Credit Suisse Future of Energy Conference
WASHINGTON, DC • JUNE 2 - 4, 2010

Some of the statements contained in today’s presentations are forward-looking statements within the meaning of Section 21E of
the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 and are subject to the safe harbor created by the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of
1995. These statements include all financial projections and any declarations regarding management’s intents, beliefs or current
expectations. In some cases, you can identify forward-looking statements by terminology such as “may,” “will,” “should,” “expects,”
“plans,” “anticipates,” “believes,” “estimates,” “predicts,” “potential” or “continue” or the negative of such terms or other comparable
terminology. Any forward-looking statements are not guarantees of future performance, and actual results could differ materially
from those indicated by the forward-looking statements. Forward-looking statements involve estimates, assumptions, known and
unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors that may cause actual results, levels of activity, performance or achievements to be
materially different from any future results, levels of activity, performance or achievements expressed or implied by such forward-
looking statements. Each forward-looking statement speaks only as of the date of the particular statement, and we undertake no
obligation to publicly update or revise any forward-looking statement, whether as a result of new information, future events or
otherwise. A number of factors could cause actual results or outcomes to differ materially from those indicated by the forward-
looking statements contained in this presentation. These factors include, but are not limited to, prevailing governmental policies
and regulatory actions affecting the energy industry, including with respect to allowed rates of return, industry and rate structure,
acquisition and disposal of assets and facilities, operation and construction of plant facilities, recovery of purchased power
expenses, and present or prospective wholesale and retail competition; changes in and compliance with environmental and safety
laws and policies; weather conditions; population growth rates and demographic patterns; competition for retail and wholesale
customers; general economic conditions, including potential negative impacts resulting from an economic downturn; growth in
demand, sales and capacity to fulfill demand; changes in tax rates or policies or in rates of inflation; rules and changes in
accounting standards or practices; changes in project costs; unanticipated changes in operating expenses and capital
expenditures; the ability to obtain funding in the capital markets on favorable terms; restrictions imposed by Federal and/or state
regulatory commissions, PJM and other regional transmission organizations (NY ISO, ISO New England), the North American
Electric Reliability Council and other applicable electric reliability organizations; legal and administrative proceedings (whether civil
or criminal) and settlements that affect our business and profitability; pace of entry into new markets; volatility in market demand
and prices for energy, capacity and fuel; interest rate fluctuations and credit market concerns; and effects of geopolitical events,
including the threat of domestic terrorism. Readers are referred to the most recent reports filed with the Securities and Exchange
Commission.
Safe Harbor Statement

Forecast Business Mix Based on 2011-2014 Projected Operating Income
PHI’s Strategic Repositioning
• We have been repositioning PHI over the last year
 – Wind-down of retail energy supply business at Pepco Energy Services
 – Announced sale of Conectiv Energy
• PHI will become fundamentally a regulated T&D company with significantly
 reduced direct exposure to the energy commodity markets

• Invest in T&D infrastructure
• Implement Blueprint for the Future - AMI, energy efficiency,
 demand response, decoupling
• Achieve constructive regulatory outcomes
• Increase operational excellence
Power Delivery
• Increase earnings contribution from energy services
Pepco Energy Services
Note: See Safe Harbor Statement at the beginning of today’s presentation.
PHI’s Strategic Focus

Our plan positions us for significant long-term growth in both
transmission and distribution.
Note: See Safe Harbor Statement at the beginning of today’s presentation.
Power Delivery Business Outlook
• Over $5.4 billion in planned infrastructure investment over next 5 years
• Accelerated smart grid deployment backed by $168 million in stimulus
 grants
• Revenue growth through continued modest, long-term growth in the
 number of customers - comparatively strong, resilient economy
• Achieving constructive regulatory outcomes - ongoing rate cases,
 decoupling, FERC formula and incentive rates
• Continued improvement in operating performance - safety, customer
 satisfaction, reliability, cost

Total = $5,461 M
$ 738M
$1,089M
$1,212M
$1,228M
$1,194M
MAPP
$1,130 M
Transmission
$1,165 M
Blueprint
$302 M
Other
$349 M
Distribution
$2,515 M
* DOE awarded PHI $168 million under the ARRA. $130 million has been netted in the charts to offset projected
 Blueprint and other capital expenditures. The remaining $38 million will offset ongoing expenses associated
 with direct load control and other programs. See appendix for details.
Note: See Safe Harbor Statement at the beginning of today’s presentation.
Construction Program* - 2010 - 2014

Power Delivery - The Driver of Growth
Total Rate Base
Growth - 80%
Electric Distribution Rate
Base Growth - 49%
Transmission Rate
Base Growth - 185%
* See appendix for projection by utility.
$4,765
$8,563
$5,357
$6,123
$3,425
$3,749
$4,087
$4,417
$4,725
$5,115
$218
$226
$237
$243
$249
$252
$1,122
$1,382
$1,799
$2,390
$2,884
$3,196
*
Note: See Safe Harbor Statement at the beginning of today’s presentation.

500kV AC
640kV DC
Nuclear Generation
Fossil Generation
Substation
Key
 :
MAPP - Project Update
Total Projected Construction cost: $1.2 billion
Current In-Service Date: June 2014
Note: See Safe Harbor Statement at the beginning of today’s presentation.
 PJM
 • 2010 RTEP study underway, to be
 completed in June
 • RTEP study will re-examine need and
 timing for major transmission projects in
 PJM
 • Preliminary results show reactive
 deficiencies in MAAC and EMAAC in
 2015; various alternatives under study
 • Exelon (930 MW) and NRG (Indian River
 - 170 MW) unit retirements recently
 announced

 Approvals
 • CPCN procedural schedule suspended
 pending 2010 RTEP study completion
 • Field reviews with state and federal
 environmental agencies continuing for
 Southern Maryland portion

 Ongoing Work
 • Proposed route through Dorchester
 County announced - only section needing
 new right-of-way
 • Environmental, engineering, and right-of-
 way acquisition activities continuing
 • No construction activities ongoing

Projected Construction Costs: $334 million (1)
Other Expenditures: $241 million (2)
(1) Net of DOE Reimbursement
(2) Demand Response and energy efficiency program costs are recorded as deferred regulatory assets
Combines smart grid technology with energy
efficiency programs to help customers control
their energy use and cost, while providing
earnings potential for the Company
Note: See Safe Harbor Statement at the beginning of today’s presentation.
Blueprint for the Future
• Advanced Metering Infrastructure
 – Meter installation underway in DE, regulatory asset
 approved
 – Meter installation to begin in DC in 4Q2010, regulatory
 asset approved
• Energy efficiency and demand response programs
 – Demand response programs approved in MD and NJ,
 recovery through a surcharge; pending in DC
 – Energy efficiency approved in MD and DC, recovery
 through a surcharge
• Revenue decoupling
 – Implemented in MD and DC; 66% of total distribution
 revenue is decoupled
 – To be implemented in DE following resolution of
 electric distribution base rate case (3Q2010)
• Innovative rate structures
 – Dynamic pricing proposals pending in DC and DE

 Delaware Deployment Schedule
Note: See Safe Harbor Statement at the beginning of today’s presentation.
AMI - Under Construction in Delaware
Customer Benefits (Delaware)
2010
• Automated meter reading
• Remote connect and disconnect
• Web presentment of customers’
 energy usage data
• Outage processing
2011
• Dynamic Pricing
• Customer outage notification

Would you recommend PowerCentsDC
electricity pricing to your friends and family?
Overall, were you satisfied, neutral, or
dissatisfied with the PowerCentsDC program?
Source: eMeter Corp. Survey 2009
PowerCents DC
Innovative Rate Structure -
Customer Benefits
• Pilot program in the District of Columbia to
 test customers’ response to different pricing
 schemes
• Rates designed to be revenue neutral
 – Average customer pays same bill if no
 peak load reduction
• 92% of participants saved money
 – Average of 7.8%

Goals
• Create “self-healing” distribution feeder from the
 substation to customer’s location
• Reduce sustained outages caused by outage of
 entire feeder
• Segment feeders into several sections using
 remote controlled switches or automatic
 reclosers
How it works
• Automatic Sectionalizing and Reclosing (ASR)
 scheme on the feeder opens closed switches to
 isolate the problem
• ASR restores the other sections by reclosing the
 feeder breaker and/or closing open tie switches
 to other feeders
• Generally ASR operates in less than a minute -
 restoring most customers
50% reduction in sustained outages
Real Life Example
Note: See Safe Harbor Statement at the beginning of today’s presentation.

Benefits - Distribution Automation

Advantages of decoupling:
• Fosters energy conservation as it aligns the interests of customers and utilities
• Eliminates revenue fluctuations due to weather and changes in customer usage patterns
• Provides for more predictable utility distribution revenues
• Provides for more reliable fixed-cost recovery
* DPL - DE Gas decoupling to be implemented following base rate case decision expected in first quarter 2011.
79%
66%
Note: See Safe Harbor Statement at the beginning of today’s presentation.
Decoupling Status

Timely Cost Recovery
• Transmission
 – FERC Formula Rates
 – CWIP in rate base (Mid-Atlantic Power Pathway project)
 – Current year recovery of projected capital additions
• Distribution
 – Rate case activity to continue
 • Permitted to file partially forecasted test years adjusted for known and
   measurable costs
 – Decoupling in place in MD and DC; to be implemented in DE
 – Deferred regulatory assets
 • AMI costs (DE, DC)
 – Surcharges
 • Energy efficiency programs (MD, DC)
 • Demand response programs (MD)
 • Bad debt expense (NJ)
 • State and local taxes (MD, DC)
 – Procurement cost adjustment mechanisms

We are positioned to provide an attractive total return
to our shareholders and growth for the future
Note: See Safe Harbor Statement at the beginning of today’s presentation.
POM Investment Case
• Robust T&D growth - Over $5 billion planned investment, 42% in transmission
• Smart grid underway - aided by $168 million in stimulus funds
• Constructive regulatory outlook - including FERC formula rates
• No equity issuance needs until at least 2012
• Commitment to the current dividend
• Clear value proposition - fundamentally a regulated T&D business

Credit Suisse Future of Energy Conference
WASHINGTON, DC • JUNE 2 - 4, 2010

Appendix

Sales and Customer Growth
While the economic downturn has slowed growth, we expect
continued growth over the long-term across our service territory.
Note: See Safe Harbor Statement at the beginning of today’s presentation.

$754
$1,100
$1,229
$1,232
$1,198
Construction Expenditures*
* Shown net of DOE Capital Reimbursement Awards, excludes Conectiv Energy
Total projected capital expenditures are $5.5 billion over 5 years
Note: See Safe Harbor Statement at the beginning of today’s presentation.

Projected Transmission Earnings by Rate Year (June 1 - May 31)
Millions of dollars, after-tax	2010-11	2011-12	2012-13	2013-14	2014-15
Earnings - 11.3% ROE	$54	$59	$65	$79	$89
Earnings - 12.8% ROE	$11	$21	$42	$63	$84
Projected Earnings	$65(2)	$80	$107	$142	$173
Note: See Safe Harbor Statement at the beginning of today’s presentation.
$1,132
$1,374
$1,791
$2,395
$2,889
(1) Projected earnings based on a simplified computation: projected year end rate base x 50% equity x
 authorized returns on equity. Projected earnings are shown for the rate year June 1 through May 31.
(2) The 2009-10 rate year produced a true-up of $7.2 million after-tax, to be recorded in the first half of 2010.
Projected Transmission Rate Base
Transmission Rate Base and Earnings(1)

AMI - Pepco Schedule
* Contingent on Maryland regulatory approval
Note: See Safe Harbor Statement at the beginning of today’s presentation.
*

Blueprint for the Future - Updated Costs
 (2) DOE awarded PHI $168 million under the ARRA. $100 million will offset Blueprint construction costs and $30 million will
 offset other capital expenditures. $36 million will offset expenses associated with direct load control programs.
 (3) Demand response and energy efficiency program costs are recorded as deferred regulatory assets.
Note: See Safe Harbor Statement at the beginning of today’s presentation.

MAPP - Construction Costs*
(Millions of Dollars)
• In-service dates currently under review by PJM, which may affect timing of certain
 expenditures.
• Construction costs based on proposed route through Dorchester County, announced on 5/5/10.
* 2008 and 2009 actual costs; 2010 through 2015 planned costs
Note: See Safe Harbor Statement at the beginning of today’s presentation.

Regulatory Diversity
Regulatory Environment

Note: See Safe Harbor Statement at the beginning of today’s presentation.
Distribution Rate Cases - Timeline