Exhibit 99.1

2-1250 Waverley Street Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada R3T 6C6 Phone: 204-487-7412 Fax: 204-488-9823

MEDICURE ANNOUNCES GRADUATION TO TSX VENTURE EXCHANGE

Symbol change to MPH

WINNIPEG, Manitoba – (October 21, 2011) Medicure Inc. ("Medicure" or the "Company") (NEX:MPH.H / TSXV:MPH, OTC:MCUJ.PK) is pleased to announce that the TSX Venture Exchange has granted approval for Medicure to graduate from the NEX, to the TSX Venture Exchange as a Tier 2 issuer.   Medicure’s shares will commence trading on the TSX Venture Exchange on Monday, October 24, 2011.  The Company’s trading symbol will also change from MPH.H to MPH.

“Graduation onto the TSX Venture Exchange represents a significant milestone for the Company, and is one that could not have been accomplished without the successful debt restructuring and related transactions announced on July 18, 2011,” commented Dawson Reimer, President and COO of Medicure Inc.  “In addition to allowing us to meet the listing requirements of the TSX Venture Exchange, our recent developments have provided a renewed basis for us to advance our US focused, specialty pharmaceutical business.”

About Medicure Inc.

Medicure is a specialty pharmaceutical company focused on the development and commercialization of novel small molecule therapeutics.  The primary focus of the Company and its subsidiaries is the marketing and distribution of AGGRASTAT® (tirofiban HCl) for acute coronary syndromes in the United States, where it is sold through the Company’s US subsidiary, Medicure Pharma, Inc.  For more information on Medicure please visit www.medicure.com.

Neither TSX Venture Exchange nor its Regulation Services Provider (as that term is defined in policies of the TSX Venture Exchange) accepts responsibility for the adequacy or accuracy of this release.

Forward Looking Information Statements contained in this press release that are not statements of historical fact, including, without limitation, statements containing the words “believes”, “may”, “plans”, “will”, “estimates”, “continues”, “anticipates”, “intends”, “expects” and similar expressions, may constitute “forward-looking information” within the meaning of applicable Canadian and U.S. federal securities laws (such forward-looking information and forward-looking statements are hereinafter collectively referred to as “forward-looking statements”). Forward-looking statements are based on the current assumptions, estimates, analysis and opinions of management of the Company made in light of its experience and its perception of trends, current conditions and expected developments, as well as other factors which the Company believes to be relevant and reasonable in the circumstances. Inherent in forward-looking statements are known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors beyond the Company’s ability to predict or control that may cause the actual results, events or developments to be materially different from any future results, events or developments expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements, and as

such, readers are cautioned not to place undue reliance on forward-looking statements. Such risk factors include, among others, the Company’s future product revenues, stage of development, additional capital requirements, risks associated with the completion and timing of clinical trials and obtaining regulatory approval to market the Company’s products, the ability to protect its intellectual property, dependence upon collaborative partners, changes in government regulation or regulatory approval processes, and rapid technological change in the industry. Such statements are based on a number of assumptions which may prove to be incorrect, including, but not limited to, assumptions about: general business and economic conditions; the impact of changes in Canadian-US dollar and other foreign exchange rates on the Company’s revenues, costs and results; the timing of the receipt of regulatory and governmental approvals for the Company’s research and development projects; the availability of financing for the Company’s commercial operations and/or research and development projects, or the availability of financing on reasonable terms; results of current and future clinical trials; the uncertainties associated with the acceptance and demand for new products and market competition. The foregoing list of important factors and assumptions is not exhaustive. The Company undertakes no obligation to update publicly or otherwise revise any forward-looking statements or the foregoing list of factors, other than as may be required by applicable legislation. Additional discussion regarding the risks and uncertainties relating to the Company and its business can be found in the Company’s other filings with the applicable Canadian securities regulatory authorities or the US Securities and Exchange Commission, and in the “Risk Factors” section of its Form 20F for the year ended May 31, 2011.

For more information, please contact:

Dawson Reimer
President & COO
Tel. 888-435-2220
Fax 204-488-9823
E-mail: info@medicure.com
Web: www.medicure.com

To be added to Medicure’s e-mail list, please visit:
http://medicure.com/newsreleases.html

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