records, the Buyer shall give notice to such effect to the Seller and give the Seller an opportunity to remove and retain all or any part of such books or records as the Seller may select at Seller's expense.

     Section 7.13 Transition Services.

          (a) Upon the execution by the Parties of this Agreement, the Seller shall cooperate with and provide commercially reasonable assistance to the Buyer, at the sole cost and expense of the Buyer, such that the Buyer can transition and integrate the services previously utilized by the Company to such systems and in such a manner as the Buyer reasonably desires, including, but not limited to: (i) accounting services (specifically the Lawson System), (ii) information technology services, and (iii) data processing services (collectively, the "Seller Transition Services"), provided, however, that in no event shall the Seller be obligated to provide such Seller Transition Services for a period of time that exceeds the date that is three (3) months from the Closing Date.

          (b) Upon the execution by the Parties of this Agreement, the Buyer shall cooperate with and provide commercially reasonable assistance to the Seller, at the sole cost and expense of the Seller, such that the Seller can transition and integrate the services previously utilized by the Company to such systems and in such a manner as the Seller reasonably desires, including, but not limited to: (i) accounting services (specifically the Lawson System), (ii) information technology services, and (iii) data processing services (collectively, the "Buyer Transition Services"), provided, however, that in no event shall the Buyer be obligated to provide such Buyer Transition Services for a period of time that exceeds the date that is three (3) months from the Closing Date.

     Section 7.14 Update of the Seller Disclosure Schedule. The Seller may from time to time prior to or on the Closing Date by notice in accordance with this Agreement supplement or amend in writing the Seller Disclosure Schedule, including one or more supplements or amendments to correct any matter that would otherwise constitute a breach of any representation, warranty or covenant contained herein. If the Seller Disclosure Schedule is updated pursuant to this provision so as to disclose additional liabilities (contingent or otherwise) or obligations of the Company or understatements of value of assets that, in the aggregate, exceed $400,000 (except for those liabilities or obligations resulting from (i) any change in law, rule or regulation of any Governmental Authority that applies generally to similarly situated

Persons, and (ii) general changes in the industries in which the Company operates its assets or conducts its business), then the Buyer shall have the right to terminate this Agreement pursuant to Section 9.1(f). Notwithstanding any other provision hereof to the contrary, the Seller Disclosure Schedule and the representations and warranties made by the Seller shall be deemed for all purposes to include and reflect such supplements and amendments as of the date hereof and at all times thereafter, including the Closing Date.

     Section 7.15 Governmental Taking.

          (a) Between the date hereof and the Closing Date, the Seller shall immediately notify the Buyer if a Governmental Authority commences condemnation, expropriation, eminent domain or similar proceedings affecting all or any portion of any real property, franchise, service territory or operations of the Company (a "Condemnation Proceeding"). The Seller shall not enter into any Condemnation Proceeding settlement with the Governmental Authority that commences such Condemnation Proceeding without the prior written consent of the Buyer unless (i) the settlement pays the Seller at least Rate Base as compensation from the Governmental Authority in connection with the subject Condemnation Proceeding, (ii) the Seller shall promptly deposit any monies resulting from any such settlement into a separate escrow account and (iii) the Seller shall promptly cause such monies to be transferred from the Seller to the Company immediately prior to the Closing Date.

          (b) Between the date hereof and the Closing Date, with respect to any Condemnation Proceeding that is not resolved pursuant to a settlement and results in a governmental taking, (i) the Seller shall promptly deposit any monies resulting from any such governmental taking into a separate escrow account and (ii) the Seller shall promptly cause such monies to be transferred from the Seller to the Company immediately prior to the Closing Date.

     Section 7.16 General and Automobile Liability Insurance.

          (a) The Seller agrees to use commercially reasonable efforts to have its general and automobile liability insurance policies for the twenty-four (24) months immediately following the Closing Date endorsed to make the Buyer an additional insured under such policies with respect to occurrences involving the Company and the Integrated Assets occurring during the period the Company, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, were an Affiliate of the Seller; provided, however, that the Seller shall have satisfied its obligations under this provision if the Seller uses commercially reasonable efforts to have its general and automobile liability insurance policies so endorsed.

          (b) The Buyer agrees to use commercially reasonable efforts to have its general and automobile liability insurance policies for the twenty-four (24) months immediately following the Closing Date endorsed to make the Seller an additional insured under such policies with respect to occurrences involving the Company and the Integrated Assets occurring after the Closing Date.

     Section 7.17 Further Assurances. Each Party will, and will cause its Subsidiaries to, execute such further documents or instruments and take such further actions as may reasonably be requested by any other Party in order to consummate the transaction contemplated hereby in accordance with the terms hereof or otherwise perform those obligations required hereunder. In the event that any Integrated Asset to be conveyed, assigned, transferred and delivered hereunder to the Buyer shall not have been so conveyed, assigned, transferred and delivered to the Buyer at the Closing the Parties shall use all commercially reasonable efforts to so convey, assign, transfer and deliver such Integrated Asset to the Buyer and to cause the Buyer to assume all Integrated Liabilities associated therewith as promptly as is practicable following the Closing.

     Section 7.18 Exclusivity. Seller will not, nor will it cause or permit any of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or Operations, to:
(i) solicit, initiate, or encourage the submission of an proposal or offer from any Person relating to the acquisition of any capital stock, or any substantial portion of the assets, of Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or Operations (including any acquisition structured as a merger, consolidation, or share exchange) or (ii) participate in any discussions or negotiations regarding, furnish any information with respect to, assist or participate in, or facilitate in any other manner any effort or attempt by any Person to do or seek any of the foregoing. Each of Seller, Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, and Operations will notify the Buyer immediately if any person makes any proposal, offer, inquiry, or contact with respect to any of the foregoing.

     Section 7.19 Surety Bonds.

          (a) After the Closing, the Buyer shall, and shall cause Dykeer, Cambridge, Kingsvale, Waccabuc, Wild Oaks, ECRWC, or, with respect to the Integrated Assets, Operations or Utility, to use all commercially reasonable efforts to recover and replace those surety bonds listed in Exhibit 7.19(a) and to have such surety bonds returned to the Seller within ninety (90) calendar days of the Closing Date.

          (b) The Buyer expressly acknowledges that, after the Closing, the Seller may cancel those surety bonds listed in Exhibit 7.19(b) without notice to the Buyer, subject to the terms of the applicable bond documents.

                                  ARTICLE VIII
                                   CONDITIONS

     Section 8.1 Conditions to Each Party's Obligation to Effect the Closing. The respective obligations of each Party to effect the Closing shall be subject to the satisfaction on or prior to the Closing Date of the following conditions, except, to the extent permitted by applicable law, that such conditions may be waived in writing pursuant to Section 10.3 by the joint action of the Parties hereto:

          (a) No Injunction. No application for a temporary restraining order or preliminary or permanent injunction or other order by any federal or state court preventing consummation of the transactions contemplated hereby shall have been applied or petitioned for and not dismissed with prejudice, and the transactions contemplated hereby shall not have been prohibited under any applicable federal or state law or regulation.

          (b) Statutory Approvals. The Seller Required Statutory Approvals and the Buyer Required Statutory Approvals shall have been obtained at or prior to the Closing Date, such approvals shall have become Final Orders (as defined below) and such Final Orders shall not, individually or in the aggregate, impose terms or conditions (other than the preclusion of recovery of an acquisition premium) which would have a material adverse effect on the business, operations, properties, assets, financial condition, or results of operations of the Company and the Buyer taken as a whole. A "Final Order" means action by the relevant regulatory authority which has not been reversed, stayed, enjoined, set aside, annulled or suspended, with respect to which any waiting period prescribed by law before the transactions contemplated hereby may be consummated has expired, as to which all conditions to the consummation of such transactions prescribed by law, regulation or order have been satisfied and having any applicable appeals period expire without any appeal being filed, or if such an appeal is filed, such appeal is fully and finally dismissed without the opportunity for further appeal.

          (c) AquaSource Closing. The closing contemplated by the AquaSource Purchase Agreement shall have occurred.

     Section 8.2 Conditions to Obligation of the Buyer to Effect the Closing. The obligation of the Buyer to effect the Closing shall be further subject to the satisfaction, on or prior to the Closing Date, of the following conditions, except as may be waived by the Buyer in writing pursuant to Section 10.3:

          (a) Performance of Obligations of the Seller. The Seller and/or the Company will have performed in all material respects its agreements and covenants contained in or contemplated by this Agreement which are required to be performed by it at or prior to the Closing Date.

          (b) Representations and Warranties of the Seller. The representations and warranties of the Seller set forth in this Agreement shall be true and correct (i) on and as of the date hereof and (ii) on and as of the Closing Date with the same effect as though such representations and warranties had been made on and as of the Closing Date (except for representations and warranties that expressly speak only as of a specific date or time which need only be true and correct as of such date or time) except in each of cases (i) and (ii) for such failures of representations or warranties to be true and correct (without giving effect to any materiality qualification or standard contained in any such representations and warranties) which would not result in a Company Material Adverse Effect.

          (c) Closing Certificate of the Seller. The Buyer shall have received a certificate signed by a duly authorized officer of the Seller, dated as of the Closing Date, to the effect that, to the best of such officer's knowledge, the conditions set forth in Section 8.2(a) and Section 8.2(b) have been satisfied.

          (d) Material Adverse Effect on the Company. There shall exist no facts or circumstances that would result in a material adverse effect on the business, assets, financial condition or results of operations of the Company totaling, in the aggregate, $450,000 or more other than those facts or circumstances which result from (i) any change in law, rule, or regulation of any Governmental Authority that applies generally to similarly situated Persons, or (ii) general changes in the industries in which the Company operates its assets or conducts its businesses.

          (e) Seller Required Consents. The Seller Required Consents, the failure of which to obtain would have a Company Material Adverse Effect, shall have been obtained.


          (f) Intercompany Debt. There shall be no intercompany indebtedness on the balance sheet of the Company.

          (g) Expenditures. If the aggregate amount of all of the expenditures listed in Section 6.1(c)(iii)(B), Section 6.1(c)(iii)(D), or Section 6.1(c)(iv) exceed $250,000. Section 8.3 Conditions to Obligation of the Seller to Effect the Closing. The obligation of the Seller to effect the Closing shall be further subject to the satisfaction, on or prior to the Closing Date, of the following conditions, except as may be waived by the Seller in writing pursuant to Section 10.3:

          (a) Performance of Obligations of the Buyer. The Buyer will have performed in all material respects its agreements and covenants contained in or contemplated by this Agreement which are required to be performed by it at or prior to the Closing Date.

          (b) Representations and Warranties of the Buyer. The representations and warranties of the Buyer set forth in this Agreement shall be true and correct (i) on and as of the date hereof and (ii) on and as of the Closing Date with the same effect as though such representations and warranties had been made on and as of the Closing Date (except for representations and warranties that expressly speak only as of a specific date or time which need only be true and correct as of such date or time) except in each of cases (i) and (ii) for such failures of representations or warranties to be true and correct (without giving effect to any materiality qualification or standard contained in any such representations and warranties) which would not result in a Buyer Material Adverse Effect.

          (c) Closing Certificates of the Buyer. The Seller shall have received a certificate signed by a duly authorized officer of the Buyer, dated as of the Closing Date, to the effect that, to the best of such officer's knowledge, the conditions set forth in Section 8.3(a) and Section 8.3(b) have been satisfied.

          (d) Buyer Material Adverse Effect. No Buyer Material Adverse Effect shall have occurred and there shall exist no fact or circumstance that would result in a material adverse effect on the business, assets, financial condition or results of operations of the Buyer totaling, in the aggregate, $450,000 or more other than those facts or circumstances which result from (i) any change in law, rule, or regulation of any Governmental Authority that applies generally to similarly situated Persons, or (ii) general changes in the industries in which the Buyer operates its assets or conducts its business.

          (e) Buyer Required Consents. The Buyer Required Consents, the failure of which to obtain would have a Buyer Material Adverse Effect, shall have been obtained.

                                   ARTICLE IX
                                   TERMINATION

     Section 9.1 Termination. This Agreement may be terminated at any time prior to the Closing Date:

          (a) by mutual written consent of the Seller and the Buyer;

          (b) by the Buyer or the Seller, if any state or federal law, order, rule or regulation is adopted or issued, which has the effect, as supported by the written opinion of outside counsel for such Party, of prohibiting the Closing, or by the Buyer or the Seller, if any court of competent jurisdiction in the United States or any state shall have issued an order, judgment or decree permanently restraining, enjoining or otherwise prohibiting the Closing, and, in either case, if such order, rule, regulation, judgment or decree shall have become final and nonappealable;

          (c) by the Buyer or the Seller, by written notice to the other Party, if the Closing Date shall not have occurred on or before December 31, 2003 (the "Initial Termination Date"); provided, however, that the right to terminate this Agreement under this Section 9.1 shall not be available to any Party whose failure (or whose Affiliate's failure) to fulfill any obligation under this Agreement shall have proximately caused the failure of the Closing Date to occur on or before such date; and provided, further, that if on the Initial Termination Date the conditions to the Closing set forth in Sections 8.1(b), 8.1(c), 8.2(e), and/or 8.3(e) shall not have been fulfilled but all other conditions to the Closing shall be fulfilled or shall be capable of being fulfilled, then the Initial Termination Date shall be extended to March 31, 2004;

          (d) by the Buyer, by written notice to the Seller, if there shall have been any breach or breaches of any representations or warranties, or any breach or breaches of any covenants or agreements of the Seller hereunder, which breach or breaches would, taken together, result in a material adverse effect on the business, assets, financial condition or results of operations of the Company totaling, in the aggregate, $450,000 or more except for those breaches resulting from (i) any change in law, rule, or regulation of any Governmental Authority that applies generally to similarly situated Persons, or (ii) general changes in the industries in which the Company operates its assets or conducts its businesses, and such breach or breaches shall not have been remedied within thirty (30) calendar days after receipt by the Seller of notice in writing from the Buyer, specifying the nature of such breach or breaches and requesting that it or they be remedied, or the Buyer shall not have received adequate assurance of a cure of such breach or breaches within such thirty (30) calendar day period;

          (e) by the Seller, by written notice to the Buyer, if there shall have been any breach or breaches of any representations or warranties, or any breach or breaches of any covenants or agreements of the Buyer hereunder, which breach or breaches would, taken together, result in a material adverse effect on the business, assets, financial condition or results of operations of the Buyer totaling, in the aggregate, $450,000 or more except for those breaches
resulting from (i) any change in law, rule, or regulation of any Governmental Authority that applies generally to similarly situated Persons; or (ii) general changes in the industries in which the Company operates its assets or conducts its businesses; and such breach or breaches shall not have been remedied within thirty (30) calendar days after receipt by the Buyer of notice in writing from the Seller, specifying the nature of such breach or breaches and requesting that it or they be remedied, or the Seller shall not have received adequate assurance of a cure of such breach or breaches within such thirty (30) calendar day period; or

          (f) by the Buyer if the Seller Disclosure Schedule is updated so as to disclose additional liabilities (contingent or otherwise) or obligations of the Company or understatements of value of assets that, in the aggregate, exceed $400,000 (except for those liabilities or obligations resulting from (i) any change in law, rule, or regulation of any Governmental Authority that applies generally to similarly situated Persons; or (ii) general changes in the industries in which the Company operates its assets or conducts its businesses; or

          (g) by the Buyer if the aggregate amount of all expenditures listed in
Section 6.1(c)(iii)(B), Section 6.1(c)(iii)(D), or Section 6.1(c)(iv) exceeds $250,000.

     Section 9.2 Effect of Termination. In the event of termination of this Agreement by either the Seller or the Buyer pursuant to Section 9.1 there shall be no liability on the part of either the Seller or the Buyer or their respective officers or directors hereunder, except (a) for fraud or for willful breach of this Agreement prior to such termination or abandonment of the transactions and (b) that Sections 10.2, 10.4, 10.8, 10.9, 10.10, 10.13, and the agreement contained in the last sentence of Section 7.1(a) shall survive the termination.

                                    ARTICLE X
                               GENERAL PROVISIONS

     Section 10.1 Survival of Obligations. The representations and warranties of the Parties contained in this Agreement shall survive the Closing until the second (2nd) anniversary of the Closing Date. None of the covenants, obligations or agreements of the Parties contained in this Agreement or in any instrument, certificate, opinion or other writing provided for herein, shall survive the Closing; provided, however, that, notwithstanding the foregoing, the covenants of the Seller and the Buyer contained in Sections 7.4, 7.5, 7.6, 7.7, 7.8, 7.9, 7.10, 7.11, 7.12, 7.13, 7.15, 7.16, 7.17, and 7.19, and the last sentence of
Section 7.1(a) and all of Articles IV and X shall survive the Closing.

     Section 10.2 Amendment and Modification. This Agreement may be amended, modified and supplemented in any and all respects, but only by a written instrument signed by each of the Parties hereto expressly stating that such instrument is intended to amend, modify or supplement this Agreement.

     Section 10.3 Extension; Waiver. Any failure of any of the Parties to comply with any obligation, covenant, agreement or condition herein, and any inaccuracies in the representations and warranties contained herein or in any document delivered pursuant hereto, and any time for the performance of any of the obligations or other acts of a Party hereto, may be waived or extended, as the case may be, but only pursuant to a written instrument signed by all

Parties entitled to the benefits thereof; provided, however, that any such waiver or extension of such obligation, covenant, agreement or condition, or inaccuracy, shall not operate as a waiver of, or estoppel with respect to, any subsequent failure to comply therewith. The failure of any Party to this Agreement to assert any of its rights under this Agreement or otherwise shall not constitute a waiver of such rights.

     Section 10.4 Expenses. All costs and expenses incurred in connection with this Agreement and the transactions contemplated hereby shall be paid by the Party incurring such expenses.

     Section 10.5 Notices. All notices and other communications hereunder shall be in writing and shall be deemed given (a) when delivered personally, (b) upon delivery by reputable overnight courier service, or (c) when telecopied (which is confirmed by copy sent within one (1) business day by a reputable overnight courier service) to the Parties at the following addresses (or at such other address for a Party as shall be specified by like notice):

                          (i)   If to the Seller, to

                                Philadelphia Suburban Corporation
                                762 West Lancaster Avenue
                                Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania  19010-3489

                                Telecopier No.:  (610) 645-1061
                                Telephone No.:  (610) 525-1400
                                Attention:  Nicholas DeBenedictis
                                Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer

                                with a copy to

                                Piper Rudnick LLP
                                3400 Two Logan Square
                                18th and Arch Streets
                                Philadelphia, Pennsylvania  19103

                                Telecopier No.:  (215) 606-3341
                                Telephone No.:  (215) 656-3341
                                Attention:  Peter J. Tucci, Esq.

                          (ii)  if to Buyer, to

                                Birmingham Utilities, Inc.
                                230 Beaver Street
                                P.O. Box 426
                                Ansonia, CT 06401

                                Telecopier No.:  (203) 732-2616
                                Telephone No.:  (203) 735-1888
                                Attention:  John Tomac

                                with a copy to

                                Wiggin & Dana LLP
                                400 Atlantic Street
                                Stamford, CT 06901

                                Telecopier No.:  (203) 363-7676
                                Telephone No.:  (203) 363-7604
                                Attention:  William A. Perrone, Esq.

                          (iii) if to H2O, to

                                Birmingham H2O Services Inc.
                                230 Beaver Street
                                P.O. Box 426
                                Ansonia, CT 06401

                                Telecopier No.:  (203) 732-2616
                                Telephone No.:  (203) 735-1888
                                Attention:  John Tomac

                                with a copy to

                                Wiggin & Dana LLP
                                400 Atlantic Street
                                Stamford, CT 06901

                                Telecopier No.:  (203) 363-7676
                                Telephone No.:  (203) 363-7604
                                Attention:  William A. Perrone, Esq.

Section 10.6 Entire Agreement; No Third Party Beneficiaries. This Agreement, including the Schedules and Exhibits attached hereto, the Confidentiality Agreements, and the Environmental Whitepaper (a) constitute the entire agreement and supersede all prior agreements and understandings, both written and oral, among the Seller and the Buyer with respect to the subject matter hereof and thereof and (b) are not intended to confer any rights or remedies hereunder upon any Person other than the Parties hereto and thereto, Seller Indemnitees to the extent set forth in Section 7.4 and Buyer Indemnitees to the extent set forth in
Article IV.

     Section 10.7 Severability. Any term or provision of this Agreement that is held by a court of competent jurisdiction or other authority to be invalid, void or unenforceable in any situation in any jurisdiction shall not affect the validity or enforceability of the remaining terms and provisions hereof or the validity or enforceability of the offending term or provision in any other situation or in any other jurisdiction. If the final judgment of a court of competent jurisdiction or other authority declares that any term or provision hereof is invalid, void or unenforceable, the Parties agree that the court making such determination shall have the power to reduce the scope, duration, area or applicability of the term or provision, to delete specific words or phrases, or to replace any invalid, void or unenforceable term or provision with a term or provision that is valid and enforceable and that comes closest to expressing the intention of the invalid or unenforceable term or provision.

     Section 10.8 Governing Law. This Agreement shall be governed by and construed in accordance with the laws of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania without giving effect to the principles of conflicts of law thereof.

     Section 10.9 Venue. EACH OF THE PARTIES HERETO (A) CONSENTS TO SUBMIT ITSELF TO THE EXCLUSIVE PERSONAL JURISDICTION OF ANY FEDERAL COURT LOCATED IN AND FOR PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA IN THE EVENT ANY DISPUTE ARISES OUT OF THIS AGREEMENT, (B) AGREES THAT IT SHALL NOT ATTEMPT TO DENY OR DEFEAT SUCH PERSONAL JURISDICTION BY MOTION OR OTHER REQUEST FOR LEAVE FROM ANY SUCH COURT, AND (C) AGREES THAT IT SHALL NOT BRING ANY ACTION RELATING TO THIS AGREEMENT IN ANY COURT OTHER THAN A FEDERAL COURT SITTING IN AND FOR PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA.

     Section 10.10 Waiver of Jury Trial and Certain Damages. EACH PARTY TO THIS AGREEMENT WAIVES, TO THE FULLEST EXTENT PERMITTED BY APPLICABLE LAW, (A) ANY RIGHT IT MAY HAVE TO A TRIAL BY JURY IN RESPECT OF ANY ACTION, SUIT OR PROCEEDING ARISING OUT OF OR RELATING TO THIS AGREEMENT AND (B) ANY RIGHT IT MAY HAVE TO RECEIVE DAMAGES FROM THE OTHER PARTY BASED ON ANY THEORY OF LIABILITY FOR ANY SPECIAL, INDIRECT, OR CONSEQUENTIAL (INCLUDING LOST PROFITS) DAMAGES. The Parties agree that the aggregate liability of the Seller arising out of or relating to this Agreement or the transactions contemplated herein shall in no event exceed the Purchase Price.

     Section 10.11 Assignment. Neither this Agreement nor any of the rights, interests or obligations hereunder shall be assigned by any Party hereto (whether by operation of law or otherwise) without the prior written consent of the other Party; provided, however, that any Party may assign this Agreement, without the consent of the assigning Parties, to the assigning Party's successor as a result of a change in control of the assigning Party, a consolidation of the assigning Party with or into another entity, a sale of all or substantially all of the assets of the assigning Party, or a merger of the assigning Party with or into another entity, in any case whether or not the assigning Party is the surviving entity; provided that no such assignment shall relieve the assignor of its obligations or liabilities hereunder.

     Section 10.12 Interpretation. When a reference is made in this Agreement to Articles or Sections, such reference shall be to an Article or Section of this Agreement, respectively, unless otherwise indicated. The table of contents and headings contained in this Agreement are for reference purposes only and shall not affect in any way the meaning or interpretation of this Agreement. Whenever the words "include," "includes" or "including" are used in this Agreement, they shall be deemed to be followed by the words "without limitation."

     Section 10.13 No Specific Enforcement. Except with respect to the obligations set forth in the last sentence of Section 7.1(a) and all of Sections 2.2(a)(i), 7.4, 7.5, 7.6, 7.7, 7.8, 7.9, 7.10, 7.11, 7.12, 7.14, 7.15, 7.16,
7.17, 7.18, 9.2, 10.1, 10.4, 10.7, 10.8, 10.9, 10.10, 10.11, and Article IV, the
Parties agree that in the event of a breach of this Agreement, the Parties shall not be entitled to specific performance of the terms hereof.

     Section 10.14 Counterparts; Effect. This Agreement may be executed in one or more counterparts, each of which shall be deemed to be an original, but all of which shall constitute one and the same agreement.

          IN WITNESS WHEREOF, each of the Seller and Buyer has caused this Agreement to be signed by a duly authorized officer as of the date first written above.


                                          PHILADELPHIA SUBURBAN CORPORATION


                                          By: /s/ Roy H. Stahl
                                              ---------------------------
                                          Name:  Roy H. Stahl
                                          Title: Executive Vice President



                                          BIRMINGHAM UTILITIES, INC.


                                          By: /s/ John Tomac
                                              ---------------------------
                                          Name:  John Tomac
                                          Title: President



                                          BIRMINGHAM H2O SERVICES, INC.


                                          By: /s/ John Tomac
                                              ---------------------------
                                          Name:  John Tomac
                                          Title: President

                                                                  Exhibit 1.2(a)


                Calculation of New York Operations Purchase Price
                -------------------------------------------------


            Purchase Price for:
            (1)         Dykeer Shares                     [                  ] *
                                                           ------------------
            (2)         Cambridge Shares                  [                  ] *
                                                           ------------------
            (3)         Kingsvale Shares                  [                  ] *
                                                           ------------------
            (4)         Waccabuc Shares                   [                  ] *
                                                           ------------------
            (5)         Wild Oaks Shares                  [                  ] *
                                                           ------------------
                                          Line 1 Subtotal      $1,000,000

            Working Capital Adjustment                                TBD

            Rate Base Adjustment                                      TBD

            Assumption of Third-Party Debt                       $756,200
                                                           ------------------
            TOTAL




* To be determined on or prior to the Closing Date

                                                                  Exhibit 1.2(b)


              Calculation of Connecticut Operations Purchase Price (Excluding the CN Unregulated Assets Purchase Price)
              ----------------------------------------------------


            Purchase Price for:
            (1)         ECRWC Shares                      [                  ] *
                                                           ------------------
            (2)         CN Regulated Assets**             [                  ] *
                                                           ------------------
                                           Line 1 Subtotal      $3,500,000

            Working Capital Adjustment                                 TBD

            Rate Base Adjustment                                       TBD
                                                           ------------------
            TOTAL


*  To be determined on or prior to the Closing Date

** Includes the following two (2) systems:  (1) Westchester Village Mobile Home
   Park in Colchester, and (2) Westchester East Mobile Park in East Hampton.

                                                           Exhibit 2.2(a)(ii)(A)


                                  Bill of Sale
                                  ------------

          THIS BILL OF SALE, is made as of the __ day of ____, 2003 by AquaSource Operations, Inc., a Delaware corporation (the "Seller"), for the benefit of Birmingham Utilities, Inc, a Connecticut corporation (the "Buyer").

                               W I T N E S S E T H

          WHEREAS, pursuant to that certain Purchase Agreement dated May _____, 2003 (as amended, supplemented or otherwise modified from time to time, the "Purchase Agreement"), by and between Philadelphia Suburban Corporation and the Buyer, Philadelphia Suburban Corporation has agreed to cause the Seller to convey all the Integrated Assets (as defined in the Purchase Agreement) listed on Schedule 1.1 of the Purchase Agreement, and attached hereto as Exhibit A; and

          WHEREAS, pursuant to the Purchase Agreement, the Seller is required to execute and deliver this Bill of Sale in order to effectuate the assignment, conveyance, transfer and delivery of the Integrated Assets to the Buyer.

          NOW, THEREFORE, in consideration of the foregoing premises and for other good and valuable consideration, the receipt and adequacy of which is hereby acknowledged, the Parties hereto hereby agree as follows:

     1. Defined Terms. Capitalized terms which are used but not defined in this Bill of Sale shall have the meaning ascribed to such terms in the Purchase Agreement.

     2. Assignment. The Seller does hereby assign, convey, transfer and deliver to the Buyer, all of the Seller's right, title and interest in and to all of the Integrated Assets.

     3. Binding Effect. This Bill of Sale and all of the provisions hereof shall be binding upon the Seller and its successors and permitted assigns and shall inure to the benefit of the Buyer, and its successors and permitted assigns.

     4. Governing Law. This Bill of Sale shall be governed by and construed in accordance with the laws of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania (without giving effect to conflict of law principles).

     5. Construction. This Bill of Sale is delivered pursuant to and is subject to the Purchase Agreement. In the event of any conflict between the terms of the Purchase Agreement and terms of this Bill of Sale, the terms of the Purchase Agreement shall prevail.

          IN WITNESS WHEREOF, this Bill of Sale has been duly executed and delivered by the duly authorized officer of the Seller hereto as of the date first above written.

ATTEST:                                    AQUASOURCE OPERATIONS, INC.


By:                                        By:
   ---------------------------------          ---------------------------------
Name:                                      Name:
     -------------------------------            -------------------------------
Title:                                     Title:
      ------------------------------             ------------------------------

                                    Exhibit A
                                Integrated Assets

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA    )
                                ) SS
COUNTY OF ALLEGHENY             )


     ____________________________, being duly sworn, says that he or she is the
___________________________ of Philadelphia Suburban Corporation, a Pennsylvania corporation, the corporation which has executed the forgoing instrument, and acknowledged that he or she did sign said instrument on behalf of said corporation and by authority of its Board of Directors, and that said instrument is his or her free act and deed as such officer and the free corporate act of the corporation.


                                                    ----------------------------

     Sworn to before me and subscribed in my presence this ___ day of ___________, 200__.


                                                    ----------------------------
     Notary Public

                                                           Exhibit 2.2(a)(ii)(B)


                       Assignment and Assumption Agreement
                       -----------------------------------

     ASSIGNMENT AND ASSUMPTION AGREEMENT dated as of ______ ___, 2003 (the "Assignment Agreement") by and between AquaSource Operations, Inc., a Delaware corporation (the "Seller"), and Birmingham Utilities, Inc., a Connecticut corporation (the "Buyer"). The Seller and the Buyer are referred to individually as a "Party," and collectively as the "Parties."

                              W I T N E S S E T H :

     WHEREAS, Philadelphia Suburban Corporation and the Buyer are Parties to that certain Purchase Agreement, dated as of May ___, 2003 (the "Purchase Agreement");

     WHEREAS, pursuant to the Purchase Agreement, the Buyer has agreed to assume certain Integrated Liabilities (as defined in the Purchase Agreement); and

     WHEREAS, it is the intention of the Parties that by the execution and delivery of this Assignment Agreement, Philadelphia Suburban Corporation shall cause the Seller to assign to the Buyer its ownership rights and interests in and to, and the Buyer will assume and agree to discharge when due, without recourse to the Seller.

     NOW, THEREFORE, in consideration of the foregoing premises and for other good and valuable consideration, the receipt and sufficiency of which are hereby acknowledged, the Seller and the Buyer hereby agree as follows:

     1. Capitalized terms which are used in this Assignment Agreement but are not defined herein shall have the meaning ascribed to such terms in the Purchase Agreement.

     2. The Seller hereby assigns, conveys, transfers and sets over to the Buyer all of the Integrated Liabilities.

     3. The Buyer hereby assumes and agrees to discharge when due, without recourse to the Seller, all liabilities and obligations of the Seller constituting the Integrated Liabilities.

     4. Nothing in this Assignment Agreement, express or implied, is intended or shall be construed to confer upon or give to any Person, other than the Buyer or the Seller, as the case may be, their respective successors and assigns, any remedy or claim under or by reason of this instrument or any term, covenant or condition hereof, and all of the terms, covenants, conditions, promises and agreements in this Assignment Agreement shall be for the sole and exclusive benefit of the Buyer or the Seller, as the case may be, and their respective successors and assigns.

     5. Neither the making nor the acceptance of this Assignment Agreement shall enlarge, restrict or otherwise modify the terms of the Purchase Agreement or constitute a waiver or release by the Seller or the Buyer of any liabilities, duties or obligations imposed upon either of them by the terms of the Purchase Agreement, including, without limitation, the representations
          and warranties and other provisions which the Purchase Agreement provides shall survive the date hereof.

     6. In the event that any provision of this Assignment Agreement be construed to conflict with a provision of the Purchase Agreement, the provision in the Purchase Agreement shall be deemed controlling.

     7. This Assignment Agreement shall bind and shall inure to the benefit of the respective Parties and their assigns, transferees and successors.

     8. This Assignment Agreement shall be construed and enforced in accordance with the laws (other than the conflict of law rules) of the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

     9. This Assignment Agreement may be executed in one or more counterparts, each of which shall be deemed an original but all of which together will constitute one and the same instrument.

     IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the undersigned have executed this Assignment Agreement as of the date first above written.


AQUASOURCE OPERATIONS, INC.


By:
   -----------------------------
Name:
     ---------------------------
Title:
      --------------------------



BIRMINGHAM UTILITIES, INC.


By:
   -----------------------------
Name:
     ---------------------------
Title:
      --------------------------

                                                                 Exhibit 7.19(a)


             Surety Bonds to be Recovered or Replaced by the Buyer*
             ------------------------------------------------------

Principal                      Bond No.      Amount     Premium   Eff. Date   Exp. Date   Obligee
---------                      --------      ------     -------   ---------   ---------   -------
AquaSource Operations, Inc.  929 256 535   $  289,500   $1,737    10/11/02    10/11/03    Town of Coventry, CT
AquaSource Operations, Inc.  929 256 563   $    5,000   $   50    02/12/03    02/12/04    Town of Hebron, CT
AquaSource Services, LP      929 202 412   $    2,000   $   50    08/13/01    12/31/02    Town of Enfield, CT
AquaSource Services, LP      929 238 036   $  232,500   $  698    05/28/02    12/28/02    Regional School District No.8, CT
AquaSource Services, LP      929 256 531   $  518,400   $1,555    09/24/02    03/24/03    Town of Colchester Water & Sewer Comm, CT
Associated Water Service     929 118 003   $    5,000   $   50    12/17/99    12/17/03    State of Connecticut
                                           ----------   ------
TOTAL AQUASOURCE BONDS:                    $1,052,400   $4,140


                               Description        Type
                               -----------        ----
AquaSource Operations, Inc.    Contract         Contract
AquaSource Operations, Inc.    License/Permit   Commercial
AquaSource Services, LP        Permit           Commercial
AquaSource Services, LP        Contract         Commercial
AquaSource Services, LP        Contract         Contract
Associated Water Service       Permit           Commercial


     * Bonds set forth herein are Integrated Liabilities, regardless of the name in which held.

                                                                 Exhibit 7.19(b)


                   Surety Bonds to be Cancelled by the Seller
                   ------------------------------------------

None