Exhibit 99.1

NEWS RELEASE	Contact:	Tiffany K. Glenn
For Immediate Release		Executive Vice President
Investor Relations Officer
(757) 217-1000

HAMPTON ROADS BANKSHARES MAKES

INDUCEMENT AWARD TO DAVIES

NORFOLK, VIRGINIA, January 6, 2010: Hampton Roads Bankshares, Inc. (the “Company” - Nasdaq: HMPR), the holding company for Bank of Hampton Roads and Shore Bank, today announced that on December 30, 2009, John A.B. “Andy” Davies, Jr., President and Chief Executive Officer of the Company received a fully-vested 75,000 share award of restricted stock and a cash bonus in the amount of $58,000. This award was made as an inducement for joining the Company earlier this year in lieu of receiving a larger signing bonus. Of the 75,000 shares of restricted stock, 50,000 shares were granted under the Company’s 2006 Stock Incentive Plan.

About Hampton Roads Bankshares

Hampton Roads Bankshares, Inc. is a bank holding company that was formed in 2001 and is headquartered in Norfolk, Virginia. The Company's primary subsidiaries are Bank of Hampton Roads, which opened for business in 1987, and Shore Bank, which opened in 1961. The Banks engage in general community and commercial banking business, targeting the needs of individuals and small to medium-sized businesses. Currently, Bank of Hampton Roads operates twenty-eight banking offices in the Hampton Roads region of southeastern Virginia and twenty-four offices in Virginia and North Carolina doing business as Gateway Bank & Trust Co. Shore Bank serves the Eastern Shore of Maryland and Virginia through eight banking offices and fifteen ATMs. Through various affiliates, the Banks also offer mortgage banking services, insurance, title insurance and investment products. Shares of the Company's common stock are traded on the NASDAQ Global Select Market under the symbol HMPR. Additional information about the Company and its subsidiaries can be found at www.hamptonroadsbanksharesinc.com.

Certain statements in this report may constitute “forward-looking statements” within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Forward-looking statements are statements that include projections, predictions, expectations, or beliefs about events or results or otherwise are not statements of historical facts. Although the Company believes that its expectations with respect to certain forward-looking statements are based upon reasonable assumptions within the bounds of its existing knowledge of its business and operations, there can be no assurance that actual results, performance or achievements of the Company will not differ materially from any future results, performance or achievements expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements. Actual future results and trends may differ materially from historical results or those anticipated depending on a variety of factors. For an explanation of the risks and uncertainties associated with forward-looking statements, please refer to the Company’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2008, and other reports filed and furnished to the Securities and Exchange Commission. The Company undertakes no obligation to update any forward-looking statements made in this press release and this release shall not constitute an offer to sell or the solicitation of an offer to buy securities in any jurisdiction in which such solicitation would be unlawful.

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