Exhibit 99.1

Cyclacel Pharmaceuticals, Inc.

CYCLACEL REGAINS NASDAQ COMPLIANCE
Berkeley Heights, NJ, January 27, 2010 — Cyclacel Pharmaceuticals, Inc. (NASDAQ: CYCC, NASDAQ: CYCCP; “Cyclacel” or the “Company”) today announced that NASDAQ notified the Company that it has regained compliance with the minimum $50 million market value of listed securities requirement, and further, that it currently complies with all other applicable standards for continued listing on The NASDAQ Global Market.
As required under NASDAQ’s Listing Rules, to regain compliance, the Company was required to evidence a market value of listed securities of $50 million or more for at least ten consecutive days. On January 21, 2010, the market value of the Company’s listed securities was approximately $69.7 million, the tenth consecutive day it had exceeded the $50 million threshold. Accordingly, the Company will continue to trade on The NASDAQ Global Market and the previously disclosed delisting proceeding is now closed.
About Cyclacel Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Cyclacel is a biopharmaceutical company dedicated to the discovery, development and commercialization of novel, mechanism-targeted drugs to treat human cancers and other serious disorders. Three orally-available Cyclacel drugs are in clinical development. Sapacitabine (CYC682), a cell cycle modulating nucleoside analog, is in Phase 2 studies for the treatment of acute myeloid leukemia in the elderly, myelodysplastic syndromes and lung cancer. The Company plans to submit a Special Protocol Assessment (SPA) request for a pivotal study with sapacitabine during the first quarter of 2010. Seliciclib (CYC202 or R-roscovitine), a CDK (cyclin dependent kinase) inhibitor, is in Phase 2 studies for the treatment of lung cancer and nasopharyngeal cancer and in a Phase 1 trial in combination with sapacitabine. CYC116, an Aurora kinase and VEGFR2 inhibitor, is in a Phase 1 trial in patients with solid tumors. Cyclacel’s ALIGN Pharmaceuticals subsidiary markets directly in the U.S. Xclair® Cream for radiation dermatitis, Numoisyn® Liquid and Numoisyn® Lozenges for xerostomia. Cyclacel’s strategy is to build a diversified biopharmaceutical business focused in hematology and oncology based on a portfolio of commercial products and a development pipeline of novel drug candidates. Please visit www.cyclacel.com for additional information.
Risk factors
This news release contains certain forward-looking statements that involve risks and uncertainties that could cause actual results to be materially different from historical results or from any future results expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements. Such forward-looking statements include statements regarding, among other things, the efficacy, safety, and intended utilization of Cyclacel’s product candidates, the conduct and results of future clinical trials, plans regarding regulatory filings, future research and clinical trials and plans regarding partnering activities. Factors that may cause actual results to differ materially include the risk that product candidates that appeared promising in early research and clinical trials do not demonstrate safety and/or efficacy in larger-scale or later clinical trials, the risk that Cyclacel will not obtain approval to market its products, the risks associated with reliance on outside financing to meet capital requirements, and the risks associated with reliance on collaborative partners for further clinical trials, development and commercialization of product candidates. You are urged to consider statements that include the words “may,” “will,” “would,” “could,” “should,” “believes,” “estimates,” “projects,” “potential,” “expects,” “plans,” “anticipates,” “intends,” “continues,” “forecast,” “designed,” “goal,” or the negative of those words or other comparable words to be uncertain and forward-looking. These factors and others are more fully discussed under “Risk Factors” in the Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2008, as supplemented by the interim quarterly reports, filed with the SEC.
Contacts for Cyclacel Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Investors/Media:
Corey Sohmer, (908) 517-7330
csohmer@cyclacel.com
© Copyright 2010 Cyclacel Pharmaceuticals, Inc. All Rights Reserved. The Cyclacel logo and Cyclacel® are trademarks of Cyclacel Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Numoisyn® and Xclair® are trademarks of Sinclair Pharma plc.
SOURCE: Cyclacel Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
þ 200 Connell Drive, Suite 1500, Berkeley Heights, NJ 07922 USA T: +1 (908) 517 7330 F: +1 (866) 271 3466
o Dundee Technopole, James Lindsay Place, Dundee, DD1 5JJ, UK Tel +44 1382 206 062 Fax +44 1382 206 067
www.cyclacel.com — info@cyclacel.com