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                                                                    EXHIBIT 99.1

                                                          (NORTEL NETWORKS LOGO)
NEWS RELEASE

www.nortelnetworks.com


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                          FEBRUARY 12, 2002


For more information:

Investors:                                                      Business media:
888-901-7286                    Tina Warren                     David Chamberlin
905-863-6049                    905-863-4702                    972-685-4648
investor@nortelnetworks.com     tinawarr@nortelnetworks.com     ddchamb@nortelnetworks.com
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NORTEL NETWORKS ANNOUNCES FILING OF AMENDMENT TO REGISTRATION STATEMENT AND
RELATED DOCUMENTS

TORONTO - Nortel Networks* Corporation [NYSE/TSE: NT] today announced that it
and Nortel Networks Limited have filed an amendment to their registration
statement on Form S-3 with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission with
respect to the potential resale by selling securityholders of the 4.25%
convertible senior notes of Nortel Networks Corporation guaranteed by Nortel
Networks Limited and/or the underlying common shares of Nortel Networks
Corporation. A registration statement relating to these securities has been
filed with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission but has not yet become
effective. The senior notes were originally issued in August 2001.

In connection with this filing, the companies have also filed certain amendments
with respect to their year ended December 31, 2000 filings and amendments to
their Form 10-Q filings for the quarterly period ended September 30, 2001, which
are incorporated by reference into the registration statement. Nortel Networks
operating and reported financial results under both Canadian and U.S. generally
accepted accounting principles for the relevant periods were not impacted by the
amendments and are unchanged from that previously reported.

This press release shall not constitute an offer to sell or the solicitation of
an offer to buy nor shall there by any sale of these securities in any state in
which such offer, solicitation or sale would be unlawful prior to registration
or qualification under the securities laws of any such state.

                                     -more-

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                                                                          Page 2

Nortel Networks is an industry leader and innovator focused on transforming how
the world communicates and exchanges information. The company is supplying its
service provider and enterprise customers with communications technology and
infrastructure to enable value-added IP data, voice and multimedia services
spanning Metro and Enterprise Networks, Wireless Networks and Optical Long Haul
Networks. As a global company, Nortel Networks does business in more than 150
countries.

Certain information included in this press release is forward-looking and is
subject to important risks and uncertainties. The results or events predicted in
these statements may differ materially from actual results or events. Factors
which could cause results or events to differ from current expectations include,
among other things: the severity and duration of the industry adjustment; the
sufficiency of our restructuring activities, including the potential for higher
actual costs to be incurred in connection with restructuring actions compared to
the estimated costs of such actions; fluctuations in operating results and
general industry, economic and market conditions and growth rates; the ability
to recruit and retain qualified employees; fluctuations in cash flow, the level
of outstanding debt and debt ratings; the ability to make acquisitions and/or
integrate the operations and technologies of acquired businesses in an effective
manner; the impact of rapid technological and market change; the impact of price
and product competition; international growth and global economic conditions,
particularly in emerging markets and including interest rate and currency
exchange rate fluctuations; the impact of rationalization in the
telecommunications industry; the dependence on new product development; the
uncertainties of the Internet; the impact of the credit risks of our customers
and the impact of increased provision of customer financing and commitments;
stock market volatility; the entrance into an increased number of supply,
turnkey, and outsourcing contracts which contain delivery, installation, and
performance provisions, which, if not met, could result in the payment of
substantial penalties or liquidated damages; the ability to obtain timely,
adequate and reasonably priced component parts from suppliers and internal
manufacturing capacity; the future success of our strategic alliances; and the
adverse resolution of litigation. For additional information with respect to
certain of these and other factors, see the reports filed by Nortel Networks
with the United States Securities and Exchange Commission. Unless otherwise
required by applicable securities laws, Nortel Networks disclaims any intention
or obligation to update or revise any forward-looking statements, whether as a
result of new information, future events or otherwise.

                                      -end-

*Nortel Networks, the Nortel Networks logo and the Globemark are trademarks of
 Nortel Networks.