EXHIBIT 99.1
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[Reliant Resources logo]                                      [Orion Power logo]

                 RELIANT RESOURCES/ORION POWER MERGER CLEARS
                             TWO REGULATORY HURDLES


HOUSTON AND BALTIMORE, DECEMBER 26, 2001 - Reliant Resources, Inc. (NYSE: RRI) and Orion Power Holdings, Inc. (NYSE: ORN) announced today that the U.S. Department of Justice has granted early termination of the waiting period for their merger under the Hart-Scott-Rodino Antitrust Improvements Act. In addition, they announced that the New York Public Service Commission has determined that the proposed merger would have no adverse impact on New York ratepayers and therefore no further review of the transaction by that body would be necessary. The early termination of the Hart-Scott-Rodino waiting period and the action by the NYPSC satisfy two of the three regulatory conditions required for the consummation of Reliant Resources' pending merger with Orion Power for $26.80 per share in cash, or a total of approximately $2.9 billion.

Reliant Resources and Orion Power have made all necessary filings with the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, and the parties are now awaiting FERC approval.

Reliant Resources, based in Houston, Texas, provides electricity and energy services to wholesale and retail customers in the U.S. and Europe. The company has nearly 18,000 megawatts of power generation capacity in operation, under construction or under contract in the U.S. and is one of only five companies to rank among both the ten largest power marketers and the ten largest natural gas marketers in North America. Reliant Resources also has wholesale trading and marketing operations and nearly 3,500 megawatts of power generation in operation in Western Europe. At the retail level, Reliant Resources provides energy services and will serve approximately 1.7 million customers in Texas when the electricity market opens to full retail competition in January 2002. Reliant Resources currently is a majority owned subsidiary of Reliant Energy, Incorporated (NYSE: REI).

Orion Power Holdings, Inc., headquartered in Baltimore, MD, is a fast-growing independent electric power generating company formed in March 1998 to acquire, develop, own and operate power-generating facilities in the newly deregulated wholesale markets throughout North America. Since its inception, Orion Power has invested over $4 billion in 81 power plants currently in operation with a total capacity of 5,926 megawatts and an additional 5,000 megawatts in construction and various stages of development. For more information about Orion Power, visit its website at www.orionpower.com.

This press release includes "forward-looking statements" as defined by the Securities and Exchange Commission. Such statements are those concerning the contemplated transaction and strategic plans, expectations and objectives for future operations. All statements, other than statements of historical facts, included in this press release that address activities, events or de-


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velopments that the companies expect, believe or anticipate will or may occur in
the future are forward-looking statements. This includes completion of the proposed transaction, realization of expected synergies from the transaction, financing for the transaction, future commodity prices, future financial performance, and other matters. These statements are based on certain
assumptions made by the companies based on their experience and perception of historical trends, current conditions, expected future developments and other factors they believe are appropriate in the circumstances. Such statements are subject to a number of assumptions, risks and uncertainties, many of which are beyond the control of the companies. These risks include, but are not limited
to, market conditions, economic conditions, environmental risks and regulatory changes. Investors are cautioned that any such statements are not guarantees of future performance and that actual results or developments may differ materially from those projected in the forward-looking statements.


Contacts for Reliant Resources           Contacts for Orion Power Holdings

INVESTORS:                               INVESTORS AND MEDIA:
Dennis Barber                            Rahul Advani
(713) 207-3042                           (410) 230-3528

MEDIA:
Sandy Fruhman
(713) 207-3123


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