Exhibit 99.1

News release via Canada NewsWire, Vancouver 604-669-7764

     Attention Business Editors:
     Snowflake takes 8-day curtailment as market weakens

     RICHMOND, BC, Sept. 26 /CNW/ - Catalyst Paper announced today that its
Snowflake Mill will be curtailed for eight days beginning October 20. This
will remove approximately 8,000 tonnes of recycle newsprint from the market
and will reduce old newsprint (ONP) fibre requirements by some 10,000 tonnes.
     As the US economic slowdown adversely affects print advertising in key
urban markets, newsprint consumption has continued to decline. The Snowflake
curtailment reflects Catalyst's strategy to match production with customer
orders.
     "We are watching demand and inventory levels very closely," said Richard
Garneau, president and chief executive officer. "Existing orders and shipments
will be managed accordingly to address delivery commitments and maintain
efficient operations during the mill downtime."
     Catalyst is a leading producer of specialty printing papers and
newsprint, headquartered in Richmond, British Columbia, Canada. The company
also produces market kraft pulp and owns western Canada's largest paper
recycling facility. With six mills strategically located within western North
America, Catalyst has a combined annual capacity of 2.8 million tonnes of
production. Catalyst's common shares trade on the Toronto Stock Exchange under
the symbol CTL.

     Forward-Looking Statements

     Certain matters set forth in this news release, including statements with
respect to production levels and market demand for the company's products are
forward looking. These forward-looking statements reflect management's current
views and are based on certain assumptions including assumptions as to future
operating conditions and courses of action, economic conditions and other
factors management believes are appropriate. Such forward-looking statements
are subject to risks and uncertainties that may cause actual results to differ
materially from those contained in these statements, including those risks and
uncertainties identified under the heading "Risks and uncertainties" in the
management's discussion and analysis contained in Catalyst's second quarter
2008 interim report available at www.sedar.com.

     %CIK: 0001144906

     /For further information: Lyn Brown, Vice President, Corporate Relations,
(604) 247-4713/
     (CTL.)

CO:  Catalyst Paper Corporation

CNW 12:00e 26-SEP-08