Exhibit 99.1

Emera Approves Increase in Common Dividend

Company Release - 9/20/2023

HALIFAX, Nova Scotia — (BUSINESS WIRE) — On September 20, 2023 the Board of Directors of Emera Inc. (TSX: EMA) approved an increase in the annual common share dividend to $2.87 from $2.76 per common share and extended its dividend growth rate target of four to five per cent through 2026.

“Today’s dividend increase is in line with our dividend growth rate target of four to five per cent and reflects our continued confidence in our assets, our strategy and the strength of our business” said Scott Balfour, President and CEO of Emera Inc. “We remain focused on executing a balanced energy transition that drives value for our customers and generates reliable returns for our shareholders.”

Forward Looking Information

This news release contains forward-looking information within the meaning of applicable securities laws. By its nature, forward-looking information requires Emera to make assumptions and is subject to inherent risks and uncertainties. These statements reflect Emera management’s current beliefs and are based on information currently available to Emera management. There is a risk that predictions, forecasts, conclusions and projections that constitute forward-looking information will not prove to be accurate, that Emera’s assumptions may not be correct and that actual results may differ materially from such forward-looking information. Additional detailed information about these assumptions, risks and uncertainties is included in Emera’s securities regulatory filings, including under the heading “Business Risks and Risk Management” in Emera’s annual Management’s Discussion and Analysis, and under the heading “Principal Risks and Uncertainties” in the notes to Emera’s annual and interim financial statements, which can be found on SEDAR+ at www.sedarplus.ca.

About Emera

Emera Inc. is a geographically diverse energy and services company headquartered in Halifax, Nova Scotia, with approximately $38 billion in assets and 2022 revenues of more than $7.5 billion. The company primarily invests in regulated electricity generation and electricity and gas transmission and distribution with a strategic focus on transformation from high carbon to low carbon energy sources. Emera has investments in Canada, the United States and in three Caribbean countries. Emera’s common and preferred shares are listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange and trade respectively under the symbol EMA, EMA.PR.A, EMA.PR.B, EMA.PR.C, EMA.PR.E, EMA.PR.F, EMA.PR.H, EMA.PR.J and EMA.PR.L. Depositary receipts representing common shares of Emera are listed on the Barbados Stock Exchange under the symbol EMABDR and on The Bahamas International Securities Exchange under the symbol EMAB. Additional information can be accessed at www.emera.com or at www.sedarplus.ca.

Emera Inc.

Investor Relations

Dave Bezanson, VP, Investor Relations & Pensions

902-474-2126

dave.bezanson@emera.com

Arianne Amirkhalkhali, Senior Manager, Investor Relations

902-425-8130

arianne.amirkhalkhali@emera.com

Media

902-222-2683

media@emera.com

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