EXHIBIT 99.1

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
April 27, 2007

Contact:     Martin A. Thomson
             Chief Executive Officer
             First Federal of Northern Michigan Bancorp, Inc.
             (989) 356-9041

                FIRST FEDERAL OF NORTHERN MICHIGAN BANCORP, INC.
                      ANNOUNCES FIRST QUARTER 2007 EARNINGS


Alpena,  Michigan - (April 27, 2007) First Federal of Northern Michigan Bancorp,
Inc. (Nasdaq: FFNM) (the "Company") reported consolidated net income of $24,000,
or $0.01 per basic and  diluted  share,  for the quarter  ended March 31,  2007,
compared to net income of $212,000,  or $0.07 per basic and diluted  share,  for
the quarter ended March 31, 2006.

Earnings-per-share  was calculated based on weighted average  outstanding shares
of 3,033,303 for the three-month  period ended March 31, 2007, and 3,116,745 for
the three-month period ended March 31, 2006.

During  the  three  months  ended  March  31,  2007,  the  Company   recorded  a
cumulative-effect adjustment to retained earnings of $461,000 as a result of the
Company's  election to early adopt Statement of Financial  Accounting  Standards
("SFAS") No. 159 and No. 157. Effective January 1, 2007, the Company elected the
fair value  measurement  option for certain  pre-existing  financial  assets and
liabilities  including $4.8 million of available-  for-sale securities and $10.0
million of Federal Home Loan Bank  advances.  Under the  provisions  of SFAS No.
159, the  cumulative-effect  adjustment is a one-time  charge to equity and will
not be recognized in current earnings.

The  Company  believes  early  adoption  of SAFS No. 159 and No. 157 will have a
positive impact on the Company's  ability to mange its balance sheet from both a
market and an interest  rate risk  perspective  which will  benefit net interest
income,  net income and earnings per share for the remainder of 2007 and beyond.
A more  detailed  discussion  of the early  adoption of SFAS No. 159 and No. 157
will be included in the Company's Form 10-QSB for the first quarter of 2007.


Financial Condition

Total assets of the Company at March 31, 2007 were $271.9 million, a decrease of
$9.1 million,  or 3.24%, over assets of $281.0 million at December 31, 2006. The
ratio of total nonperforming  assets to total assets was 1.56% at March 31, 2007
compared to 1.59% at December 31, 2006.

Stockholders'  equity  decreased  to $34.7  million at March 31, 2007 from $35.5
million at December 31,  2006,  a decline of  $729,000.  During the three months

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ended March 31, 2007, the Company repurchased 156,000 shares of its common stock
at a total cost of $358,000. Dividends for the three months ended March 31, 2007
were $150,000.  As mentioned above, the Company chose to restructure its balance
sheet  through an early  adoption of FAS 159,  resulting in a $461,000  one-time
cumulative-effect  adjustment  to  retained  earnings.  The  unrealized  loss on
available  for sale  securities,  net of tax,  was $141,000 at March 31, 2007 as
compared to $264,000 at December  31, 2006,  an  improvement  of  $123,000.  The
cumulative  loss in value on  securities  was due to interest  rates and was not
considered by management to be other than temporary.

Results of Operations

Interest  income  increased to $4.1 million for the three months ended March 31,
2007 from $4.0  million for the same  period  ended  March 31,  2006.  While the
average balance of interest earning assets decreased by $5.3 million from $265.1
million  at March 31,  2006 to $259.8  million at March 31,  2007,  the yield on
interest  earning  assets  increased  over that same time  period  from 6.13% to
6.43%. This was primarily  attributable to the non-mortgage loan portfolio which
grew $13.3  million in average  balance  from March 31, 2006 to March 31,  2007,
reflecting our continued  emphasis on commercial  lending,  while the yield grew
from 7.53% to 7.56% over that same time period.  In addition,  while the average
balance of mortgage loans decreased by $2.8 million from March 31, 2006 to March
31, 2007, the yield on that portfolio increased from 6.02% to 6.15%.

Interest expense  increased to $2.2 million for the three months ended March 31,
2007 from $1.9 million for the three  months ended March 31, 2006.  The increase
in  interest  expense  was mainly  attributable  to an  increase  in the average
balance of FHLB  borrowings of $6.6 million for the quarter ended March 31, 2007
as compared to the quarter ended March 31, 2006,  and an increase in the cost of
those borrowings of 38 basis points from the quarter ended March 31, 2006 to the
quarter ended March 31, 2007 due to market interest rate increases. In addition,
the cost of certificates  of deposit  increased 81 basis points from the quarter
ended March 31, 2006 to the same period in 2007. However, the average balance of
those deposits decreased by $10.5 million from March 31, 2006 to March 31, 2007.

The Company's net interest  margin for the three months ended March 31, 2007 was
2.96% as  compared  to 3.22% for the three  months  ended  March 31,  2006.  The
Company's  interest rate spread  decreased from 2.83% for the three months ended
March 31, 2007 to 2.50% for the three months ended March 31, 2007.

The  provision  for loan losses for the three month  period ended March 31, 2007
was $86,000 as compared to $69,000 for the prior year  period.  These  increases
reflected  an increase in  classified  assets due to the current  somewhat  weak
economic  conditions in the northern  Michigan  market as well as declining real
estate values.



Non  interest  income was  $978,000  for the three month  period ended March 31,
2007, a decrease of $148,000 or 13.1%, from the same period in 2006. The primary
reason for the decrease was a reduction  of $76,000 in insurance  and  brokerage
commissions  due mainly to a loss in insurance  contingency  income quarter over
quarter and the loss of a large commercial insurance customer.  In addition,  we
experienced a $40,000  decrease in service charges and other fees, which was due
mainly to a decrease in customer usage of our Bounce Protection  program and ATM
network,  and also a reduction  in loan late fees  related to a change in how we
recognize those fees as income.

Non interest expense was $2.8 million for the three month period ended March 31,
2007, a $71,000 or 2.5% decrease from the same period in 2006.  The decrease was
primarily  due to a decrease  of $ 27,000 in expense  related to  insurance  and
brokerage  activities.  We also  recorded a $10,000  decrease in service  bureau
charges related to
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change  in our core  processing  system  vendor  in late  2006.  Other  expenses
decreased $39,000, reflecting largely a decrease in expenses associated with our
repossessed assets.

The  Company had a federal  income tax  benefit of $12,000 for the three  months
ended  March 31,  2007 due to  tax-exempt  interest  income in excess of pre-tax
income,  compared to federal  income tax expense of $107,000 for the same period
in 2006.


Safe Harbor Statement

This news  release  and  other  releases  and  reports  issued  by the  Company,
including  reports  to the  Securities  and  Exchange  Commission,  may  contain
'forward-looking  statements."  The Company  cautions readers not to place undue
reliance on any such forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date
made. The Company is including  this statement for purposes of taking  advantage
of the safe-harbor provisions of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of
1995.

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<CAPTION>

First Federal of Northern Michigan Bancorp, Inc. and Subsidiaries
Consolidated Balance Sheet


                                                                                            March 31, 2007        December 31, 2006
                                                                                                (Unaudited)
ASSETS
Cash and cash equivalents:
Cash on hand and due from banks                                                        $        3,176,308      $        4,159,833
Overnight deposits with FHLB                                                                    1,618,457                 832,968
Total cash and cash equivalents                                                                 4,794,765               4,992,801
Securities AFS                                                                                 34,233,844              43,100,430
Securities HTM                                                                                  1,750,000               1,750,000
Securities Trading                                                                              4,755,925                       -
Loans held for sale                                                                               172,077                  72,000
Loans receivable, net of allowance for loan losses of $2,099,662 and
   $2,079,069 as of March 31, 2007 and December 31, 2006, respectively                        204,829,690             209,518,068
Foreclosed real estate and other repossessed assets                                               522,438                 475,312
Real estate held for investment                                                                   135,543                 135,543
Federal Home Loan Bank stock, at cost                                                           4,196,900               4,196,900
Premises and equipment                                                                          7,990,850               8,075,238
Accrued interest receivable                                                                     2,083,798               2,138,667
Intangible assets                                                                               2,464,583               2,589,463
Goodwill                                                                                        1,396,854               1,396,854
Other assets                                                                                    2,540,723               2,517,548
Total assets                                                                           $      271,867,990      $      280,958,824


LIABILITIES AND STOCKHOLDERS' EQUITY
Liabilities:
Deposits                                                                               $      173,162,074      $      177,057,993
Advances from borrowers for taxes and insurance                                                   190,753                  44,389
Federal Home Loan Bank advances and Note Payable                                               50,592,134              66,042,134
Borrowing held for trading                                                                     10,337,328                       -
Accrued expenses and other liabilities                                                          2,861,540               2,361,573

Total liabilities                                                                             237,143,829             245,506,089

Stockholders' equity:
Common stock ($0.01 par value 20,000,000 shares authorized
                                3,190,999 shares issued)                                           31,910                  31,910
Additional paid-in capital                                                                     24,281,938              24,261,737

Retained earnings                                                                              13,990,116              14,576,468

           Treasury stock at cost (194,600 and 156,000 shares, respectively)                   (1,923,844)             (1,565,359)
Unallocated ESOP                                                                               (1,034,216)             (1,059,130)
Unearned compensation                                                                            (498,468)               (528,987)
                         Accumulated other comprehensive loss                                    (123,275)               (263,904)
Total stockholders' equity                                                                     34,724,161              35,452,735

Total liabilities and stockholders' equity                                             $      271,867,990      $      280,958,824


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<TABLE>

First Federal of Northern Michigan Bancorp, Inc. and Subsidiaries
Consolidated Statement of Income

                                                                             For the Three Months
                                                                               Ended March 31,

                                                                         2007                    2006
                                                                                 (Unaudited)
Interest income:
Interest and fees on loans                                     $         3,585,927      $         3,416,613
Interest and dividends on investments                                      509,849                  561,811
Interest on mortgage-backed securities                                      47,100                   54,975
Total interest income                                                    4,142,876                4,033,399

Interest expense:
Interest on deposits                                                     1,431,910                1,239,910
Interest on borrowings                                                     802,086                  669,347
Total interest expense                                                   2,233,996                1,909,257

Net interest income                                                      1,908,880                2,124,141
Provision for loan losses                                                   85,629                   69,500
Net interest income after provision for loan losses                      1,823,251                2,054,641

Non Interest income:
Service charges and other fees                                             197,015                  237,146
Mortgage banking activities                                                 87,884                   72,803

Net gain (loss) on sale of premises and equipment,
  real estate owned and other repossessed assets                            (1,833)                   2,256
Other                                                                       11,929                   45,220
Net loss on trading activities                                              (9,624)                       -
Insurance & Brokerage Commissions                                          692,819                  768,654
Total other income                                                         978,190                1,126,079

Non interest expenses:
Compensation and employee benefits                                       1,568,828                1,544,900

SAIF Insurance Premiums                                                      5,500                    6,408
Advertising                                                                 40,519                   51,089
Occupancy                                                                  367,617                  369,281
Amortization of intangible assets                                          124,881                  124,881
Service Bureau Charges                                                      75,945                   86,281
Insurance & Brokerage Commission Expense                                   240,800                  268,107
Professional Services                                                       80,279                   85,335

Other                                                                      285,331                  324,860
Other expenses                                                           2,789,699                2,861,142

Income before income tax expense                                            11,742                  319,578
Income tax expense                                                         (11,993)                 107,370
Net income                                                     $            23,735      $           212,208

Per share data:
Basic earnings per share                                       $              0.01      $              0.07
Weighted average number of shares outstanding                            3,033,303                3,116,745

Diluted earnings per share                                     $              0.01      $              0.07
Weighted average number of shares outstanding,
  including dilutive stock options                                       3,034,309                3,120,904

Dividends per common share                                     $              0.05      $              0.05
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