PRESS RELEASE


Contacts:
Patrick L. Alexander
President and Chief Executive Officer
Mark A. Herpich
 Chief Financial Officer
(785) 565-2000


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
April 30, 2002


Landmark Bancorp, Inc. Announces Results For
the Quarter Ended March 31, 2002, a Stock
Repurchase Program and Declares Cash
Dividend


	(Manhattan, KS, April 30, 2002) Landmark
Bancorp, Inc. (Nasdaq: LARK), a bank holding
company based in Manhattan, Kansas, reported net
earnings for the quarter ended March 31, 2002 of
$958,000, an increase of 73%, compared to net
earnings of $553,000 for the quarter ended March
31, 2001, according to Patrick L. Alexander,
President and Chief Executive Officer.  Diluted
earnings per share for the quarter ended March 31,
2002 was $.45 versus $.50 for the quarter ended
March 31, 2001.  The decrease in earnings per share
is primarily the result of the issuance of 817,806
shares to former MNB Bancshares, Inc.
shareholders as a result of the October 9, 2001
merger.  As previously reported, Landmark Bancorp
completed the merger of Landmark Bancshares, Inc.
with MNB Bancshares, Inc. on October 9, 2001.
Accordingly, the results for the quarter ended March
31, 2002 include MNB's results while the
comparable quarter from the prior year does not.

Landmark Bancorp's annualized return on
average assets improved to 1.12% for the quarter
ended March 31, 2002 compared to .99% for the
quarter ended March 31, 2001.   In addition, the
annualized return on average equity increased from
9.28% for the quarter ended March 31, 2001 to
9.64% for the quarter ended March 31, 2002.  The
company also announced its board of directors
declared a cash dividend of 15 cents per share to
shareholders of record as of May 8, 2002, payable
May 16, 2002.

	Alexander remarked, "We continue to be
extremely excited about the October 9, 2001 merger
of Landmark Bancshares and MNB Bancshares.
Our earnings increased $405,000 in 2002 to
$958,000, compared to earnings of $553,000 for the
quarter ended March 31, 2001.  This reflects the
enhanced earnings power of the combined company
and the progress made to date in assimilating the
two companies from an operational perspective.  We
are continuing to identify and anticipate
implementing and achieving the majority of the
remaining cost savings by the third quarter of 2002.
This process will be facilitated by the consolidation
of our data processing systems scheduled to occur in
June, 2002."

	Alexander further stated, "Our lending staff's
efforts are focused on growing our commercial and
consumer loan portfolios.  These efforts will not
only further our plans to diversify the loan portfolio
with a mix of higher yielding assets, but will also
allow us to more profitably employ the liquidity
position we currently have as a result of refinancings
and paydowns in our residential mortgage portfolio.
As this effort continues to progress, it should further
enhance our earnings capability and reduce our
earnings exposure related to increasing interest
rates.  We anticipate that the cost savings discussed
earlier, coupled with the efforts of our lending staff,
will improve profitability and enhance our
stockholders' value."

	Landmark Bancorp also announced that the
company's board of directors approved a new stock
repurchase program enabling the company to
repurchase up to 100,800 shares, or 5% of its
outstanding stock.  The company reported the
successful completion of the 5% stock repurchase
program initiated in December 2001, which resulted
in the company repurchasing 97,039 shares at an
average cost per share of $20.68.  The board of
directors approved the new program because it feels
that the company's stock continues to be an
excellent value.  The company currently has
approximately 2 million common shares outstanding.

	Landmark Bancorp, Inc.'s total assets
declined slightly to $339 million at March 31, 2002
compared to $350 million at December 31, 2001.
Loans receivable, net were $232 million at March
31, 2002 compared to $241 million at December 31,
2001.  At March 31, 2002 and December 31, 2001,
the allowance for loan losses was $2.6 million, or
1.1% of net loans.

	Landmark Bancorp, Inc. is the holding
company for Landmark National Bank.  Landmark
National Bank has branches in Manhattan (2),
Auburn, Dodge City (2), Garden City, Great Bend,
Hoisington, LaCrosse, Osage City, Topeka and
Wamego, Kansas.

	Financial highlights for Landmark Bancorp,
Inc. are attached.  In conjunction with the October
9, 2001 merger, Landmark Bancorp, Inc. has
changed its fiscal year end from September 30 to
December 31.  Accordingly, the quarter ended
December 31, 2001 was reported on Form 10-K as a
transition period.  Landmark Bancorp, Inc.'s initial
twelve-month fiscal year end will conclude on
December 31, 2002.

	Forward Looking Statements. This release
may contain forward looking statements.  Forward
looking statements are identifiable by the inclusion
of such qualifications as expects, intends, believes,
may, likely or other indications that the particular
statements are not based upon facts but are rather
based upon the company's beliefs as of the date of
this release.  Actual events and results may differ
significantly from those described in such forward
looking statements, due to changes in the economy,
interest rates or other factors.  For additional
information about the factors, please review our
filings with the Securities and Exchange
Commission.