EXHIBIT 99.1

Hydrogenics to Host First Quarter 2011 Conference Call June 3, 2011

MISSISSAUGA, Ontario, May 17, 2011 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- Hydrogenics Corporation (Nasdaq:HYGS) (TSX:HYG) ("Hydrogenics"), a leading developer and manufacturer of hydrogen generation and fuel cell products, today announced that it will host a conference call at 9:00 a.m. Eastern on June 3, 2011 for the first quarter 2011. Earnings will be issued before the market opens that day, and the filing of the company's results with the appropriate regulatory bodies will follow. During the call, Daryl Wilson, President and Chief Executive Officer, and Lawrence Davis, Chief Financial Officer, will review the company's financial results. The telephone number for the conference call is (877) 307-1373 or, for international callers, (678) 224-7873. A live webcast of the call will also be available on the company's website, www.hydrogenics.com.

The webcast will be archived on the site, and investors will be able to access an encore recording of the conference call for one week by calling (800) 642-1687, conference ID #67060939. The encore recording will be available two hours after the conference call has concluded.

ABOUT HYDROGENICS

Hydrogenics Corporation (www.hydrogenics.com) is a globally recognized developer and provider of hydrogen generation and fuel cell products and services, serving the growing industrial and clean energy markets of today and tomorrow. Based in Mississauga, Ontario, Canada, Hydrogenics has operations in North America and Europe.

CONTACT: Company Contact:
         Lawrence Davis, Chief Financial Officer
         (905) 361-3633
         investors@hydrogenics.com