Investor Presentation 4 Quarter 2012 Exhibit 99.1 th

Forward-Looking Statements & Safe Harbor
This presentation contains certain statements, estimates and forecasts with respect to future performance and events.
These statements, estimates and forecasts are “forward-looking statements”.  In some cases, forward-looking
statements can be identified by the use of forward-looking terminology such as “may,” “might,” “will,” “should,”
“expect,” “plan,” “intend,” “estimate,” “anticipate,” “believe,” “predict,” “potential” or "continue" or the negatives
thereof or variations thereon or similar terminology. All statements other than statements of historical fact included in
this presentation are forward-looking statements and are based on various underlying assumptions and expectations
and are subject to known and unknown risks, uncertainties and assumptions, may include projections of our future
financial performance based on our growth strategies and anticipated trends in our business.  These statements are
only predictions based on our current expectations and projections about future events.  There are important factors
that could cause our actual results, level of activity, performance or achievements to differ materially from the results,
level of activity, performance or achievements expressed or implied in the forward-looking statements.  As a result,
there can be no assurance that the forward-looking statements included in this presentation will prove to be accurate
or correct.  In light of these risks, uncertainties and assumptions, the future performance or events described in the
forward-looking statements in this presentation might not occur.  Accordingly, you should not rely upon forward-
looking statements as a prediction of actual results and we do not assume any responsibility for the accuracy or
completeness of any of these forward-looking statements that may be made from time to time.  We are under no
obligation (and expressly disclaim any such obligation) to update or revise any forward-looking statements, whether as
a result of new information, future developments or otherwise.

Agenda
Executive Summary
Executive Summary
Operating Segments
Operating Segments
U.S. Insurance
U.S. Insurance
International Insurance
International Insurance
Reinsurance
Reinsurance
Financial Highlights
Financial Highlights
Conclusion
Conclusion
Appendix
Appendix

Allied World’s Franchise
Well-diversified property and casualty insurer and reinsurer
with significant geographic reach
Experienced executive management team with strong risk
management culture
Excellent capitalization with active capital management
Progressive investment philosophy
Highly Rated – “A” (Excellent) by A.M. Best, “A” (Strong) by
S&P, “A2” (Good) by Moody’s and
“A+”
(Good) by Fitch
Industry leading results and value creation

Diversified insurance and reinsurance
products offered across global platform with
operations in the U.S., Bermuda, Lloyd’s,
Europe, Hong Kong and Singapore
Emphasis on insurance and
casualty lines with strong reinsurance
and property capabilities
Customer focus
Moving closer to clients in markets
Demonstrated expertise in markets in
which we underwrite
A “go to” market for targeted lines and
classes of business such as healthcare and
construction
Allied World – A Diversified mix
Leading specialty insurance company with broad range of product offerings,
global capabilities and significant U.S. focus

* Includes healthcare-related program business

Experienced Management: Shifting the Business Focus

2007 GPW: $1,506M
In response to the changing macro economic environment, Allied World
has transformed itself since 2007
2012 GPW: $2,329M
Allied World 2007 Allied World Today

Active Capital Management Improves Shareholder Value 7 * Excludes $243.8 million syndicated loan that was repaid on February 23, 2009

Growth in book value per share calculated by taking change in book value per share from December 31, 2007 through
December 31, 2012 adjusted for dividends paid or declared.   Diluted book value per share used when available.
Source: SNL Financial

Superior Value Creation

Growth in book value per share calculated by taking change in book value per share from December 31, 2007 through
December 31, 2012 adjusted for dividends paid or declared. Diluted book value per share used when available.
Source: SNL Financial
Five Year Value Creation
Book Value Growth (through 12/31/12) Vs. Total Return (through 2/20/13)

Superior Value Creation

Agenda
Executive Summary
Executive Summary
Operating Segments
Operating Segments
U.S. Insurance
U.S. Insurance
International Insurance
International Insurance
Reinsurance
Reinsurance
Financial Highlights
Financial Highlights
Conclusion
Conclusion
Appendix
Appendix

Our U.S. Insurance Operating Segment
-
A significant U.S.- based specialty franchise with diversified offerings
* Includes healthcare-related program business
Allied World U.S. Insurance Operating Segment
Product Mix

Allied World International Insurance Operating
Segment Product Mix

Our International Insurance Operating Segment
-
Global Diversification and Expansion
• Offices in Bermuda, Dublin, Hong Kong,
London, Singapore and Switzerland
position the company to meet developing
opportunities
• Lloyd’s Syndicate 2232
• Specialty product capabilities:
• MGA business initiated in targeted areas
o
Association with Lloyd’s enhances Allied
World’s brand recognition
o
Increases access to Latin America and Asia-
Pacific region
o
Offers individual risk products
o
Trade credit and political risk
o
International healthcare
o
Small-to-medium enterprises (SME Professional)

Allied World Reinsurance Operating Segment
Product Mix

• U.S. operation has improved access to
U.S. regional business and
strengthened local relationships
• Strategic Bermuda Platform
• Swiss and Singapore offices and Lloyd’s
Syndicate 2232 increase global reach
Our Reinsurance Operating Segment
-
Flexibility to take advantage of reinsurance opportunities in the global marketplace
o
Property reinsurance capabilities that
focus on small and medium account
regional carriers
o
Global Marine and Specialty Unit offers
marine and aerospace coverages as well
as crop and hail business
o
Property catastrophe, property per risk,
workers’ compensation catastrophe,
accident & health and specialty casualty
o
Reinsurance capabilities in Europe, Latin
America, Middle East, Africa and the Asia
Pacific region

Quarterly Highlights – Fourth Quarter 2012 Investments in operations are paying off with increased production and strong underwriting results across all of our operating segments 14

Quarterly Highlights – Allied World Financial Services

Allied World Financial Services was established in September
2012 with the following objectives:
• Optimize expenses by getting the best value for the fees we pay
• Increase our knowledge and expertise by partnering with experts
• Participate in the economic returns of these business relationships
Completed $127.6 million of transactions, including:
Cunningham Lindsey (Global TPA)
MatlinPatterson Asset Management (Asset Manager)
Aeolus Capital Management (Collateralized Reinsurer)
Crescent Capital Group (Asset Manager)

Agenda
Executive Summary
Executive Summary
Operating Segments
Operating Segments
U.S. Insurance
U.S. Insurance
International Insurance
International Insurance
Reinsurance
Reinsurance
Financial Highlights
Financial Highlights
Conclusion
Conclusion
Appendix
Appendix

Financial Highlights
Operating Results
Operating Results
2012
2012
2011
2011
2010
2010
2009
2009
2008
2008
Net Income $493M $275M $665M $607M $184M
Operating Income $203M $184M $398M $538M $455M
Net Income Return on Average Equity 15.3% 8.9% 21.9% 22.6% 8.3%
Operating Return on Average Equity 6.3% 6.0% 13.1% 20.0% 20.6%
Combined Ratio 94.5% 95.9% 84.9% 76.1% 84.1%
Cash flow from Operations $629M $548M $451M $668M $657M
Total Financial Statement Portfolio Return 5.5% 2.0% 6.1% 7.9% 0.5%
Ending Diluted Book Value per Share $92.59 $80.11 $74.29 $59.56 $46.05
Growth in Diluted Book Value Per Share 15.6% 7.8% 24.7% 29.3% 8.3%
Allied World has reported very strong results despite competitive
landscape, financial turbulence and catastrophe activity

18 Expense Ratio Declining as We Build Scale Note: GAAP expense ratio *Peer average includes ALTE, ACGL, AGII, AHL, AXS, ENH, HCC, MKL, NAVG, OB, PRA, RLI, THG and WRB. Source: SNL Financial

Case Incurred through 2012 Q4 41.4% 34.1% 46.0% 62.3% 40.0% 39.0% 51.9% 29.5% 47.9% 41.1% 23.9%
Remaining IBNR / EP Ratio @ 2012 Q4 1.3% 7.3% 4.8% 12.1% 13.2% 13.5% 24.3% 32.4% 29.5% 45.8% 50.9%
Strong Underwriting Results
Underwriting performance has been strong since our inception
(1) Pro-forma including Darwin development since inception
(2) Case incurred ratios by year are not directly comparable to our financial statements as reinsurance case incurred losses shown above are on a treaty year basis

Historical Loss Ratios Through December 2012 ($MM)
1
2
AY 2002 2003 2004 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 CY Total
CY Original Loss Ratio 70.1% 65.3% 75.9% 103.1% 59.6% 58.4% 55.6% 45.9% 52.1% 65.8% 65.1%
Prior Year Development 0.0% -4.9% -5.8% -3.6% -8.2% -10.2% -24.2% -18.8% -23.1% -17.4% -9.7%
AY Original Loss Ratio 70.1% 70.1% 81.7% 106.7% 67.7% 68.6% 79.8% 64.7% 75.1% 83.2% 74.9%
2002
2003 (57)             (57)
2004 (27)             (53)             (79)
2005 (8)               (46)             6                (49)
2006 (16)             (43)             (45)             (8)               (113)
2007 6                (34)             (77)             (6)               (26)             (137)
2008 (9)               (88)             (100)           (74)             (8)               (34)             (313)
2009 (17)             (57)             (118)           (103)           12              2                32              (248)
2010 4                (11)             (57)             (147)           (54)             (25)             (23)             (1)               (313)
2011 (0)               (1)               (22)             (90)             (42)             (69)             (22)             (28)             20              (254)
2012 4                (4)               (9)               (11)             (82)             (91)             (35)             (8)               11              53              (170)
Subsequent Development (119)           (336)           (423)           (438)           (201)           (216)           (47)             (37)             31              53              (1,732)
Loss Ratio Points -27.4% -28.7% -30.9% -32.3% -14.5% -16.1% -3.6% -2.8% 2.3% 3.7%
AY Developed 42.6% 41.4% 50.8% 74.4% 53.2% 52.5% 76.2% 61.9% 77.4% 86.9% 74.9%
Cat Losses 16.4% 28.1% 9.7% 6.1% 20.3% 10.3%
AY Developed EX Cat Losses 42.6% 41.4% 34.4% 46.3% 53.2% 52.5% 66.5% 61.9% 71.3% 66.6% 64.6%

December 31, 2012 Total: $4.5 B
• Net reserves about 4.5% above mid-point of range at
December 31, 2012
• Over $1.7 billion net favorable reserve development
since inception
• 71% of net reserves are IBNR
Net Loss & LAE Reserve Mix at December 31, 2012
Case
U.S. Insurance
9%
IBNR
International
Insurance
27%
Case
International
Insurance
9%
IBNR
Reinsurance
22%
Case
Reinsurance
11%
IBNR
U.S. Insurance
22%
Net Prior Year Reserve Releases* ($MM)
Range of Net Reserves at December 31, 2012 ($MM)
Prudent Reserving Philosophy

* Pro-forma including Darwin
development since inception

• We maintain a short
duration/overweight credit
position in core fixed-income
• We will continue to build out
non-core portfolio in 2013
• Relative value and significant
market volatility remains in
favor of a diversified portfolio,
by asset class as well as by
issuer.
Investment Portfolio Highlights

Peer Comparisons – Operating Income ROE Source: SNL Financial 22

Agenda
Executive Summary
Executive Summary
Operating Segments
Operating Segments
U.S. Insurance
U.S. Insurance
International Insurance
International Insurance
Reinsurance
Reinsurance
Financial Highlights
Financial Highlights
Conclusion
Conclusion
Appendix
Appendix

Conclusion

Strong top line growth with diversified product mix
•
Gross premiums increasing in each operating segment
Historically strong operating returns
•
Combined ratio compares favorably to peers
•
Expense ratio remains below 30% as we build scale
Solid investment returns
Active capital management
Industry leading value creation
Current valuation is inconsistent with company’s historical performance
and strong position to capitalize on market opportunities

Growth in book value per share calculated by taking change in book value per share from December 31, 2007 through
December 31, 2012 adjusted for dividends paid or declared.  Price to book as of February 20, 2013. Diluted book
value per share used when available.
Five Year Growth in Book Value per Share (through December 2012)
vs.
Price to Book Value @ February 20, 2013

Conclusion
-
Allied World is attractively valued given its historical performance

Agenda
Executive Summary
Executive Summary
Operating Segments
Operating Segments
U.S. Insurance
U.S. Insurance
International Insurance
International Insurance
Reinsurance
Reinsurance
Financial Highlights
Financial Highlights
Conclusion
Conclusion
Appendix
Appendix

Non-GAAP Financial Measures
In presenting the company's results, management has included and discussed in this presentation certain non generally accepted accounting principles ("non-GAAP")
financial measures within the meaning of Regulation G as promulgated by the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. Management believes that these non-GAAP
measures, which may be defined differently by other companies, better explain the company's results of operations in a manner that allows for a more complete
understanding of the underlying trends in the company's business. However, these measures should not be viewed as a substitute for those determined in
accordance with generally accepted accounting principles ("U.S. GAAP").
"Operating income" is an internal performance measure used in the management of the company’s operations and represents after-tax operational results excluding,
as applicable, net realized investment gains or losses, net impairment charges recognized in earnings, net foreign exchange gain or loss and other non-recurring items.
The company excludes net realized investment gains or losses, net impairment charges recognized in earnings, net foreign exchange gain or loss, and other non-
recurring items from the calculation of operating income because these amounts are heavily influenced by and fluctuate in part according to the availability of market
opportunities and other factors. The company has excluded from operating income the termination fee received from Transatlantic Holdings, Inc. in 2011 as this is a
non-recurring item. In addition to presenting net income determined in accordance with U.S. GAAP, the company believes that showing operating income enables
investors, analysts, rating agencies and other users of the company’s financial information to more easily analyze our results of operations and underlying business
performance. Operating income should not be viewed as a substitute for U.S. GAAP net income.
The company has included "diluted book value per share" because it takes into account the effect of dilutive securities; therefore, the company believes it is an
important measure of calculating shareholder returns.
"Annualized net income return on average shareholders' equity" ("ROAE") is calculated using average shareholders’ equity, excluding the average after tax unrealized
gains (or losses) on investments. Unrealized gains (losses) on investments are primarily the result of interest rate and credit spread movements and the resultant
impact on fixed income securities. Such gains (losses) are not related to management actions or operational performance, nor are they likely to be realized. Therefore,
the company believes that excluding these unrealized gains (losses) provides a more consistent and useful measurement of operating performance, which
supplements U.S. GAAP information. In calculating ROAE, the net income (loss) available to shareholders for the period is multiplied by the number of such periods in
a calendar year in order to arrive at annualized net income (loss) available to shareholders. The company presents ROAE as a measure that is commonly recognized as
a standard of performance by investors, analysts, rating agencies and other users of its financial information.
"Annualized operating return on average shareholders' equity" is calculated using operating income (as defined above and annualized in the manner described for net
income (loss) available to shareholders under ROAE above), and average shareholders' equity, excluding the average after tax unrealized gains (losses) on
investments. Unrealized gains (losses) are excluded from equity for the reasons outlined in the annualized net income return on average shareholders' equity
explanation above.
See slides 28 - 30 for a reconciliation of non-GAAP measures used in this presentation to their most directly comparable U.S. GAAP measures.

Non-GAAP Financial Measures - Reconciliations 28

29 Non-GAAP Financial Measures - Reconciliations

Non-GAAP Financial Measures - Reconciliations 30