Exhibit 99.1

News Release
Sunoco Logistics Partners L.P.
1735 Market Street
Philadelphia, Pa. 19103-7583

For further information contact:	For release: 4:15 p.m. May 5, 2009
Thomas Golembeski (media) 215-977-6298
Neal Murphy (investors) 866-248-6322

No. 13

SUNOCO LOGISTICS PARTNERS L.P. ANNOUNCES

NEW VICE PRESIDENT OF BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT

PHILADELPHIA, May 5, 2009 – Sunoco Logistics Partners L.P. (NYSE: SXL) (the “Partnership”) today announced the appointment of Michael J. Hennigan as Vice President of Business Development. Mike will join Sunoco Logistics in mid-May from Sunoco, Inc., where he most recently served as Senior Vice President, Business Improvement.

“We are very pleased to have Mike join our team.” said Deborah M. Fretz, President and Chief Executive Officer. “With over 25 years of experience in crude oil and refined products supply, trading and transportation, Mike’s leadership abilities, creativity and technical knowledge make him ideally suited to lead our Business Development and Lease Acquisition teams as we continue to grow our business.”

Sunoco Logistics Partners L.P. (NYSE: SXL), headquartered in Philadelphia, is a master limited partnership formed to acquire, own and operate refined product and crude oil pipelines and terminal facilities. The Refined Products Pipeline System consists of approximately 2,200 miles of refined product pipelines located in the Northeastern and Midwestern United States, the recently acquired MagTex Pipeline System, and interests in four refined products pipelines, consisting of a 9.4 percent interest in Explorer Pipeline Company, a 31.5 percent interest in Wolverine Pipe Line Company, a 12.3 percent interest in West Shore Pipe Line Company and a 14.0 percent interest in Yellowstone Pipe Line Company. The Terminal Facilities consist of approximately 9.7 million shell barrels of refined products terminal capacity and approximately 21.2 million shell barrels of crude oil terminal capacity (including approximately 17.8 million shell barrels of capacity at the Texas Gulf Coast Nederland Terminal). The Crude Oil Pipeline System consists of approximately 3,800 miles of crude oil pipelines, located principally in Oklahoma and Texas, a 55.3 percent interest in Mid-Valley Pipeline Company, a 43.8 percent interest in the West Texas Gulf Pipe Line Company and a 37.0 percent interest in the Mesa Pipe Line System. For additional information visit Sunoco Logistics’ web site at www.sunocologistics.com.

Portions of this document constitute forward-looking statements as defined by federal law. Although Sunoco Logistics Partners L.P. believes that the assumptions underlying these statements are reasonable, investors are cautioned that such forward-looking statements are inherently uncertain and necessarily involve risks that may affect the Partnership’s business prospects and performance causing actual results to differ from those discussed in the foregoing release. Such risks and uncertainties include, by way of example and not of limitation: whether or not the transactions described in the foregoing news release will be cash flow accretive; increased competition; changes in demand for crude oil and refined

products that we store and distribute; changes in operating conditions and costs; changes in the level of environmental remediation spending; potential equipment malfunction; potential labor issues; the legislative or regulatory environment; plant construction/repair delays; nonperformance by major customers or suppliers; and political and economic conditions, including the impact of potential terrorist acts and international hostilities. These and other applicable risks and uncertainties have been described more fully in the Partnership’s Form 10-K filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission on February 24, 2009. The Partnership undertakes no obligation to update any forward-looking statements in this release, whether as a result of new information or future events.

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