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                                                                    Exhibit 99.1

                                  CERTIFICATION
            PURSUANT TO SECTION 906 OF THE SARBANES-OXLEY ACT OF 2002
       (SUBSECTIONS (A) AND (B) OF SECTION 1350, CHAPTER 63 OF TITLE 18,
                              UNITED STATES CODE)

         Pursuant to section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 (subsections
(a) and (b) of section 1350, chapter 63 of title 18, United States Code), each of the undersigned officers of Instinet Group Incorporated, a Delaware corporation (the "Company"), does hereby certify, to such officer's knowledge, that:


         The Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2002 (the "Form 10-K") of the Company fully complies with the requirements of section 13(a) or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934 and information contained in the Form 10-K fairly presents, in all material respects, the financial condition and results of operations of the Company.

Dated:   March 28, 2003                        /s/ Edward J. Nicoll
                                              ----------------------------
                                              Edward J. Nicoll
                                              Chief Executive Officer

                                               /s/ John Fay
                                              ----------------------------
                                              John Fay
                                              Chief Financial Officer


         The foregoing certification is being furnished solely pursuant to
section 906 of the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002 (subsections (a) and (b) of
section 1350, chapter 63 of title 18, United States Code) and is not being filed as part of the Form 10-K or as a separate disclosure document.







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