EXHIBIT 99.1


                                  NEWS RELEASE


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                             Contact:  Daniel L. Krieger,
                                                            Chairman & President

                                                                     or

                                                            John p. Nelson,
                                                            Vice President

OCtober 15, 2004                                                  (515) 232-6251


                            AMES NATIONAL CORPORATION
                                    ANNOUNCES
                             THIRD QUARTER EARNINGS



Ames  National  Corporation  is  headquartered  in Ames,  Iowa with  five  banks
including  twelve  banking  offices in central Iowa.  Affiliate  banks are First
National  Bank,  Ames;  Boone Bank & Trust Co.,  Boone;  State Bank & Trust Co.,
Nevada;  Randall-Story  State  Bank,  Story  City;  and  United  Bank  &  Trust,
Marshalltown.

Net income for the quarter ended  September 30, 2004 was  $3,372,000,  4% higher
than the  $3,241,000  earned in the third quarter last year.  Earnings per share
were $1.08 for the quarter  slightly  higher  than the $1.03  earned in the same
period in 2003.  Return on average  assets was 1.70%  compared to 1.78% in third
quarter  2003.  Return on average  equity was 12.66% for the three  months ended
September 30, 2004 which  compares to 12.42%  posted a year ago. The  efficiency
ratio for third  quarter was 45.85%  compared to 44.02% for the same period last
year.  Net interest  margin for the third quarter 2004 was 3.95%,  slightly less
than the 4.10% for third quarter 2003. Net loan  recoveries  totaled $99,000 for
the three months ended  September 30, 2004 compared to net loan  charge-offs  of
$19,000 for the three months ended  September 30, 2003. A loan recovery at First
National Bank of $136,000 relating to a problem  commercial credit resulted in a
negative provision for loan losses for the third quarter.

The Company  recorded  higher earnings for third quarter 2004 despite much lower
gains from securities  transactions and secondary market loan fees. Contributing
to this quarter's  earnings was higher net interest income and the fact that non
interest expense was only slightly higher than third quarter 2003.

For the nine month period  ending  September  30, 2004,  the Company  earned net
income of  $9,199,000,  or $2.94 per  share,  a 5%  increase  over net income of
$8,760,000,  or $2.80 per share, earned a year ago. A stable net interest margin
and a higher volume of earning  assets  resulted in an additional  $1,315,000 in
net  interest  income for the first  nine  months of 2004  compared  to the same
period a year ago. For the first nine months of 2004,  the improved net interest
income was offset by lower security gains and lower  secondary  market  mortgage
loan fees.  Net interest  margin for the first three quarters was 4.00% compared
to 4.02% for the same period in 2003. Net loan  recoveries  totaled  $56,000 for
the nine months ended  September  30, 2004 compared to net loan  charge-offs  of
$321,000 for the nine months ended September 30, 2003.

Total assets  reached a record $800 million,  $62 million  higher than the third
quarter of 2003 with significant growth in both loans and investments.

Deposits  increased to $648,917,000  for third quarter 2004, an 8% increase over
the  $602,522,000  recorded in third quarter 2003 with interest bearing checking
account deposits accounting for most of the increase.

Loans  rose 12% to a record  $387,743,000,  a $42  million  increase  over third
quarter 2003 with commercial real estate accounting for most of the gain.

Third quarter 2004 capital rose 5% to  $109,644,000  compared to $104,836,000 on
September  30,  2003.  Included  in  capital  are  unrealized  capital  gains on
securities  available  for  sale  in  the  amount  of  $7,842,000,  compared  to
$7,850,000 posted at the end of third quarter 2003. Capital represented 13.7% of
total assets at the end of third quarter 2004.

Company  stock,  which is listed on the  Bulletin  Board under the symbol  ATLO,
closed at $71.00 on September  30, 2004.  During third  quarter the price ranged
from  $62.25 to  $71.50.  The  third  quarter  dividend  paid was $.49 per share
compared to $.46 per share paid in the same  quarter a year ago. The Company has
recently  submitted  an  application  to have it common  stock  listed on NASDAQ
SmallCap  Market.  In order to comply with the listing  requirements for NASDAQ,
the  Company  has amended  its Audit  Committee  Charter  which can be viewed at
www.amesnational.com.

                   AMES NATIONAL CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES

                           Consolidated Balance Sheets
                                   (unaudited)

                                                                  September 30,    September 30,
                            Assets                                     2004            2003
                                                                  ------------------------------
Cash and due from banks .......................................   $  30,392,905    $  23,786,945
Federal funds sold ............................................         335,000       47,983,000
Interest bearing deposits in financial institutions ...........       9,214,595        6,000,000
Securities available-for-sale .................................     356,253,991      300,766,501
Loans receivable, net .........................................     387,402,492      342,674,299
Loans held for sale ...........................................         340,150        2,328,828
Bank premises and equipment, net ..............................       8,783,819        8,551,794
Accrued income receivable .....................................       6,716,873        6,314,908
Other assets ..................................................         908,172          358,198
                                                                  ------------------------------
           Total assets .......................................   $ 800,347,997    $ 738,764,473
                                                                  ==============================

              Liabilities and Stockholders' Equity
Liabilities:
Deposits:
   Demand .....................................................   $  65,855,704    $  63,523,911
   NOW accounts ...............................................     173,726,694      137,857,750
   Savings and money market ...................................     171,534,487      166,661,183
   Time, $100,000 and over ....................................      66,861,191       63,297,586
   Other time .................................................     170,939,177      171,181,614
                                                                  ------------------------------
           Total deposits .....................................     648,917,253      602,522,044

Federal funds purchased and securities
   sold under agreements to repurchase ........................      32,992,304       22,452,228
Dividends payable .............................................       3,074,325        2,882,409
Deferred taxes ................................................       2,553,015        2,749,662
Accrued interest and other liabilities ........................       3,166,620        3,322,574
                                                                  ------------------------------
           Total liabilities ..................................     690,703,517      633,928,917
                                                                  ------------------------------

Stockholders' Equity:
   Common stock, $5 par value;  authorized 6,000,000 shares;
     issued 3,153,230 shares at  September  30, 2004 and 2003;
     outstanding 3,137,066 shares at September 30, 2004
     and  3,133,053 shares at September 30, 2003 ..............      15,766,150       15,766,150
   Additional paid-in-capital .................................      25,378,746       25,351,979
   Retained earnings ..........................................      61,546,936       56,977,374
   Treasury stock, at cost; 16,164 shares at September 30, 2004
     and 20,177 shares at September 30, 2003 ..................        (889,020)      (1,109,735)
   Accumulated other comprehensive income - net unrealized gain
     on securities available-for-sale .........................       7,841,668        7,849,788
                                                                  ------------------------------
           Total stockholders' equity .........................     109,644,480      104,835,556
                                                                  ------------------------------
           Total liabilities and stockholders' equity .........   $ 800,347,997    $ 738,764,473
                                                                  ==============================

                   AMES NATIONAL CORPORATION AND SUBSIDIARIES

                        Consolidated Statements of Income
                                   (unaudited)

                                                                             Three Months Ended         Nine Months Ended
                                                                                September 30,              September 30,
                                                                         ------------------------------------------------------
                                                                             2004           2003         2004          2003
                                                                         ------------------------------------------------------
Interest and dividend income:
   Loans .............................................................   $ 5,721,244    $ 5,576,844   $16,545,006   $16,784,078
   Securities
     Taxable .........................................................     2,157,631      1,841,920     6,385,422     5,518,204
     Tax-exempt ......................................................     1,061,069        940,760     3,206,725     2,553,150
   Federal funds sold ................................................         3,065        121,263        81,161       534,865
   Dividends .........................................................       380,838        337,259     1,129,368     1,018,103
                                                                         ------------------------------------------------------
Total Interest Income ................................................     9,323,847      8,818,046    27,347,682    26,408,400
                                                                         ------------------------------------------------------

Interest expense:
   Deposits ..........................................................     2,470,179      2,392,420     7,144,678     7,664,617
   Other borrowed funds ..............................................       192,070         74,735       360,697       216,069
                                                                         ------------------------------------------------------
Total Interest Expense ...............................................     2,662,249      2,467,155     7,505,375     7,880,686
                                                                         ------------------------------------------------------

         Net interest income .........................................     6,661,598      6,350,891    19,842,307    18,527,714

Provision for loan losses ............................................       (63,820)        87,000       204,888       512,740
                                                                         ------------------------------------------------------
         Net interest income after provision for loan losses .........     6,725,418      6,263,891    19,637,419    18,014,974
                                                                         ------------------------------------------------------

Non-interest income:
   Trust department income ...........................................       266,539        279,157       875,697       881,259
   Service fees ......................................................       503,027        395,491     1,320,895     1,137,490
   Securities gains, net .............................................        19,821        539,623        51,363     1,186,230
   Gain on sale of loans held for sale ...............................       125,764        366,978       473,505       937,974
   Merchant and ATM fees .............................................       137,384        164,179       406,789       412,213
   Other .............................................................       365,236        186,193       680,362       484,002
                                                                         ------------------------------------------------------
         Total non-interest income ...................................     1,417,771      1,931,621     3,808,611     5,039,168
                                                                         ------------------------------------------------------

Non-interest expense:
   Salaries and employee benefits ....................................     2,240,214      2,204,712     6,768,289     6,699,133
   Occupancy expenses ................................................       250,782        341,562       755,734       841,908
   Data processing ...................................................       482,341        504,643     1,590,621     1,589,780
   Other operating expenses ..........................................       730,908        594,914     1,918,551     1,793,681
                                                                         ------------------------------------------------------

         Total non-interest expense ..................................     3,704,245      3,645,831    11,033,195    10,924,502
                                                                         ------------------------------------------------------

         Income before income taxes ..................................     4,438,944      4,549,681    12,412,835    12,129,640

Income tax expense ...................................................     1,066,557      1,309,039     3,213,867     3,369,445
                                                                         ------------------------------------------------------
         Net income ..................................................   $ 3,372,387    $ 3,240,642   $ 9,198,968   $ 8,760,195
                                                                         ======================================================

Basic and diluted earnings per share .................................   $      1.08    $      1.03   $      2.94   $      2.80
                                                                         ======================================================

Declared dividends per share .........................................   $      0.49    $      0.46   $      1.93   $      1.82
                                                                         ======================================================

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</TABLE>