Exhibit 99.1

AÉROPOSTALE REPORTS RECORD JANUARY SALES RESULTS;
SAME STORE SALES INCREASE 6%; RAISES FOURTH QUARTER EARNINGS GUIDANCE TO $1.41 TO $1.42 PER DILUTED SHARE

New York, New York – February 4, 2010 - Aéropostale, Inc. (NYSE: ARO), a mall-based specialty retailer of casual and active apparel for young women and men, today announced that total net sales for the four-week period ended January 30, 2010 increased 15% to $111.2 million, from $96.5 million for the four-week period ended January 31, 2009. The Company's same store sales increased 6% for the month, compared to a same store sales increase of 11% in the year ago period.

The Company stated that its gross margins for the month increased over last year, and that its inventories remain well controlled and on plan. The Company also made a smooth transition into its new floor set, with the initial customer reaction to its spring merchandise collection being very positive.

Based on stronger than expected performance for the month, the Company now expects fourth quarter earnings in the range of approximately $1.41 to $1.42 per diluted share, versus its previously issued guidance of $1.33 to $1.34 per share. The revised guidance represents a 40% to 41% increase over earnings of $1.01 in the fourth quarter last year.

For the fourth quarter of fiscal 2009, total net sales increased 16% to $799.9 million, from $690.0 million in the year ago period. Same store sales for the fourth quarter increased 9%, compared to a same store sales increase of 6% last year. Year to date, total net sales have increased 18% to $2.229 billion, from $1.886 billion in the year ago period. Year to date, same store sales have increased 10%, compared to a same store sales increase of 8% last year.

To hear the Aéropostale prerecorded January sales message, please dial (866) 644-7738 or (585) 267-8033.

About Aéropostale, Inc.
Aéropostale, Inc. is a mall-based, specialty retailer of casual apparel and accessories, principally targeting 14 to 17 year-old young women and men through its Aéropostale® stores and 7 to 12 year-old kids through its P.S. from Aéropostale™ stores. The Company provides customers with a focused selection of high-quality, active-oriented, fashion and fashion basic merchandise at compelling values. Aéropostale® maintains control over its proprietary brands by designing, sourcing, marketing and selling all of its own merchandise. Aéropostale® products can only be purchased in its Aéropostale stores and online at www.aeropostale.com. P.S. from Aéropostale™ products can be purchased in P.S. from Aéropostale™ stores and online at www.ps4u.com. The Company currently operates 894 Aéropostale stores in 49 states and Puerto Rico, 44 Aéropostale stores in Canada and 14 P.S. from Aéropostale stores in five states.

SPECIAL NOTE: THIS PRESS RELEASE AND ORAL STATEMENTS MADE FROM TIME TO TIME BY REPRESENTATIVES OF THE COMPANY CONTAIN CERTAIN "FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS" CONCERNING EXPECTATIONS FOR SALES, STORE OPENINGS, GROSS MARGINS, EXPENSES, STRATEGIC DIRECTION AND EARNINGS.  ACTUAL RESULTS MIGHT DIFFER MATERIALLY FROM THOSE PROJECTED IN THE FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS. AMONG THE FACTORS THAT COULD CAUSE ACTUAL RESULTS TO MATERIALLY DIFFER INCLUDE, CHANGES IN THE COMPETITIVE MARKETPLACE, INCLUDING THE INTRODUCTION OF NEW PRODUCTS OR PRICING CHANGES BY OUR COMPETITORS, CHANGES IN THE ECONOMY AND OTHER EVENTS LEADING TO A REDUCTION IN DISCRETIONARY CONSUMER SPENDING; SEASONALITY; RISKS ASSOCIATED WITH CHANGES IN SOCIAL, POLITICAL, ECONOMIC AND OTHER CONDITIONS AND THE POSSIBLE ADVERSE IMPACT OF CHANGES IN IMPORT RESTRICTIONS; RISKS ASSOCIATED WITH UNCERTAINTY RELATING TO THE COMPANY'S ABILITY TO IMPLEMENT ITS GROWTH STRATEGIES, AS WELL AS THE OTHER RISK FACTORS SET FORTH IN THE COMPANY'S FORM 10-K AND QUARTERLY REPORTS ON FORM 10-Q, FILED WITH THE SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION. THE COMPANY UNDERTAKES NO OBLIGATION TO UPDATE OR REVISE ANY FORWARD-LOOKING STATEMENTS TO REFLECT SUBSEQUENT EVENTS