Exhibit 99.1

A final base shelf prospectus, as supplemented by a prospectus supplement, containing important information relating to the securities described in this document has been filed with the securities regulatory authorities in each of the provinces of Canada. A copy of the final prospectus, the prospectus supplement and any amendment thereto, is required to be delivered with this document.

This document does not provide full disclosure of all material facts relating to the securities offered. Investors should read the final prospectus, and any amendment, for disclosure of those facts, especially risk factors relating to the securities offered, before making an investment decision.

Providing Therapies for Unmet Medical Needs

in Oncology & Endocrinology

November 2013

Forward Looking Statement

This presentation contains forward-looking statements made pursuant to the safe harbor provisions of the U.S. Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. Forward-looking statements involve known and unknown risks and uncertainties, which could cause Aeterna Zentaris’ actual results to differ materially from those in the forward-looking statements. Such risks and uncertainties include, among others, the availability of funds and resources to pursue R&D projects, the successful and timely completion of clinical studies, the ability of the Company to take advantage of business opportunities in the pharmaceutical industry, uncertainties related to the regulatory process and general changes in economic conditions. Investors should consult the Company’s quarterly and annual filings with the Canadian and U.S. securities commissions for additional information on risks and uncertainties relating to the forward-looking statements. Investors are cautioned not to rely on these forward-looking statements. The Company does not undertake to update these forward-looking statements and disclaims any obligation to update any such factors or to publicly announce the result of any revisions to any of the forward-looking statements contained herein to reflect future results, events or developments, except if we are required to do so by a governmental authority or under applicable law.

Aeterna Zentaris

2

Investment Highlights

Company

A specialty biopharmaceutical company focused on developing and

commercializing treatments in oncology and endocrinology

Pipeline

High value, wholly owned, later stage product candidates

– Macimorelin acetate: GH release inducer to evaluate GH deficiency in adults (“AGHD”) (FDA orphan designation) / NDA submitted

– Zoptarelin doxorubicin: Endometrial cancer / Phase 3 (under SPA with FDA)

– AEZS-120: Prostate cancer

Multiple product candidates for additional potential upside

Growth

Innovative technology platform supporting long-term growth

Leadership

Proven leadership with expertise in delivering rapid and

consistent revenue and earnings growth at various companies

Aeterna Zentaris

3

Agenda

Aeterna Zentaris today

Advancing our product pipeline

Future plans

Aeterna Zentaris 4

Aeterna Zentaris at a Glance

Aeterna Zentaris formed through Dec. 2002 acquisition of Zentaris, a

spin-out of Asta Medica

Late stage, specialty biopharmaceutical company, focused on oncology

and endocrinology

Resource optimization is a priority

– North America: 15 staff

– Germany: 70 staff (down from 120)

– Addition of Chief Commercial Officer

– Addition of Chief Scientific Officer

NASDAQ: AEZS, TSX: AEZ

– Market cap ~$45M as at November 5, 2013

Cash on hand as of September 30, 2013: $24.8M with no debt

– Expected cash position as of Dec. 31, 2013: over $24M

Aeterna Zentaris 5

Seasoned Management Team with Significant Industry

Experience

Years of

Executive Title Prior Affiliation(s)

Experience

Abbott, BMS, Wyeth, Solvay,

David A. Dodd President and CEO 30+

Serologicals and others

Jude Dinges Senior VP and CCO Merck, Novartis, Amgen 25+

Cephalon, SmithKline Beecham,

Paul Blake Senior VP and CMO 30+

ICI Pharmaceuticals

Senior VP, Regulatory Chugai Pharma USA, Schering-

Nicholas J. Pelliccione 30+

and Quality Affairs Plough

Dennis Turpin Senior VP and CFO Coopers & Lybrand 25+

Aeterna Zentaris

6

Strategic Growth Plan

Work towards successful development and commercialization

of our pipeline

– Macimorelin acetate

– Zoptarelin doxorubicin

– AEZS-120

– Addition of Chief Scientific Officer

Pursue successful in-/out-licensing opportunities

– Integrated commercial activities

– Leverage sales force

– Addition of Chief Commercial Officer

Become a specialty biopharmaceutical commercially

operating company

Aeterna Zentaris

7

Agenda

Aeterna Zentaris today

Advancing our product pipeline

Future plans

Aeterna Zentaris 8

Pipeline – Supporting Long-Term Growth

Product Candidate Discovery Preclinical Phase 1 Phase 2 Phase 3 NDA

Macimorelin acetate Inducer of GH release to evaluate AGHD

Macimorelin acetate Cancer Induced Cachexia*

Zoptarelin doxorubicin Endometrial Cancer

Zoptarelin doxorubicin Ovarian,** Breast and Prostate* Cancers

AEZS-120 Recombinant Prostate Cancer Vaccine

Ozarelix Prostate Cancer* Partnered with Spectrum, Nippon Kayaku

Perifosine Multiple Cancers* Partnered with Handok, Yakult, Hikma

AEZS-112 Multiple Cancers

AEZS-129-136 Erk & PI3K Inhibitors

AEZS-137 Disorazol Z (Oncology)***

AEZS-138 LHRH – Disorazol Z***

Cooperation with NCI

Compound library 120,000

* Fully sponsored through grants and/or partners ** Ovarian cancer Phase 2 completed *** Partially sponsored through grants and/or partners

Aeterna Zentaris 9

Advancing Our Lead Products

Lead Potential

Product Indication Status Market

NDA submitted Estimated annual

Macimorelin

AGHD evaluation Orphan Drug number of tests

acetate

Designation ~ 100,000 +

Estimated annual

Zoptarelin Endometrial

Phase 3 (under SPA) new cases

doxorubicin cancer

~ 95,000

Clinical Trial Estimated annual

Prostate

AEZS-120 Application (CTA) new cases

cancer

approved ~ 505,000

Aeterna Zentaris

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Macimorelin acetate

Growth Hormone Deficiency

Background

Growth hormone (GH) maintains proper amounts and balance of

body fat, muscle and bone

Adult Growth Hormone Deficiency (AGHD) most commonly

results from damage to the pituitary gland

Symptoms

Reduced lean mass

Adverse lipid profile

Reduced bone mineral density

(accelerated atherogenesis)

Reduced exercise capacity

Altered cardiac function

Reduced quality of life

Increased fat mass,

particularly in truncal region

Current Diagnosis Process

Patient in fasting state

Provoke GH release

Conduct standard GH blood test for AGHD confirmation

Source: Navigant

Aeterna Zentaris

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Induction of Growth Hormone Release

The Unmet Need

Current method – not FDA approved

Insulin Tolerance Test (ITT)

– Significant potential side effects

– Contraindicated in core patient populations

Elderly

Seizure disorders

Ischemic heart disease

– Lengthy procedure (up to 4 hours)

– Labor intensive

– High administrative costs

Requires medical supervision

Test site with emergency equipment

Potential need for hospital admission for ITT

Need for alternative to ITT

Aeterna Zentaris 12

M a c i m o r e l i n a c e t a t e

Product Profile and Status

Product

Novel orally-active ghrelin agonist that induces a fasting patient’s

GH secretion

Status

Phase 3 under SPA as oral ghrelin agonist for the evaluation of

AGHD completed

(FDA orphan-drug designation)

- NDA submitted

Phase 2 ongoing as a potential treatment for

cancer-induced cachexia

Aeterna Zentaris 13

M a c i m o r e l i n a c e t a t e

Unique Mode of Action

Ghrelin potently induces growth

hormone (GH) release

GH a potent regulator of lipid,

sugar and protein metabolism

GH mimetic directly stimulates

growth hormone (GH) secretion from

the pituitary gland

Macimorelin is a novel, patented GH

mimetic

Macimorelin acetate

(AEZS-130)

+ -

GHRH

SRIF

Hypothalamus

+ +

Ghrelin

Pituitary Gland

-

GH

Stomach

Liver

-

IGF-1

Aeterna Zentaris 14

Macimorelin acetate

Positive Phase 3 Results under SPA to evaluate AGHD

Phase 3 Summary

Patients 50 AGHD patients

48 matched controls

Efficacy Primary efficacy: achieved > 85% AUC of the Receiver

results Operating Characteristic (ROC) Curve – which determines Specificity and

Sensitivity

Dosing 0.5 mg/kg given in oral solution of 0.5 mg/ml

Adverse Most common adverse reactions associated with macimorelin acetate

events(greater than 1% incidence in all macimorelin acetate-treated patients in a

Phase 3 trial) were bitter taste in mouth (dysgeusia) (12%) and diarrhea

(3%)

Source: JM Garcia and al., Journal of Clinical Endocrinology Metab., April 4, 2013 as doi:10.1210/jc.2013-1157

Aeterna Zentaris 15

Annual Market Opportunity for GHD Evaluation

US

1

Adult 36,000

2

Traumatic Brain Injury (adult) 122,000

1

Pediatrics 41,000

2

Traumatic Brain Injury (pediatrics) 34,000

Total GHD tests: 233,000

1

Source: Navigant 2009

2

Source: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) – MMWR, 2010 and 2011

2

Source: Agha et al., British Journal of Neurosurgery, 2007

2

Source: Fernandez-Rodrigues et al, Frontiers in Endocrinology, 2011

2

Source: Popovic et al. AGHD, Frontiers of Hormone Research, Basel, Karger, 2005

Aeterna Zentaris

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Significant Expansion Opportunity for AGHD Evaluation

Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) Victims

215,000 adult patients (³ 19 years) annually hospitalized for

Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) in U.S.*

An estimated 40,850 (19%) of both severe and moderate

hospitalized TBI victims will develop GHD**

GHD patients should be tested at 3, 6 and 12 months for

evaluation, for a potential total of 122,000 annual tests in the

U.S. alone***

Would fall into our initial approved indication

* Source: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) – MMWR, 2010 and 2011

** Source: Agha et al., British Journal of Neurosurgery, 2007

** Source: Fernandez-Rodrigues et al, Frontiers in Endocrinology, 2011

***Source: Popovic et al. AGHD, Frontiers of Hormone Research, Basel, Karger, 2005

Aeterna Zentaris 17

Current Tests Billing Costs

Current Billing

Provocative Tests

(materials & physician services)

Insulin Tolerance Test (ITT)

Glucagon Stimulation Test (GST) ~$2,000 to $3,200

GHRH/Arginine (Geref*)

*No longer available and withdrew from the market since 2008

Source: Zack Consulting Services – 2013

Aeterna Zentaris 18

M a c i m o r e l i n a c e t a t e

Additional Indication in Development

Cachexia Associated with Cancer

Cachexia leads to significant weight loss and diminished functional

performance. No approved treatments

Macimorelin acetate stimulates food intake and increases body

weight in preclinical animal studies

Proof-of-concept study in cachexia associated with cancer initiated

under CRADA at the Michael E. DeBakey, VA Medical Center,

Houston

– Phase 2A trial in 18 to 26 patients

– Double-blind, randomized, placebo-controlled dose finding

– Primary objectives: safety and efficacy

Significant unmet medical need

Aeterna Zentaris 19

M a c i m o r e l i n a c e t a t e

Next Steps

NDA submitted to evaluate AGHD

Commercial plan for product launch in the U.S.

– Core sales force of ~ 20 reps

– 30 centers for GH evaluation in adults

– 2,500 specialists to target

Continue development

– Inducement of GH release: pediatrics and for other territories

– Cancer-induced cachexia

Aeterna Zentaris 20

Advancing Our Lead Products

Lead Potential

Product Indication Status Market

NDA submitted Estimated annual

Macimorelin

AGHD evaluation Orphan Drug number of tests

acetate

Designation ~ 100,000 +

Estimated annual

Zoptarelin Endometrial

Phase 3 (under SPA) new cases

doxorubicin cancer

~ 95,000

Clinical Trial Estimated annual

Prostate

AEZS-120 Application (CTA) new cases

cancer

approved ~ 505,000

Aeterna Zentaris 21

Endometrial Cancer – The Unmet Need

Disease

Develops when cells in the inner lining of the uterus

(the endometrium) become abnormal and grow

uncontrollably

Symptoms

Bleeding or discharge not related to menstruation

Difficult or painful urination

Pain during sexual intercourse

Prognosis

The five year survival rates for endometrial cancer by stage are:

– Stage I: 70-95%, stage II: up to 55%, stage III: up to 25%, stage IV: up to 5%

Often spreads to lungs, liver, bones, brain, vagina, and certain lymph nodes

Current Treatments

Stage III or IV: surgery, followed by chemotherapy (combination of platinums and

paclitaxel) and/or radiation therapy

Source: NCI and SEER

Aeterna Zentaris 22

Large Market Opportunity

Endometrial cancer: most

95k new cases

in 2013 invasive gynecologic cancer

(U.S., CAN, EU-G5)

No approved product in the

US and most of Europe

Recurrent

Disease:

~20%

Source: Datamonitor 2010

Aeterna Zentaris 23

LHRH Receptor Expression in Human Tumor Tissue

LHRH receptors

LHRH receptors

are over-expressed

on many reproductive

system tumors

Aeterna Zentaris 24

Z o p t a r e l i n d o x o r u b i c i n

Product Profile and Status

Product

Patented peptide-drug conjugate (PDC) targets receptors delivering potent

chemo agent doxorubicin to tumor cells

Status

Completed Phase 2 studies in endometrial and ovarian cancer with positive

results

ZoptEC Phase 3 trial in endometrial cancer currently enrolling in North

America, Europe and Israel

– FDA Special Protocol Assessment (SPA)

– EMA Scientific Advice and Voluntary Harmonization Process

– CRO Ergomed to assume 30% up to $10M of clinical and regulatory costs

Exploring clinical efficacy in other LHRH-receptor positive cancers

Aeterna Zentaris 25

Zoptarelin d o x o r u b i c i n

Unique Mode of Action

Allows specific targeting of tumor cells expressing the

LHRH receptor

LHRH receptor – ideal target for personalized medicine approach

– Expressed in human cancer tissue*

• Breast ~ 60%

• Endometrial ~ 80%

• Ovarian ~ 80%

• Prostate and bladder

– Only detectable in reproductive tissue and pituitary

– LHRH agonist can be used for targeting LHRH receptors

– Companion diagnostic opportunity

*Source: Limonta et al., Endocrine Reviews, 2012

Aeterna Zentaris 26

Zoptarelin doxorubicin

Powerful Trojan Horse for Targeting Cancer Cells

LHRH targeted DOX conjugate

DOX LHRH

targeting agent

Binding on the LHRH receptor

MDR-1

Migration to the nucleus

Cell death

Aeterna Zentaris 27

Zoptarelin d o x o r u b i c i n

Encouraging Phase 2 Results in Recurrent Endometrial Cancer

Phase 2 Summary

Patients n = 43

Efficacy Complete response: n = 2

results

Partial response: n = 11

Stabilization of disease: n = 17

Overall response rate: 30.2%

Time to progression: 7 months

Overall survival: 15 months

2

Dosing 267 mg/m

IV infusion every 3 weeks

Adverse No cardiotoxicity observed

events

Hematological toxicity rapidly reversible

Overall survival (OS) compares favorably to modern triple-combination chemotherapy

Source: Emons G. and al., International Journal of Gynecological Cancer , in press

Aeterna Zentaris 28

Zoptarelin d o x o r u b i c i n

Phase 2 Endometrial Cancer – Historical Comparison

Randomized Trials of Combination First-Line Chemotherapy in

Metastatic Endometrial Cancer

Response Rate (RR) Median OS

Study and Regimen Patients (%) (months)

Thigpen et al.* 356

Doxorubicin 22 6.7

Doxorubicin/cyclophosphamide 33 7.3

Fleming et al.* 273

Doxorubicin/cisplatin 34 12.3

Doxorubicin/cisplatin/paclitaxel 57 15.3

Zoptarelin doxorubicin: ORR = 30.2% and OS = 15 months

*No patients had received prior therapy with cytotoxic drugs

Ref.: Temkin S, Fleming G: Current treatment of metastatic

endometrial cancer. Cancer Control 2009;16:3

Aeterna Zentaris 29

Zoptarelin d o x o r u b i c i n

Phase 3 Study Design in Recurrent Endometrial Cancer Under SPA

Phase 3 “ZoptEC” (Zoptarelin doxorubicin in Endometrial Cancer) trial in women with

advanced, recurrent or metastatic endometrial who have progressed and who have

received one chemotherapeutic regimen with platinum and taxane (either as adjuvant or

first line treatment)

Patients n = 500

Randomized one to one

Zoptarelin doxorubicin against doxorubicin

2 2

Dosing 267 mg/m (zoptarelin doxorubicin) against 60 mg/m

(doxorubicin)

IV infusion every 3 weeks

Primary endpoint

Overall survival (minimum 3 month improvement)

365 events

Interim analysis at ~128 events and ~180 events

Aeterna Zentaris 30

Zoptarelin d o x o r u b i c i n

Next Steps

Initiate all clinical sites and associated recruitment for the

Phase 3 ZoptEC trial in endometrial cancer

Interim results in 2015 (~128 events)

Continue the Phase 2 programs in triple-negative breast and

prostate cancers

Pursue development of a companion diagnostic for zoptarelin

doxorubicin and successor compounds

Commercial plan

– Prepare commercial launch in North America and Europe

– Establish partnerships in ROW

Aeterna Zentaris 31

Advancing Our Lead Products

Lead Potential

Product Indication Status Market

NDA submitted Estimated annual

Macimorelin

AGHD evaluation Orphan Drug number of tests

acetate

Designation ~ 100,000 +

Estimated annual

Zoptarelin Endometrial

Phase 3 (under SPA) new cases

doxorubicin cancer

~ 95,000

Clinical Trial Estimated annual

Prostate

AEZS-120 Application (CTA) new cases

cancer

approved ~ 505,000

Aeterna Zentaris 32

Prostate Cancer – Large Market Opportunity

Fast Growing Market

$10.1B

$3.6B

Japan

Europe

U.S.

2010 Actual 2020 Forecast

Vaccines and immunotherapies expected to represent

9% of total $10.1B market in 2020

Aeterna Zentaris Source: Decision Resources 33

AEZS-120

Product Profile and Status Today

Product

Innovative patented live recombinant oral vaccine candidate for

prostate cancer

Induces cellular and innate immune response

– May bypass immunotolerance through T-cell suppression and exerts a long-lasting immune response

– Off-the-shelf product

Status

Preclinical, planning initiation of Phase 1 / Proof-of-Concept trial in

prostate cancer (Herlev Hospital, Denmark)

Aeterna Zentaris 34

AEZS-120

Mode of Action

Carrier strain: Salmonella typhi Ty21a – an approved oral live

thyphoid vaccine with an excellent safety profile

Induction of immune response by PSA fusion protein

Adjuvant activity of AEZS-120 provided by two different components:

– Salmonella bacterium

– PSA-CtxB

1- Genetically modified live bacterium

(Salmonella typhi Ty21a MoPC)

Secretion of the free

antigenic fusion

protein (PSA)

All sequences of events lead to

death or retardation of

growth in cancer cells

2- PSA-CtxB

Recombinant

The fusion of the PSA to the

DNA

non-toxic B subunit of cholera

toxin (CtxB)

Aeterna Zentaris 35

AEZS-120

Advantages of AEZS-120

Oral administration

Provoke a specific tumor immune response against PSA Potential to overcome key hurdles for cancer vaccines (may bypass immune tolerance/anergy and T-cell suppression)

Provoke an efficient and long-lasting immune response Less sensitive to tolerance or suppressive immunity, which often hampers the efficacy of conventional vaccines in cancer

No specific preparation needed for each patient

Aeterna Zentaris 36

AEZS-120

Next Steps

Initiate Phase 1 / Proof-of-Concept IND in the U.S. under consideration Establish a proof-of-concept in humans

Aeterna Zentaris 37

Agenda

Aeterna Zentaris today

Advancing our product pipeline

Future plans

Aeterna Zentaris 38

Delivering on our Milestones

Milestones for 2013

STATUS

®

Cetrotide

® Transfer of Cetrotide manufacturing rights to Merck KGaA

Macimorelin acetate

NDA submission to evaluate AGHD

Complete commercial plans for initial product launch

Continue Phase 2 trial in cancer-induced cachexia

Zoptarelin doxorubicin

Agreement signed with Ergomed as CRO

First patient recruited for the Phase 3 ZoptEC trial in endometrial cancer

Initiate > 50% of clinical sites

Continue Phase 2 programs in triple-negative breast and prostate cancers

AEZS-120

Initiate Phase 1 / Proof-of-Concept trial in prostate cancer

Aeterna Zentaris 39

Near-term Milestones

Value Drivers

Macimorelin acetate

Launch in the U.S. as an oral ghrelin agonist inducing GH release to evaluate AGHD

Initiate clinical program for evaluation of GH deficiency in children

Results from Phase 2 trial in cancer-induced cachexia

Zoptarelin doxorubicin

ZoptEC trial:

- Complete sites enrolment (over 100)

- Complete patient recruitment (500)

- First interim analysis (128 events)

Results from Phase 2 programs in triple-negative breast and prostate cancers

AEZS-120

Proof-of-concept in humans Phase 1 in prostate cancer

Aeterna Zentaris 40

Vision

Transform Aeterna Zentaris from R&D stage to a

commercially operating company through:

Working towards successful development and

commercialization of our pipeline

Pursuing successful in-/out-licensing opportunities

Aeterna Zentaris 41