                                                               EXHIBIT 99
                     WASHINGTON MUTUAL MORTGAGE SECURITIES CORP.
                                  MASTER SERVICING
                         MORTGAGE PASS-THROUGH CERTIFICATES
                             01/2003 DISTRIBUTION REPORT

SERIES:  wmmsc 2001-2                                  WEIGHTED AVERAGE PC RATE:    7.21396%
POOL NUMBER:  Group 1 = 1699
____________________________________________________________________________________________

ISSUE DATE:  03/28/2001
CERTIFICATE BALANCE AT ISSUE:    $971,301,068.00

                                                                 CERTIFICATE
                                                   TOTAL         ACCOUNT            CERTIFICATE
                                                   NUMBER OF     ACTIVITY           BALANCE
                                                   MORTGAGES     (@PC RATE)         OUTSTANDING
                                                   _________  __________________  __________________

BALANCES FROM LAST FISCAL MONTH-END:                     561                         $140,170,699.07
PRINCIPAL POOL COLLECTION(S):
Scheduled Principal Collection Due Current Month                     $167,805.88
Unscheduled Principal Collection/Reversals                           $292,366.44
Liquidations-in-full                                      50      $14,101,088.93
Net principal Distributed                                         $14,561,261.25    ($14,561,261.25)

CAPITAL LOSS (PRINCIPAL WRITTEN OFF):                                                          $0.00

BALANCE CURRENT FISCAL MONTH-END:                        511                         $125,609,437.82

SCHEDULED INTEREST AT MORTGAGE RATE:                                 $876,915.25

UNSCHEDULED INTEREST AT MORTGAGE RATE:
Unscheduled Interest Collection/Reversals                                  $0.00
Interest Uncollected on Liquidation                                        $0.00
Interest Uncollected on Non-Earning Assets                                 $0.00
Net Unscheduled Interest Distributed                                       $0.00

OTHER:
Loan Conversion Fees                                                       $0.00
Expense Reimbursements                                                     $0.00
Gain on Liquidations                                                       $0.00
Hazard Insurance Premium Refunds                                           $0.00
Net Other Distributions                                                    $0.00

SCHEDULED SERVICING FEE EXPENSES:                                     $35,042.64

UNSCHEDULED SERVICING FEES:
Unscheduled Service Fee Collections/Reversals                              $0.00
Servicing Fees Uncollected on Liquidation                                  $0.00
Servicing Fees Uncollected/Non-Earning Assets                              $0.00
Net Unscheduled Service Fees Distributed                                   $0.00

MISCELLANEOUS EXPENSES:                                                    $0.00

NET FUNDS DISTRIBUTED:                                            $15,403,133.86

                     WASHINGTON MUTUAL MORTGAGE SECURITIES CORP.
                                  MASTER SERVICING
                         MORTGAGE PASS-THROUGH CERTIFICATES
                             01/2003 DISTRIBUTION REPORT

SERIES:  wmmsc 2001-2                                  WEIGHTED AVERAGE PC RATE:    7.21396%
POOL NUMBER:  Group 1 = 1699
____________________________________________________________________________________________

AGGREGATE LOSS AMOUNTS FROM INCEPTION OF POOL
  Loan Count Of              Aggregate Loss
  Incurred Loss                  Amount
__________________         _________________

                 0                     $0.00
*Aggregate Loss Amount and Count do not include this month's activity

SUMMARY OF DISTRIBUTIONS FOR CURRENT CYCLE
     Principal          Scheduled         Interest        Net Interest                            Total
   Distribution       Interest Due       Adjustment       Distribution         Other          Distribution
__________________  ________________  ________________  ________________  ________________  ________________

    $14,561,261.25       $841,872.61             $0.00       $841,872.61             $0.00    $15,403,133.86

INSURANCE RESERVES
                         Original         Claims In          Claims           Coverage          Coverage
  Insurance Type         Balance          Progress            Paid           Adjustments        Remaining
___________________  ________________  ________________  ________________  ________________  ________________

MPI                             $0.00             $0.00             $0.00             $0.00             $0.00
Special Hazard         $11,031,626.00             $0.00             $0.00             $0.00    $11,031,626.00
Bankruptcy Bond
   Single-Units           $223,800.00             $0.00             $0.00             $0.00       $223,800.00
   Multi-Units                  $0.00             $0.00             $0.00             $0.00             $0.00
Mortgage Repurchase     $9,606,171.00             $0.00             $0.00             $0.00     $9,606,171.00

DELINQUENT INSTALLMENTS
ONE                          TWO                          THREE
Count  Principal Balance     Count  Principal Balance     Count  Principal Balance
_____  _________________     _____  _________________     _____  _________________

   15      $4,447,967.41         0              $0.00         1         $89,277.83

FOUR                         IN FORECLOSURE               ACQUIRED
Count  Principal Balance     Count  Principal Balance     Count  Principal Balance
_____  _________________     _____  _________________     _____  _________________
    0              $0.00         1      $1,009,723.85         0              $0.00

The Class Principal Balances of each Class of the Class B1, B2, B3, B4, B5, B6
Certificates immediately after the principal and interest distribution on
01/25/2003 are as follows:

                Class       Class Principal Balance
                B1                 $6,564,103.33
                B2                 $5,251,390.80
                B3                 $3,413,160.72
                B4                 $2,888,183.84
                B5                 $1,312,712.54
                B6                 $1,575,454.16
                              __________________
                Total             $21,005,005.39
                              ==================

Capitalized items used but not defined herein have the meanings ascribed to
them in the Prospectus Supplement.

                                                                           EXHIBIT 99

                  DELINQUENT* MORTGAGE LOANS (As of December 31, 2002):

SERIES:  2001-2                 POOL NUMBER:  Group 1 = 1699

                           I                     II                      III
                     Total Loans In        Total Delinquent        Loans Delinquent
                     Mortgage Pool              Loans                  1 Month
                  --------------------   ---------------------   ---------------------

Dollar Amount:       $125,609,437.82**        $5,546,969.09***        $4,447,967.41***
Number:                         2825                     17                      15
% of Pool:                    100.00%                  4.42%                   3.54%
(Dollars)
% of Pool:                    100.00%                  0.60%                   0.53%
(No. of Loans)

                           IV                      V                      VI
                    Loans Delinquent        Loans Delinquent           Loans In
                        2 Month                 3 Month               Foreclosure
                  --------------------   ---------------------   ---------------------

Dollar Amount:                $0.00***           $89,277.83***        $1,009,723.85***
Number:                           0                       1                       1
% of Pool:                    0.00%                    0.07%                   0.80%
(Dollars)
% of Pool:                    0.00%                    0.04%                   0.04%
(No. of Loans)

                          VII
                     Loans Acquired
                  --------------------

Dollar Amount:                $0.00***
Number:                           0
% of Pool:                     0.00%
(Dollars)
% of Pool:                     0.00%
(No. of Loans)

*  A Mortgage Loan is considered delinquent in a given month when a payment
due on the first day of the prior month has not been made on or before the
first day of such prior month.

**  Reflects the outstanding principal balance of the Mortgage Pool after the
application of all January 01, 2003 scheduled payments and December 01, 2003
unscheduled payments on the mortgage loans.

***  Reflects outstanding principal balance of delinquent mortgage loans as of
December 31, 2002.

Trading Factor, calculated as of distribution date : 0.12932081.
By multiplying this factor by the original balance of the Mortgage Pool as of
the Cut-Off Date, current outstanding balance of the Mortgage Pool (after
application of scheduled payments up to and including January 01, 2003, and
unscheduled prepayments in months prior to January ) can be calculated.