Exhibit 99.1 James Hardie Industries plc Europa House 2nd Floor, Harcourt Centre Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, D02 WR20, Ireland T: +353 (0) 1 411 6924 F: +353 (0) 1 479 1128 26 February 2019 The Manager Company Announcements Office Australian Securities Exchange Limited 20 Bridge Street SYDNEY NSW 2000 Dear Sir/Madam Substantial Holding Notice As required under ASX Listing Rule 3.17.3 please see attached a copy of the substantial holding notice received by James Hardie on 25 February 2019. Yours faithfully Natasha Mercer Company Secretary James Hardie Industries plc is a limited liability company incorporated in Ireland with its registered office at Europa House 2nd Floor, Harcourt Centre, Harcourt Street, Dublin 2, D02 WR20, Ireland. Directors: Michael Hammes (Chairman, USA), Brian Anderson (USA), Russell Chenu (Australia), Andrea Gisle Joosen (Sweden), David Harrison (USA), Persio Lisboa (USA), Alison Littley (United Kingdom), Anne Lloyd (USA), Rada Rodriguez (Sweden), Rudy van der Meer (Netherlands). Chief Executive Officer and Director: Jack Truong (USA) Company number : 485719 ARBN: 097 829 895

Commonwealth Bank of Australia ACN 123 123 124 GPO Box 2719 Telephone (02) 9118 7110 Sydney NSW 1155 Facsimile (02) 9118 7192 James Hardie Industries PLC Group Company Secretary Second Floor, Europa House, Harcourt Centre Harcourt Street Dublin 2, Ireland 25th February 2019 Dear Sir/Madam, Re: Disclosure of Holding above 7% Threshold. Commonwealth Bank of Australia (“CBA”) on behalf of its subsidiaries: ASB Group Investments Limited, Avanteos Investments Limited, Colonial First State Asset Management (Australia) Limited, Colonial First State Investments Limited, Commonwealth Bank Officers Superannuation Corporation Pty Limited and Realindex Investments Pty Limited have a requirement to make subsequent disclosure under Section 1048/1050 of the Companies Act 2014. These entities have an aggregated interest in James Hardie Industries PLC, Chess Depository Interests of 7.028% ordinary share capital, as at 21st February 2019. This is based upon a total of 31,083,296 shares held and a total of 442,263,913 voting rights on issue. A previous announcement of 6.770% interest in relevant share capital was disclosed on the 7th February 2019 for value date 5th February 2019.

Page 2 The holdings dissection between entities within CBA before notification obligation on 20th February 2019: Relevant Holdings of Entity Registered Holder Interest CDIs % ASB Group Investments Limited Citibank N A Hong Kong 629,896 0.142% Avanteos Investments Limited Avanteos Investments Limited 853,561 0.193% Colonial First State Asset Management (Australia) Limited Citibank N A Hong Kong 9,006,018 2.036% Colonial First State Asset Management (Australia) Limited Citicorp Nominees Pty Limited (Australia) 6,571,222 1.486% Colonial First State Asset Management (Australia) Limited Avanteos Investments Limited 5,309 0.001% Colonial First State Asset Management (Australia) Limited Nomura Bank (Luxembourg) S.A. 166,542 0.038% Colonial First State Investments Limited Northern Trust Company 1,180,247 0.267% Colonial First State Investments Limited Citibank N A Hong Kong 4,565,681 1.032% Colonial First State Investments Limited Citicorp Nominees Pty Limited (Australia) 4,277,451 0.967% Colonial First State Investments Limited UBS Nominees Pty Ltd 93,576 0.021% Colonial First State Investments Limited Goldman Sachs (Asia) L.L.C 20,557 0.005% Commonwealth Bank Officers Superannuation Corporation Pty Limited Citicorp Nominees Pty Limited (Australia) 933,058 0.211% Realindex Investments Pty Limited Citibank N A Hong Kong 1,092,514 0.247% Realindex Investments Pty Limited Citicorp Nominees Pty Limited (Australia) 1,151,570 0.260% Realindex Investments Pty Limited JP Morgan Chase Bank NA 72,466 0.016% Realindex Investments Pty Limited National Bank Nominees Pty Limited 13,831 0.003% Realindex Investments Pty Limited HSBC Bank Australia Limited 213,842 0.048% Total 30,847,341 6.975% The holdings dissection between entities within CBA after notification obligation on 21st February 2019: Relevant Holdings of Entity Registered Holder Interest CDIs % ASB Group Investments Limited Citibank N A Hong Kong 629,896 0.142% Avanteos Investments Limited Avanteos Investments Limited 853,406 0.193% Colonial First State Asset Management (Australia) Limited Citibank N A Hong Kong 9,006,018 2.036% Colonial First State Asset Management (Australia) Limited Citicorp Nominees Pty Limited (Australia) 6,677,232 1.510% Colonial First State Asset Management (Australia) Limited Avanteos Investments Limited 5,309 0.001% Colonial First State Asset Management (Australia) Limited Nomura Bank (Luxembourg) S.A. 192,549 0.044% Colonial First State Investments Limited Northern Trust Company 1,180,247 0.267% Colonial First State Investments Limited Citibank N A Hong Kong 4,695,138 1.062% Colonial First State Investments Limited Citicorp Nominees Pty Limited (Australia) 4,269,958 0.965% Colonial First State Investments Limited UBS Nominees Pty Ltd 93,576 0.021% Colonial First State Investments Limited Goldman Sachs (Asia) L.L.C 20,557 0.005%

Page 3 Commonwealth Bank Officers Superannuation Corporation Pty Limited Citicorp Nominees Pty Limited (Australia) 913,918 0.207% Realindex Investments Pty Limited Citibank N A Hong Kong 1,092,514 0.247% Realindex Investments Pty Limited Citicorp Nominees Pty Limited (Australia) 1,152,839 0.261% Realindex Investments Pty Limited JP Morgan Chase Bank NA 72,466 0.016% Realindex Investments Pty Limited National Bank Nominees Pty Limited 13,831 0.003% Realindex Investments Pty Limited HSBC Bank Australia Limited 213,842 0.048% Total 31,083,296 7.028% Transactions giving rise to notification: Transaction Number of Cash Date of Change Registered Company Class Type Securities Consideration Thursday, 21 February 2019 Avanteos Investments Limited Chess Depository Receipts Sale 8 141.20 Thursday, 21 February 2019 Avanteos Investments Limited Chess Depository Receipts Sale 104 1,835.60 Thursday, 21 February 2019 Avanteos Investments Limited Chess Depository Receipts Sale 277 4,927.83 Thursday, 21 February 2019 Avanteos Investments Limited Chess Depository Receipts Purchase 277 4,927.83 Thursday, 21 February 2019 Citicorp Nominees Pty Limited (Australia) Chess Depository Receipts Purchase 5,285 94,203.54 Thursday, 21 February 2019 Citicorp Nominees Pty Limited (Australia) Chess Depository Receipts Sale 12,778 225,276.14 Thursday, 21 February 2019 Citicorp Nominees Pty Limited (Australia) Chess Depository Receipts Purchase 1,269 22,613.58 Thursday, 21 February 2019 Citibank N A Hong Kong Chess Depository Receipts Purchase 80,207 1,411,643.20 Thursday, 21 February 2019 Citicorp Nominees Pty Limited (Australia) Chess Depository Receipts Sale 19,140 341,560.96 Thursday, 21 February 2019 Citicorp Nominees Pty Limited (Australia) Chess Depository Receipts Purchase 18,704 331,915.57 Thursday, 21 February 2019 Nomura Bank (Luxembourg) S.A. Chess Depository Receipts Purchase 26,007 462,310.83 Thursday, 21 February 2019 Avanteos Investments Limited Chess Depository Receipts Sale 43 758.95 Thursday, 21 February 2019 Citibank N A Hong Kong Chess Depository Receipts Purchase 49,250 879,112.50 Thursday, 21 February 2019 Citicorp Nominees Pty Limited (Australia) Chess Depository Receipts Purchase 5,303 94,105.45 Thursday, 21 February 2019 Citicorp Nominees Pty Limited (Australia) Chess Depository Receipts Purchase 20,661 366,643.91 Thursday, 21 February 2019 Citicorp Nominees Pty Limited (Australia) Chess Depository Receipts Purchase 5,332 94,620.07 Thursday, 21 February 2019 Citicorp Nominees Pty Limited (Australia) Chess Depository Receipts Purchase 56,010 995,656.16 Thank you for your attention in this matter. Yours Faithfully Anitha Subramanian Head of Accounting and Reporting Operations Commonwealth Bank of Australia