Exhibit 99.1


             Dresser, Inc. Files Registration Statement for Initial
                      Public Offering of Its Common Stock

           DALLAS--(BUSINESS WIRE)--Sept. 3, 2004--Dresser, Inc. (the "Company") today announced it has filed a registration statement with
the Securities and Exchange Commission for a proposed initial public offering of its common stock. The number of shares to be offered and
the price range for the offering have not yet been determined. A
portion of the shares will be issued by the Company and a portion will
be sold by certain existing shareholders of Dresser. Proceeds from the shares issued by the Company will be used to pay down debt.
           Morgan Stanley and Credit Suisse First Boston will act as joint book-running managers for the proposed offering, with Banc of America
LLC, UBS Investment Bank, Lehman Brothers, Raymond James, and Simmons
& Company International as co-managers.
           A preliminary prospectus, when it becomes available, may be obtained from Morgan Stanley & Co. Incorporated, Prospectus
Department, 1585 Broadway, New York, NY 10036 (tel. 212-761-6775), or
from Credit Suisse First Boston LLC, Prospectus Department, One
Madison Avenue, New York, NY 10010 (tel. 212-325-2580).
           A registration statement relating to these securities has been filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission but has not yet
become effective. These securities may not be sold nor may offers to
buy be accepted prior to the time the registration statement becomes effective. This press release shall not constitute an offer to sell or
a solicitation of an offer to buy, nor shall there be any sale of
these securities in any state in which such an offer, solicitation or
sale would be unlawful prior to registration or qualification under
the securities laws of any such state.
           Headquartered in Dallas, Dresser, Inc. is a worldwide leader in the design, manufacture and marketing of highly engineered equipment
and services sold primarily to customers in the flow control,
measurement systems, and compression and power systems segments of the energy industry. Dresser has a widely distributed global presence,
with over 8,500 employees and a sales presence in over 100 countries worldwide. The Company's website can be accessed at www.dresser.com.


    CONTACT: Dresser, Inc., Dallas
             Stewart Yee, 972-361-9933
             stewart.yee@dresser.com