Exhibit 99.1

Kerr-McGee to Present at Energy Conference

Oklahoma City, Oct. 26, 2005 - Dave Hager, Kerr-McGee Corp. (NYSE: KMG) chief operating officer, will speak at the Merrill Lynch Energy Conference in New York on Wednesday, Nov. 2, at 3:10 p.m. EST. Interested parties can listen to the presentation by logging on to www.kerr-mcgee.com. Following the speech, the presentation slides will be archived on the company’s website for approximately 30 days.
Kerr-McGee is an Oklahoma City-based energy and inorganic chemical company with worldwide operations and assets of more than $16 billion. For more information on the company, visit www.kerr-mcgee.com.

###

Media contact:	Debbie Schramm Direct: 405-270-2877 Cell: 405-830-6937 dschramm@kmg.com	John Christiansen Direct: 405-270-3995 Cell: 405-406-6574 jchristiansen@kmg.com

Investor contacts:	Rick Buterbaugh Direct: 405-270-3561	John Kilgallon Direct: 405-270-3521

05-68