WELLS REAL ESTATE FUND XIII L P (CIK 1127245)
Form 10-Q
period 2010-03-31
filed 2010-05-13

UNITED STATES

SECURITIES AND EXCHANGE COMMISSION

Washington, D.C. 20549

FORM 10-Q

(Mark One)

x	QUARTERLY REPORT PURSUANT TO SECTION 13 OR 15(d) OF THE SECURITIES EXCHANGE ACT OF 1934

For the quarterly period ended March 31, 2010

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

Any such forward-looking statements are subject to unknown risks, uncertainties, and other factors and are based on a number of assumptions involving judgments with respect to, among other things, future economic, competitive, and market conditions, all of which are difficult or impossible to predict accurately. To the extent that our assumptions differ from actual results, our ability to meet such forward-looking statements, including our ability to generate positive cash flow from operations, provide distributions to partners, and maintain the value of our real estate properties, may be significantly hindered. See Item 1A. in the Partnership’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2009 for a discussion of some of the risks and uncertainties, although not all risks and uncertainties, which could cause actual results to differ materially from those presented in our forward-looking statements.

WELLS REAL ESTATE FUND XIII, L.P.

PART I.	FINANCIAL INFORMATION

ITEM 1.	FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

The information furnished in the Partnership’s accompanying balance sheets and statements of operations, partners’ capital, and cash flows reflects all adjustments that are, in management’s opinion, necessary for a fair and consistent presentation of the aforementioned financial statements.

The accompanying financial statements should be read in conjunction with the notes to the Partnership’s financial statements and Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations included both in this report on Form 10-Q and in the Partnership’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2009. The Partnership’s results of operations for the three months ended March 31, 2010 are not necessarily indicative of the operating results expected for the full year.

WELLS REAL ESTATE FUND XIII, L.P.

BALANCE SHEETS

ASSETS

	(Unaudited) March 31, 2010	December 31, 2009
Investment in joint ventures	$11,984,848	$12,062,058
Cash and cash equivalents	1,819,292	1,519,750
Due from joint ventures	320,400	368,923

Total assets	$14,124,540	$13,950,731

LIABILITIES AND PARTNERS’ CAPITAL

LIABILITIES:
Accounts payable and accrued expenses	$14,257	$25,584
Due to affiliates	11,556	10,875

Total liabilities	25,813	36,459

Commitments and contingencies

PARTNERS’ CAPITAL:
Limited partners:
Cash Preferred – 3,215,584 units issued and outstanding	14,090,680	13,908,070
Tax Preferred – 556,464 units issued and outstanding	0	0
General partners	8,047	6,202

Total partners’ capital	14,098,727	13,914,272

Total liabilities and partners’ capital	$14,124,540	$13,950,731

See accompanying notes.

WELLS REAL ESTATE FUND XIII, L.P.

STATEMENTS OF OPERATIONS

	(Unaudited) Three Months Ended March 31,
	2010	2009

EQUITY IN INCOME OF JOINT VENTURES	$243,190	$182,212

GENERAL AND ADMINISTRATIVE EXPENSES	58,735	49,489

NET INCOME	$184,455	$132,723

NET INCOME (LOSS) ALLOCATED TO:
CASH PREFERRED LIMITED PARTNERS	$182,610	$132,757

TAX PREFERRED LIMITED PARTNERS	$0	$0

GENERAL PARTNERS	$1,845	$(34)

NET INCOME PER WEIGHTED-AVERAGE LIMITED PARTNER UNIT:
CASH PREFERRED	$0.06	$0.04

TAX PREFERRED	$0.00	$0.00

WEIGHTED-AVERAGE LIMITED PARTNER UNITS OUTSTANDING:
CASH PREFERRED	3,215,584	3,215,584

TAX PREFERRED	556,464	556,464

See accompanying notes.

WELLS REAL ESTATE FUND XIII, L.P.

STATEMENTS OF PARTNERS’ CAPITAL

FOR THE YEAR ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2009

AND THE THREE MONTHS ENDED MARCH 31, 2010 (UNAUDITED)

	Limited Partners				General Partners	Total Partners’ Capital
	Cash Preferred		Tax Preferred
	Units	Amount	Units	Amount
BALANCE, December 31, 2008	3,215,584	$13,556,979	556,464	$0	$2,656	$13,559,635

Net income	0	623,377	0	0	3,546	626,923
Distributions of operating cash flow ($0.08 per weighted-average Cash Preferred Unit)	0	(272,286)	0	0	0	(272,286)

BALANCE, December 31, 2009	3,215,584	13,908,070	556,464	0	6,202	13,914,272

Net income	0	182,610	0	0	1,845	184,455

BALANCE, March 31, 2010	3,215,584	$14,090,680	556,464	$0	$8,047	$14,098,727

See accompanying notes.

WELLS REAL ESTATE FUND XIII, L.P.

STATEMENTS OF CASH FLOWS

	(Unaudited) Three Months Ended March 31,
	2010	2009
CASH FLOWS FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES:
Net income	$184,455	$132,723
Operating distributions received from joint ventures	368,923	361,560
Adjustments to reconcile net income to net cash provided by operating activities:
Equity in income of joint ventures	(243,190)	(182,212)
Operating changes in assets and liabilities:
Decrease in other assets	0	190
Decrease in accounts payable and accrued expenses	(11,327)	(11,289)
Increase in due to affiliates	681	5,197

Net cash provided by operating activities	299,542	306,169

NET INCREASE IN CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS	299,542	306,169

CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS, beginning of period	1,519,750	530,337

CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS, end of period	$1,819,292	$836,506

SUPPLEMENTAL DISCLOSURE OF NONCASH INVESTING AND FINANCING ACTIVITIES:
Partnership distributions payable	$0	$136,143

See accompanying notes.

WELLS REAL ESTATE FUND XIII, L.P.

CONDENSED NOTES TO FINANCIAL STATEMENTS

MARCH 31, 2010 (unaudited)

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

Wells Real Estate Fund XIV, L.P. is affiliated with the Partnership through common general partners. Each of the properties described above was acquired on an all-cash basis. For further information regarding the Joint Ventures and foregoing properties, refer to the Partnership’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2009.

2.	SUMMARY OF SIGNIFICANT ACCOUNTING POLICIES

Basis of Presentation

The financial statements of the Partnership have been prepared in accordance with the rules and regulations of the Securities and Exchange Commission (“SEC”), including the instructions to Form 10-Q and Article 10 of Regulation S-X, and in accordance with such rules and regulations, do not include all of the information and footnotes required by U.S. generally accepted accounting principles (“GAAP”) for complete financial statements. In the opinion of the General Partners, the statements for the unaudited interim periods presented include all adjustments that are of a normal and recurring nature and necessary to fairly and consistently present the results for these periods. Results for interim periods are not necessarily indicative of full-year results. For further information, refer to the financial statements and footnotes included in the Partnership’s Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2009.

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

Net cash from operations, if available and unless reserved, is generally distributed quarterly to the limited partners as follows:

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

Recent Accounting Pronouncement

In January 2010, the Financial Accounting Standards Board (the “FASB”) clarified previously issued GAAP and issued new requirements related to ASC Topic Fair Value Measurements and Disclosures (“ASC 820”). The clarification component includes disclosures about inputs and valuation techniques used in determining fair value, and providing fair value measurement information for each class of assets and liabilities. The new requirements relate to disclosures of transfers between the levels in the fair value hierarchy, as well as the individual components in the rollforward of the lowest level (Level 3) in the fair value hierarchy. This change in GAAP became effective for the Partnership beginning January 1, 2010, except for the provision concerning the rollforward of activity of the Level 3 fair value measurement, which will become effective for the Partnership on January 1, 2011. The adoption of ASC 820 did not have a material impact on the Partnership’s financial statements or disclosures.

3.	INVESTMENT IN JOINT VENTURES

Summary of Financial Information

The following information summarizes the operations of the Joint Ventures for the three months ended March 31, 2010 and 2009, respectively:

	Total Revenues		Net Income
	Three Months Ended March 31,		Three Months Ended March 31,
	2010	2009	2010	2009
Fund XIII-REIT Associates	$1,524,097	$1,500,494	$477,389	$453,308
Fund XIII-XIV Associates	431,098	390,472	230,434	115,829

	$1,955,195	$1,890,966	$707,823	$569,137

Due from Joint Ventures

As presented in the accompanying balance sheets, due from joint ventures as of March 31, 2010 and December 31, 2009 includes operating cash flow generated by the Joint Ventures during the three months ended March 31, 2010 and December 31, 2009, respectively, which is payable to the Partnership.

4.	RELATED-PARTY TRANSACTIONS

Management and Leasing Fees

The Partnership has entered into a property management, leasing, and asset management agreement with Wells Management Company, Inc. (“Wells Management”), an affiliate of the General Partners. In accordance with the property management and leasing agreement, Wells Management receives compensation for the management and leasing of the Partnership’s properties, owned through the Joint Ventures, equal to the lesser of (a) 4.5% of the gross revenues collected monthly; plus, a separate competitive fee for the one-time initial lease-up of newly constructed properties generally paid in conjunction with the receipt of the first month’s rent, or (b) fees that would be paid to a comparable outside firm, which is assessed periodically based on market studies. In the case of commercial properties leased on a long-term net-lease basis (ten or more years), the maximum property management fee from such leases shall be 1% of the gross revenues generally paid over the life of the leases except for a one-time initial leasing fee of 3% of the gross revenues on each lease payable over the first five full years of the original lease term. Management and leasing fees are paid by the Joint Ventures and, accordingly, are included in equity in income of joint ventures in the accompanying statements of operations. The Partnership’s share of management and leasing fees and lease acquisition costs incurred through the Joint Ventures and payable to Wells Management is $6,894 and $8,285 for the three months ended March 31, 2010 and 2009, respectively.

Administrative Reimbursements

Wells Capital, one of our General Partners, and Wells Management perform certain administrative services for the Partnership, relating to accounting, property management, and other partnership administration, and incur the related expenses. Such expenses are allocated among other entities affiliated with the General Partners based on time spent on each fund by individual administrative personnel. In the opinion of the General Partners, this allocation is a reasonable estimation of such expenses. The Partnership incurred administrative expenses of $27,804 and $26,771 payable to Wells Capital and Wells Management for the three months ended March 31, 2010 and 2009, respectively. In addition, Wells Capital and Wells Management pay for certain operating expenses of the Partnership (“bill-backs”) directly and invoice the Partnership for the reimbursement thereof on a quarterly basis. As presented in the accompanying balance sheets, due to affiliates as of March 31, 2010 and December 31, 2009 represents administrative reimbursements and bill-backs due to Wells Capital and/or Wells Management.

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

Future net income generated by WREF will be largely dependent upon the amount of fees earned by Wells Capital and Wells Management based on, among other things, the level of investor proceeds raised from the sale of common stock for certain WREF-sponsored programs and the volume of future acquisitions and dispositions of real estate assets by WREF-sponsored programs, as well as anticipated dividend income earned from its holdings of common stock of Piedmont REIT, which was acquired in connection with the Piedmont REIT internalization transaction (see “Assertion of Legal Action Against Related-Parties” below). The General Partners believe that WREF generates adequate cash flow from operations and has adequate liquidity available in the form of cash on hand and other investments necessary to meet its current and future obligations as they become due.

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

their entirety. The Court dismissed the remaining two counts with the exception of allegations regarding the failure to disclose in the Piedmont REIT proxy statement details of certain expressions of interest in acquiring Piedmont REIT. On April 21, 2008, the plaintiff filed a second amended complaint, which alleges violations of the federal proxy rules based upon allegations that the proxy statement to obtain approval for the Piedmont REIT internalization transaction omitted details of certain expressions of interest in acquiring Piedmont REIT. The second amended complaint seeks, among other things, unspecified monetary damages, to nullify and rescind the internalization transaction, and to cancel and rescind any stock issued to the defendants as consideration for the internalization transaction. On May 12, 2008, the defendants answered and raised certain defenses to the second amended complaint. On June 23, 2008, the plaintiff filed a motion for class certification. On September 16, 2009, the Court granted the plaintiff’s motion for class certification. On September 20, 2009, the defendants filed a petition for permission to appeal immediately the Court’s order granting the motion for class certification with the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals. The petition for permission to appeal was denied on October 30, 2009. On April 13, 2009, the plaintiff moved for leave to amend the second amended complaint to add additional defendants. The Court denied the plaintiff’s motion for leave to amend on June 23, 2009. On December 4, 2009, the parties filed motions for summary judgment. The parties filed their responses to the motions for summary judgment on January 29, 2010. The parties’ respective replies to the responses to the motions for summary judgment were filed on February 19, 2010. The motions for summary judgment are currently pending before the Court. Mr. Wells, Wells Capital, and Wells Management believe that the allegations contained in the complaint are without merit and intend to vigorously defend this action. Any financial loss incurred by Wells Capital, Wells Management, or their affiliates could hinder their ability to successfully manage our operations and our portfolio of investments.

5.	COMMITMENTS AND CONTINGENCIES

From time to time, the Partnership and its General Partners are parties to legal proceedings which arise in the ordinary course of our business. The Partnership is not currently involved in any litigation for which the outcome would, in the judgment of the General Partners based on information currently available, have a materially adverse impact on the results of operations or financial condition of the Partnership, nor is management aware of any such litigation threatened against us.

Certain lease agreements include provisions that, at the option of the tenant, may obligate the Partnership to expend capital to expand an existing property or to provide other expenditures for the benefit of the tenant. In connection with a 2009 lease amendment, Fund XIII-XIV Associates provided a landlord-funded tenant allowance available through September 30, 2010 to Siemens Shared Services, Inc., the majority tenant at the Siemens – Orlando Building, of which approximately $93,000 remained available for use as of March 31, 2010.

ITEM 2.	MANAGEMENT’S DISCUSSION AND ANALYSIS OF FINANCIAL CONDITION AND RESULTS OF OPERATIONS

The following discussion and analysis should be read in conjunction with the accompanying financial statements and notes thereto. See also “Cautionary Note Regarding Forward-Looking Statements” preceding Part I, as well as the notes to our financial statements and Management’s Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations provided in our Annual Report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2009.

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

Portfolio Overview

We are currently in the positioning-for-sale phase of our life cycle. We have sold four of the seven properties in which we have held interests. Our focus at this time involves leasing and marketing efforts that we believe will ultimately result in the best disposition pricing of our assets for our investors.

The first quarter 2010 operating distributions to limited partners holding Cash Preferred Units were reserved. We anticipate that operating distributions will be reserved in the near-term as a result of our intention to fund our pro rata share of anticipated re-leasing costs and capital improvements for the AIU – Chicago Building and the tenant allowance reimbursement obligation remaining for the Siemens – Orlando Building.

Property Summary

As we move further into the positioning-for-sale phase, we will continue to focus on re-leasing vacant space and space that may become vacant upon the expiration of our current leases. In doing so, we will seek to maximize returns to our limited partners by negotiating long-term leases at market rental rates while attempting to minimize down time, re-leasing expenditures, ongoing property level costs, and portfolio costs. As properties are positioned for sale, our attention will shift to locating suitable buyers, negotiating purchase-sale contracts that will attempt to maximize the total return to our limited partners and minimize contingencies and potential post-closing obligations to buyers. As of April 30, 2010, the Partnership owned interests in three properties.

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

•

The AIU – Chicago Building, located in Hoffman Estates, Illinois, a suburb of Chicago, is currently 83% leased through December 2010. We are actively marketing the vacant space for lease in this building.

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

Short-Term Liquidity

During the three months ended March 31, 2010, we generated net operating cash flows, including operating distributions received from the Joint Ventures, of approximately $300,000. Operating distributions from the Joint Ventures generally consist of rental revenues and tenant reimbursements, less property operating expenses, management fees, general administrative expenses, and capital expenditures. We continued to withhold the net operating cash flows generated in the first quarter of 2010 to fund our pro rata share of anticipated re-leasing costs and capital improvements for the AIU – Chicago Building and the tenant improvement reimbursement obligation remaining for the Siemens – Orlando Building. The extent to which any future operating distributions are paid to limited partners will be largely dependent upon the amount of cash generated from the Joint Ventures, our expectations of future cash flows, and determination of near-term cash needs to fund our share of tenant re-leasing costs and other capital improvements for properties owned by the Joint Ventures. We anticipate that operating distributions from the Joint Ventures may decline in the near term as a result of funding our pro rata share of anticipated re-leasing costs and capital improvements for the AIU – Chicago Building and the tenant improvement reimbursement obligation remaining for the Siemens – Orlando Building.

We believe that the cash on hand and operating distributions due from the Joint Ventures are sufficient to cover our working capital needs, including those provided for within our total liabilities of approximately $26,000, as of March 31, 2010.

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

As of March 31, 2010, we have received, used, distributed, and held net sale proceeds allocated to the Partnership from the sale of properties as presented below:

Property Sold	Net Sale Proceeds	Partnership’s Approximate Ownership %	Net Sale Proceeds Allocated to the Partnership	Use of Net Sale Proceeds		Net Sale Proceeds Distributed to Partners as of March 31, 2010	Undistributed Net Sale Proceeds as of March 31, 2010
				Amount	Purpose

AmeriCredit Building (sold in 2005)	$14,301,802	28.11%	$4,020,236	$0	—	$4,020,236	$0

John Wiley Building (sold in 2005)	$21,427,599	28.11%	6,023,298	0	—	6,023,298	0

7500 Setzler Parkway (sold in 2007)	$8,723,080	47.30%	4,126,017	0	—	4,126,017	0

Randstad-Atlanta Building (sold in 2007)	$8,992,600	47.30%	4,253,500	0	—	4,240,448	13,052

Total			$18,423,051	$0		$18,409,999	$13,052

Upon evaluating the capital needs of the properties in which we currently own an interest, our General Partners have determined to reserve the remaining net sale proceeds.

Results of Operations

Equity in Income of Joint Ventures

Equity in income of Joint Ventures increased from $182,212 for the three months ended March 31, 2009 to $243,190 for the three months ended March 31, 2010. The increase is primarily due a decrease in amortization of intangible lease assets due to the 2009 expiration of the original term of a lease in-place at the time of acquisition at the Siemens – Orlando Building and an increase in rental income at the Siemens – Orlando Building related to the lease extension with the majority tenant at that property effective in October 2009.

We anticipate equity in income of the Joint Ventures to remain at similar levels in the near-term; however, if we are unable to secure a replacement tenant for the AIU – Chicago Building in a timely manner, we would expect equity in income of Joint Ventures to decline in future periods following the scheduled expiration of the American InterContinental University, Inc. lease in December 2010.

General and Administrative Expenses

General and administrative expenses increased from $49,489 for the three months ended March 31, 2009 to $58,735 for the three months ended March 31, 2010. The increase is attributable to a temporary difference in accounting fees related to the timing of work performed by our external accountants in the current year and an increase in printing and regulatory costs incurred in the first quarter of 2010.

We anticipate that future general and administrative expenses will vary primarily based on future changes in our reporting and regulatory requirements.

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

We continually monitor events and changes in circumstances that could indicate that the carrying amounts of the real estate assets and related intangible assets in which we have an ownership interest through investments in the Joint Ventures, may not be recoverable. When indicators of potential impairment are present which suggest that the carrying amounts of real estate assets and related intangible assets may not be recoverable, we assess the recoverability of the real estate assets and related intangible assets by determining whether the respective carrying values will be recovered through the estimated undiscounted future operating cash flows expected from the use of the assets and their eventual disposition for assets held for use, or with the estimated fair values, less costs to sell, for assets held for sale. In the event that such expected undiscounted future cash flows for assets held for use, or the estimated fair values less costs to sell, for assets held for sale, do not exceed the respective assets’ carrying values, we adjust the real estate assets and related intangible assets to their respective estimated fair values, pursuant to the provisions of the property, plant, and equipment accounting standard for the impairment or disposal of long-lived assets, and recognize an impairment loss. Estimated fair values are determined based on the following information, dependent upon availability: (i) recently quoted market price(s) for the subject property, or highly comparable properties, under sufficiently active and normal market conditions, or (ii) the present value of future cash flows, including estimated residual value. We have determined that there has been no impairment in the carrying value of any of our real estate assets held as of March 31, 2010.

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

Commitments and Contingencies

Certain lease agreements include provisions that, at the option of the tenant, may obligate the Partnership to expend capital to expand an existing property or to provide other expenditures for the benefit of the tenant. In connection with a 2009 lease amendment, Fund XIII-XIV Associates provided a landlord-funded tenant allowance available through September 30, 2010 to Siemens Shared Services, Inc., the majority tenant at the Siemens – Orlando Building, of which approximately $93,000 remained available for use as of March 31, 2010.

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

There were no changes in our internal control over financial reporting during the quarter ended March 31, 2010 that have materially affected, or are reasonably likely to materially affect, our internal control over financial reporting.

PART II.	OTHER INFORMATION

ITEM 1.	LEGAL PROCEEDINGS

We are from time to time a party to legal proceedings, which arise in the ordinary course of our business. We are not currently involved in any litigation the outcome of which would, in management’s judgment based on information currently available, have a material adverse effect on our results of operations or financial condition, nor is management aware of any such litigation threatened against us during the quarter ended March 31, 2010, requiring disclosure under Item 103 of Regulation S-K. For a description of pending litigation involving certain related parties, see “Assertion of Legal Action Against Related-Parties” in Note 4 to our financial statements included in this report.

ITEM 1A.	RISK FACTORS

There have been no material changes from the risk factors previously disclosed in our annual report on Form 10-K for the year ended December 31, 2009.

ITEM 2.	UNREGISTERED SALES OF EQUITY SECURITIES AND USE OF PROCEEDS

(a)	We did not sell any equity securities that were not registered under the Securities Act of 1933 during the quarter ended March 31, 2010.

(b)	Not applicable.

(c)	We did not redeem any securities during the quarter ended March 31, 2010.

ITEM 3.	DEFAULTS UPON SENIOR SECURITIES

(a)	We were not subject to any indebtedness and, therefore, did not default with respect to any indebtedness during the quarter ended March 31, 2010.

(b)	Not applicable.

ITEM 4.	RESERVED

ITEM 5.	OTHER INFORMATION

(a)	During the quarter ended March 31, 2010, there was no information required to be disclosed in a report on Form 8-K which was not disclosed in a report on Form 8-K.

(b)	Not applicable.

ITEM 6.	EXHIBITS

The Exhibits to this report are set forth on Exhibit Index to First Quarter Form 10-Q attached hereto.

SIGNATURES

Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the Registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned thereunto duly authorized.

WELLS REAL ESTATE FUND XIII, L.P. (Registrant)

	By:	WELLS CAPITAL, INC. (General Partner)

May 13, 2010	/s/ LEO F. WELLS, III
Leo F. Wells, III President, Principal Executive Officer, and Sole Director of Wells Capital, Inc.

May 13, 2010	/s/ DOUGLAS P. WILLIAMS
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