EXHIBIT 99.1

SENOMYX ANNOUNCES AN EXTENSION AND EXPANSION OF ITS COLLABORATIVE RESEARCH, DEVELOPMENT, COMMERCIALIZATION AND LICENSE AGREEMENT WITH THE COCA-COLA COMPANY

SAN DIEGO, CA – April 18, 2008 – Senomyx, Inc. (NASDAQ: SNMX), a leading company focused on using proprietary technologies to discover and develop novel flavor ingredients for the food, beverage and ingredient supply industries, announced today that it has expanded and extended its collaborative research, development, commercialization and license agreement with The Coca-Cola Company (NYSE:KO).  During the extension period, the companies will continue to cooperate on activities related to the discovery, development, and worldwide commercialization of new flavor ingredients. For more information regarding the agreement, please see the related 8-K filing by Senomyx with the Securities and Exchange Commission.

“Senomyx is privileged to continue working with The Coca-Cola Company, the world’s largest beverage company,” said Kent Snyder, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Company.  “Senomyx achieved significant progress during the past year with the identification of new flavor ingredients that can be used to reduce the amount of both non-nutritive and natural sweeteners in foods and beverages while retaining the desired taste.”

About Senomyx, Inc. (www.senomyx.com)

Senomyx is a leading company using proprietary taste receptor technologies to discover and develop novel flavor ingredients in the savory, sweet, salt, bitter, and cooling areas.  Senomyx has entered into product discovery and development collaborations with seven of the world's leading food, beverage, and ingredient supply companies: Ajinomoto Co., Inc., Cadbury Schweppes, Campbell Soup Company, The Coca-Cola Company, Firmenich SA, Nestlé SA, and Solae.  Nestlé is currently marketing products that contain one of Senomyx’s flavor ingredients.  For more information, please visit www.senomyx.com.

Forward-Looking Statements

Statements contained in this press release regarding matters that are not historical facts are “forward-looking statements” within the meaning of the Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Because such statements are subject to risks and uncertainties, actual results may differ materially from those expressed or implied by such forward-looking statements. Such statements include, but are not limited to, statements regarding: Senomyx’s ability to identify and develop novel flavor ingredients that provide a sufficiently potent sweet taste effect; the capabilities of Senomyx’s flavor ingredients, Senomyx’s ability, or Senomyx’s collaborators’ ability, to commercialize products incorporating Senomyx’s flavor ingredients in packaged foods and beverages; and Senomyx’s right to receive research fees, milestone payments and royalties under its agreements with its collaborators. Risks that contribute to the uncertain nature of the forward-looking statements include: Senomyx is dependent on its product discovery and development collaborators for all of Senomyx’s revenue; Senomyx is dependent on its current and any future product discovery and development collaborators to develop and commercialize any flavor ingredients Senomyx may discover; Senomyx may be unable to develop flavor ingredients useful for formulation into products; Senomyx or its collaborators may be unable to obtain and maintain the regulatory approval required for flavor ingredients to be incorporated into

products that are sold; even if Senomyx or its collaborators receive a regulatory approval and incorporate Senomyx flavor ingredients into products, those products may never be commercially successful; and Senomyx’s ability to compete in the flavor ingredients market may decline if Senomyx does not adequately protect its proprietary technologies. These and other risks and uncertainties are described more fully in Senomyx’s most recently filed SEC documents, including its Annual Report on Form 10-K, under the headings “Risks Related to Our Business” and “Risks Related to Our Industry.” All forward-looking statements contained in this press release speak only as of the date on which they were made. Senomyx undertakes no obligation to update such statements to reflect events that occur or circumstances that exist after the date on which they were made.

Contact:

Gwen Rosenberg

Senomyx, Inc.

Vice President, Investor Relations & Corporate Communications

(858) 646-8369

gwen.rosenberg@senomyx.com

#####