Exhibit 99.1
INSULET ANNOUNCES EARLY REPAYMENT OF $32.5 MILLION
FACILITY AGREEMENT
Prepayment Saves $5 Million in Cash Interest Expenses
BEDFORD, MA, December 14, 2010 — Insulet Corporation (NASDAQ: PODD), the leader in tubing-free insulin pump technology with its OmniPod® Insulin Management System, today announced that it has repaid all amounts outstanding under the Company’s Facility Agreement with Deerfield Partners, entered into in March 2009.
“We are very pleased that our recent equity financing has given us the ability to prepay our Facility Agreement, saving shareholders approximately $5 million in cash interest payments, while deleveraging the balance sheet,” said Brian Roberts, Chief Financial Officer of Insulet. “Deerfield has been a great partner over the past two years and we are grateful for their support. They saw the potential in Insulet’s business strategy in 2009 and provided us with the capital to continue to expand the market opportunity for the OmniPod System.”
On December 14, 2010, the Company paid $33.3 million to Deerfield Partners, the lenders, of which $32.5 million related to principal and $0.8 million related to interest and prepayment fees, to extinguish this debt. Amounts under the Facility Agreement accrued interest at 8.5% per year and were due in September 2012. The Company will record a non-cash interest charge of approximately $8 million in the fourth quarter related to debt discounts and financing costs which were being amortized to interest expense over the term of the debt.
Forward-Looking Statement
This press release contains forward-looking statements concerning Insulet’s expectations, anticipations, intentions, beliefs or strategies regarding the future, including those related to its expected revenue and operating losses, prepayment of debt, anticipated cost savings and financial performance. These forward-looking statements are based on its current expectations and beliefs concerning future developments and their potential effects on it. There can be no assurance that future developments affecting it will be those

that it has anticipated. These forward-looking statements involve a number of risks, uncertainties (some of which are beyond its control) or other assumptions that may cause actual results or performance to be materially different from those expressed or implied by these forward-looking statements. These risks and uncertainties include, but are not limited to: risks associated with the Company’s dependence on the OmniPod System; Insulet’s ability to increase customer orders and manufacturing volumes; adverse changes in general economic conditions; impact of healthcare reform legislation; Insulet’s inability to raise additional funds in the future on acceptable terms or at all; potential supply problems or price fluctuations with sole source or other third-party suppliers on which Insulet is dependent; international business risks; Insulet’s inability to obtain adequate coverage or reimbursement from third-party payors for the OmniPod System and potential adverse changes in reimbursement rates or policies relating to the OmniPod; potential adverse effects resulting from competition with competitors; technological innovations adversely affecting the Company’s business; potential termination of Insulet’s license to incorporate a blood glucose meter into the OmniPod System; Insulet’s ability to protect its intellectual property and other proprietary rights; conflicts with the intellectual property of third parties, including claims that Insulet’s current or future products infringe the proprietary rights of others; adverse regulatory or legal actions relating to the OmniPod System; failure of Insulet’s contract manufacturers or component suppliers to comply with FDA’s quality system regulations, the potential violation of federal or state laws prohibiting “kickbacks” or protecting patient health information, or any challenges to or investigations into Insulet’s practices under these laws; product liability lawsuits that may be brought against Insulet; reduced retention rates; unfavorable results of clinical studies relating to the OmniPod System or the products of Insulet’s competitors; potential future publication of articles or announcement of positions by physician associations or other organizations that are unfavorable to Insulet’s products; the expansion, or attempted expansion, into foreign markets; the concentration of substantially all of Insulet’s manufacturing capacity at a single location in China and substantially all of Insulet’s inventory at a single location in Massachusetts; Insulet’s ability to attract and retain key personnel; Insulet’s ability to manage its growth; fluctuations in quarterly results of operations; risks associated with potential future acquisitions; Insulet’s ability to generate sufficient cash to service all of its indebtedness; the expansion of Insulet’s distribution network; Insulet’s ability to successfully maintain effective internal controls; and other risks and uncertainties described in its Annual Report on Form 10-K, as amended, which was originally filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission on M arch 9, 2010 in the section entitled “Risk Factors,” and in its other filings from time to time with the Securities and Exchange Commission. Should one or more of these risks or uncertainties materialize, or should any of its assumptions prove incorrect, actual results may vary in material respects from those projected in these forward-looking statements. Insulet undertakes no obligation to publicly update or revise any forward-looking statements.
About Insulet Corporation
Insulet Corporation is an innovative medical device company dedicated to improving the lives of people with diabetes. The Company’s OmniPod Insulin Management System is a revolutionary, discreet and easy-to-use insulin infusion system that features two easy-to-use parts with no tubing and fully-automated cannula insertion. Through the OmniPod System, Insulet seeks to expand the use of continuous subcutaneous insulin infusion (CSII) therapy among people with insulin-dependent diabetes. Founded in 2000, Insulet is based in Bedford, MA.
Contact:
Stephanie Marks for Insulet Corporation
ir@insulet.com
877-PODD-IR1 (877-763-3471)