The principle assumptions underlying these projections include:

    RRI's current view of the commodity prices in the United States and Western Europe through the end of 2001
    the regulatory framework affecting RRI's businesses will remain the same through the end of 2001, taking into account any modifications to the framework resulting from legislative or regulatory action that has been taken but not yet implemented
    the generation projects of RRI that are currently under construction will commence commercial operation on schedule

The pro forma EPS amounts reflect the sale of shares of common stock in the RRI initial public offering as if the offering had occurred on January 1, 2001.

*  RRI's P/E multiple for 2002 was calculated by dividing the recent trading price of RRI common stock by an amount equal to the midpoint of RRI's projected 2001 Diluted Pro Forma EPS ($1.65) multiplied by 1.25 (RRI's projected annual growth rate).