Aetna: Sustaining the Momentum

 Ronald A. Williams
 Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

 2009 JP MORGAN
 HEALTH CARE CONFERENCE

 January 12, 2009

                                                         We want you to know(R)
                                                                  Aetna Logo(R)

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Cautionary Statement                                               Aetna Logo
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CAUTIONARY STATEMENT -- Certain information in this document is forward-looking,
including our current estimates and projections as to operating earnings per
share, medical membership, health care revenue, medical benefit ratios, medical
cost trend, operating expense ratio, pension benefit or expense, 12/31/08
statutory surplus, 12/31/08 debt to capital ratio, 12/31/08 risk based capital
ratios, generation of excess capital, need to raise additional capital, ability
to hold assets to maturity and investment portfolio declines/losses.
Forward-looking information is based on management's estimates, assumptions and
projections, and is subject to significant uncertainties and other factors, many
of which are beyond Aetna's control. Important risk factors could cause actual
future results and other future events to differ materially from those currently
estimated by management, including adverse economic conditions in the U.S. and
abroad which can significantly and adversely affect Aetna's business and
profitability; continued volatility and further deterioration of the U.S. and
global capital markets, including fluctuations in interest rates, fixed income
and equity prices and the value of financial assets, along with the general
deterioration in the commercial paper, capital and credit markets, which can
adversely impact the value of Aetna's investment portfolio, Aetna's
profitability by reducing net investment income and/or Aetna's financial
position by causing us to realize additional impairments on our investments;
failure to achieve desired rate increases and/or profitable membership growth
due to the slowing economy and/or significant competition, especially in key
geographic markets where membership is concentrated; adverse pricing or funding
actions by federal or state government payors; and unanticipated increases in
medical costs (including increased medical utilization, increases resulting from
unfavorable changes in contracting or re-contracting with providers, increased
pharmacy costs, changes in membership mix to lower-premium or higher-cost
products or membership-adverse selection; as well as changes in medical cost
estimates due to the necessary extensive judgment that is used in the medical
cost estimation process, the considerable variability inherent in such
estimates, and the sensitivity of such estimates to changes in medical claims
payment patterns and changes in medical cost trends). Other important risk
factors include, but are not limited to: adverse changes in size, product mix or
medical cost experience of membership; adverse changes in federal or state
government policies or regulation (including legislative proposals that would
affect our business model and/or limit our ability to price for the risk we
assume and/or reflect reasonable costs or profits in our pricing and other
proposals, such as initiatives to eliminate or reduce ERISA pre-emption of state
laws, that would increase potential litigation exposure or mandate coverage of
certain health benefits); the ability to reduce administrative expenses while
maintaining targeted levels of service and operating performance; the ability to
improve relations with providers while taking actions to reduce medical costs
and/or expand the services we offer; the ability to successfully integrate our
businesses (including acquired businesses) and implement multiple strategic and
operational initiatives simultaneously; our ability to integrate, simplify, and
enhance our existing information technology systems and platforms to keep pace
with changing customer and regulatory needs; the outcome of various litigation
and regulatory matters, including litigation and ongoing reviews of business
practices by various regulatory authorities (including the current industry-wide
investigation by the New York Attorney General into certain payment practices
with respect to out-of-network providers); reputational issues arising from data
security breaches or other means; and increases in medical costs or Group
Insurance claims resulting from any acts of terrorism, epidemics or other
extreme events. For more discussion of important risk factors that may
materially affect Aetna, please see the risk factors contained in Aetna's 2007
Annual Report on Form 10-K and its Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the quarter
ended September 30, 2008, on file with the Securities and Exchange Commission
("SEC"). You also should read Aetna's 2007 Annual Report on Form 10-K and
Quarterly Report on Form 10-Q for the quarter ended September 30, 2008, on file
with the SEC for a discussion of Aetna's historical results of operations and
financial conditions.

2009 ANNUAL JPMORGAN  HEALTH CARE CONFERENCE | JANUARY 12, 2009                2

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Key Messages and Agenda                                            Aetna Logo
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o   2008 Industry Leading Results

o   Health Business Is Strong and Growing Profitably

o   High Quality Balance Sheet & Excellent Capital Position

o   Strategically Positioned for Health Care Reform Opportunities

o   Sustaining Our Momentum In 2009 and Beyond

2009 ANNUAL JPMORGAN  HEALTH CARE CONFERENCE | JANUARY 12, 2009                3

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Industry Leading Performance                                       Aetna Logo
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           -----------------------------------------------------------
           Successful execution of our strategy drove 2008* results(1)
           -----------------------------------------------------------

--------------------------------------    --------------------------------------
Segmentation                                        Integration
--------------------------------------    --------------------------------------
Industry Leading Organic                      Industry-Leading Solutions
Medical Membership
Growth of [~5%]                                    Bank of America Win

Double Digit Health Care
Revenue Growth

                                 Differentiated
                                     Brand
                                   Experience

--------------------------------------    --------------------------------------
      Consumerism                                Operational Excellence
--------------------------------------    --------------------------------------
Personal Health Records                      Total MBR in Line with
Transparency Programs                        Original Guidance

                                             Operating Expense Ratio
                                             Improvement of 30-40bp

*Throughout this document "E" indicates management's current projection

2009 ANNUAL JPMORGAN  HEALTH CARE CONFERENCE | JANUARY 12, 2009                4

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Industry Leading Performance                                       Aetna Logo
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                      -----------------------------------
                      Industry leading results in 2008(1)
                      -----------------------------------

2008 Metrics                  Original       Preliminary   Commentary
                              Guidance        Estimate

Operating EPS                  $4.00         $3.90-$3.95   Industry leading
                                                           growth;
Operatiog EPS Growth            +15%            12%-13%    competitor growth
                                                           declines 2%-51(2)

Medical Membership Growth      >650k            ~875k      Industry leading
                                                           organic growth of ~5%

Health Care Revenue Growth   Double Digit    Double Digit  In line with original
                                                           guidance

Commercial MBR                  80%          Slightly     Slightly above Sept
                                             about 80.2%   YTD of 80.2%

Total MBR                      81.5%          ~81.5%      In line with original
                                                           guidance

Medical Cost Trend         7.5% +/- 50bps  7.5% +/- 50bps  In line with original
                                                           guidance

Operating Expense Ratio        ~50bp       ~30bp - 50bps   Due to higher 1/1
                             improvement    improvement    ramp cost

2009 ANNUAL JPMORGAN  HEALTH CARE CONFERENCE | JANUARY 12, 2009                5

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Key Messages and Agenda                                            Aetna Logo
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o    2008 Industry Leading Results

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o    Health Business Is Strong and Growing Profitably
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o    High Quality Balance Sheet & Excellent Capital Position

o    Strategically Positioned for Health Care Reform
     Opportunities

o    Sustaining Our Momentum In 2009 and Beyond

2009 ANNUAL JPMORGAN  HEALTH CARE CONFERENCE | JANUARY 12, 2009                6

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Sustained Profitable Growth                                        Aetna Logo
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                 Aetna's Model for Sustaining Profitable Growth
 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                                                   o Segmentation
   Grow the                 Manage                 o Differentiation
   Top Line       -->       Risk and               o Innovation
                            Margins                o Integration
      -                       |                    o Revenue Diversification
      |                       -                    o Pricing Discipline
    Produce                  Grow                  o Productivity
  and Deploy  --          Earnings                o Investing for the Future
    Excess                                         o $1 Billion of Excess
    Capital                                          Capital per Year in 2008
                                                     and 2009

2009 ANNUAL JPMORGAN  HEALTH CARE CONFERENCE | JANUARY 12, 2009                7

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Sustained Profitable Growth                                        Aetna Logo(R)
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 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------
             Double digit health care revenue growth(1) is sustainable
 -------------------------------------------------------------------------------

                                        Commercial ASC

                          o Up-sales and cross-salesles inin traditional
                            products

                          o Increasing interest in integrated solutions

                                         Commercial Risk

 [GRAPHIC OMITTED]        o Trend an inherent growth driver

                          o Disciplined growth in traditional markets
                          o Targeted expansion into new geographies
                          o Segmentation strategy drives growth in
                            newer markets
                          o Increased market share in select markets

                                         Medicare & Medicaid

                          o Differentiated Medicare strategy
                          o Schaller Anderson now fully integrated,
                            leading to wins in new statesstates

2009 ANNUAL JPMORGAN  HEALTH CARE CONFERENCE | JANUARY 12, 2009                8

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Sustained Profitable Growth                                        Aetna Logo
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                 Segmentation Strategy Continuously Identifies
                 New Opportunities for Future Profitable Growth
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                                   ---------------------------------------------
                                   o Strong growth in newer
                                     segments in 2008

                                   o Evidence of the succes of our
     [GRAPHIC OMITTED]               segmentation strategy

                                   o Also disciplined, profitable growth in
                                     core segments, and contributions from M&A

                                   o Combined to drive double digit health care
                                     revenue growth in 2008

                                   o Provides significant momentum entering 2009
                                   ---------------------------------------------

      2009 ANNUAL JPMORGAN HEALTH CARE CONFERENCE | JANUARY 12, 2009           9

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Sustained Profitable Growth                                        Aetna Logo
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                 6.6% Average Annual Medical Membership Growth
                Leads to Diversified Health Care Revenue Growth
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12/31/04 - 13.7 million                    12/31/08E - 17.7 million

[GRAPHIC OMITTED]                                 [GRAPHIC OMITTED]

  *Includes Medicare, Medicaid, Global, Individual, Student Health and Other

2009 ANNUAL JPMORGAN HEALTH CARE CONFERENCE | JANUARY 12, 2009                10

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Sustained Profitable Growth                                        Aetna Logo
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              ---------------------------------------------------
              Disciplined Pricing and Rigorous Medical Management
                   Processes Drive Stable and Competitive MBR
              ----------------------------------------------------

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          Forecasting                          2008 Medical Benefit Ratios

o  State of the art unit cost projection
   models

o  16 medical cost categories
o  Major practice categories
o  Market-by-market analysis

            Pricing

o  Peer reviews & delegated authorities                   [GRAPHIC OMITTED]
o  Sound underwriting policies

       Medical Cost Management

o  Focus on Quality and Total Cost
o  Network fortification
o  ActiveHealth CareEngine(R)
o  Case management
o  Disease management

2009 ANNUAL JPMORGAN HEALTH CARE CONFERENCE | JANUARY 12, 2009                11

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Sustained Profitable Growth                                        Aetna Logo
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            --------------------------------------------------------
             Productivity Gains Fund Investments for Future Growth
            --------------------------------------------------------

                                        Investments for Future Growth
Operating Expense Ratio(1)
                                      o Expansion into Targeted Growth Markets
18.8%  18.2%  17.8%-17.9%
 [GRAPHIC OMITTED]                    o Integrated Solutions
2006    2007     2008E
                                      o Network Fortification

                                      o Health Information Technology

                                      o Brand and Member Experience

                                      o Pharmacy Capabilities

2009 ANNUAL JPMORGAN  HEALTH CARE CONFERENCE | JANUARY 12, 2009               12

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Key Messages and Agenda                                            Aetna Logo
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o    2008 Industry Leading Results

o    Health Business Is Strong and Growing Profitably

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o    High Quality Balance Sheet & Excellent Capital Position
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o    Strategically Positioned for Health Care Reform Opportunities

o    Sustaining Our Momentum In 2009 and Beyond

                                                                             13

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Balance Sheet & Capital Strength                                   Aetna Logo
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-------------------------------------   --------------------------------------
    Strong Balance Sheet                    Excellent Capital Position
-------------------------------------   --------------------------------------
    12/31/08 Estimates                      Expect to generate ~$1
                                            billion of excess capital
    ~$5.9 billion of statutory              per year in 2008 and 2009
    surplus, ~$4.9 billion in
    excess of ACL                           No expected need to raise
                                            additional capital

    Debt to Capital ratio of                No long term debt
    ~32%                                    maturing in 2009 or 2010

    RBC ratio of ~600% of                   Untapped $1.5 billion
    ACL                                     credit facility
-------------------------------------   --------------------------------------

2009 ANNUAL JPMORGAN  HEALTH CARE CONFERENCE | JANUARY 12, 2009               14

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Investment Profile                                                 Aetna Logo
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High Quality, Well Diversified Investment Portfolio

$17.8B Invested Assets
as of 11/30/08

Foreign Securities 11%

Redeemable Preferred 2%

U.S. Corporate Securities 33%

Mortgage Loans 9%

Alternative Investments 6%

Other 1%

Cash & Cash Equivalents 8%

U.S. Government 6%

Tax Exempt Municipals 10%

MBS, CMBS & ABS 14%

[GRAPHIC OMITTED]

o    Largely a fixed income portfolio with an average credit quality of A+

o    Ability to hold assets to maturity

o    Actual 2008 credit losses minimal

o    4Q08E change in portfolio market value has improved significantly vs.
     December 2008 estimate

o    2008 investment performance a testimony to sound risk management
     principles

2009 ANNUAL JPMORGAN HEALTH CARE CONFERENCE | JANUARY 12, 2009               15

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Key Messages and Agenda                                            Aetna Logo
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o    2008 Industry Leading Performance

o    Health Business Is Strong and Growing Profitably

o    High Quality Balance Sheet & Excellent Capital Position

o    Strategically Positioned for Health Care Reform Opportunities

o    Sustaining Our Momentum In 2009 and Beyond

2009 ANNUAL JPMORGAN HEALTH CARE CONFERENCE | JANUARY 12, 2009                16

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Positioned for Healthcare Reform                                   Aetna Logo
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Challenges Facing the Healthcare System

Graphic Omitted

Access        Cost & Affordability         Quality

The healthcare debate reflects a diverse set of values regarding how to best
address these challenges

2009 ANNUAL JPMORGAN  HEALTH CARE CONFERENCE | JANUARY 12, 2009              17

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Positioned for Healthcare Reform                                   Aetna Logo
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Aetna is at the Forefront of Health Care Reform

To Your Health!
The Four Pillars of Health Care System Transformation

 -----------------------------------------------------------------------
 1           2                   3                 4
 -----------------------------------------------------------------------
 Get and     Maintain the        Reorient the      Use market
 keep        employer-based      system toward     incentives to
 everyone    system and export   prevention,       improve coverage,
 covered     its strengths to    value and         drive down costs
             make the            quality of care   and make the
             individual market                     system more
             function better                       consumer--oriented

2009 ANNUAL JPMORGAN  HEALTH CARE CONFERENCE | JANUARY 12, 2009              18

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Positioned for Healthcare Reform                                   Aetna Logo
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Aetna is Strategically Positioned to Cover the Uninsured

[GRAPHIC OMITTED]

45.7M
11.0M   Eligible for Medicaid/SCHIP But Not Enrolled
9.7M    Not Citizens of the U.S.
4.7M    College & University Students
9.1M    Income >$75k
13.0M - 16.0M Remaining Uninsured*

Schaller Anderson 2007
Aetna Student Health 2003
Individual Market Expansion 2005+
Strategic Resource Company  2005
Small Group

----------------------------
Sources: Total Uninsured, Not a Citizen and Income >$75k: U.S. Census: "Income,
Poverty, and Health Insurance Coverage in the United States: 2007" issued
August 2008; Eligible-But-Not-Enrolled: Kaiser Commission on Medicaid and the
Uninsured, "Characteristics of the Uninsured: Who is Eligible for Public
Coverage and Who Needs Help Affording Coverage?", February 2007; College &
University Students: GAO, "Most College Students are Covered through
Employer-Sponsored Plans, and Some Colleges and States Are Taking Steps to
Increase Coverage, March 2008; Estimated number of college students is made up
of traditional college students (age18-23) of ~1.7M and non-traditional aged
college students of ~3.0M. Note: Non-citizens encompass undocumented persons
and others, including lawful permanent residents and refugee/asylum seekers.

2009 ANNUAL JPMORGAN  HEALTH CARE CONFERENCE | JANUARY 12, 2009
           (*Estimated due to some double counting in the above numbers)     19

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Positioned for Healthcare Reform                                   Aetna Logo
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Sound strategy for participating in government-sponsored programs
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           2008E Revenue                            Aetna Strategy
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Medicare     ~$4.9B        o Aetna's differentiated Medicare strategy more
                             resilient to potential reimbursement rate changes

                           o Membership is concentrated in network-based
                             Medicare Advantage and Group PFFS

                             - Individual PFFS not a focus
                             - Group PFFS better positioned for reimbursement
                               changes

Medicaid     ~$0.8B        o The acquisition of Schaller Anderson is now fully
                             integrated

                           o Well positioned to capitalize on expansion of the
                             Medicaid market, including growth in ABD and LTC

Federal      ~$1.3B        o Strong track record of providingproviding value
Employees                    added solutions to Federal government employees and
                             their families
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2009 ANNUAL JPMORGAN  HEALTH CARE CONFERENCE | JANUARY 12, 2009              20

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Key Messages and Agenda                                            Aetna Logo
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o    2008 Industry Leading Performance

o    Health Business Is Strong and Growing Profitably

o    High Quality Balance Sheet & Excellent Capital Position

o    Strategically Positioned for Health Care Reform Opportunities

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o    Sustaining Our Momentum In 2009 and Beyond
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2009 ANNUAL JPMORGAN  HEALTH CARE CONFERENCE | JANUARY 12, 2009              21

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2009 Outlook                                                       Aetna Logo
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           Expected continued economic challenges
              are factored into our 2009 plan
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Medical                            Continued in-group membership attrition
Membership                         assumed in plan

Provider Cost                      Expected provider pricing pressure to offset
                                   bad debt, cost of capital, and lower volumes
                                   factored into medical cost assumptions

Utilization                        Expected changes in utilization patterns
                                   reflected in medical cost assumptions

Investments                        Expected impact of changes in credit spreads
                                   and yield curves assumed in investment
                                   income projections
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2009 ANNUAL JPMORGAN  HEALTH CARE CONFERENCE | JANUARY 12, 2009              22

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2009 Preliminary Guidance                                          Aetna Logo
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Aetna is well positioned for continued success in 2009

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Key 2009 Metrics(1)                                  Commentary
-----------------------------------------    ---------------------------------
Operating EPS                                o 12%-14% operating EPS growth
 Excluding Pension        12%-14% Growth       excluding year-over-year increase
                                               in pension expense of $0.54 per
                                               share
 Reported Basis           Slightly Lower     o Operating EPS slightly lower than
                                               2008 on a reported basis

Medical Membership       Greater than 1M     o 1/1 growth in National Accounts
                            1Q09 Growth        ASC and upper Middle Market
                                             o Medicaid
                                             o Open enrollment

Medical Cost Trend       8% +/- 50bps        o Pricing in line with trend
-----------------------------------------    ---------------------------------

The year-over-year increase in pension expense remains a non-cash GAAP item; no
change in 2009 outlook for the core operations of the business

2009 ANNUAL JPMORGAN  HEALTH CARE CONFERENCE | JANUARY 12, 2009               23

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Long-Term Growth Outlook                                           Aetna Logo
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Committed to long term operating EPS growth goal of 15%

------------------------                            ----------------------------
Segmentation                                            Integration
------------------------                            ----------------------------

Local Market Expansion       Differentiated         Commercialization of
International Expansion          Brand              the Health Concierge
Health Care Reform             Experience           and Health Advocacy
M&A Opportunities                                          Models

------------------------                            ----------------------------
                                                        Operational
    Consumerism                                          Excellence
------------------------                            ----------------------------

Driving Member Engagement                          Significant Investments for
                                                   Future Profitable Growth
Quality & Total Cost Management
                                                   Stable Medical Benefit Ratios

2009 ANNUAL JPMORGAN  HEALTH CARE CONFERENCE | JANUARY 12, 2009              24

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Summary                                                            Aetna Logo
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      Aetna 2008            o  Industry leading 12%- 13% operating EPS Growth(1)
      Performance           o  Industry leading ~5% organic membership growth
                            o  Total MBR in line with original guidance

  Health Business Is        o  Double digit health revenue growth model
     Strong, Well-          o  Disciplined growth in traditional segments with
    Diversified and            double digit growth in newer segments
  Growing Profitably

 High Quality Balance       o  Strong capital metrics
  Sheet and Excellent       o  Estimated change in 4Q08 portfolio market value
   Capital Position            has improved significantly vs. December 2008
                               estimate
                            o  ~$1B excess capital per year in 2008 and 2009
                               for share repurchases & M&A

2009 ANNUAL JPMORGAN HEALTH CARE CONFERENCE | JANUARY 12, 2009               25

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Summary                                                            Aetna Logo
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   Strategically          o  Proactively shaping market-based solutions
   Positioned for         o  Well positioned to capitalize on opportunities
 Health Care Reform          to cover the uninsured
                          o  Differentiated Medicare strategy

   Sustaining Our         o  Projected 12-14% operating EPS growth excluding
  Momentum In 2009           year-over-year increase in pension expense(1);
                             no change in outlook for core operations of the
                             business
                          o  Leading edge integrated platform expected to
                             drive new business wins in 2009 and 2010

Committed to Long Term Operating EPS Growth Goal of 15%

2009 ANNUAL JPMORGAN  HEALTH CARE CONFERENCE | JANUARY 12, 2009              26

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Footnotes                                                          Aetna Logo
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(1)  In order to provide a comparison that Aetna believes provides useful
     information regarding our underlying performance, certain historical and
     projected financial metrics, including operating earnings per share, health
     care revenue and our operating expense ratios exclude net realized capital
     gains and losses and other items, if any. Aetna uses these measures to
     assess business performance and to make decisions regarding our operations
     and allocation of resources among our businesses. Each of the excluded
     items is discussed below:

     o    Net realized capital (losses) gains of $(232.0) million ($(356.8)
          pretax), $(47.9) million ($(73.7) pretax) and $24.1 million ($32.2
          million pretax) in the nine months ended September 30, 2008 and for
          the years ended December 31, 2007 and 2006, respectively, arise from
          various types of transactions, primarily in the course of managing a
          portfolio of assets that support the payment of liabilities. However,
          these transactions do not directly relate to the underwriting or
          servicing of products for customers and are not directly related to
          the core performance of Aetna's business operations.

     o    Reduction of reserves for anticipated future losses on discontinued
          products in Large Case Pensions of $28.5 million, after tax, is
          considered an other item for the nine months ended September 30, 2008
          as it represents a reduction of reserves previously established for
          certain products no longer offered by Aetna that do not benefit
          ongoing business operations.

     o    As a result of the liquidation proceedings of Lehman Re Ltd. ("Lehman
          Re"), a subsidiary of Lehman Brothers Holdings Inc., Aetna recorded an
          allowance against its reinsurance recoverable from Lehman Re of $27.4
          million ($42.2 million pretax) in the nine months ended September 30,
          2008. This reinsurance was placed in 1999 and is on a closed book of
          paid-up group whole life insurance business. This is an other item for
          the nine months ended September 30, 2008 because it does not reflect
          underlying 2008 performance.

     o    A debt refinancing charge of $8.1 million ($12.4 million pretax),
          represents the net charge from the write-off of debt issuance costs
          and the recognition of deferred gains on terminated interest rate
          swaps in connection with the redemption of Aetna's 8.5 percent senior
          notes due 2041. This is an other item for the year ended December 31,
          2006, as it does not reflect underlying 2006 business performance.

     o    The write-off of a $47.1 million ($72.4 million pretax), insurance
          recoverable related to a prior-year physician class action settlement
          as a result of a trial court summary judgment ruling. This is an other
          item for the year ended December 31, 2006, as it does not reflect
          underlying 2006 business performance.

     o    As a result of the acquisition of Broadspire's disability business in
          2006, Aetna impaired approximately $6.2 million ($8.3 million pretax),
          of Aetna's previously capitalized software, due to the acquisition of
          a more multifunctional system. This is an other item for the year
          ended December 31, 2006 as it does not reflect underlying 2006
          business performance.

The operating expense ratio is calculated by dividing operating expenses,
excluding other items, by total revenue, excluding net realized capital gains or
losses. Aetna cannot reconcile the projected operating expense ratio to a
comparable GAAP measure, because it cannot project net realized capital gains or
losses. In the calculation for projected full-year 2008 operating expense ratio,
operating expenses exclude the allowance recorded on the reinsurance recoverable
(described above). In the calculation of the full-year 2006 operating expense
ratio, operating expenses exclude the debt refinancing charge, physician class
action settlement insurance-related charge, and acquisition-related software
charge (each of which are described above).

Projected full year 2008 and actual 2007 revenue in the Health Care segment
excludes net realized capital losses (pretax) of $245.4 million and $33.7
reported by Aetna for the nine months ended September 30, 2008 and for the year
ended December 31, 2007, respectively. Projected revenue also excludes any
future net realized capital gains or losses (pretax), which are included in the
comparable GAAP measure.

(2)  Competitor EPS growth based upon First Call consensus estimates

2009 ANNUAL JPMORGAN  HEALTH CARE CONFERENCE | JANUARY 12, 2009              27