                                                               EXHIBIT 99
                     WASHINGTON MUTUAL MORTGAGE SECURITIES CORP.
                                  MASTER SERVICING
                         MORTGAGE PASS-THROUGH CERTIFICATES
                             05/2003 DISTRIBUTION REPORT

SERIES:  wamu 2001-s9                                  WEIGHTED AVERAGE PC RATE:    6.71315%
POOL NUMBER:  Group 1 = 1758
____________________________________________________________________________________________

ISSUE DATE:  08/29/2001
CERTIFICATE BALANCE AT ISSUE:    $755,114,461.00

                                                                 CERTIFICATE
                                                   TOTAL         ACCOUNT            CERTIFICATE
                                                   NUMBER OF     ACTIVITY           BALANCE
                                                   MORTGAGES     (@PC RATE)         OUTSTANDING
                                                   _________  __________________  __________________

BALANCES FROM LAST FISCAL MONTH-END:                     386                         $150,012,924.68
PRINCIPAL POOL COLLECTION(S):
Scheduled Principal Collection Due Current Month                     $141,709.51
Unscheduled Principal Collection/Reversals                            $20,575.11
Liquidations-in-full                                      77      $30,752,313.13
Net principal Distributed                                         $30,914,597.75    ($30,914,597.75)

CAPITAL LOSS (PRINCIPAL WRITTEN OFF):                                                          $0.00

BALANCE CURRENT FISCAL MONTH-END:                        309                         $119,098,326.93

SCHEDULED INTEREST AT MORTGAGE RATE:                                 $909,142.05

UNSCHEDULED INTEREST AT MORTGAGE RATE:
Unscheduled Interest Collection/Reversals                                  $0.00
Interest Uncollected on Liquidation                                        $0.00
Interest Uncollected on Non-Earning Assets                                 $0.00
Net Unscheduled Interest Distributed                                       $0.00

OTHER:
Loan Conversion Fees                                                       $0.00
Expense Reimbursements                                                     $0.00
Gain on Liquidations                                                       $0.00
Hazard Insurance Premium Refunds                                           $0.00
Net Other Distributions                                                    $0.00

SCHEDULED SERVICING FEE EXPENSES:                                     $70,093.52

UNSCHEDULED SERVICING FEES:
Unscheduled Service Fee Collections/Reversals                              $0.00
Servicing Fees Uncollected on Liquidation                                  $0.00
Servicing Fees Uncollected/Non-Earning Assets                              $0.00
Net Unscheduled Service Fees Distributed                                   $0.00

MISCELLANEOUS EXPENSES:                                                    $0.00

NET FUNDS DISTRIBUTED:                                            $31,753,646.28

                     WASHINGTON MUTUAL MORTGAGE SECURITIES CORP.
                                  MASTER SERVICING
                         MORTGAGE PASS-THROUGH CERTIFICATES
                             05/2003 DISTRIBUTION REPORT

SERIES:  wamu 2001-s9                                  WEIGHTED AVERAGE PC RATE:    6.71315%
POOL NUMBER:  Group 1 = 1758
____________________________________________________________________________________________

AGGREGATE LOSS AMOUNTS FROM INCEPTION OF POOL
  Loan Count Of              Aggregate Loss
  Incurred Loss                  Amount
__________________         _________________

                 0                     $0.00
*Aggregate Loss Amount and Count do not include this month's activity

SUMMARY OF DISTRIBUTIONS FOR CURRENT CYCLE
     Principal          Scheduled         Interest        Net Interest                            Total
   Distribution       Interest Due       Adjustment       Distribution         Other          Distribution
__________________  ________________  ________________  ________________  ________________  ________________

    $30,914,597.75       $839,048.53             $0.00       $839,048.53             $0.00    $31,753,646.28

INSURANCE RESERVES
                         Original         Claims In          Claims           Coverage          Coverage
  Insurance Type         Balance          Progress            Paid           Adjustments        Remaining
___________________  ________________  ________________  ________________  ________________  ________________

MPI                             $0.00             $0.00             $0.00             $0.00             $0.00
Special Hazard          $7,551,145.00             $0.00             $0.00             $0.00     $7,551,145.00
Bankruptcy Bond
   Single-Units           $188,037.00             $0.00             $0.00             $0.00       $188,037.00
   Multi-Units                  $0.00             $0.00             $0.00             $0.00             $0.00
Mortgage Repurchase     $7,551,145.00             $0.00             $0.00             $0.00     $7,551,145.00

DELINQUENT INSTALLMENTS
ONE                          TWO                          THREE
Count  Principal Balance     Count  Principal Balance     Count  Principal Balance
_____  _________________     _____  _________________     _____  _________________

    3      $1,107,412.37         0              $0.00         2        $777,678.94

FOUR                         IN FORECLOSURE               ACQUIRED
Count  Principal Balance     Count  Principal Balance     Count  Principal Balance
_____  _________________     _____  _________________     _____  _________________
    2        $777,678.94         1        $306,857.82         0              $0.00

The Class Principal Balances of each Class of the Class B1, B2, B3, B4, B5, B6
Certificates immediately after the principal and interest distribution on
05/25/2003 are as follows:

                Class       Class Principal Balance
                B1                $12,171,169.06
                B2                 $4,425,346.82
                B3                 $2,580,963.85
                B4                 $2,212,673.44
                B5                 $1,105,848.27
                B6                 $1,478,548.16
                              __________________
                Total             $23,974,549.60
                              ==================

Capitalized items used but not defined herein have the meanings ascribed to
them in the Prospectus Supplement.

                                                                           EXHIBIT 99

                  DELINQUENT* MORTGAGE LOANS (As of April 30, 2003):

SERIES:  2001-s9                POOL NUMBER:  Group 1 = 1758

                           I                     II                      III
                     Total Loans In        Total Delinquent        Loans Delinquent
                     Mortgage Pool              Loans                  1 Month
                  --------------------   ---------------------   ---------------------

Dollar Amount:       $119,098,326.93**        $1,414,270.19***        $1,107,412.37***
Number:                         1761                      4                       3
% of Pool:                    100.00%                  1.19%                   0.93%
(Dollars)
% of Pool:                    100.00%                  0.23%                   0.17%
(No. of Loans)

                           IV                      V                      VI
                    Loans Delinquent        Loans Delinquent           Loans In
                        2 Month                 3 Month               Foreclosure
                  --------------------   ---------------------   ---------------------

Dollar Amount:                $0.00***                $0.00***          $306,857.82***
Number:                           0                       0                       1
% of Pool:                    0.00%                    0.00%                   0.26%
(Dollars)
% of Pool:                    0.00%                    0.00%                   0.06%
(No. of Loans)

                          VII
                     Loans Acquired
                  --------------------

Dollar Amount:                $0.00***
Number:                           0
% of Pool:                     0.00%
(Dollars)
% of Pool:                     0.00%
(No. of Loans)

*  A Mortgage Loan is considered delinquent in a given month when a payment
due on the first day of the prior month has not been made on or before the
first day of such prior month.

**  Reflects the outstanding principal balance of the Mortgage Pool after the
application of all May 01, 2003 scheduled payments and April 01, 2003
unscheduled payments on the mortgage loans.

***  Reflects outstanding principal balance of delinquent mortgage loans as of
April 30, 2003.

Trading Factor, calculated as of distribution date : 0.15772222.
By multiplying this factor by the original balance of the Mortgage Pool as of
the Cut-Off Date, current outstanding balance of the Mortgage Pool (after
application of scheduled payments up to and including May 01, 2003, and
unscheduled prepayments in months prior to May ) can be calculated.